DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 01/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 10, and 15-20 are independent. Claims 2-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are dependent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In that remark, the applicant argued in substance:
That: KAWASAKI fails to teach “the first message, the second message and the third message do not include a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that identifies a network slice.”
In response to the applicant’s argument KAWASAKI in [0197], teaches the UE_A may transmit the registration request message without including the identification information, in [0221], the AMF_A may transmit the registration accept message without including the identification information, in [0152], identification information may be the NSSAI identifying the first NW slice, and in [0247] and the AMF_A may transmit the registration reject message without including the identification information.
In addition, in [0171] KAWASAKI teaches, identification information may be an identifier for identifying NW slice information (which is S-NSSAI) to which a rejected PDU session request belongs. Also see [0133] and [0134] that describes weather to send or not to send PDU session establishment request message not carrying slice information and in claim 11, reception circuitry configured not to send another PDU session establishment request message without an S-NSSAI until the timer expires, which means after the timer expired the PDU session establishment request message may be transmitted without an S-NSSAI.
Therefore, KAWASAKI clearly suggests that messages can be transmitted without including S-NSSAI and identification information may be an identifier for identifying NW slice information (which is S-NSSAI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20190261159) hereinafter Wang in view of KAWASAKI et al. (US 20200196382) hereinafter KAWASAKI.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method of wireless communication (i.e. a 5G communications system, [0092]), comprising: transmitting, by a wireless device to an access and mobility management function, a first message requesting a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment (i.e. The UE initiates a PDU session establishment request, where the PDU session establishment request includes the configured SST 1, [0124]), the first message including application related information (i.e. The UE corresponds the app 1 to an SST 1 based on a configured NSSP, [0123]); and receiving, by the wireless device from the access and mobility management function, i) a second message accepting the protocol data unit session establishment, the second message including supported application information (i.e. the AMF forwards a PDU session establishment complete message and the attribute of the PDU session to the UE, where the attribute of the PDU session indicates that the newly established PDU session supports the SST 1, [0129]), or ii) a third message rejecting the protocol data unit session establishment and including an identification (ID) of an existing PDU session to allow the wireless device to reuse the existing PDU session for the target application (i.e. If a PDU session that can support the SST 2 currently exists, the SMF sends a response message to the AMF, where the response message includes a PDU session establishment rejection message including an ID of the PDU session, and the ID of the PDU session indicates the PDU session that can support the SST 2. Optionally, the response message may further include a cause value indicating the UE that rejection is performed because the PDU session that can support the requested service exists, [0139] and the AMF forwards the PDU session establishment rejection message to the UE. After receiving the message, the UE determines, based on the ID of the PDU session, the currently existing PDU session, and sends service data of the app 2 by using the PDU session corresponding to the ID of the PDU session, [0140]).
However, Wang does not explicitly disclose information identifying a target application of the wireless device.
However, KAWASAKI teaches information identifying a target application of the wireless device (i.e. identification information may be information of the application UE_A 10, [0177] and he UE_A 10 may transmit one or more identification information among the first to eighth identification information included in the registration request message, [0195]); wherein the first message, the second message and the third message do not include a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) that identifies a network slice (i.e. the UE_A 10 may transmit the registration request message without including the identification information, [0197], the AMF_A 240 may transmit the registration accept message without including the identification information, [0221] and identification information may be the NSSAI identifying the first NW slice, [0152] and the AMF_A 240 may transmit the registration reject message without including the identification information, [0247]).
Based on Wang in view of KAWASAKI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of KAWASAKI to the system of Wang in order to provide a mechanism and communication control method for implementing a management process such as congestion management for each network slice, ([0009]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the application related information includes at least one of one or more application descriptors, one or more internet protocol (IP) descriptors, one or more data network names (DNNs), one or more connection capabilities, or other information describing application traffic that requires PDU session transmission (i.e. if the application requires a PDU session of an Internet of Things (Internet of Things, IoT) type, the terminal needs to initiate a new PDU session establishment request, to establish the PDU session of the IoT type, [0005] and The attach request message may include configured network slice selection assistance information (Network Slice Selection Assistance information, NSSAI) on a terminal device. The configured NSSAI may be a configured SST, for example, SST (1, 2, 3), [0109]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches determining, after receiving the second message, whether there is an existing PDU session that supports a requested application information related to application traffic triggering a PDU session establishment (i.e. After receiving the message, the UE determines, based on the ID of the PDU session, the currently existing PDU session, [0140]); and reusing the existing PDU session for the requested application in case that there is the existing PDU session (i.e. sends service data of the app 2 by using the PDU session corresponding to the ID of the PDU session, [0140]) or initiating a PDU session establishment procedure with the requested application information.
Regarding claim 5, Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the wireless device to the access and mobility management function, a registration request to register the wireless device over an access type with a mobile network, the registration request omitting a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) containing one or more S-NSSAIs corresponding to one or more slices to which the wireless device requests to register; and receiving, by the wireless device from the access and mobility management function, a registration acceptance that omits an allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI.
However, KAWASAKI teaches transmitting, by the wireless device to the access and mobility management function, a registration request to register the wireless device over an access type with a mobile network, the registration request omitting a requested network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI) containing one or more S-NSSAIs corresponding to one or more slices to which the wireless device requests to register (i.e. the UE_A 10 may transmit the registration request message without including the identification information, [0197]); and receiving, by the wireless device from the access and mobility management function, a registration acceptance that omits an allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI (i.e. the AMF_A 240 may transmit the registration accept message without including the identification information, [0221] and identification information may be the NSSAI identifying the first NW slice, [0152] and the AMF_A 240 may transmit the registration reject message without including the identification information, [0247]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 5 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 9, Wang does not explicitly disclose selecting, by the access and mobility management function, a single network slice selected assistance information (S-NSSAI) from S-NSSAIs in an allowed NSSAI based on at least one of the application related information, UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, or subscription information of the wireless device, and/or storing, by the access and mobility management function, the supported application information of the PDU session.
However, KAWASAKI teaches selecting, by the access and mobility management function, a single network slice selected assistance information (S-NSSAI) from S-NSSAIs in an allowed NSSAI based on at least one of the application related information (i.e. selecting one NSI from multiple NSIs indicated by the SST, [0124]), UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, or subscription information of the wireless device, and/or storing, by the access and mobility management function, the supported application information of the PDU session (i.e. store the NSSAI allowed from the network for each PLMN, [0125]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 9 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 10, Wang does not explicitly disclose selecting, by the access and mobility management function, a session management function based on at least one of the S-NSSAI, the application related information, or UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, and transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to the session management function, a request to create a SM context, the request including the application related information that allows the session management function to select a user plane function to serve the PDU session based on at least one of a location of the wireless device, the selected S-NSSI, or the application related information.
However, KAWASAKI teaches selecting, by the access and mobility management function, a session management function based on at least one of the S-NSSAI, the application related information, or UE route selection policy (URSP) rules (i.e. The AMF_A 240, in a case of receiving the PDU session establishment request message, selects the SMF_A 230 as the NF to which the PDU session establishment request message is routed, [0279]) and transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to the session management function, a request to create a SM context, the request including the application related information that allows the session management function to select a user plane function to serve the PDU session based on at least one of a location of the wireless device, the selected S-NSSI, or the application related information (i.e. transmits or forwards the PDU session establishment request message to the selected SMF_A 230 by way of the N11 interface (S1004). Here, the AMF_A 240 may select the SMF_A 230 to be routed, based on information included in the PDU session establishment request message. To be more specific, the AMF_A 240 may select the SMF_A 230 to be routed, based on the identification information obtained based on the reception of the PDU session establishment request message, and/or the subscriber information, and/or the capability information of the network, and/or the operator policy, and/or the state of the network, and/or the context the AMF_A 240 already holds, [0279]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 10 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches before the transmitting of the second message: adding, by the access and mobility management function, the supported application information of the PDU session to the second message (i.e. The AMF forwards a PDU session establishment complete message and the attribute of the PDU session to the UE, where the attribute of the PDU session indicates that the newly established PDU session supports the SST 1, [0129]).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches determining, by the access and mobility management function, whether there is an existing PDU session that supports a requested application information related to application traffic triggering a PDU session establishment (i.e. If a PDU session that can support the SST 2 currently exists, [0139]), and wherein the third message is transmitted in response to the determining that there is the existing PDU session that supports the requested application information (i.e. The AMF forwards the PDU session establishment rejection message to the UE, [0140]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a network slice selection function, a query regarding a network slice selection based on at least one of a subscribed NSSAI, a location of the wireless device, or a potential registration area including a list of tracking area identities (TAIs); and receiving, by the access and mobility management function from the network slice selection function, an allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSI that are generated without considering a requested NSSAI.
However, KAWASAKI teaches transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a network slice selection function, a query regarding a network slice selection based on at least one of a subscribed NSSAI, a location of the wireless device, or a potential registration area including a list of tracking area identities (TAIs) (i.e. dentification information may correspond to a Registration Area (RA), a Tracking Area (TA), or an Access Network (AN). Specifically, the 21st identification information may mean a Cause value for the registration area, the tracking area, or the access network, [0162]); and receiving, by the access and mobility management function from the network slice selection function, an allowed NSSAI (i.e. information indicating the first NW slice acquired from the AMF_A 240 in the registration procedure, or may be information indicating the first NW slice allowed from the network, [0152]) and a rejected NSSI that are generated without considering a requested NSSAI (i.e. dentification information may be information indicating that establishment of a PDU session belonging to the first slice is not allowed in a registration area and/or tracking area to which the UE_A 10 currently belongs, or information indicating that establishment of a PDU session belonging to the first slice is not allowed in an access network to which the UE_A 10 is connected, [0171]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 14, Wang does not explicitly disclose generating, by the access and mobility management function, an allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI based on at least one of a subscribed NSSAI, a location of the wireless device, a supported NSSAI of a current tracking area (TA), a potential registration area, or a supported NSSAI of the potential registration area, wherein the allowed NSSAI and the rejected NSSAI are generated without considering a requested NSSAI, and/or selecting, by the access and mobility management function, a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) S-NSSAI and a corresponding serving public land mobile network (VPLMN) S-NSSAI based on at least one of the application related information, UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, or subscription information of the wireless device.
However, KAWASAKI teaches generating, by the access and mobility management function, an allowed NSSAI and a rejected NSSAI based on at least one of a subscribed NSSAI, a location of the wireless device, a supported NSSAI of a current tracking area (TA), a potential registration area, or a supported NSSAI of the potential registration area, wherein the allowed NSSAI and the rejected NSSAI are generated without considering a requested NSSAI (i.e. Each of the S-NSSAIs included in the NSSAI is information that assists the access network or the core network to select the NSI. The UE_A 10 may store the NSSAI allowed from the network for each PLMN, [0125] and identification information included in the PDU session establishment reject message to indicate that a request to establish a PDU session belonging to a network slice is rejected, [0353]), and/or selecting, by the access and mobility management function, a home public land mobile network (HPLMN) S-NSSAI and a corresponding serving public land mobile network (VPLMN) S-NSSAI based on at least one of the application related information, UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, or subscription information of the wireless device (i.e. he PLMN selection is performed in a case that the PDU session establishment request message is rejected, and that a NW slice common with the NW slice specified in the PDU session establishment request message can be specified in the selected PLMN, [0137]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 15, Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a a policy control function, a query to retrieve policy information for the wireless device, the policy information including UE route selection policy (URSP) rules; and storing, by the access and mobility management function, the URSP rules for the wireless device in a context of the wireless device.
However, KAWASAKI teaches transmitting, by the access and mobility management function to a a policy control function, a query to retrieve policy information for the wireless device, the policy information including UE route selection policy (URSP) rules (i.e. The PCF is connected to the SMF (the SMF_A 230, the SMF_B 232), the AF, and the AMF_A 240. The PCF provides a policy rule or the like, [0059]); and storing, by the access and mobility management function, the URSP rules for the wireless device in a context of the wireless device (i.e. The storage unit_B 540 stores identification information, control information, a flag, a parameter, and the like included in a control message which is transmitted and/or received in a communication procedure described later. The storage unit_B 540 may store these information as the contexts for each UE_A 10, [0072]). Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis. Therefore, the limitations of claim 15 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 6-7 and 16-20, the limitations of claims 6-7 and 16-20 are similar to the limitations of claims 1-2 and 4-5. Wang further teaches a wireless communication apparatus comprising a processor (i.e. a terminal device including a processor, [0055]). Therefore, the limitations of claims 6-7 and 16-20 are rejected in the analysis of claims 1-2 and 4-5 above, and the claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AW/
AYELE F. WOLDEMARIAM
Examiner
Art Unit 2447
3/20/2026
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447