DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rudolf et al. (US 2023/0276438 A1; hereinafter "Rudolf").
Rudolf is prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Rudolf claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, filed February 25, 2022. The provisional application describes the relied-upon available-slot-counting and half-duplex subject matter. subject matter. In particular, provisional Fig. 13 and ¶237 expressly disclose UE determination of available slots for PUSCH repetition using an UL-grant DCI, available-slot counting over K slots, exclusion of specified slot types from the count, and transmission of PUSCH repetitions in the remaining available slots. Provisional ¶96 expressly identifies a reduced-capability half-duplex UE and provisional ¶99 identifies a UE that is not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception. See also provisional ¶146 (omitting a PUSCH transmission that coincides with a DL slot) and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8 (configuring and determining allowed, disallowed, or potentially available slots for PUSCH repetition). Accordingly, Rudolf is entitled to the February 25, 2022 effective filing date for that relied-upon subject matter.
Regarding claim 1, A transmission method, comprising: in a case that a target condition is met, performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following: determining that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission; wherein the terminal has a half-duplex capability or does not have a full-duplex capability.
Rudolf discloses : “A transmission method, comprising:” — (Rudolf ¶¶85-99: discloses a UE PUSCH-repetition transmission method).
“in a case that a target condition is met, performing, by the terminal, at least one of the following:” — (Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: the UE applies AvailableSlotCounting when the disclosed slot/overlap condition is met). “determining that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission,” (Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: a conflicting slot is not counted among the N*K slots for PUSCH repetition).
“or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission;” (Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: the conflicting slot is excluded from the slots available for PUSCH repetition).
“wherein the terminal has a half-duplex capability or does not have a full-duplex capability.” (Rudolf ¶97; see also ¶¶49-56: expressly identifies the reduced-capability UE as half-duplex and describes the UE hardware).
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 2, Claim 2 recites The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following: AvailableSlotCounting is enabled; an overlapping resource is present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception; an overlapping resource is not present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception, and the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception is less than the target time; the transmission count is greater than 1; or the target uplink transmission is a radio resource control (RRC) semi-statically configured uplink transmission; or the target uplink transmission is a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission.
Rudolph discloses :“The transmission method according to claim 1,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: incorporates the method mapped for claim 1.
“wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶85-99, 113-121: describes multiple alternative conditions for PUSCH repetition and available-slot counting.
“AvailableSlotCounting is enabled;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: expressly enables AvailableSlotCounting for PUSCH repetition.
“an overlapping resource is present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97: the allocated PUSCH symbols overlap an SS/PBCH-block reception.
“an overlapping resource is not present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception, and the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception is less than the target time;” — Rudolf ¶¶95-99; provisional ¶96: discloses configured invalid DL-to-UL switching symbols after the last DL symbol for PUSCH repetition. This alternative is not required for anticipation because AvailableSlotCounting is separately disclosed.
“the transmission count is greater than 1;” — Rudolf ¶¶85-92, 95, 97-99: discloses PUSCH repetition with repetition factor K and N*K allocated slots.
“or the target uplink transmission is a radio resource control (RRC) semi-statically configured uplink transmission;” — Rudolf ¶¶113-121: discloses higher-layer/RRC configured-grant PUSCH transmission.
“or the target uplink transmission is a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission.” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92, 95, 97, 99: discloses DCI-scheduled PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 4, The transmission method according to claim 2, wherein the RRC semi-statically configured uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following: RRC semi-statically configured configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) Type1; or RRC semi-statically configured CG PUSCH Type2.
Rudolf discloses:
“The transmission method according to claim 2,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: incorporates the method mapped for claims 1-2.
“wherein the RRC semi-statically configured uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶113-121: discloses higher-layer configured-grant PUSCH resources.
“RRC semi-statically configured configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) Type1;” — Rudolf ¶¶113-116, 121: expressly describes Type 1 configured-grant PUSCH and applies AvailableSlotCounting.
“or RRC semi-statically configured CG PUSCH Type2.” — Rudolf ¶¶113-116, 121: expressly describes Type 2 configured-grant PUSCH and applies AvailableSlotCounting.
Regarding claim 5, The transmission method according to claim 2, wherein the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission comprises: PUSCH repetition scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or 0_2.
Limitation-by-limitation mapping:
“The transmission method according to claim 2,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: incorporates the method mapped for claims 1-2.
“wherein the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission comprises:” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92: discloses dynamically scheduled PUSCH repetition Type A.
“PUSCH repetition scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or 0_2.” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92, 95, 97, 99: expressly identifies DCI formats 0_1 and 0_2 for scheduling PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 7, The transmission method according to claim 1, wherein the downlink reception comprises: synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB).
Rudolf discloses “The transmission method according to claim 1,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: incorporates the method mapped for claim 1.
“wherein the downlink reception comprises:” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97, 103: identifies the downlink reception that conflicts with PUSCH.
“synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB).” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97, 103: expressly discloses SS/PBCH-block reception.
Regarding claim 8, The transmission method according to claim 7, wherein the SSB comprises: SSB configured by ssb-PositionsInBurst.
Rudolf discloses : “The transmission method according to claim 7,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97, 103: incorporates the SSB-reception method mapped for claim 7.
“wherein the SSB comprises:” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97: describes the SS/PBCH-block configuration.
“SSB configured by ssb-PositionsInBurst.” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97: expressly identifies ssb-PositionsInBurst for the SS/PBCH block.
Regarding claim 16, A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a program or instructions capable of running on the processor are stored in the memory, and the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform: in a case that a target condition is met, performing at least one of the following: determining that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission; wherein the terminal has a half-duplex capability or does not have a full-duplex capability.
Rudolf discloses :“A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory,” — Rudolf ¶¶49-56: discloses a UE having processor/controller and memory.
“wherein a program or instructions capable of running on the processor are stored in the memory,” — Rudolf ¶¶49-56: the UE memory stores instructions executed by its processor/controller.
“and the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform:” — Rudolf ¶¶49-56, 95, 97-99: the UE hardware implements the disclosed slot-counting procedure.
“in a case that a target condition is met, performing at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: the programmed UE applies AvailableSlotCounting when the disclosed condition is met.
“determining that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: a conflicting slot is not counted among the N*K slots for PUSCH repetition.
“or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: the conflicting slot is excluded from the slots available for PUSCH repetition.
“wherein the terminal has a half-duplex capability or does not have a full-duplex capability.” — Rudolf ¶97; see also ¶¶49-56: expressly identifies the reduced-capability UE as half-duplex and describes the UE hardware.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 17, The terminal according to claim 16, wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following: AvailableSlotCounting is enabled; an overlapping resource is present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception; an overlapping resource is not present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception, and the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception is less than the target time; the transmission count is greater than 1; or the target uplink transmission is a radio resource control (RRC) semi-statically configured uplink transmission; or the target uplink transmission is a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses : “The terminal according to claim 16,” — Rudolf ¶¶49-56, 95, 97-99: incorporates the terminal mapped for claim 16.
“wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶85-99, 113-121: describes multiple alternative conditions for PUSCH repetition and available-slot counting.
“AvailableSlotCounting is enabled;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: expressly enables AvailableSlotCounting for PUSCH repetition.
“an overlapping resource is present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97: the allocated PUSCH symbols overlap an SS/PBCH-block reception.
“an overlapping resource is not present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception, and the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception is less than the target time;” — Rudolf ¶¶95-99; provisional ¶96: discloses configured invalid DL-to-UL switching symbols after the last DL symbol for PUSCH repetition. This alternative is not required for anticipation because AvailableSlotCounting is separately disclosed.
“the transmission count is greater than 1;” — Rudolf ¶¶85-92, 95, 97-99: discloses PUSCH repetition with repetition factor K and N*K allocated slots.
“or the target uplink transmission is a radio resource control (RRC) semi-statically configured uplink transmission;” — Rudolf ¶¶113-121: discloses higher-layer/RRC configured-grant PUSCH transmission.
“or the target uplink transmission is a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission.” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92, 95, 97, 99: discloses DCI-scheduled PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 19, The terminal according to claim 17, wherein the RRC semi-statically configured uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following: RRC semi-statically configured configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) Type1; or RRC semi-statically configured CG PUSCH Type2.
Rudolf discloses :“The terminal according to claim 17,” — Rudolf ¶¶49-56, 95, 97-99: incorporates claims 16-17.“wherein the RRC semi-statically configured uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶113-121: discloses higher-layer configured-grant PUSCH resources.
“RRC semi-statically configured configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) Type1;” — Rudolf ¶¶113-116, 121: expressly describes Type 1 configured-grant PUSCH and applies AvailableSlotCounting.
“or RRC semi-statically configured CG PUSCH Type2.” — Rudolf ¶¶113-116, 121: expressly describes Type 2 configured-grant PUSCH and applies AvailableSlotCounting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf.
Regarding claim 9, A transmission method, comprising: in a case that a target condition is met, performing, by the network-side device, at least one of the following: determining that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of a terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission; wherein the terminal has a half-duplex capability or does not have a full-duplex capability.
Rudolf discloses
“A transmission method, comprising:” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 85-99: discloses gNB scheduling/configuration of PUSCH repetition.
“in a case that a target condition is met, performing, by the network-side device, at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: the scheduling gNB configures the slot set and applies the disclosed validity conditions.
“determining that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission,” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: the gNB's configured schedule excludes a conflicting slot from the repetition count.
“or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of a terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission;” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: the gNB determines/configures which scheduled slots are unavailable for repetition.
“wherein the terminal has a half-duplex capability or does not have a full-duplex capability.” — Rudolf ¶97: expressly identifies the scheduled UE as half-duplex.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to modify Rudolf because Rudolf's gNB schedules the PUSCH repetitions, supplies the RRC/DCI configuration, and receives the repetitions. Having that same scheduling gNB determine and record which configured slots are counted or unavailable would have been an obvious allocation of the disclosed slot-validity function to the network entity that possesses the scheduling information, yielding the predictable result of consistent scheduling and reception of only valid PUSCH repetitions.
Regarding claim 10, The transmission method according to claim 9, wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following: AvailableSlotCounting is enabled; an overlapping resource is present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception; an overlapping resource is not present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception, and the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception is less than the target time; the transmission count is greater than 1; or the target uplink transmission is a radio resource control (RRC) semi-statically configured uplink transmission; or the target uplink transmission is a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses :“The transmission method according to claim 9,” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: incorporates the network-side method mapped for claim 9.
“wherein the target condition comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 85-99, 113-121: describes the alternative scheduling/configuration conditions.
“AvailableSlotCounting is enabled;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: expressly applies AvailableSlotCounting.
“an overlapping resource is present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception;” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97: the scheduled PUSCH symbols overlap SS/PBCH reception.
“an overlapping resource is not present between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception, and the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception is less than the target time;” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: provides the configured DL-to-UL switching-symbol guard for PUSCH repetition.
“the transmission count is greater than 1;” — Rudolf ¶¶85-92, 95, 97-99: discloses PUSCH repetition factor K/N*K slots.
“or the target uplink transmission is a radio resource control (RRC) semi-statically configured uplink transmission;” — Rudolf ¶¶113-121: discloses configured-grant PUSCH.
“or the target uplink transmission is a dynamically scheduled uplink transmission.” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92, 95, 97, 99: discloses DCI-scheduled PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to modify Rudolf because Rudolf's gNB schedules the PUSCH repetitions, supplies the RRC/DCI configuration, and receives the repetitions. Having that same scheduling gNB determine and record which configured slots are counted or unavailable would have been an obvious allocation of the disclosed slot-validity function to the network entity that possesses the scheduling information, yielding the predictable result of consistent scheduling and reception of only valid PUSCH repetitions.
Regarding claim 12, The transmission method according to claim 10, wherein the RRC semi-statically configured uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following: RRC semi-statically configured physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission; RRC semi-statically configured configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) Type1; or RRC semi-statically configured CG PUSCH Type2.
Rudolf discloses :“The transmission method according to claim 10,” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: incorporates claims 9-10.
“wherein the RRC semi-statically configured uplink transmission comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf ¶¶71-74, 113-121: discloses gNB-configured uplink control and configured-grant resources.
“RRC semi-statically configured physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission;” — Rudolf ¶¶71-74: describes PUCCH as a gNB-configured uplink control channel.
“RRC semi-statically configured configured grant (CG) physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) Type1;” — Rudolf ¶¶113-116, 121: discloses Type 1 CG PUSCH.
“or RRC semi-statically configured CG PUSCH Type2.” — Rudolf ¶¶113-116, 121: discloses Type 2 CG PUSCH.
It would have been obvious to modify Rudolf because Rudolf's gNB schedules the PUSCH repetitions, supplies the RRC/DCI configuration, and receives the repetitions. Having that same scheduling gNB determine and record which configured slots are counted or unavailable would have been an obvious allocation of the disclosed slot-validity function to the network entity that possesses the scheduling information, yielding the predictable result of consistent scheduling and reception of only valid PUSCH repetitions.
Regarding claim 13, The transmission method according to claim 10, wherein +-the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission comprises: PUSCH repetition scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or 0_2.
Rudolf discloses :“The transmission method according to claim 10,” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: incorporates claims 9-10.
“wherein the dynamically scheduled uplink transmission comprises:” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92: discloses dynamically scheduled PUSCH repetition Type A.
“PUSCH repetition scheduled by downlink control information (DCI) format 0_1 or 0_2.” — Rudolf ¶¶89, 92, 95, 97, 99: expressly identifies DCI formats 0_1 and 0_2 for scheduling PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to modify Rudolf because Rudolf's gNB schedules the PUSCH repetitions, supplies the RRC/DCI configuration, and receives the repetitions. Having that same scheduling gNB determine and record which configured slots are counted or unavailable would have been an obvious allocation of the disclosed slot-validity function to the network entity that possesses the scheduling information, yielding the predictable result of consistent scheduling and reception of only valid PUSCH repetitions.
Regarding claim 15, The transmission method according to claim 9, wherein the downlink reception comprises: synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB).
Limitation-by-limitation mapping:
“The transmission method according to claim 9,” — Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: incorporates claim 9.
“wherein the downlink reception comprises:” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97, 103: identifies the downlink reception that conflicts with PUSCH.
“synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB).” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97, 103: expressly discloses SS/PBCH-block reception.
It would have been obvious to modify Rudolf because Rudolf's gNB schedules the PUSCH repetitions, supplies the RRC/DCI configuration, and receives the repetitions. Having that same scheduling gNB determine and record which configured slots are counted or unavailable would have been an obvious allocation of the disclosed slot-validity function to the network entity that possesses the scheduling information, yielding the predictable result of consistent scheduling and reception of only valid PUSCH repetitions.
Regarding claim 20, A network-side device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the transmission method according to claim 9 are implemented.
Rudolf discloses :“A network-side device, comprising a processor and a memory,” — Rudolf ¶¶38-47: discloses a gNB/base station having controller/processor 225 and memory 230.
“wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of running on the processor,” — Rudolf ¶¶38-47: the memory stores programs/instructions executed by the controller/processor.
“wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the steps of the transmission method according to claim 9 are implemented.” — Rudolf ¶¶38-47, 59-61, 85-99: the programmed gNB implements the network-side scheduling and slot-validity procedure mapped for claim
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to modify Rudolf because Rudolf's gNB schedules the PUSCH repetitions, supplies the RRC/DCI configuration, and receives the repetitions. Having that same scheduling gNB determine and record which configured slots are counted or unavailable would have been an obvious allocation of the disclosed slot-validity function to the network entity that possesses the scheduling information, yielding the predictable result of consistent scheduling and reception of only valid PUSCH repetitions.
Claims 3, 6, 11, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of 3GPP TS 38.214 V16.7.0 (Release 16, October 2021; hereinafter "TS 38.214").
Regarding claim 3, The transmission method according to claim 2, wherein the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception comprises at least one of the following: a time interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception; or a time interval between the last symbol for the downlink reception and the first symbol for the target uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses “The transmission method according to claim 2,” — Rudolf ¶¶85-99, 113-121: incorporates the method and target conditions mapped for claims 1-2.
“wherein the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: defines a DL-to-UL switching guard in symbols for PUSCH repetition.
“a time interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception;” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: the standardized guard teaching renders the recited alternative an obvious reciprocal switching interval for half-duplex operation.
“or a time interval between the last symbol for the downlink reception and the first symbol for the target uplink transmission.” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: configures invalid switching symbols after the last DL symbol and before permissible PUSCH transmission.
It would have been obvious to combine the references because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the DL-to-UL switching-symbol rule of TS 38.214 to Rudolf's available-slot-counting procedure because Rudolf already excludes PUSCH repetition slots that are unavailable due to downlink reception and expressly addresses half-duplex terminals, while TS 38.214 provides the standardized guard-symbol mechanism for protecting the transition from downlink reception to uplink transmission. The combination would have predictably prevented counting or attempting a PUSCH transmission where insufficient switching time exists, thereby avoiding a transmission/reception conflict and preserving reliable downlink reception.
Regarding claim 6, The transmission method according to claim 2, wherein the determining, by the terminal, that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission, in a case that a target condition is met, comprises: in a case with AvailableSlotCounting being started or enabled and the transmission count K being greater than 1, when an interval between the first symbol for the target uplink transmission and the last symbol for the downlink reception is less than the first threshold, and/or an interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception is less than the second threshold, determining that the target slot is not comprised in the transmission count of the target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is the unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses: “The transmission method according to claim 2,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: incorporates the method mapped for claims 1-2.
“wherein the determining, by the terminal, that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission, in a case that a target condition is met, comprises:” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: the UE excludes a conflicting slot from the PUSCH-repetition count/available-slot set.
“in a case with AvailableSlotCounting being started or enabled” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: expressly applies AvailableSlotCounting.
“and the transmission count K being greater than 1,” — Rudolf ¶¶85-92, 95, 97-99: uses a PUSCH repetition factor K and N*K allocated slots.
“when an interval between the first symbol for the target uplink transmission and the last symbol for the downlink reception is less than the first threshold,” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: uses a configured number of invalid DL-to-UL switching symbols after the last DL symbol, constituting the recited threshold interval.
“and/or an interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception is less than the second threshold,” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: makes obvious applying the same known switching-guard principle to the reciprocal half-duplex transition.
“determining that the target slot is not comprised in the transmission count of the target uplink transmission,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: does not count the conflicting slot among the N*K repetition slots.
“or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is the unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission.” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: treats the conflicting slot as unavailable for PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to combine the references because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the DL-to-UL switching-symbol rule of TS 38.214 to Rudolf's available-slot-counting procedure because Rudolf already excludes PUSCH repetition slots that are unavailable due to downlink reception and expressly addresses half-duplex terminals, while TS 38.214 provides the standardized guard-symbol mechanism for protecting the transition from downlink reception to uplink transmission. The combination would have predictably prevented counting or attempting a PUSCH transmission where insufficient switching time exists, thereby avoiding a transmission/reception conflict and preserving reliable downlink reception.
Regarding claim 11, The transmission method according to claim 10, wherein the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception comprises at least one of the following: a time interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception; or a time interval between the last symbol for the downlink reception and the first symbol for the target uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses :“The transmission method according to claim 10,” ( Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 85-99, 113-121: incorporates claims 9-10) “wherein the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: defines a DL-to-UL switching guard in symbols for PUSCH repetition.
“a time interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception;” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: the standardized guard teaching renders the recited alternative an obvious reciprocal switching interval for half-duplex operation.
“or a time interval between the last symbol for the downlink reception and the first symbol for the target uplink transmission.” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: configures invalid switching symbols after the last DL symbol and before permissible PUSCH transmission.
It would have been obvious to combine the references because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the DL-to-UL switching-symbol rule of TS 38.214 to Rudolf's available-slot-counting procedure because Rudolf already excludes PUSCH repetition slots that are unavailable due to downlink reception and expressly addresses half-duplex terminals, while TS 38.214 provides the standardized guard-symbol mechanism for protecting the transition from downlink reception to uplink transmission. The combination would have predictably prevented counting or attempting a PUSCH transmission where insufficient switching time exists, thereby avoiding a transmission/reception conflict and preserving reliable downlink reception.
Regarding claim 14, The transmission method according to claim 10, wherein the determining, by the network-side device, that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of a terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission, in a case that a target condition is met, comprises: in a case with AvailableSlotCounting being started or enabled and the transmission count K being greater than 1, when an interval between the first symbol for the target uplink transmission and the last symbol for the downlink reception is less than the first threshold, and/or an interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception is less than the second threshold, determining that the target slot is not comprised in the transmission count of the target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of the terminal is located is the unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses “the transmission method according to claim 10,” (Rudolf ¶¶59-61, 95, 97-99: incorporates claims 9-10).
“wherein the determining, by the network-side device, that a target slot is not comprised in a transmission count of a target uplink transmission, or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of a terminal is located is an unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission, in a case that a target condition is met, comprises:” (Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: the UE excludes a conflicting slot from the PUSCH-repetition count/available-slot set).
“in a case with AvailableSlotCounting being started or enabled” (Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: expressly applies AvailableSlotCounting).
“and the transmission count K being greater than 1,” (Rudolf ¶¶85-92, 95, 97-99: uses a PUSCH repetition factor K and N*K allocated slots).
“when an interval between the first symbol for the target uplink transmission and the last symbol for the downlink reception is less than the first threshold,” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: uses a configured number of invalid DL-to-UL switching symbols after the last DL symbol, constituting the recited threshold interval.
“and/or an interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception is less than the second threshold,” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: makes obvious applying the same known switching-guard principle to the reciprocal half-duplex transition.
“determining that the target slot is not comprised in the transmission count of the target uplink transmission,” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: does not count the conflicting slot among the N*K repetition slots.
“or determining that the target slot in which the target uplink transmission of a terminal is located is the unavailable slot for the target uplink transmission.” — Rudolf ¶¶95, 97-99: treats the conflicting slot as unavailable for PUSCH repetition.
Effective-date support: U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/314,136, Fig. 13 and ¶237 (available-slot counting for PUSCH repetition over K slots), ¶96 (reduced-capability half-duplex UE), ¶99 (UE not capable of simultaneous transmission and reception), together with ¶146 and ¶¶162-165 and Fig. 8.
It would have been obvious to combine the references because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the DL-to-UL switching-symbol rule of TS 38.214 to Rudolf's available-slot-counting procedure because Rudolf already excludes PUSCH repetition slots that are unavailable due to downlink reception and expressly addresses half-duplex terminals, while TS 38.214 provides the standardized guard-symbol mechanism for protecting the transition from downlink reception to uplink transmission. The combination would have predictably prevented counting or attempting a PUSCH transmission where insufficient switching time exists, thereby avoiding a transmission/reception conflict and preserving reliable downlink reception.
Regarding claim 18, The terminal according to claim 17, wherein the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception comprises at least one of the following: a time interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception; or a time interval between the last symbol for the downlink reception and the first symbol for the target uplink transmission.
Rudolf discloses “The terminal according to claim 17,” (Rudolf ¶¶49-56, 95, 97-99: incorporates claims 16-17).
“wherein the switching time between the target uplink transmission and the downlink reception comprises at least one of the following:” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: defines a DL-to-UL switching guard in symbols for PUSCH repetition.
“a time interval between the last symbol for the target uplink transmission and the first symbol for the downlink reception;” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: the standardized guard teaching renders the recited alternative an obvious reciprocal switching interval for half-duplex operation.
“or a time interval between the last symbol for the downlink reception and the first symbol for the target uplink transmission.” — Rudolf does not expressly disclose this switching-time/threshold limitation. TS 38.214 §6.1.2.1, pp.116-117: configures invalid switching symbols after the last DL symbol and before permissible PUSCH transmission.
It would have been obvious to combine the references because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the DL-to-UL switching-symbol rule of TS 38.214 to Rudolf's available-slot-counting procedure because Rudolf already excludes PUSCH repetition slots that are unavailable due to downlink reception and expressly addresses half-duplex terminals, while TS 38.214 provides the standardized guard-symbol mechanism for protecting the transition from downlink reception to uplink transmission. The combination would have predictably prevented counting or attempting a PUSCH transmission where insufficient switching time exists, thereby avoiding a transmission/reception conflict and preserving reliable downlink reception.
Conclusion
/ANGEL T BROCKMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2412