DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9-24-2024, 2-4-2026 and 4-27-2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s Note: For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9, 15, 16, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goswami, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0255279, published August 19, 2021.
As per claims 1, 19 and 20, Goswami discloses an apparatus comprising:
a wireless transceiver for a mobile device (Goswami, Fig. 1 and ¶11), the wireless transceiver configured to be connected to one or more antennas and configured to: determine one or more radar signal parameter settings based on at least one environmental factor (Goswami, ¶31);
transmit a radar transmit signal using the one or more radar signal parameter settings; receive a radar receive signal that results from a reflection of the radar transmit signal; and sense an object using the radar receive signal (Goswami, ¶13).
As per claim 2, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to: ascertain the at least one environmental factor, the at least one environmental factor related to at least one of the mobile device or a user of the mobile device (Goswami, ¶28 mode is related to the device).
As per claim 3, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to: ascertain the at least one environmental factor based on at least one ambient condition (Goswami, ¶38).
As per claim 4, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to: ascertain the at least one environmental factor based on at least one current activity (Goswami, ¶28 using motion).
As per claim 5, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to: ascertain the at least one environmental factor based on at least one user input (Goswami, ¶32 where the gesture is an input).
As per claim 9, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the at least one environmental factor comprises multiple environmental factors (Goswami, ¶38 where the surrounding objects in the room are multiple);
the one or more radar signal parameter settings comprise multiple radar signal parameter settings (Goswami, ¶45);
the wireless transceiver comprises a modem; and the modem is configured to apply the multiple environmental factors to a multi-dimensional matrix to determine the multiple radar signal parameter settings (Goswami, ¶45 where the SPI is the modem).
As per claim 15, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to: determine the one or more radar signal parameter settings by determining at least one of a frequency range, a frequency bandwidth, or a transmit power based on the at least one environmental factor (Goswami, ¶15 where transmit power is based on mode).
As per claim 16, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to at least one of: determine the one or more radar signal parameter settings by determining a pulse repetition interval based on the at least one environmental factor; determine the one or more radar signal parameter settings by determining at least one of a dwell time or a number of chirps per dwell time based on the at least one environmental factor; or determine the one or more radar signal parameter settings by determining, based on the at least one environmental factor, a frame period indicative of a period at which a dwell time is repeated (Goswami, ¶45 configuring the number of and timing of chirps).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goswami in view of Alsindi, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0090211, published March 23, 2023.
As per claim 6, Goswami discloses the apparatus of claim 5 including the suggestion of a mobile device but fails to disclose the particulars of the device.
Alsindi teaches a mobile device with a display screen and processor (Fig. 2, 110 and 120) and an interface with applications (¶79 and 91).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the mobile device with a screen and apps in order to gain the benefit of providing the user a familiar interface.
As per claim 7, Goswami as modified by Alsindi discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the selected application of the multiple applications corresponds to gesture detection (Goswami, ¶29).
As per claim 8, Goswami as modified by Alsindi further discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein each application of the multiple applications respectively corresponds to an object range of multiple object ranges (Goswami, ¶23-24 where multiple objects are processed).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goswami in view of Hay, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0363741, published November 28, 2019.
As per claim 10, Goswami discloses the apparatus of claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose the transceiver components.
Hay teaches a signal path and shared path with amplifiers and frequency ranges (Fig. 3 showing the amplifiers, multiple paths and multiple frequency band options).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have amplifiers and frequency bands in order to gain the benefit of using existing and well-known radar design principles.
As per claim 11, Goswami as modified by Hay discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein: the first frequency range is higher than the second frequency range; and the shared signaling path is configured to transceive radar signals and wireless communication signals (Hay, Fig. 3, 314 showing high and low bands).
As per claim 12, Goswami as modified by Hay further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein: the wireless transceiver comprises a frequency-varying local oscillator configured to produce a frequency-varying local-oscillator signal; the radar signaling path is configured to transmit first radar transmit signals in the first frequency range based on the frequency-varying local-oscillator signal; and the shared signaling path is configured to transmit second radar transmit signals in the second frequency range based on the frequency-varying local-oscillator signal (Goswami, Fig. 1, 108 and Hay, Fig. 3).
As per claim 13, Goswami as modified by Hay further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein: the multiple power amplifiers and the multiple low-noise amplifiers of the shared signaling path comprise multiple pairs of amplifiers, each pair of amplifiers of the multiple pairs of amplifiers comprising a power amplifier of the multiple power amplifiers and a low-noise amplifier of the multiple low-noise amplifiers, each respective pair of amplifiers of the multiple pairs of amplifiers configured to be coupled to a respective antenna element of the antenna array; the shared signaling path is configured to transmit radar transmit signals using a power amplifier of a first pair of amplifiers of the multiple pairs of amplifiers; and the shared signaling path is configured to receive radar receive signals using a low-noise amplifier of a second pair of amplifiers of the multiple pairs of amplifiers (Hay, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have multiple amplifiers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skilled the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. It is well within the skill of a person in the art to determine the necessary components.
As per claim 14, Goswami as modified by Hay further discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein: the radar signaling path is coupled to the shared signaling path at a node that is coupled between a phase shifter of the shared signaling path and a power amplifier of the multiple power amplifiers of the shared signaling path (Goswami, Fig. 1 and Hay, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide coupling in a particular location as it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goswami.
As per claim 17, Goswami discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to: increase a transmit power for the radar transmit signal as a targeted range for object sensing increases; and decrease the transmit power for the radar transmit signal as the targeted range for object sensing decreases (Goswami, ¶26 and 27).
While Goswami fails to disclose adjusting based on increasing or decreasing range, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the power limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As per claim 18, Goswami further discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to decrease a radar bandwidth as a targeted range for object sensing increases (Goswami, ¶14 where bandwidth is tied to resolution).
While Goswami fails to disclose adjusting based on sensing range, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the power limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646