DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 9/24/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/24/24, 4/21/25, and 12/18/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 20250063619 hereafter Kim (Note: All of the 4 foreign applications include support for the disclosure relied herein, however, for convenance translated certified copy of Jan 20, 2023 KR 10-2023-0009076 is attached herein)
As to Claim 1. Kim discloses a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless network, the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal] comprising [Fig. 9, Sections 0001, 0010: The disclosure relates to a wireless communication method using multiple links, and terminal. A non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) including stations according to the present disclosure]:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to [Fig. 3, Sections 0083: A station include a processor-110, and a memory-160]:
establish [Section 0187: The AP MLD and non-AP STA MLD through the explicit or implicit method of transmit/receive beacon frame perform a procedure for association or setup (i.e. establishing) through a primary (i.e. first) link] a target-wake time (TWT) agreement or a TWT schedule on a first link between the non-AP MLD and an AP MLD [Sections 0470, 0553, 0694: TWT (target wake time, 0542), agreements are established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD. Furthermore, non-AP MLD support beacon frame for links on which pre-agreement has been made with the AP MLD on link. For the R-TWT/TWT process, an AP and a non-AP STA transmit/receive a frame during the R-TWT interval with a start time],
transmit a first frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Request Frame/Reconfiguration procedure] to the AP MLD to reconfigure one or more links between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, wherein the first frame requests that the first link be deleted or disabled [Fig. 23b (ML reconfiguration delete link diagram), Fig. 24 (Depicts reconfiguration request frame), Sections 0018, 0467, 0513: The link reconfiguration request frame requests one or more links to be deleted, and that one link is set up between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted via the one link that has been set up. A non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link with an AP MLD. The non-AP MLD transmits a Reconfiguration Request frame to the AP MLD to request a change in the state of the multi-link connection that the non-AP MLD makes with the AP MLD],
receive a second frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Response Frame] from the AP MLD [Section 0453: The AP MLD respond with a reconfiguration response frame through a link through which the reconfiguration request frame is received] that indicates acceptance of the request to delete or disable the first link [Sections 0016, 0451, 0638: Furthermore, the processor transmit a link reconfiguration request frame for the at least one link, and receive a link reconfiguration response frame in response to request frame. The AP MLD may need to accept a link deletion request (delete link) of a non-AP MLD, requested through the configuration procedure. The AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform an indication/acceptance (response) for terminating (i.e. delete/disable) the specific link and transitioning the specific link to a disabled state has been exchanged between the two MLDs in a frame],
and modify [i.e. deleting/release/disable/disassociation] the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first link [Section 0467, 0470: As described, a non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link (i.e. first link) with an AP MLD, this means that the non-AP MLD can change an ML setup state as necessary or adjusted. This is because the operation of deleting causes amendment of various types of agreements for example TWT agreements established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD which means the ML setup is deleted].
As to Claim 2. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal] of claim 1, wherein the first frame requests that a second link be established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD [Sections 0457-0458: In other words, the non-AP MLD may transmit a link reconfiguration request frame on a link to be removed for the purpose of deleting the link to be removed and simultaneously requesting the addition of another link (i.e. second link). That is, the non-AP MLD may use a link reconfiguration request frame to remove the setup of a link and request the setup of another link (i.e. second link) that is not already set up].
As to Claim 3. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal] of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 3, Sections 0083: A station include a processor-110]:
modify the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule by deleting the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first link [Section 0467, 0470: As described, a non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link (i.e. first link) with an AP MLD, this means that the non-AP MLD can change an ML setup state as necessary or adjusted. This is because the operation of deleting causes amendment of various types of agreements for example TWT agreements established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD which means the ML setup is deleted].
As to Claim 4. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal] of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 3, Sections 0083: A station include a processor-110]:
modify the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule by suspending [i.e. delete/adjust] the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first link [Section 0467, 0470: As described, a non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link (i.e. first link) with an AP MLD, this means that the non-AP MLD can change an ML setup state as necessary or adjusted. This is because the operation of deleting causes amendment of various types of agreements for example TWT agreements established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD which means the ML setup is deleted].
As to Claim 5. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal]of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 3, Sections 0083: A station include a processor-110]:
receive a third frame [i.e. Beacon Frame/Management Frame] that recommends deleting or disabling the first link from the AP MLD; and transmit the first frame in response to the third frame [Sections 0360, 0471, 0456: AP STA and non-AP STA MLD have similar capability and operation parameters for transmitting a management frame (beacon, (ML) probe req/resp, (ML) association req/resp frames, etc.). When the AP MLD has a plan to delete a specific link, the AP MLD notify (i.e. send frame) such a plan to enable the associated non-AP STA MLDs to recognize the AP deletion plan in advance. The non-AP MLD or the AP MLD may reconfigure the one or more links that have been set up].
As to Claim 6. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal] of claim 5, wherein a dialog token of the first frame is set to a same value as a dialog token of the third frame [Sections 0437, 0602: In this case (probe req/resp, (re) association req/resp, reconfiguration req/resp, etc.) frames include the information element/parameter indicated/interpreted to have the same value as the specific element of the reporting STA transmitting the reconfiguration request/response frame. The frames have a Dialog Token field format configuration method intended to be provided by the present disclosure].
As to Claim 7. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal]of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to [Fig. 3, Sections 0083: A station include a processor-110]:
receive a third frame [i.e. Beacon Frame/Management Frame] that indicates the first link is to be deleted or disabled between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD; and transmit the first frame in response to the third frame [Sections 0360, 0471, 0456: AP STA and non-AP STA MLD have similar capability and operation parameters for transmitting a management frame (beacon, (ML) probe req/resp, (ML) association req/resp frames, etc.). When the AP MLD has a plan to delete a specific link, the AP MLD notify (i.e. send frame) such a plan to enable the associated non-AP STA MLDs to recognize the AP deletion plan in advance. The non-AP MLD or the AP MLD may reconfigure the one or more links that have been set up],
wherein the first frame requests a second link be established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD before the first link is scheduled to be deleted or disabled [Sections 0457-0458: In other words, the non-AP MLD may transmit a link reconfiguration request frame on a link to be removed for the purpose of deleting the link to be removed and simultaneously requesting the addition of another link (i.e. second link). That is, the non-AP MLD may use a link reconfiguration request frame to remove the setup of a link and request the setup of another link (i.e. second link) that is not already set up].
As to Claim 8. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal] of claim 1, wherein the first frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Request Frame/Reconfiguration procedure] includes: a first profile element indicating that the first link is deleted or disabled; and a second profile element indicating that a second link is added [Sections 0403, 0407: It is possible to request, through a single reconfiguration request frame, to add a new link (i.e. second link) and release (i.e. delete) the association for another link; an indicator for the specific link and another link may be all included in the reconfiguration multi-link element related to each of the link in a profile (sub)element corresponding to each of the links. A specific value to indicate that a new association is requested for a link corresponding to STA profile subelement Add Link, and configured with a value other than the specific value to indicate that releasing of already established association for the link profile subelement (Delete Link)].
As to Claim 9. Kim discloses the non-AP MLD [i.e. non-AP STA MLD or STA/station or terminal]of claim 1, wherein the first frame is transmitted on a second link between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD [Sections 0018, 0459: The link reconfiguration request frame requests one or more links to be deleted, and that one link is set up (i.e. added/second link) between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted via the one link that has been set up (i.e. added or second link). For the non-AP MLD, it is possible to switch the one setup link to another link by transmitting a link reconfiguration frame, in this case, a link reconfiguration request frame transmitted by the non-AP MLD on the transitions to another link that the non-AP MLD requested to add].
As to Claim 10. Kim discloses an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless network, the AP MLD [i.e. AP-200] comprising [Fig. 9, Sections 0001, 0010: The disclosure relates to a wireless communication method using multiple links. A non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) according to the present disclosure perform multi-link setup procedure with an AP MLD]:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to [Fig. 4, Sections 0083: An AP-200 include a processor-210 and a memory-260]:
establish a target-wake time (TWT) agreement or a TWT schedule on a first link between the AP MLD and a non-AP MLD [Sections 0187, 0470, 0553, 0694: The AP MLD and non-AP STA MLD through the explicit or implicit method of transmit/receive beacon frame perform a procedure for association or setup (i.e. establishing) through a primary (i.e. first) link. TWT (target wake time, 0542), agreements are established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD. Furthermore, non-AP MLD support beacon frame for links on which pre-agreement has been made with the AP MLD on link. For the R-TWT/TWT process, an AP and a non-AP STA transmit/receive a frame during the R-TWT interval with a start time];
receive a first frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Request Frame/Reconfiguration procedure] from the non-AP MLD to reconfigure one or more links between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, wherein the first frame requests that the first link be deleted or disabled [Fig. 23b (ML reconfiguration delete link diagram), Fig. 24 (Depicts reconfiguration request frame), Sections 0018, 0467, 0513: In the disclosure, the link reconfiguration request frame requests one or more links to be deleted, and that one link is set up between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted via the one link that has been set up. A non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link with an AP MLD. The non-AP MLD transmits a Reconfiguration Request frame to the AP MLD to request a change in the state of the multi-link connection that the non-AP MLD makes with the AP MLD];
transmit a second frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Response Frame] to the non-AP MLD that indicates acceptance of the request to delete or disable the first link [Sections 0451, 0453, 0638: The AP MLD may need to accept a link deletion request (delete link) of a non-AP MLD, requested through the configuration procedure. The AP MLD respond with a reconfiguration response frame through a link through which the reconfiguration request frame is received. The AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform an indication/acceptance (response) for terminating (i.e. delete/disable) the specific link and transitioning the specific link to a disabled state has been exchanged between the two MLDs in a frame],
and modify [i.e. deleting/release/disable/disassociation] the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first link [Section 0467, 0470: As described, a non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link (i.e. first link) with an AP MLD, this means that the non-AP MLD can change an ML setup state as necessary or adjusted. This is because the operation of deleting causes amendment of various types of agreements for example TWT agreements established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD which means the ML setup is deleted].
As to Claim 11. The AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the first frame requests that a second link be established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 12. Kim discloses the AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the processor [Fig. 4, Sections 0083: An AP-200 include a processor-210] is further configured to modify the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule by deleting the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first Link [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 13. Kim discloses the AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the processor [Fig. 4, Sections 0083: An AP-200 include a processor-210] is further configured to modify the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule by suspending the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first link [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 14. Kim discloses the AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the processor [Fig. 4, Sections 0083: An AP-200 include a processor-210]: is further configured to: transmit a third frame to the non-AP MLD that recommends deleting or disabling the first link; and receive the first frame in response to the third frame [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 15. The AP MLD of claim 14, wherein a dialog token of the first frame is a same value as a dialog token of the third frame [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 16. Kim discloses The AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the processor [Fig. 4, Sections 0083: An AP-200 include a processor-210]: is further configured to: transmit a third frame that indicates the first link is to be deleted or disabled between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD; and receive the first frame in response to the third frame, wherein the first frame requests a second link be established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD before the first link is scheduled to be deleted or disabled [See Claim 7 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 17. The AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the first frame includes: a first profile element indicating that the first link is deleted or disabled; and a second profile element indicating that a second link is added [See Claim 8 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 18. The AP MLD of claim 10, wherein the first frame is received on a second link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD [See Claim 9 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
As to Claim 19. Kim discloses computer-implemented [i.e. Processor-110] method for reconfiguring a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) in a wireless network, the method comprising [Fig. 3, Sections 0083, 0396: A station include a processor-110. A method of changing the state of a multi-link association between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD through a reconfiguration procedure according to an embodiment of the present disclosure]:
establishing [Section 0187: The AP MLD and non-AP STA MLD through the explicit or implicit method of transmit/receive beacon frame perform a procedure for association or setup (i.e. establishing) through a primary (i.e. first) link], by the non-AP MLD, a target-wake time (TWT) agreement or a TWT schedule on a first link between the non-AP MLD and an AP MLD [Sections 0470, 0553, 0694: TWT (target wake time, 0542), agreements are established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD. Furthermore, non-AP MLD support beacon frame for links on which pre-agreement has been made with the AP MLD on link. For the R-TWT/TWT process, an AP and a non-AP STA transmit/receive a frame during the R-TWT interval with a start time];
transmitting a first frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Request Frame/Reconfiguration procedure] to the AP MLD to reconfigure one or more links between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, wherein the first frame requests that the first link be deleted or disabled [Fig. 23b (ML reconfiguration delete link diagram), Fig. 24 (Depicts reconfiguration request frame), Sections 0018, 0467, 0513: In the disclosure, the link reconfiguration request frame requests one or more links to be deleted, and that one link is set up between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, the link reconfiguration request frame is transmitted via the one link that has been set up. As described above, a non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link with an AP MLD. The non-AP MLD transmits a Reconfiguration Request frame to the AP MLD to request a change in the state of the multi-link connection that the non-AP MLD makes with the AP MLD];
receiving a second frame [i.e. Reconfiguration Response Frame] from the AP MLD [Section 0453: The AP MLD respond with a reconfiguration response frame through a link through which the reconfiguration request frame is received] that indicates acceptance of the request to delete or disable the first link [Sections 0016, 0451, 0638: Furthermore, the processor transmit a link reconfiguration request frame for the at least one link, and receive a link reconfiguration response frame in response to request frame. The AP MLD may need to accept a link deletion request (delete link) of a non-AP MLD, requested through the configuration procedure. This is because it can be understood that, in the process which the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD perform a link negotiation, an indication/acceptance (response) for terminating (i.e. delete/disable) the specific link and transitioning the specific link to a disabled state has been exchanged between the two MLDs in a notification frame];
and modifying [i.e. deleting/release/disable/disassociation] the TWT agreement or the TWT schedule on the first link [Section 0467, 0470: As described, a non-AP MLD perform a reconfiguration procedure to delete a setup link (i.e. first link) with an AP MLD, this means that the non-AP MLD can change an ML setup state as necessary or adjusted. This is because the operation of deleting causes amendment of various types of agreements for example TWT agreements established between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD which means the ML setup is deleted].
As to Claim 20. The computer-implemented method of claim 19, wherein the first frame requests that a second link be established between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD [See Claim 9 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection apples herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. Huang et al. US 20230247703 in particular the Title “ A multi-link reconfiguration method and apparatus”
2. Po-Kai et al. US 20240138006 in particular the title “ENHANCED SIGNALING OF ADDITION AND DELETION OF COMMUNICATION LINKS FOR MULTI-LINK DEVICES”
3. Kwon et al. US 20210212156 in particular the title “APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR ENABLING AND DISABLING LINKS IN MULTI-LINK COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS”
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
July 30, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477