DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments to the claims dated 11/25/24 are acknowledged. Claims 1-19 are cancelled. Claims 20-35 are new. Prosecution on the merits commences for claims 20-35.
PRIORITY
The instant application, filed 9/24/2024 is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 12,127536 filed 8/21/2020, is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 10,785,966, filed 04/14/2017, which is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 9,655,352, filed 08/26/2014, which is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 8,847,004, filed 02/14/2012, which claims priority to US Provisional Application No. 61/442,946, filed 02/15/2011. Thus, the earliest possible priority for the instant Application is 02/15/2011.
CLAIMS
Independent claims 20 and 34 are broadly drawn to a genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cell comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (Claim 20), and a targeting construct to encoding human M-CSF with that target nucleic acids encoding mouse M-CSF (claim 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 20-24, 27-31, and 34-35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0028911 to Huang, of record, Van Der Weyden et al, Tools for Targeted Manipulation of the Mouse Genome. Physiological Genomics, 2002. 11:133-164, of record, and Ryan et al. Rescue of the Colony-Stimulating Factor 1 (CSF-1)-nullizygous Mouse (Csflop/CSFlop) Phenotype With a CSF-1 Transgene and Identification of Sites of Local CSF-1 Synthesis. Blood, 2001. 98(1): 74-84, of record.
Huang discloses genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cells comprising nucleic acids encoding human macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (M-CSF) using random mutagenesis (paragraphs [0010]-[0012], [0041], [0082]-[0088], [0095], [0102]-[0106], [0125]-[0178], FIGs.4-7). Ttransgenic line 71 expresses human MCSF (CSF-1) in bone marrow, spleen, blood, liver, brain, lung, and kidney (paragraph [0169], Table 3, FIG 6A; FIG 7A, 7B). Huang teaches that the transgenic mice expressing human cytokines, such as M-CSF (CSF-1) have a lot of variability, due to the random integration and expression of the transgenes (paragraphs [0170]-[0172]).
However, Huang does not disclose wherein the nucleic acid encoding the human M-CSF is operably linked to the endogenous mouse M-CSF locus as required by claim 20, or that the vector encoding the human M-CSF is a targeting vector according to claim 34.
Van der Weyden discloses that random insertion of transgenes and targeted insertion of transgenes are known in the art (Section 2.1, page 135), and that the targeted technologies provides the highest level of control over producing mutations (Page 135, pt column, pt paragraph). Van Der Weyden discloses that common knock-in targeted technology relies on the knock-in gene being inserted downstream of the endogenous promoter, such that the knock-in gene is thereby driven by the endogenous promoter at the endogenous locus (Section 2.1.4, page 139-140; FIG 6). Transgene is operably linked to the endogenous promoter the transgene is expressed in the spatial and temporal manner of the endogenous gene (page 140). Van Der Weyden discloses knock-in design often is designed using replacement vectors, such that the transgene to be knocked in replaces the targeted locus (page 140, first column, FIG 6A). Van Der Weyden discloses targeted replacement vectors comprise homology arms upstream and downstream of the encoded transgene, wherein the homology arms are specific for the host genome, and further wherein the vectors encode a marker or selection cassette (page 135, FIGs 2A, B, Table 1).
Ryan generates transgenic mice expressing murine M-CSF (CSF-1), operably linked to a mouse M-CSF (CSF-1) promoter and pt intron, are capable of rescuing the M-CSF (CSF-1) knockout mouse phenotypes (Abstract, pages 76-79, 81-85). Ryan generates a vector encoding the mouse M-CSF (CSF-1) promoter and first intron, operably linked to a transgene (mouse CSF-1 or lacZ), and generates M-CSF (CSF-1) or Lacz transgenic mice via random insertion in the M-CSF (CSF-l)knockout background (page 75, FIG 1b, 1c):
Ryan shows the murine M-CSF (CSF-1) promoter and pt intron are capable of expressing the
operably linked transgenes with the same regulation and tissue distribution of the endogenous M-CSF
(CSF-1) gene expression (page 75, first paragraph, page 77, second column). Ryan shows the murine MCSF (CSF-1) promoter and pt intron are capable of expressing a transgene in bone marrow (FIG 8),
spleen (FIG 8), blood (Table 1), liver (Table 2), brain (Table 2), lung (Table 2), testis (Table 2, FIG 10), and
kidney (Table 2).
It would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Huang on recombinant mouse ES cells encoding and expressing human M-CSF further with the disclosures of Van Der Weyden and Ryan. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to encode human cytokine M-CSF on a targeting vector such that the integrated human M-CSF is operably linked to the endogenous locus because 1) Huang acknowledges that the transgenic mice expressing human cytokines, such as CSF-1 have a lot of variability due to the random integration and expression of the transgenes (paragraphs [0170]-[0172]); and 2) Van Der Weyden discloses targeted knock-in transgenes provide the greatest control over producing mutations, and allows the transgene to be expressed in the spatial and temporal manner of the endogenous gene. A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success at practicing the claimed invention as encoding human genes at the orthologous endogenous mouse locus in ES cells using targeted mutagenesis was known in the art at the time of the invention.
With regard to claims 21-24, 27-31 and 35, Huang discloses the mice are generated from embryos comprising the recombinant ES cells, and are immunodeficient, including Rag2 knockout mice (paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014], [0023]-[0024], [0080]-[0086]), but does not disclose targeted human M-CSF. Huang does disclose methods of making knock-in mice via gene replacement (paragraphs [0053]-[0079]).
Van Der Weyden discloses wherein knock-in animals comprise knock-ins at one or both alleles, which can result in homozygous or heterozygous null mutations (page 135, second column, first paragraph). The knock-in animals are generated by integrating a targeting vector into ES cells, wherein ES cells comprising the knock-in sequences are injected into embryos for further development (FIGs 1-2). In addition, Van Der Weyden discloses that insertion of knock-in vectors at endogenous locus usually results in a loss-of-function of the endogenous gene (i.e. a null allele) (page 140, first paragraph). Further, Ryan shows that the intron/exon boundaries between mouse and human are conserved, and the full-length mouse M-CSF coding sequence comprises exons 2-9 (FIG 1 legend, FIG 1).
Thus, would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to include at least one null allele at the M-CSF locus, in selected ES cells used to generate modified embryos, as the act of knocking-in a transgene usually results in a null allele at the locus. And, deletion of murine exons 2-9 is obvious because 1) Ryan discloses exons 2-9 encode full length M-CSF, and the genomic organization of the M-CSF gene is conserved between humans and mice; and 2) Van Der Weyden discloses knock-in design often is designed using replacement vectors, such that the transgene to be knocked in replaces the targeted locus. Thus, it would have been obvious to knock out murine exons 2-9 while replacing them with human exons 2-9, encoding full length human M-CSF.
In addition, the steps of claim 35 are obvious in light of the combination of Huang and Van Der Weyden’s disclosed methodologies regarding the process of making genetically modified mice via targeted gene replacement, as iterated above.
Claims 25-26 and 32-33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0028911 to Huang, of record, Van Der Weyden et al, Tools for Targeted Manipulation of the Mouse Genome. Physiological Genomics, 2002. 11:133-164, of record, and Ryan et al. Rescue of the Colony-Stimulating Factor 1 (CSF-1)-nullizygous Mouse (Csflop/CSFlop) Phenotype With a CSF-1 Transgene and Identification of Sites of Local CSF-1 Synthesis. Blood, 2001. 98(1): 74-84, of record, as applied to claims 20-24, 27-31, and 34-35 above, and further in view of Strowig et al. Transgenic Expression of Human Signal Regulatory Protein Alpha in Rag2−/−γc−/− Mice Improves Engraftment of Human Hematopoietic Cells in Humanized Mice. PNAS, 2011. 108(32):13218-13223, of record.
The disclosures of Huang, Van Der Weyden and Ryan are applied as in the 103 rejection above, the content of which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Huang discloses the genetically modified mice are immunodeficient, including SCID or Rag2 knockout (RAG2 -/- ) mice (paragraphs [0074], [0124], [0182]-[0194]). In addition, Huang discloses the transgenic mice are produced from genetically modified donor specific stem cells and embryos that are successfully engrafted into immunodeficient recipient mice (paragraphs [0025], [0072], [0086], [0095], [0163]). Use of donor-specific stem cells are the source of the recipient animals immune system and cytokines (paragraph [0026]). However, none of Huang, Van Der Weyden or Ryan disclose wherein the immunodeficient mice are ILR2 -/-, or ILR2 -/- and RAG2 -/-, as required by claims 25-26 and 32-33.
Strowig discloses methods of making immunodeficient humanized knock-in mice expressing human genes in a RAG2 -/- and ILR2 -/- background (Abstract, page 791, 793). Strowig discloses the use of RAG2 -/- and ILR2 -/- mice can easily be engineered and had significantly increased engraftment of donor-specific genetically modified stem cells (abstract).
It would have been obvious to combine the disclosures of Huang, Van Der Weyden and Ryan on genetically modified mice produced in an immunodeficient background further with the disclosure of Strowig. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to generate modified ES cells in a RAG2 -/- and ILR2 -/- background because Strowig discloses such cells can be successfully used as such. A skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention as use of RAG2 -/- and ILR2 -/- immunodeficient genetically modified stem cells in the process of generating knock-in mice was known at the time of the invention.
Double Patenting
The instant claims 20-35 are directed to a genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cell comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (Claim 20), and a targeting construct to encoding human M-CSF with that target nucleic acids encoding mouse M-CSF (claim 34).
The instant application is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 12,127,536 which is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 10,785,966, which is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 9,655,352, which is a CONTINUATION of US Patent No. 8,847,004.
MPEP 804.01:
35 U.S.C. 121 authorizes the Director to restrict the claims in a patent application to a single invention when independent and distinct inventions are presented for examination. The third sentence of 35 U.S.C. 121 prohibits the use of a patent issuing on an application in which a requirement for restriction has been made, or on an application filed as a result of such a requirement, as a reference against any divisional application in a nonstatutory double patenting rejection, if the divisional application is filed before the issuance of the patent. The 35 U.S.C. 121 prohibition applies only where the Office has made a requirement for restriction. The prohibition does not apply where the divisional application was voluntarily filed by the applicant and not in response to an Office requirement for restriction. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has concluded that the protection of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not extend to all types of continuing applications, stating that "the protection afforded by section 121 to applications (or patents issued therefrom) filed as a result of a restriction requirement is limited to divisional applications." Pfizer, Inc. V. Teva Pharmaceuticals USA, Inc., 518F.3d 1353, 1362, 86 USPQ2d 1001, 1007-1008 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
There was a Restriction Requirement in the prosecution of the '952 Patent between (1) the methods of making a recombinant mouse comprising Rag2 KO; IL2rg KO; AND human M-CSF has replaced the mouse M-CSF; claimed specific tissue expression of bone marrow, spleen, blood, liver, brain, testis and kidney; and (2) methods of using the mouse in a screening assay. However, because the instant Application is a CONTINUATION the provisions under 1.121 do not apply, as the provisions under 1.121 are only protective for DIVISIONAL applications.
Each of the following rejections are made in light of the following prior art:
US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0028911 to Huang, of record;
Van Der Weyden et al, Tools for Targeted Manipulation of the Mouse Genome. Physiological Genomics, 2002. 11:133-164, of record;
Ryan et al. Rescue of the Colony-Stimulating Factor 1 (CSF-1)-nullizygous Mouse (Csflop/CSFlop) Phenotype With a CSF-1 Transgene and Identification of Sites of Local CSF-1 Synthesis. Blood, 2001. 98(1): 74-84, of record; and
Strowig et al. Transgenic Expression of Human Signal Regulatory Protein Alpha in Rag2−/−γc−/− Mice Improves Engraftment of Human Hematopoietic Cells in Humanized Mice. PNAS, 2011. 108(32):13218-13223, of record.
Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,536, further in view of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims are obvious variants of the patented claims in light of the prior art.
Each of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig are applied as in the 103 rejections of record above, the contents of which are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Independent claim 1 of the ‘536 patent is drawn to a method of isolating a human immune cell from a genetically modified immunodeficient mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter, wherein the mouse expresses human M-CSF.
The instant claims are drawn to a genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cell comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (Claim 20), and a targeting construct to encoding human M-CSF with that target nucleic acids encoding mouse M-CSF (claim 34), and methods of making a genetically modified mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (claim 35) .
It would have been obvious that the claimed modified ES cells, targeted nucleic acid construct, and method of making mice could be used to generate the mice used in the methods of use claims in the ‘536 patent.
Instant claims 21-33 are obvious over the patented claims 2-21, or obvious over Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig as cited above.
Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 10,785,966 further in view of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims are obvious variants of the patented claims in light of the prior art.
Each of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig are applied as in the 103 rejections of record above, the contents of which are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Independent claim 1 of the ‘966 patent is drawn to a method of screening the in vivo effect of a test using a genetically modified immunodeficient mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter, wherein the mouse expresses human M-CSF.
The instant claims are drawn to a genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cell comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (Claim 20), and a targeting construct to encoding human M-CSF with that target nucleic acids encoding mouse M-CSF (claim 34), and methods of making a genetically modified mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (claim 35) .
It would have been obvious that the claimed modified ES cells, targeted nucleic acid construct, and method of making mice could be used to generate the mice used in the methods of use claims in the ‘966 patent.
Instant claims 21-33 are obvious over the patented claims 2-11, or obvious over Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig as cited above.
Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 9,655,352 further in view of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims are obvious variants of the patented claims in light of the prior art.
Each of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig are applied as in the 103 rejections of record above, the contents of which are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Independent claim 1 of the ‘352 patent is drawn to a method of making a genetically modified immunodeficient mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter, wherein the mouse expresses human M-CSF.
The instant claims are drawn to a genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cell comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (Claim 20), and a targeting construct to encoding human M-CSF with that target nucleic acids encoding mouse M-CSF (claim 34), and methods of making a genetically modified mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (claim 35) .
It would have been obvious that the claimed modified ES cells, targeted nucleic acid construct, and method of making mice could be used to generate the mice used in the methods of use claims in the ‘352 patent.
Instant claims 21-33 are obvious over the patented claims 2-6, or obvious over Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig as cited above.
Claims 20-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 8,847,004 further in view of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims are obvious variants of the patented claims in light of the prior art.
Each of Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig are applied as in the 103 rejections of record above, the contents of which are incorporated herein in their entirety.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 13 of the ‘004 patent are drawn to a genetically modified immunodeficient mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter, wherein the mouse expresses human M-CSF.
The instant claims are drawn to a genetically modified mouse embryonic stem cell comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (Claim 20), and a targeting construct to encoding human M-CSF with that target nucleic acids encoding mouse M-CSF (claim 34), and methods of making a genetically modified mouse comprising a construct encoding human Macrophage Colony-Stimulating Factor (hM-CSF) protein that is operably linked to the endogenous M-CSF promoter (claim 35) .
It would have been obvious that the claimed modified ES cells, targeted nucleic acid construct, and method of making mice could be used to generate the mice in the ‘004 patent.
Instant claims 21-33 are obvious over the patented claims 2-7, 9-12 and 14-16, or obvious over Huang, Van Der Weyden, Ryan and Strowig as cited above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
KAA
/CHRISTOPHER M BABIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1633