DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a liquid biocidal composition, an agricultural product comprising the liquid biocidal composition, and a pesticide product comprising the liquid biocidal composition in the reply filed on 09/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s further election without traverse of the species of a fungicidal composition and the identity of fungicide of chlorothalonil in the reply filed on 09/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-73 are cancelled.
Claims 92-100 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/22/2026.
Claims 82-89 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/22/2026.
Claims 74-81 and 90-91 are under current examination. The claims were read in view of the species elections detailed above.
Priority
This application is a CON of Application 16/325,169, filed 02/12/2019, now issued as US 12,127,557 B2, which is a national stage entry of PCT/US17/45655, filed 08/06/2017. PCT/US17/45655 claims priority to US PRO 62/511,331, filed 05/25/2017, and US PRO 62/374,836, filed 08/13/2016.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/01/2025, 06/12/2025, 03/11/2026 (18 pages), 03/11/2026 (9 pages), 03/11/2026 (5 pages), and 03/11/2026 (14 pages) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code, specifically at paragraphs [0004], [0007], [0008], [0012], [00122], [00123], and [00135]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 74-81 and 90-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 74 recites “a liquid biocidal composition” and that “said composition is essentially inactive, wherein mixing said polymeric solvatable matrix and said component activates said composition”. It is unclear how the composition can be in liquid form (implying the components are mixed to at least some degree) and also essentially inactive, if mixing activates the composition.
Further, the term “essentially” in claim 74 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “essentially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of activity that satisfies being “essentially inactive”.
Claim 74 further recites a “stable hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme” and “a stable free radical producing enzyme”. It is unclear if the claim requires that a) the enzymes are stable or b) the hydrogen peroxide and free radical produced by the enzymes are stable.
For purposes of examination and applying prior art, the Examiner interprets that the components of the composition are stable prior to mixing and active upon mixing.
Claims 75-81 and 90-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on indefinite claim 74 and failure to cure the deficiencies noted above.
Claim 75 recites that the final chemical fungicide concentration is between about 10% and 2500% of the half maximal effective concentration (EC50). The instant specification defines that “[t]he EC50 of a quantal dose response curve represents the concentration of a compound where 50% of the population exhibit a response after a specified exposure duration” (paragraph [0099]), and thus the EC50 depends on the identity of the population. The instant claim does not define the population, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of concentrations of chemical fungicide which satisfy “between about 10% and 2500% of the half maximal effective concentration”.
Claim 79 recites the limitation "said oxidase" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no oxidase is recited in claim 74, from which claim 79 depends. For purposes of examination and applying prior art, the Examiner interprets that claim 79 depends from claim 78 which recites an oxidase.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 74, 76-81, and 90-91 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2006/0289354 A1, published December 28, 2006; included on IDS submitted 03/11/2026 (18 pages)), hereafter “Zhou”, in view of Corgie et al. (WO 2014/055853 A1, published April 10, 2014; included on IDS submitted 06/12/2025)), hereafter “Corgie”, and further in view of Treseder et al. (US 2012/0244205 A1, published September 27, 2012), hereafter “Treseder”.
Regarding instant claim 74, Zhou teaches a composition for killing, preventing, or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms in an aqueous system or on a substrate capable of supporting a growth of microorganisms (see entire document, particularly Abstract). Examples of microorganisms include fungi, bacteria, algae, and mixtures thereof (paragraph [0042]). The composition can be prepared in liquid form (paragraphs [0065]-[0066]). The composition comprises a lactoperoxidase (a free-radical producing enzyme), ammonium bromide (substrate for free radical producing enzyme), and a hydrogen peroxide generating system, such as glucose oxidase (hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme) coupled with glucose (substrate for hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme) (see Abstract and paragraphs [0017], [0036], [0045], and [0047]). Zhou further teaches that additional chemicals may be added to the preparations depending upon the intended use of the preparation (paragraph [0065]).
The components of the antimicrobial system can be stored and maintained in a non-reactive state and then combined with water when needed to form an antimicrobial system (paragraphs [0062]-[0063]); it is therefore interpreted that the enzymes of Zhou are stable upon storage and that mixing the components activates the composition and results in said substrate for said hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme being oxidized into hydrogen peroxide, wherein said hydrogen peroxide acts as a substrate for said free radical producing enzyme, and wherein said free radicals are produced having biocidal activities.
Regarding instant claim 76, as noted above, Zhou teaches the inclusion of additional chemicals depending on the use of the preparation (paragraph [0065]), and that the composition is used for killing, preventing, or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms including fungi, bacteria, algae, and mixtures thereof. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an antibiotic chemical in order to achieve a composition that is effective at killing bacteria or otherwise preventing or inhibiting bacterial growth.
Regarding instant claims 78-79, as noted above, Zhou teaches the inclusion of glucose oxidase (see particularly paragraphs [0017] and [0047]).
Regarding instant claim 90, Zhou teaches that the composition can be used in agrochemical formulations for protecting seeds or crops against microbial spoilage (paragraphs [0036] and [0039]).
Regarding instant claim 91, as noted above, Zhou teaches a composition for killing, preventing, or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms in an aqueous system or on a substrate capable of supporting a growth of microorganisms (see entire document, particularly Abstract). Examples of microorganisms include fungi, bacteria, algae, and mixtures thereof (paragraph [0042]); the composition can be used in agrochemical formulations for protecting seeds or crops against microbial spoilage (paragraphs [0036] and [0039]). Thus, the compositions of Zhou are capable of acting as a pesticide by killing, preventing, or inhibiting growth of unwanted substances such as fungi and bacteria.
Zhou does not teach the inclusion of a polymeric solvatable matrix formulated with self-assembled mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles comprising the enzymes (instant claim 74) nor that the enzymes are contained in the mesoporous aggregates in up to about 100% of saturation capacity (instant claim 77).
Corgie teaches a hierarchical catalyst composition comprising a continuous or particulate macroporous scaffold in which is incorporated mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles, wherein an enzyme is embedded in mesopores of the mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles; the compositions are used for inhibiting growth and function of microorganisms in a solution (see entire document, particularly Abstract and claim 1). The macroporous scaffold has a polymeric composition (claim 11 and paragraph [0046]). Corgie teaches that bionanocatalysts (BNCs) consisting of an enzyme, particularly a free-radical producing enzyme, self-assembled with magnetic nanoparticles (MNPs) possess an enhanced enzymatic activity, faster turnover, and lower inhibition of the enzyme as compared with the free enzyme or the magnetic nanoparticle clusters without enzyme (paragraphs [0005]-[0006]). Corgie teaches that a combination of enzymes can be used (claims 7-8) and that suitable enzymes include glucose oxidase and lactoperoxidase (paragraphs [0055] and [0058]-[0059]); Corgie specifically envisions the combination of lactoperoxidase with a glucose oxidase (paragraph [0088]). Corgie further teaches that that nanoparticles or aggregates thereof can be made to adsorb a suitable amount of enzyme up to or below a saturation level, depending on the application; the aggregates may adsorb an amount of enzyme that is about, at least, up to, or less than, for example, 10%, 20%, 30%, 40%, 50%, 60%, 70%, 80%, 90%, or 100% of a saturation level (paragraph [0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the composition of Zhou to adsorb the lactoperoxidase and glucose oxidase in mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles in a polymeric scaffold in an amount up to a 100% saturation level, as suggested by Corgie. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve the advantages taught by Corgie, such as having enhanced enzymatic activity, faster turnover, and lower inhibition of the enzymes (see particularly paragraphs [0005]-[0006]), thus enhancing the antimicrobial activity of the enzymes in Zhou’s composition. There is a reasonable expectation of success as both Zhou and Corgie teach the use of lactoperoxidase and glucose oxidase enzymes in controlling the growth of microorganisms, and Corgie teaches that nanoparticle immobilization can be used to achieve an improved enzymatic agent where other such agents are currently used (paragraph [0005]).
While Zhou teaches the inclusion of additional chemicals depending on the use of the preparation (paragraph [0065]), and that the composition is used for killing, preventing, or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms including fungi (Abstract and paragraph [0042]), the combination of Zhou and Corgie does not teach the inclusion of the elected chemical biocide of chlorothalonil (instant claims 74, and 80-81).
Treseder teaches a system comprising a nanoparticle and at least one microbial substance wherein the microbial substance comprises a fungicide selected from the group including chlorothalonil (see entire document, particularly claims 1, and 9-10) and that the system is used for treating or deterring microbial infestation or growth in a plant (claims 14-18). Treseder further teaches that the nanoparticles can be magnetic (paragraph [0072]) and that the nanoparticles can enhance uptake of certain substances (e.g., fungicides) into certain target cells or organisms (e.g., fungal cells) (paragraphs [0012]-[0013]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the composition of Zhou in view of Corgie to include the fungicide of chlorothalonil, as suggested by Treseder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to incorporate a fungicide known to be used in combination with magnetic nanoparticles and achieve a composition which can treat or deter fungal infestation or growth in a plant by uptake into target fungal cells, as suggested by Treseder. There is a reasonable expectation of success as the combination Zhou and Corgie arrive at an antimicrobial composition comprising magnetic nanoparticles which can be used in agrochemical formulations and which is useful for killing, preventing, or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms, including fungi, and Zhou teaches the inclusion of additional chemicals depending on the use of the preparation (paragraph [0065]).
Claim 75 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Corgie and Treseder as applied to claims 74, 76-81, and 90-91 above, and further in view of DeLorenzo et al. (“Comparative risk assessment of permethrin, chlorothalonil, and diuron to coastal aquatic species” Marine Pollution Bulletin 2012, 64, 1291-1299), hereafter “DeLorenzo”.
As noted above, the EC50 of a chemical fungicide depends on the population being measured, and the scope of fungicide concentrations encompassed by claim 75 is indefinite. However, DeLorenzo teaches that the goal with pesticide use is to find chemicals that will act effectively on specific target pest species, while posing a low risk to non-target species (see pg. 1291, “Introduction”, paragraph 2), and that it is important to include habitat specific assessments of risk (pg. 1298, column 1, paragraph 2). DeLorenzo teaches that chlorothalonil is a broad spectrum fungicide mainly used to control fungal foliar diseases of vegetable, field, and ornamental crops that is also used as a wood protectant, anti-mold and anti-mildew agent, bactericide, algicide, insecticide, and acaricide (pg. 1292 “1.2. Chlorothalonil”). Chlorothalonil demonstrates a wide range of toxicity values in coastal aquatic species (see “3.2 Chlorothalonil” at pgs. 1294-1295, particularly pg. 1295, column 1, paragraph 2 and Fig. 2).
From the teachings of DeLorenzo, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would be motivated to routinely optimize the amount of chlorothalonil in the composition of the modified Zhou to achieve a concentration that is effective to act on a specific fungal target while minimizing toxicity to non-target species in the habitat. Per MPEP 2144.05 II. A., “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”. There is a reasonable expectation of success as Zhou teaches that components can be added in amounts effective to control the growth of at least one microorganism and that one of ordinary skill in the art can readily determine the effective amount of various compositions useful for a particular application (see particularly paragraphs [0051] and [0056]).
Double Patenting
Claims 74-81 and 90-91 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 in view of Treseder et al. (US 2012/0244205 A1, published September 27, 2012), hereafter “Treseder”, DeLorenzo et al. (“Comparative risk assessment of permethrin, chlorothalonil, and diuron to coastal aquatic species” Marine Pollution Bulletin 2012, 64, 1291-1299), hereafter “DeLorenzo”, and Zhou et al. (US 2006/0289354 A1, published December 28, 2006; included on IDS submitted 03/11/2026 (18 pages)).
Both the instant claims and those of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 are directed to a liquid biocidal composition comprising a polymeric solvatable matrix formulated with self-assembled mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles comprising a free radical producing enzyme, a hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme (specifically an oxidase of glucose oxidase or alcohol oxidase), a substrate for said free radical producing enzyme, and a substrate for said hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme; both compositions are recited to be essentially inactive wherein mixing activates the composition. As the mesoporous aggregates of magnetic nanoparticles comprise the enzymes, it is interpreted that they are present in an amount “up to about 100%” of saturation capacity. The composition of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 is recited to have bactericidal and fungicidal activity, and is included in a pesticidal product.
The claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 do not recite that the composition comprises the elected fungicide of chlorothalonil wherein the final concentration is between about 10% and 2500% of the half maximal effective concentration.
Treseder teaches a system comprising a nanoparticle and at least one microbial substance wherein the microbial substance comprises a fungicide selected from the group including chlorothalonil (see entire document, particularly claims 1, and 9-10) and that the system is used for treating or deterring microbial infestation or growth in a plant (claims 14-18). Treseder further teaches that the nanoparticles can be magnetic (paragraph [0072]) and that the nanoparticles can enhance uptake of certain substances (e.g., fungicides) into certain target cells or organisms (e.g., fungal cells) (paragraphs [0012]-[0013]).
DeLorenzo teaches that the goal with pesticide use is to find chemicals that will act effectively on specific target pest species, while posing a low risk to non-target species (see pg. 1291, “Introduction”, paragraph 2), and that it is important to include habitat specific assessments of risk (pg. 1298, column 1, paragraph 2). DeLorenzo teaches that chlorothalonil is a broad spectrum fungicide mainly used to control fungal foliar diseases of vegetable, field, and ornamental crops that is also used as a wood protectant, anti-mold and anti-mildew agent, bactericide, algicide, insecticide, and acaricide (pg. 1292 “1.2. Chlorothalonil”). Chlorothalonil demonstrates a wide range of toxicity values in coastal aquatic species (see “3.2 Chlorothalonil” at pgs. 1294-1295, particularly pg. 1295, column 1, paragraph 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fungicidal composition of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 to include the fungicide of chlorothalonil, as suggested by Treseder. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to incorporate a fungicide known to be used in combination with magnetic nanoparticles and achieve a composition which can treat or deter fungal infestation or growth in a plant by uptake into target fungal cells, as suggested by Treseder. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention would further be motivated to routinely optimize the amount of chlorothalonil to achieve a concentration that is effective to act on a specific fungal target while minimizing toxicity to non-target species in the habitat. Per MPEP 2144.05 II. A., “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)”.
The claims of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 do not recite that the composition comprises a chemical antibiotic or an agricultural product comprising the biocidal composition.
Zhou teaches a composition for killing, preventing, or inhibiting the growth of microorganisms in an aqueous system or on a substrate capable of supporting a growth of microorganisms (see entire document, particularly Abstract). Examples of microorganisms include fungi, bacteria, algae, and mixtures thereof (paragraph [0042]). The composition can be prepared in liquid form (paragraphs [0065]-[0066]). The composition comprises a lactoperoxidase (a free-radical producing enzyme), ammonium bromide (substrate for free radical producing enzyme), and a hydrogen peroxide generating system, such as glucose oxidase (hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme) coupled with glucose (substrate for hydrogen peroxide producing enzyme) (see Abstract and paragraphs [0017], [0036], [0045], and [0047]). Zhou further teaches that additional chemicals may be added to the preparations depending upon the intended use of the preparation (paragraph [0065]). Zhou teaches that the composition can be used in agrochemical formulations for protecting seeds or crops against microbial spoilage (paragraphs [0036] and [0039]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the composition of U.S. Patent No. US 11,517,014 B2 to include an additional antibiotic chemical and incorporate the composition into an agricultural product, as suggested by Zhou. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to achieve a composition that is effective at killing bacteria or otherwise preventing or inhibiting bacterial growth and achieve a composition that protects seeds and crops against microbial spoilage.
Conclusion
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/J.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1611