DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 09/24/2024. Claims 1 and through 12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 6 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 6 and 12 are objected because they recite “RSRP” in abbreviation form. The unabbreviated RSRP form is required. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim 1 is drawn to an WTRU (machine). Machine - a concrete thing, consisting of parts, or of certain devices and combination of devices. Burrv. Duryee, 68 U.S. (lWall.) 531, 570, 17 L. Ed. 650 (1863). This includes every mechanical device or combination of mechanical powers and devices to perform some function and produce a certain effect or result. Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267, 14 L. Ed. 683 (1854). [Emphasis added].[MPEP 2106.03].
In other words a machine must consist of more than one parts, claim 1 does not have any parts. This rejection may be overcome by adding an additional structure to the machine as claimed to be consistent with the definition above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.[10,142,962-herafter Lee]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 has broaden scope of claim 1 of Lee by eliminating the strike-out lined in the claim 1 of Lee, and rewording and moving around some limitations (e.g., the “
For claim 1 a wireless transmit/receive unit
a receiver configured to receive configuration from a base station, wherein the random access configuration includes first random access resources associated with a first repetition factor, wherein the random access configuration includes second random access resources associated with a second repetition factor, wherein the first repetition factor is lower than the second repetition factor;
a transmitter configured to transmit using the first rrandom access resource associated with a first repetition factor; and
the transmitter further configured to a random access response time window , transmit a second preamble using the second random access resources associated with a second .
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.[10,142,962-herafter Lee]. Because claims 2-3 are substantially the same as “wherein the first and second repetition factors indicate a number of times to repeat each preamble during each transmission” limitation of claim 1.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over first limitation of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.[10,142,962-herafter Lee]. Claim 1 is extracted underlined potions of first limitation of claim 1 of Lee: a receiver configured to receive configuration information related to a random access channel from an eNode-B, the configuration information including at least a first coverage enhancement level having a first response window time configuration information and a first repetition factor, and a second coverage enhancement level having a second response window time configuration information and a second repetition factor.
Claims 5 and 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable claim 5 of U.S. Patent No.[10,142,962-herafter Lee].
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable claim 4 of U.S. Patent No.[10,142,962-herafter Lee]. Claim 6 and claim 4 of Lee are substantially the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-4 ,6-10 and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2015/0173105 A1) in view of Han et al. (US 9,225,571 B2).
For claims 1 and 7 Bergstrom teaches a method implemented by a wireless transmit/receive unit, WTRU (Fig. 5 “user equipment (UE 4)” ), the method comprising:
receiving a random access configuration from a base station, wherein the random access configuration includes first random access resources associated with a first repetition factor, wherein the random access configuration includes second random access resources associated with a second repetition factor, wherein the first repetition factor is lower than the second repetition factor (paragraph 53, Fig. 2 “PRACDH repetition configurator of network (base station) configures initial PRACH preamble …and N PRACH repetitions”, Fig. 9 “RRC CONNECTIONREQUEST REPETITION CONFIGURATOR 34 configures initial PRACH preamble, subsequent PRACH preamble '”, and paragraph 20 “network (base station) knows the number of repetitions (repetition factor) needed for the preamble transmission and RRC CONNECTION SETUP UNIT 14 configures connection request and connection request repetitions”);
transmitting a first preamble using the first random access resources associated with a first repetition factor (Fig. 2 “PRACDH repetition configurator configures initial PRACH preamble …and N PRACH repetitions associated with radio resources”); and
on a condition that a random access response message is not received within a random access response time window, transmitting a second preamble using the second random access resources associated with a second repetition factor (paragraph 8 “a UE which does not receive any Random Access Response in response to its initial random-access preamble transmission of step 1 above within a pre-defined time window, will have considered the attempt failed, and will repeat it random access pre-amble transmission (possibly with higher transmit power) up to a number of maximum of
four times (repetition factor is 4), before considering the entire random-access procedure failed”).
Bergstrom does not explicitly teach wherein the first repetition factor is lower than the second repetition factor.
However, Han teaches wherein the first repetition factor is 3, and the second
repetition factor is 2 (Han: claim 1).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Han in the repetition factor of Bergstrom in order to assign different factor to various repetition factors according to a design requirement (Han: claim 1).
For claims 2 and 8 Bergstrom in view of Han teaches the WTRU, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the first preamble repeatedly based on the first repetition factor (as discussed in claim 1).
For claims 3 and 9 Bergstrom in view of Han teaches the WTRU, wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the second preamble repeatedly based on the second repetition factor (as discussed in claim 1).
For claims 4 and 10 the WTRU, wherein the first preamble is transmitted starting a first time associated with the first repetition factor, and the second preamble is transmitted starting at a second time associated with the second repetition factor (Bergstrom: “initial preamble started before the subsequent preamble”).
For claims 6 and 12 Bergstrom in view of Han teaches the WTRU, wherein the first repetition factor is determined to be used based on or pathloss measurement compared to a threshold (Bergstrom: paragraph 12 “pathloss estimate”).
8. Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bergstrom et al (US 2015/0173105 A1) in view of Han et al. (US 9,225,571 B2) and Burbidge et al. (US 2005/0100037 A1).
For claims 5 and 11 the WTRU of claim 4, Bergstrom in view of Han does not explicitly teach wherein a first subframe is determined for the first time based on the first repetition factor, and wherein a second subframe is determined for the second time based on the second repetition factor.
However, Burbidge teaches the method of claim 16 wherein the first time interval is determined by a repetition factor assigned to the wireless communication device (Burbidge: claim 21). In addition, Burbidge teaches a system frame (subframe) number comparator is coupled to the repetition value calculator (Burbidge: paragraph 24).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the prior art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teachings of Burbidge in the combined repetition factor of Han and Bergstrom in order to assign first or second time interval for the first subframe or second subframe based on different repetition factors according to a design requirements-options (Burbidge: paragraph 24).
Conclusion
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415