DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pearson (US Patent 6,012,203) in view of Petty (US Patent 6,125,793) and Johnson et al (US Patent 5,097,679).
Pearson teaches an interchangeable snap-on adornments for fashion accessories which are structurally similar to an collar.
Regarding claims 1 and 20, the Applicant’s attention is directed to Figure 20. The device of Pearson teaches a belt or collar-like strap (unnumbered) which is structurally similar to the Applicant’s claimed collar. A charm 10 is placed thru the belt and an anti rotation plate 30 is coupled to the charm. However, Pearson does not teach a threaded stem nor a multi layered belt or collar like device. Johnson et al teach a threaded stem for securing a charm onto an object. Regarding claims 1 and 20, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Pearson with a threaded stem connection Johnson et al and the multi layer collar or belt Petty, in order to provide an alternative and more secure way of attaching the charm to the belt and to provide the belt with an expandable and more resilient strength.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the reference to Pearson teaches at least one bent corner made from a durable material to function properly and surrounds the stem of the charm.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the anti rotation plate 30 surrounds the threaded stem in a concentric manner.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the combination Pearson as modified by Petty and Johnson et al to use an adhesive layer to attach the charm to the ARP.
As for claims 7 and 8, in the combination of Pearson as modified by Petty and Johnson et al, the reference to Johnson et al teaches a screw like element 18.
As for claims 9 and 10, the reference to Johnson et al teach a threaded stem (unnumbered) is configured to receive the screw 18.
As for claim 11, the reference to Petty as shown in figure 5, the middle layer 46 is located between the top layer 26 and the base layer 34.
Contact Information
/RICHARD T PRICE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643