DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15-16, 18-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 3. 12, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,132,597 B2 in view of Gore et al. (US 2007/0071127 A1).
Claim
Instant Application
Claim
US Patent 12,132,597
1
A method of wireless communication, comprising:
generating a transmission waveform comprising modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers, and
transmitting the transmission waveform using frequency and time resources wherein: (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
1
A method of wireless communication, comprising:
performing a first mapping in which information bits are mapped to transmission resources in a first portion of a two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid, wherein the two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid comprises N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers;
performing a second mapping in which a reference signal is mapped to transmission resources in a second portion of the two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid; and
generating a transmission waveform from a signal combination of an output of the first mapping and an output of the second mapping;
wherein the transmission waveform corresponds to an output of an orthogonal time frequency space (OTFS) waveform of the signal combination, and at least the output of the second mapping undergoes a time-domain spreading operation.
4
The method of claim 1, wherein the transmission waveform is generating using a two- dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
3
The method of claim 1, wherein the transmission waveform is generated using a two-dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
8
A method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a transmission waveform using frequency and time resources wherein the transmission waveform comprises (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources in which a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources in which the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold,
wherein the transmission waveform comprises modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers; and
processing the transmission waveform to recover the information bits.
12
A method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a wireless waveform that represents an orthogonal time frequency space (OTFS) waveform of a signal combination of modulated information bits and a reference signal that are placed along a two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers,
wherein the two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid comprises a first portion in which the modulated information bits are mapped to first transmission resources therein and a second portion in which the reference signal is mapped to second transmission resources therein;
generating a non-spread waveform by applying a time-domain inverse spreading operation to at least a portion of the wireless waveform corresponding to the second portion; and
extracting information bits using further receiver-side processing of the non-spread waveform.
11
The method of claim 8, wherein the transmission waveform is generated using a two- dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
14
The method of claim 12, wherein the wireless waveform is generated using a two-dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
15
A wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor configured to cause the wireless communication apparatus to perform a method of wireless communication, comprising:
generating a transmission waveform comprising modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers, and
transmitting the transmission waveform using frequency and time resources wherein: (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
1
A method of wireless communication, comprising:
performing a first mapping in which information bits are mapped to transmission resources in a first portion of a two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid, wherein the two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid comprises N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers;
performing a second mapping in which a reference signal is mapped to transmission resources in a second portion of the two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid; and
generating a transmission waveform from a signal combination of an output of the first mapping and an output of the second mapping;
wherein the transmission waveform corresponds to an output of an orthogonal time frequency space (OTFS) waveform of the signal combination, and at least the output of the second mapping undergoes a time-domain spreading operation.
16
The wireless communication apparatus of claim 15, wherein the transmission waveform is generating using a two-dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
3
The method of claim 1, wherein the transmission waveform is generated using a two-dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
18
A wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor configured to cause the wireless communication apparatus to perform a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a transmission waveform using frequency and time resources wherein the transmission waveform comprises (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources in which a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources in which the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold,
wherein the transmission waveform comprises modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers; and
processing the transmission waveform to recover the information bits.
12
A method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a wireless waveform that represents an orthogonal time frequency space (OTFS) waveform of a signal combination of modulated information bits and a reference signal that are placed along a two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers,
wherein the two-dimensional delay-Doppler grid comprises a first portion in which the modulated information bits are mapped to first transmission resources therein and a second portion in which the reference signal is mapped to second transmission resources therein;
generating a non-spread waveform by applying a time-domain inverse spreading operation to at least a portion of the wireless waveform corresponding to the second portion; and
extracting information bits using further receiver-side processing of the non-spread waveform.
19
The wireless communication apparatus of claim 18, wherein the transmission waveform is generated using a two-dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
14
The method of claim 12, wherein
the wireless waveform is generated using a two-dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension.
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 1, except (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
However, Gore discloses a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(2) Regarding claim 2:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, and Gore further discloses the first threshold or the second threshold is relative to the power of the transmission waveform (the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057)).
(3) Regarding claim 3:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, and Gore further discloses the first threshold or the second threshold is a pre-defined value (the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057), the examiner interprets the 20dB as the claimed pre-defined value).
(4) Regarding claim 4:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 1, and claim 3 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 further discloses the subject matter of claim 4 as shown in above comparison.
(5) Regarding claim 8:
Claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 8, except (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
However, Gore discloses a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of claim 8 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(6) Regarding claim 9:
Claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 8, and Gore further discloses the first threshold or the second threshold is relative to the power of the transmission waveform (the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057)).
(7) Regarding claim 10:
Claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 8, and Gore further discloses the first threshold or the second threshold is a pre-defined value (the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057), the examiner interprets the 20dB as the claimed pre-defined value).
(8) Regarding claim 11:
Claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 8, and claim 14 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 further discloses the subject matter of claim 11 as shown in above comparison.
(9) Regarding claim 15:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 15, except33 (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold; and the method is performed by a wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor.
However, Gore discloses a transmitter with processor (processor 680 and 682 as shown in figure 6, para. 0067), and a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of claim 8 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(10) Regarding claim 16:
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 15, and claim 3 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 further discloses the subject matter of claim 16 as shown in above comparison.
(11) Regarding claim 18:
Claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 discloses all subject matter of claim 18, except (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold; and the method is performed by a wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor.
However, Gore discloses a device with processor (processor 680 and 682 as shown in figure 6, para. 0067), and transmit a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(12) Regarding claim 19:
Claim 12 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claim 18, and claim 14 of US Patent 12,132,597 B2 further discloses the subject matter of claim 19 as shown in above comparison.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 15-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadani (US 2020/0204410 A1) in view of Gore et al. (US 2007/0071127 A1).
(1) Regarding claim 1:
Hadani discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
generating a transmission waveform comprising modulated data symbols carrying information bits (para. 0099), wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers (We assume that the filter function factorizes as w([Symbol font/0x74],v)=w[Symbol font/0x74]([Symbol font/0x74])wv(v) where the delay and Doppler factors are square root Nyquist with respect to [Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74]=[Symbol font/0x74]r/N and [Symbol font/0x44]v=v r /M respectively. We encode the information bits as a periodic 2D sequence of QAM symbols x=x[n[Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74],m[Symbol font/0x44]v] with periods (N,M), para. 0099; para. 0102-0103), and
transmitting the transmission waveform using frequency and time resources (Signal transmissions in a wireless network may be represented by describing the waveforms in the time domain, in the frequency domain, or in the delay-Doppler domain (e.g., Zak domain), para. 0036).
Hadani fails to disclose (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
However, Gore discloses a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of Hadani for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(2) Regarding claim 15:
Hadani discloses a wireless communication apparatus (as shown in figure 15) comprising at least one processor (processor 1502 as shown in figure 15) configured to cause the wireless communication apparatus to perform a method of wireless communication, comprising:
generating a transmission waveform comprising modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers (We assume that the filter function factorizes as w([Symbol font/0x74],v)=w[Symbol font/0x74]([Symbol font/0x74])wv(v) where the delay and Doppler factors are square root Nyquist with respect to [Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74]=[Symbol font/0x74]r/N and [Symbol font/0x44]v=v r /M respectively. We encode the information bits as a periodic 2D sequence of QAM symbols x=x[n[Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74],m[Symbol font/0x44]v] with periods (N,M), para. 0099; para. 0102-0103), and
transmitting the transmission waveform using frequency and time resources (Signal transmissions in a wireless network may be represented by describing the waveforms in the time domain, in the frequency domain, or in the delay-Doppler domain (e.g., Zak domain), para. 0036).
Hadani fails to disclose (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources is configured such that a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
However, Gore discloses a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of Hadani for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(3) Regarding claim 8:
Hadani discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a transmission waveform using frequency and time resources (We now proceed to describe the de-modulation rule implemented at the receiver side. Given a time domain waveform φrx, the receiver demodulates it according to the following formula, para. 0237-0242),
wherein the transmission waveform comprises modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers; and processing the transmission waveform to recover the information bits (We assume that the filter function factorizes as w([Symbol font/0x74],v)=w[Symbol font/0x74]([Symbol font/0x74])wv(v) where the delay and Doppler factors are square root Nyquist with respect to [Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74]=[Symbol font/0x74]r/N and [Symbol font/0x44]v=v r /M respectively. We encode the information bits as a periodic 2D sequence of QAM symbols x=x[n[Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74],m[Symbol font/0x44]v] with periods (N,M), para. 0099; para. 0102-0103).
Hadani fails to disclose the transmission waveform comprises (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources in which a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources in which the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
However, Gore discloses a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of Hadani for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(4) Regarding claim 18:
Hadani discloses a wireless communication apparatus comprising at least one processor configured to cause the wireless communication apparatus to perform a method of wireless communication, comprising:
receiving a transmission waveform using frequency and time resources (We now proceed to describe the de-modulation rule implemented at the receiver side. Given a time domain waveform φrx, the receiver demodulates it according to the following formula, para. 0237-0242),
wherein the transmission waveform comprises modulated data symbols carrying information bits, wherein the modulated data symbols are organized in a number of data frames along a delay-Doppler grid comprising N Doppler elements and M delay elements, where N and M are positive integers; and processing the transmission waveform to recover the information bits (We assume that the filter function factorizes as w([Symbol font/0x74],v)=w[Symbol font/0x74]([Symbol font/0x74])wv(v) where the delay and Doppler factors are square root Nyquist with respect to [Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74]=[Symbol font/0x74]r/N and [Symbol font/0x44]v=v r /M respectively. We encode the information bits as a periodic 2D sequence of QAM symbols x=x[n[Symbol font/0x44][Symbol font/0x74],m[Symbol font/0x44]v] with periods (N,M), para. 0099; para. 0102-0103).
Hadani fails to disclose the transmission waveform comprises (a) a reduced power frequency portion of the frequency resources in which a power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power frequency portion is below a first threshold, or (b) a reduced power time portion of the time resources in which the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold.
However, Gore discloses a waveform in figure 4 with the time duration for the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057).
It is desirable to have a reduced power time portion of the time resources is configured such that the power of the transmission waveform in the reduced power time portion is below a second threshold because it enhanced the channel estimation for the waveform (para. 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Gore in the method of Hadani for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(5) Regarding claims 2 and 9:
Hadani and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 8, and Gore further discloses the first threshold or the second threshold is relative to the power of the transmission waveform (the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057)).
(6) Regarding claims 3 and 10:
Hadani and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claims 1 and 8, and Gore further discloses the first threshold or the second threshold is a pre-defined value (the pilot waveform 510 transmitted at a power level below that of waveform 502, such as 20dB below the transmission power of waveform 502 (para. 0053-0054, 0057), the examiner interprets the 20dB as the claimed pre-defined value).
(7) Regarding claims 4, 11, 16, 19:
Hadani and Gore together disclose all subject matter of claims 1, 8, 15, and 18, and Hadani further discloses the transmission waveform is generating using a two- dimensional delay-Doppler pulse that is represented as a twisted convolution of a pulse in a delay dimension and a pulse in a Doppler dimension (we assume that the function w=wtx can be decomposed as a twisted/Heisenberg convolution w=w[Symbol font/0x67] * w[Symbol font/0x6E] where w[Symbol font/0x74] is a one dimensional function supported on the delay axis and w[Symbol font/0x6E] is one dimensional function supported on the Doppler axis, para. 0205-0208).
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadani (US 2020/0204410 A1) in view of Gore et al. (US 2007/0071127 A1) as applied to claims 4 and 11 above, and further in view of Hebron et al. (US 2019/0044682 A1).
(1) Regarding claims 5 and 12:
Hadani and Gore discloses all subject matter of claims 4 and 11, but fails to disclose the pulse in the delay dimension and/or the Doppler dimension corresponds to a linear combination of different pulses.
However, Hebron discloses In the paradigm of OTFS channels are understood in two domains: Time-Frequency domain. In this domain the channel acts by multiplication and looks like a linear combination of two dimensional waves. Delay-Doppler domain. In this domain the channel acts by convolution and looks like a linear combination of two dimensional sincs (para. 0044-0046).
It is desirable to have the pulse in the delay dimension and/or the Doppler dimension corresponds to a linear combination of different pulses because improves the channel estimation process to obtain entire communication channel estimation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hebron in the method and apparatus of Hadani and Gore for the benefit of improving the channel estimation.
(2) Regarding claims 6 and 13:
Hadani and Gore discloses all subject matter of claims 5 and 12, but fails to disclose the different pulses include at least two different raised cosine pulses or at least two different square root raised cosine pulses.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hebron discloses, assume the implementation uses a Raised Cosine (RC) filter in both the transmitter and the receiver with the following Tx/Rx windows: Number of time samples: 50 (n=36, and additional 14 for the RC filter), Number of frequency samples: 626 (m=500, and additional 126 for the RC filter) (para. 0146-0149).
It is desirable to have the different pulses include at least two different raised cosine pulses or at least two different square root raised cosine pulses because it enable lower pilot leakage (para. 0161). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Hebron in the method and apparatus of Hadani and Gore for the benefit of reducing pilot leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 14, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hadani (WO/2017/087706 A1) discloses orthogonal time frequency space modulation technique.
/SIU M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 8/14/2026