DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 5-8, 11, 15-18 have been amended, claims 9-10, 19-20 have been canceled. Claims 1-8 and 11-18 are pending.
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original non-provisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the provisional application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed provisional application 63/585,158 filed 09/25/2023 is acknowledged, however written description support for “generating a parameters data structure based on the selected set of parameters, wherein the parameters data structure is a data structure that stores parameters that have been selected by the user”, “updating the parameters data structure based on the new set of parameters” in claim 1 and 11, “receiving a value for each of the set of parameters” in claims and 12, “receiving a range of values for a parameter of the set of parameters” in claims 3, 13 and “the LLM prompt further comprises the generated parameters data structure “ in claims 5 and 15 and for claims 6-10, 16-20 is provided only in the currently filed application and thus, the presented claims and dependents thereof do not receive the benefit of the priority filing date. Co-pending applications must provide written description support for the claimed invention under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (e.g., must provide support to show both possession and enablement of the claimed subject matter such as a parameters data structure in order for the earlier priority date to be recognized for the claims noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SACHETI et al. (US 20240354309) (previously cited) in view of BATINA et al. (US 20240289361) and alternatively, in further view of the applicant’s admitted prior art Petricek et al. (US 11055305)(see IDS filed 03/25/2025).
Regarding claim 1, SACHETI teaches a method comprising:
receiving a request for a search user interface from a user device ([0030], [0032]);
transmitting a search user interface to the user device for display to the user, wherein the search user interface comprises a primary section (F3:312) and a chat section (F3:300, [0034]), wherein the primary section comprises a first subsection and a second subsection (F3:320, 324),
wherein the first subsection is a subsection for displaying content relating to a search of the user and the second subsection comprises parameter elements for selecting a set of parameters for the search (F3:320, 324), and
wherein the chat section comprises elements for a chat interface with an automated chat system ([0030] “GLM 112 with an updated prompt that instructs the GLM 112 to generate a table and populate the table with values of attributes of entities that are relevant to the query, images that are relevant to the query”; “GLM 112 to provide interactive graphics that represent ways in which the table can be modified, such as identities of attributes”)(see NOTE);
receiving a selection of a set of parameters through the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section ([0030] “The user can then provide additional interaction with respect to the interactive graphic elements, causing the GLM 112 to present an updated table (e.g., with additional values of attributes included, with values for attributes removed, and so forth)”, [0037] “user can interact with such list to cause attributes represented in the table to be updated. In another example, a pulldown button is presented in graphical relation to an entity name, where a list of entities that correspond to the query are presented upon user selection of such pulldown button. Through interaction with such list, the user can alter the entities that are represented in the table”, [0038]);
generating a parameters data structure based on the selected set of parameters, wherein the parameters data structure is a data structure that stores values for the set of parameters that have been selected by the user through the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section ([0033] “generate a table and populate the table with attributes of entities identified by the search system 110 and provided to the GLM”, [0036]);
updating the first subsection of the primary section to display content based on the selected set of parameters ([0038], [0039]);
receiving text from the user through the chat section of the search user interface ([0038]);
generating a large language model prompt based on received text, wherein the large language model prompt comprises instructions to generate a chat response to the received text and to generate an updated set of parameters based on the received text ([0037]-[0039]);
receiving a response from the large language model, wherein the received response comprises a text for a chat response to the received text and an updated set of parameters from the large language model ([0042], [0046]);
updating the parameters data structure based on the updated set of parameters ([0048]-[0050], [0055]);
updating the chat section to include the text for a chat response to the received text ([0039], [0060]-[0062], [0066]);
updating the first subsection of the primary section to display content based on the updated set of parameters ([0066], [0077]); and
updating the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section based on the updated set of parameters from the response from the large language model ([0039], [0060]-[0062], [0066]).
SACHETI teaches text entry filed F4:306, which initiates dialogue with generative language model (GLM) chat mode [0065] and “providing a chat-based conversational interface” [0006]. The “user initiates a search with a query that pertains to a comparison between entities, and then continues to interact with the GLM in a chat to specify important attributes of the entities for which the user is searching” [0026]. Such dialogue / chat with the GLM is subsequently saved. Although, SACHETI only teaches text entry filed F4:306 and does not explicitly and visually shows the “chat-based conversational interface” in the disclosed figures, it is still reasonable to conclude that the chat-based conversational interface (nor just the text entry filed) is the “a chat section” required by the claim.
However, to merely obviate such statement, BATINA discloses a chat section ([0023], [0095]-[0096]), herein the chat section comprises elements for a chat interface with an automated chat system ([0044], [0104], [0108]); generate a chat response to the received text and to generate an updated set of parameters based on the received text ([0097]-[0098]) and
updating the chat section to include the text for a chat response to the received text ([0042]); updating the first subsection of the primary section to display content based on the updated set of parameters; and updating the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section based on the updated set of parameters from the response from the large language model ([0044], [0096], [0100], [0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of SACHETI to include a chat section and continuously updating chat section and result interface based on the updated parameters as disclosed by BATINA. Doing so may improve search quality and provide ability to fully capture user's desired search parameters and preferences (BATINA [0041]).
NOTE The claims are directed to the applicant’s Figure 3B, to further obviate on such display, alternatively, Petricek discloses a search user interface to the user device for display to the user, wherein the search user interface comprises a primary section and a chat section (F5:234), wherein the primary section comprises a first subsection and a second subsection, wherein the first subsection is a subsection for displaying content relating to a search of the user and the second subsection comprises parameter elements for selecting a set of parameters for the search (F5:246a, F6:246a), and wherein the chat section comprises elements for a chat interface with an automated chat system (F5:242); receiving a selection of a set of parameters through the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section (F5:246a, F6:246a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of SACHETI to include an interface with primary section comprises a first subsection and a second subsection and the second subsection comprises parameter elements for selecting a set of parameters for the search as disclosed by Petricek. Doing so may allow quickly and efficiently help the user to narrow her search and learn more about an item of interest with far fewer clicks (Petricek C4L26-29]).
Regarding claim 11, SACHETI teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising: receiving a request for a search user interface from a user device; transmitting a search user interface to the user device for display to the user, wherein the search user interface comprises a primary section and a chat section, wherein the primary section comprises a first subsection and a second subsection, wherein the first subsection is a subsection for displaying content relating to a search of the user and the second subsection comprises parameter elements for selecting a set of parameters for the search, and wherein the chat section comprises elements for a chat interface with an automated chat system; receiving a selection of a set of parameters through the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section; generating a parameters data structure based on the selected set of parameters, wherein the parameters data structure is a data structure that stores values for the set of parameters that have been selected by the user through the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section; updating the first subsection of the primary section to display content based on the selected set of parameters; receiving text from the user through the chat section of the search user interface; generating a large language model prompt based on received text, wherein the large language model prompt comprises instructions to generate a chat response to the received text and to generate an updated set of parameters based on the received text; receiving a response from the large language model, wherein the received response comprises a text for a chat response to the received text and an updated set of parameters from the large language model; updating the parameters data structure based on the updated set of parameters; updating the chat section to include the text for a chat response to the received text; updating the first subsection of the primary section to display content based on the updated set of parameters; and updating the parameter elements of the second subsection of the primary section based on the updated set of parameters from the response from the large language model.
Claim 11 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1, and is rejected for substantially the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium, wherein receiving the selection of the set of parameters comprises: receiving a value for each of the set of parameters (SACHETI [0030], [0036], [0038], [0063]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium, wherein receiving the selection of the set of parameters comprises: receiving a range of values for a parameter of the set of parameters (SACHETI [0054] see “return period”, Petricek F3:224, F7:248b,).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium, wherein receiving the selection of the set of parameters comprises: receiving a descriptor for content (SACHETI [0047], [0054]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium, wherein the large language model prompt further comprises the generated parameters data structure (SACHETI [0030], [0038], BATINA [0029] “A prompt template may specify that prompts have a certain structure or constrained”, [0039]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium, wherein the large language model prompt further comprises instructions to generate a score for an item of content based on user data associated with the user and content data associated with the item of content (SACHETI [0026], [0034], BATINA [0065], [0070], [0095], Petricek C5L31-36).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium, wherein the large language model prompt further comprises instructions to generate the updated set of parameters according to a particular structure (BATINA [0039], [0092] “metadata/attribute data may be saved (e.g., in a memory, database, or other data storage”, SACHETI [0030], [0066]).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 and alternatively or additionally claims 3, 6, 13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SACHETI as modified and in further view of Gruber et al. (US 20130275164).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, SACHETI as modified does not explicitly teach, however Gruber discloses the method and the medium, wherein the large language model prompt further comprises instructions to generate text explaining why the item of content is relevant to the user (Gruber [0730] “assistant 1002 may reason that, when recommending restaurants within walking distance of a hotel, the useful criteria to solicit would be cuisine and table availability”) in response to the score for the item of content exceeding a threshold (Gruber [0719], [0722], F35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Gruber to generate text explaining why the item of content is relevant as disclosed by Gruber. Doing so may help the user explore the space of possible choices and help with restaurant selection and meal planning (Gruber [0693], [0513]).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium as disclosed above, Gruber additionally discloses wherein receiving the selection of the set of parameters comprises: receiving a range of values for a parameter of the set of parameters ([0335], [0706]-[0707]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, SACHETI as modified teaches the method and the medium as disclosed above, Gruber additionally discloses, wherein the large language model prompt further comprises instructions to generate a score for an item of content based on user data associated with the user and content data associated with the item of content ([0709]-[0712], [0719], [0725], [0742], [0750], [0802]-[0803]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the teachings of Gruber to include value ranges and item scores as disclosed by Gruber. Doing so may help the user explore the space of possible choices and help with restaurant selection and meal planning (Gruber [0693], [0513]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed in the updated rejections to the claims above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/POLINA G PEACH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2165 November 6, 2025