DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language for an abstract of the disclosure. The language should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The present disclosure provides,” etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, Claim 11 is rejected since the language “board pieces” is not defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lerner et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0209752 A1, hereinafter “Lerner”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Lerner discloses a switch assembly (Abstract), comprising a first board (40; FIG. 5), a plurality of contact pads (31-35; ¶ [0059], FIG. 6A) attached to and exposed on the first board (40), a second board (108; FIG. 8A) spaced apart from the first board (40; FIG. 11), wherein at least one of the first board (40) or the second board (108) is movable relative to the other to configure the switch assembly between an off state and an on state (¶ [0066]), and a plurality of pairs of pogo pins (111-118) attached to the second board (108; see, e.g., FIGS. 8A and 11), wherein each pair of pogo pins (111-118) includes first end portions configured to be electrically coupled to an open circuit (end portions of each of 111-118 adjacent a respective portion 31-35; FIGS. 14 and 14A, and second end portions opposite the first end portions (adjacent board 108; FIGS. 14 and 14A), wherein, in the off state, the second end portions of each pair of pogo pins (111-118) are configured to not be in contact with any of the contact pads (31-35), and wherein, in the on state, the second end portions of each pair of pogo pins (111-118) are configured to be in contact with a corresponding one of the contact pads (31-35), thereby closing the open circuit (¶ [0070], FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 2, Lerner discloses that each pair of pogo pins (111-118) is configured to provide redundancy so that when the switch assembly is in the on state, at least one of the plurality of pairs of pogo pins (111-118) closes the open circuit (¶ [0070]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lerner discloses that at least one of the first board (40) or the second board (108) is movable in a lateral direction so that the second end portions are configured to move between (i) a first position (e.g., a fifteen degree counter rotation; Abstract), corresponding to the off state (e.g., after a proper shut-down sequence begins; ¶ [0069]), in which the second end portions make contact with the first board (40) and (ii) a second position, corresponding to the on state, in which the second end portions make contact with corresponding ones of the contact pads (31-35; FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 4, Lerner discloses that at least one of the first board (40) or the second board (108) is movable toward or away from the other so that the second end portions are configured to move between (i) a first position, corresponding to the off state, in which the second end portions are spaced apart from corresponding ones of the contact pads (31-35; ¶ [0068]) and (ii) a second position, corresponding to the on state, in which the second end portions make contact with the corresponding ones of the contact pads (31-35; FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 5, Lerner discloses that at least one of the first board (40) or the second board (108) is rotatable with respect to the other so that the second end portions are configured to move between (i) a first position, corresponding to the off state, in which the second end portions make contact with the first board (e.g., a fifteen degree counter rotation; Abstract), and (ii) a second position, corresponding to the on state, in which the second end portions make contact with corresponding ones of the contact pads (31-35).
Regarding Claim 8, Lerner discloses that the plurality of contact pads (31-35) includes between two and six contact pads (31-35), and wherein the plurality of pairs of pogo pins (111-118) includes between two and six pairs of pogo pins (FIG. 15).
Regarding Claim 9, Lerner discloses that a number of the contact pads (31-35) is equal to a number of the pairs of pogo pins (“…electrical contact pad 32… may have two pogo-pins pins 111 and 118; ¶ [0070]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lerner discloses that the pairs of pogo pins (111-118) are electrically coupled to the open circuit in parallel (“…electrical contact pad 32… may have two pogo-pins pins 111 and 118, that is a parallel circuit flow from each of the pair of pins to a respective contact; ¶ [0070]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-23 are allowable. The prior art fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, a switch assembly, comprising the claimed second connection terminal, third connection terminal, first pogo pin, and second pogo pin.
Claim 24-26 are allowable. The prior art fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, a switch assembly, comprising a second board spaced apart from a first board, wherein the second board is rotatable relative to the first board, a plurality of pogo pins attached to the second board and electrically coupled to one another, wherein the plurality of pogo pins comprises the claimed first pogo pin, second pogo pin, and third pogo pin.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831