DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 09/24/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) include:
Claim 17: “means for receiving”- switch 102
Claim 17: “means for performing”- device fig. 6, 604
Claim 20: “means for coupling”- connectors, 1206 and 1208
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, 11, 20, and 22-31 of U.S. Patent No. 12,132,670 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Claim 1 of Current Application
Claim 1 of Parent patent
A rack-mounted network storage system comprising:
An input/output module (IOM) configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system to mount the IOM within the rack enclosure, the IOM comprising:
an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system,
an integrated device configured to provide top-of-rack (TOR) switching and protocol conversion and comprising:
the integrated device configured to receive data and to perform both top-of-rack (TOR) data switching functions and protocol conversion functions; and
a first switch to receive input data from a plurality of input connectors to route to a plurality of storage devices of the network storage system; (i.e. switching function)
and a plurality of bridges coupled to the first switch to receive data from the first switch in a first protocol and convert the data to one or more second protocols for use with particular storage devices of the plurality of storage devices; wherein the first switch is configured to determine particular bridges from among the plurality of bridges to receive particular portions of the input data; (i.e. protocol conversion function)
a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices,
wherein each of the plurality of bridges is configured to output particular portions of the data in at least one of the second protocols for use with particular storage devices of the plurality of storage devices;
each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure and configured to receive data from the integrated device.
and wherein the integrated device is configured to be enclosed within the rack enclosure while the IOM is inserted into the mounting slot of the rack enclosure.
Claim 2 of current application
Claim 1 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
an integrated device configured to provide top-of-rack (TOR) switching and protocol conversion
Claim 3 of current application
Claim 23 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, with at least some of the integrated devices being redundant integrated devices sharing the same functionality, and with at least some of the integrated devices having different functionality from the other integrated devices of the plurality of the integrated devices.
with at least some of the devices being redundant devices sharing the same functionality, and with at least some of the devices having different functionality from the other devices of the plurality of the integrated devices
Claim 4 of current application
Claim 26 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of the integrated devices; a first plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices using a first connection speed; and a second plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed.
a first plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of IOMs to the plurality of servers using a first connection speed; and a second plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of IOMs to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed.
Claim 5 of current application
Claim 1 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 1, wherein the integrated device comprises: a first switch to receive input data from a plurality of input connectors to route to the plurality of data storage devices;
a first switch to receive input data from a plurality of input connectors to route to a plurality of storage devices of the network storage system
and a plurality of bridges coupled to the first switch to receive data from the first switch in a first protocol and convert the data to one or more second protocols for use with particular data storage devices of the plurality of data storage devices.
And a plurality of bridges coupled to the first switch to receive data from the first switch in a first protocol and convert the data to one or more second protocols for use with particular storage devices of the plurality of storage devices
Claim 6 of current application
Claim 1 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 5, wherein the first switch is configured to determine particular bridges from among the plurality of bridges to receive particular portions of the input data.
wherein the first switch is configured to determine particular bridges from among the plurality of bridges to receive particular portions of the input data
Claim 7 of current application
Claim 1 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of bridges is configured to output particular portions of the data in at least one of the second protocols for use with particular data storage devices of the plurality of data storage devices.
wherein each of the plurality of bridges is configured to output particular portions of the data in at least one of the second protocols for use with particular storage devices of the plurality of storage devices
Claim 8 of current application
Claim 2 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 5, wherein the first switch comprises a high port count switch to provide the top of rack (TOR) switching.
wherein the first switch comprises a high port count switch to provide the top of rack (TOR) switching.
Claim 9 of current application
Claim 4 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 5, wherein the first switch comprises a low port count switch to provide product connectivity.
wherein the first switch comprises a low port count switch to provide product connectivity.
Claim 10 of current application
Claim 5 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 9, wherein the low port count switch comprises a switch having up to eight input ports.
wherein the low port count switch comprises a switch having up to eight input ports
Claim 11 of current application
Claim 6 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 5, wherein the first switch comprises one or more of an Ethernet switch, a Fibre Channel switch, and an InfiniBand switch.
wherein the first switch comprises one or more of an Ethernet switch, a Fibre Channel switch, and an InfiniB and switch.
Claim 12 of current application
Claim 7 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of bridges comprise one or more of an Ethernet-to-nonvolatile memory express (NVMe) bridge, a Fibre Channel-to-NVMe bridge, and an InfiniBand-to-NVMe bridge.
wherein the plurality of bridges comprise one or more of an Ethernet-to-nonvolatile memory express (NVMe) bridge, a Fibre Channel-to-NVMe bridge, and an InfiniBand-to-NVMe bridge
Claim 13 of current application
Claim 1 of parent patent
The network storage system of claim 1, wherein the integrated device is configured for enclosure within the rack enclosure.
the integrated device is configured to be enclosed within the rack enclosure
Claim 14 of current application
Claim 28 of parent patent
A method for use with a rack-mounted network storage system that includes an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system and a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices, each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure, the method comprising: receiving data into the integrated device; performing both top-of-rack (TOR) data switching functions and protocol conversion functions using the integrated device; and routing data into one or more of the plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices from the integrated device.
A rack-mounted network storage system comprising: an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system, the integrated device configured to receive data and to perform both top-of-rack (TOR) data switching and protocol conversion functions; and a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices, each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure and configured to receive data from the integrated device
Claim 15 of current application
Claim 29 of parent patent
The method of claim 14, wherein the network storage system includes a plurality of the integrated devices, each performing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices
Claim 16 of current application
Claim 27 of parent patent
The method of claim 14, wherein the network storage system includes a plurality of the integrated devices, a first plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices, and a second plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another, and wherein the method further comprises: transferring data using the first plurality of connectors from the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices at a first connection speed; and transferring data among the plurality of integrated devices using the second plurality of connectors at a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed.
a first plurality of connectors coupling the first plurality of IOMs to the plurality of servers using a first connection speed; a second plurality of connectors coupling the first plurality of IOMs to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed; a second plurality of IOMs configured as in claim 1;
Claim 17 of current application
Claim 28 of parent patent
A rack-mounted network storage apparatus, comprising: an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system, the integrated device comprising means for receiving data and means for performing both top-of-rack (TOR) data switching and protocol conversion; and a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices, each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure and configured with means for receiving data from the integrated device.
A rack-mounted network storage system comprising: an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system, the integrated device configured to receive data and to perform both top-of-rack (TOR) data switching and protocol conversion functions; and a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices, each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure and configured to receive data from the integrated device.
Claim 18 of current application
Claim 29 of parent patent
The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
Claim 19 of current application
Claim 30 of parent patent
The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, with at least some of the integrated devices being redundant integrated devices sharing the same functionality, and with at least some of the integrated devices having different functionality from the other integrated devices of the plurality of the integrated devices.
comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, with at least some of the devices being redundant devices sharing the same functionality, and with at least some of the devices having different functionality from the other devices of the plurality of the integrated devices.
Claim 20 of current application
Claim 31 of parent patent
The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising: a first plurality of means for coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices using a first connection speed; and a second plurality of means for coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed.
a first plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices using a first connection speed; and a second plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed.
The claims of the current application are broader than those of the parent patent. Making the claims broader is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bshara (Patent No.: US 10,162,793 B1) in view of Pinto (Pub. No.: US 2019/0187909 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bshara teaches
A rack-mounted network storage system (Bshara col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Bshara col. 2 lines 30-32 and col. 5 lines 59-61: network storage system) comprising:
an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system (Bshara fig. 6 and col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Bshara col. 2 lines 30-32 and col. 5 lines 59-61: network storage system), the integrated device configured to receive data (Bshara figs. 6-7, col. 15 lines 1-12 and 34-65: configured to receive data) and to perform both … data switching functions and protocol conversion functions (Bshara Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Bshara col. 16 lines 37-43: data switching functions); and
a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices (Bshara Col. 15 Lines 22-23; Col. 15 Lines 29-33), each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure and configured to receive data from the integrated device. (Bshara Col. 5 line 40- col. 6 line 2; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 9 Lines 56-68, high speed serial lane connectors)
Bshara does teach data switching functions but does not appear to explicitly recite TOR data switching.
However, Pinto, in the analogous art of rack-based network storage systems, teaches
top-of-rack (TOR) data switching (Pinto [0032]: top-of-rack switch providing connectivity among the chassis in the rack)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and utilize top-of-rack (TOR) data switching. Doing so would provide connectivity among chassis in the rack (Pinto [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, (Bshara Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices)
Bshara does not appear to explicitly teach each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
However, Pinto, in the analogous art of rack-based network storage systems, teaches
each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices (Pinto [0032]: distribution of TOR functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and utilize providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices. Doing so would provide connectivity among chassis in the rack (Pinto [0032]).
Regarding claim 3, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Bshara further teaches
further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, with at least some of the integrated devices being redundant integrated devices sharing the same functionality, and with at least some of the integrated devices having different functionality from the other integrated devices of the plurality of the integrated devices (Bshara Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices, some are duplicates with same functionality, and some have their own individual functions; Col. 16 Lines 30-32; second protocol being directed for use with one or more storage devices; Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices).
Regarding claim 4, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), further comprising:
a plurality of the integrated devices (Bshara fig. 7 and Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices);
a first plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices using a first connection speed (Fig. 7: Network 608 and Storage Bridge Devices 712 in boxes 710 and 720; the first switch connected to the bridge from multiple available to receive the information; Col. 4 Lines 1-13, serial converter; Col. 20 Lines 10-13, connectors; col. 7 lines 64-col 8 line 4; ); and
a second plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed (Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 9 Lines 56-68, high speed serial lane connectors).
Regarding claim 5, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the integrated device comprises:
a first switch to receive input data from a plurality of input connectors to route to the plurality of data storage devices (Fig. 7: Network 608; Col. 14 Lines 64-67; shows that switches can be a part of the network infrastructure; Fig. 7 shows one of the connections and Co. 16 Lines 7-10 further state that “many host devices may be connected to the network”; Fig. 7: storage devices 618; multiple are depicted in the figure; Col. 12 Lines 19-21 and Col. 14 Lines 64-67 also mentions the communication between the components and structure for doing so); and
a plurality of bridges coupled to the first switch to receive data from the first switch in a first protocol and convert the data to one or more second protocols for use with particular data storage devices of the plurality of data storage devices (Fig. 7: Network 608 and Storage Bridge Devices 712 in boxes 710 and 720; the first switching component choosing (determining) the bridge component from multiple available to receive the information; Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 16 Lines 21-24; establishes the first protocol; Fig. 7 further shows the connection; Col. 15 Lines 22-23 and Col. 16 Lines 32-34; storage device protocol is the second protocol; Col. 16 Lines 30-32; second protocol being directed for use with one or more storage devices).
Regarding claim 6, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above),
Bshara further teaches
wherein the first switch is configured to determine particular bridges from among the plurality of bridges to receive particular portions of the input data (Fig. 7: Network 608 and Storage Bridge Devices 712 in boxes 710 and 720; the first switching component choosing (determining) the bridge from multiple available to receive the information).
Regarding claim 7, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 6 (the limitations of parent claim 6 as indicated above),
Bshara further teaches
wherein each of the plurality of bridges is configured to output particular portions of the data in at least one of the second protocols for use with particular data storage devices of the plurality of data storage devices (Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices).
Regarding claim 11, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above),
Bshara does not appear to explicitly recite wherein the first switch comprises one or more of an Ethernet switch, a Fibre Channel switch, and an InfiniBand switch.
However, Pinto teaches
wherein the first switch comprises one or more of an Ethernet switch, a Fibre Channel switch, and an InfiniBand switch. (Pinto [0031] wherein an ethernet switch is a network switch- “network switch (i.e., the Ethernet switch 161)”; Pinto [0004]: “connected over a fabric network such as Ethernet, Fibre Channel, and Infiniband”)
Bshara and Pinto are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of rack-based network storage systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and include the limitation that there is a BMC connected directly to the first switch. Doing so would allow for the BMC to manage drives that are connected to the switch (Pinto [0031]).
Regarding claim 12, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 11 (the limitations of parent claim 11 as indicated above),
Bshara further teaches
wherein the plurality of bridges comprise one or more of an Ethernet-to-nonvolatile memory express (NVMe) bridge, a Fibre Channel-to-NVMe bridge, and an InfiniBand-to-NVMe bridge (Bshara Col. 23 Lines 53-56; Col. 17 Lines 7-11; Col. 5 Lines 56-60; Claim 10; NVMf (NVMe-over-fabric) includes ethernet to NVMe, Fibre channel to NVMe, and InfiniBand to NVMe).
Regarding claim 13, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the integrated device is configured for enclosure within the rack enclosure (Bshara col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Fig. 7: Switch 716 and Storage devices 618).
Regarding claim 14, Bshara teaches
A method for use with a rack-mounted network storage system that includes an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system and a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices, each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure (Bshara col 2 lines 41-45: method; Bshara col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Bshara col. 2 lines 30-32 and col. 5 lines 59-61: network storage system; Bshara fig. 6 and col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Bshara col. 2 lines 30-32 and col. 5 lines 59-61: network storage system; Col. 15 Lines 22-23; Col. 15 Lines 29-33), the method comprising:
receiving data into the integrated device (Bshara figs. 6-7, col. 15 lines 1-12 and 34-65: configured to receive data);
performing both … data switching functions and protocol conversion functions using the integrated device (Bshara Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Bshara col. 16 lines 37-43: data switching functions); and
routing data into one or more of the plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices from the integrated device. (Bshara Col. 5 line 40- col. 6 line 2; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 9 Lines 56-68, high speed serial lane connectors)
Bshara does teach data switching functions but does not appear to explicitly recite TOR data switching.
However, Pinto, in the analogous art of rack-based network storage systems, teaches
top-of-rack (TOR) data switching (Pinto [0032]: top-of-rack switch providing connectivity among the chassis in the rack)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and utilize top-of-rack (TOR) data switching. Doing so would provide connectivity among chassis in the rack (Pinto [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The method of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above),
wherein the network storage system includes a plurality of the integrated devices, (Bshara Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices)
Bshara does not appear to explicitly teach each performing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
However, Pinto, in the analogous art of rack-based network storage systems, teaches
each performing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices. (Pinto [0032]: distribution of TOR functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and utilize providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices. Doing so would provide connectivity among chassis in the rack (Pinto [0032]).
Regarding claim 16, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The method of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein the network storage system includes a plurality of the integrated devices (Bshara fig. 7 and Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices), a first plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices, and a second plurality of connectors coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another, and wherein the method further comprises:
transferring data using the first plurality of connectors from the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices at a first connection speed (Fig. 7: Network 608 and Storage Bridge Devices 712 in boxes 710 and 720; the first switch connected to the bridge from multiple available to receive the information; Col. 4 Lines 1-13, serial converter; Col. 20 Lines 10-13, connectors; col. 7 lines 64-col 8 line 4); and
transferring data among the plurality of integrated devices using the second plurality of connectors at a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed (Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 9 Lines 56-68, high speed serial lane connectors).
Regarding claim 17, Bshara teaches
A rack-mounted network storage apparatus (Bshara col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Bshara col. 2 lines 30-32 and col. 5 lines 59-61: network storage system), comprising:
an integrated device configured for insertion into a mounting slot of a rack enclosure of a network storage system (Bshara fig. 6 and col. 16 lines 50-57: rack mounted storage; Bshara col. 2 lines 30-32 and col. 5 lines 59-61: network storage system), the integrated device comprising means for receiving data (Bshara figs. 6-7, col. 15 lines 1-12 and 34-65: configured to receive data) and means for performing both … data switching and protocol conversion (Bshara Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Bshara col. 16 lines 37-43: data switching functions); and
a plurality of protocol-specific data storage devices (Bshara Col. 15 Lines 22-23; Col. 15 Lines 29-33), each configured for insertion into one other mounting slot of the rack enclosure and configured with means for receiving data from the integrated device. (Bshara Col. 5 line 40- col. 6 line 2; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 9 Lines 56-68, high speed serial lane connectors)
Bshara does teach data switching functions but does not appear to explicitly recite TOR data switching.
However, Pinto, in the analogous art of rack-based network storage systems, teaches
top-of-rack (TOR) data switching (Pinto [0032]: top-of-rack switch providing connectivity among the chassis in the rack)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and utilize top-of-rack (TOR) data switching. Doing so would provide connectivity among chassis in the rack (Pinto [0032]).
Regarding claim 18, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The apparatus of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above), further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, (Bshara fig. 7 and Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices)
Bshara does not appear to explicitly teach each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.
However, Pinto, in the analogous art of rack-based network storage systems, teaches
each providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices.(Pinto [0032]: distribution of TOR functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bshara to incorporate the teachings of Pinto and utilize providing at least some of the TOR data switching functions, with TOR functionality distributed among the plurality of the integrated devices. Doing so would provide connectivity among chassis in the rack (Pinto [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The apparatus of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above),
Bshara further teaches
further comprising a plurality of the integrated devices, with at least some of the integrated devices being redundant integrated devices sharing the same functionality, and with at least some of the integrated devices having different functionality from the other integrated devices of the plurality of the integrated devices. (Bshara Col. 16 lines 18-35: plurality of devices, some are duplicates with same functionality, and some have their own individual functions; Col. 16 Lines 30-32; second protocol being directed for use with one or more storage devices; Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices)
Regarding claim 20, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The apparatus of claim 17 (the limitations of parent claim 17 as indicated above),
Bshara further teaches
further comprising:
a first plurality of means for coupling the plurality of integrated devices to the plurality of data storage devices using a first connection speed (Fig. 7: Network 608 and Storage Bridge Devices 712 in boxes 710 and 720; the first switch connected to the bridge from multiple available to receive the information; Col. 4 Lines 1-13, serial converter; Col. 20 Lines 10-13, connectors; col. 7 lines 64-col 8 line 4); and
a second plurality of means for coupling the plurality of integrated devices to one another using a second connection speed that is different from the first connection speed (Col. Lines 39-43; Fig.7: box 710 shows the switching device (component) being able to receive data from the bridge component for further routing to the storage devices; Col. 9 Lines 56-68, high speed serial lane connectors).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bshara (Patent No.: US 10,162,793 B1) in view of Pinto (Pub. No.: US 2019/0187909 A1) further in view of Davis (Pub No.: US 2020/0159449 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above),
Bshara modified by Pinto appears to be silent regarding wherein the first switch comprises a low port count switch to provide product connectivity.
However, Davis teaches
wherein the first switch comprises a low port count switch to provide product connectivity (Fig. 2 of Davis: Ports connected to Switch 204).
Bshara, Pinto, and Davis are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network storage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bshara and Pinto to incorporate the teachings of Davis and include the specification that the switching component has a low port count. Doing so would provide attachment to the I/O (Davis [0032]).
Regarding claim 10, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 9 (the limitations of parent claim 9 as indicated above),
Bshara modified by Pinto does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the low port count switch comprises a switch having up to eight input ports.
However, Davis teaches
wherein the low port count switch comprises a switch having up to eight input ports (Fig. 2 of Davis: Ports connected to Switch 204, four input ports are shown).
Bshara, Pinto, and Davis are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network storage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bshara and Pinto to incorporate the teachings of Davis and include the specification that the switching component has a low port count. Doing so would provide attachment to the I/O (Davis [0032]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bshara (Patent No.: US 10,162,793 B1) in view of Pinto (Pub. No.: US 2019/0187909 A1), further in view of Koch (Pub. No.: US 2021/0027313 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Bshara modified by Pinto teaches
The network storage system of claim 5 (the limitations of parent claim 5 as indicated above),
Bshara modified by Pinto appears to be silent regarding wherein the first switch comprises a high port count switch to provide the top of rack (TOR) switching.
However, Koch teaches
wherein the first switch comprises a high port count switch to provide the top of rack (TOR) switching (Koch [104], ethernet switch with 48 ports).
Bshara, Pinto, and Koch are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network storage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Bshara and Pinto to incorporate the teachings of Koch and include the specification that the first switch has a high port count. Doing so would allow for being able to meet configuration objectives requested by prospective users (Koch [0104]).
Conclusion
The following prior art not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Davis (US 2012/0207165 A1) discloses a personality module, I/O device communication, an Ethernet bridge, and low number of ports connected to the switch.
Numanoi (US 7,702,962 B2) discloses multiple switches, a Fibre Channel switch, and a switch unit communicating with the storage devices.
Beadnell et al. (US 2011/0219163 A1) discloses multiple protocols associated with a bridge device, protocol converter, protocols associated with the storage devices.
/R.E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412