DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 12/27/2024, 12/08/2025 and 01/23/2026 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
More specifically, claim 19 recites:
A device comprising:
means for determining an inter-UE directional vector between a first user equipment (UE) and a second UE within a first coordinate frame of the first UE at a first time;
means for receiving a reference azimuth angle from the second UE, the reference azimuth angle indicative of a relationship between the inter-UE directional vector and a second coordinate frame of the second UE at substantially the first time;
means for determining, based at least in part on the reference azimuth angle and the inter-UE directional vector, a translation between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame;
means for obtaining an azimuth angle measurement at a second time subsequent to the first time; and
means for translating the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame to obtain a translated azimuth angle measurement.
Consider claim 20 recites:
The device of claim 19, wherein:
the means for obtaining an azimuth angle measurement comprise means for performing the azimuth angle measurement;
the means for translating the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame comprise means for translating the azimuth angle measurement from the first coordinate frame to the second coordinate frame; and
the device further comprises means for sending the translated azimuth angle measurement to the second UE.
Following the three-prong test, the limitations in claims 19 and 20 all invoke 112(f) since the claim limitations use the term “means”, the term “means” is modified by functional language “for”, and the “term” means is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. In the present application, support can be found for the means in at least paragraph 110 of applicant’s US PGPUB 2026/0086220 A1, where applicant discloses “means for performing functionality…comprise one or more processors 1210, a digital signal processor (DSP) 1220, a wireless communication interface 1230 (which may include an RF sensing system 1235), one or more sensors 1240, a memory 1260, a GNSS receiver 1280, and/or other components of a UE.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lenovo (WO 2024/069617 A1).
Consider claim 1 (and similarly applied to claims 10 and 19). Lenovo discloses
a method ([0189]: "determining the orientation of a local coordinate system
relative to a global coordinate system") of determining a common azimuth angle
between user equipments, UEs, the method comprising:
- determining, with a first UE ("target device 104a"), an inter-UE directional
vector between the first UE ("target device 104a") and a second UE ("reference
devices") within a first coordinate frame of the first UE ("target device 104a then
measures these same angles of arrival in the local coordinate system at 1315")
at a first time (the first time may be any time);
- receiving, at the first UE ("target device 104a"), a reference azimuth angle
from the second UE ([0192]: "target device 104a receives AoAs to the reference
devices in the GCS at 1310"), the reference azimuth angle indicative of a
relationship between the inter-UE directional vector and a second coordinate frame ("GCS") of the second UE at substantially the first time (the received AoAs and the measured AoA must correspond to the substantially the same position and orientation of the target device and reference devices. In other words, in case of moving devices these
AoAs must all correspond to a substantially same "first time", where "at substantially the first time" is read as the target device and the reference devices have substantially
not moved);
- determining, based at least in part on the reference azimuth angle and the
inter-UE directional vector, a translation between the first coordinate frame and
the second coordinate frame ([0193]: "target device uses these two sets of
angles to solve for the rotations a, B. and y that define the relationship between
its LCS and the GCS at 1320);
"once the target device knows the relationship between its LCS and the GCS, the target device may report all angles relative to the GCS"). In the wording of claim 1, this translates to:
- obtaining an azimuth angle measurement with the first UE at a second time
subsequent to the first time; and
- translating the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame
and the second coordinate frame to obtain a translated azimuth angle
measurement.
Lenovo further teaches first user equipment (UE) (as is recited in claim 10) comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one memory; and at least one processor communicatively coupled with the at least one transceiver and at least one memory (fig. 8, read as device 802 such as a UE that includes a transceiver, a memory, and a processor that are coupled directed or indirectly).
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1. Lenovo discloses wherein obtaining the azimuth angle measurement with the first UE comprises performing the azimuth angle measurement with the first UE; translating the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame comprises translating the azimuth angle measurement from the first coordinate frame to the second coordinate frame; and wherein the method further comprises sending the translated azimuth angle measurement from the first UE to the second UE (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 2. Lenovo discloses wherein the azimuth angle measurement is performed with the first UE as part of a positioning or sensing operation (paragraph 195).
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1. Lenovo discloses wherein: obtaining the azimuth angle measurement with the first UE comprises receiving the azimuth angle measurement at the first UE from the second UE; translating the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame comprises translating the azimuth angle measurement from the second coordinate frame to the first coordinate frame; and wherein the method further comprises performing a positioning or sensing operation at the first UE using the translated azimuth angle measurement (paragraphs 192-194).
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1. Lenovo discloses determining, at the first UE, a second reference azimuth angle indicative of a relationship between the inter-UE directional vector and the first coordinate frame of the first UE at the first time; and sending the second reference azimuth angle from the first UE to the second UE (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 5. Lenovo discloses wherein the second reference azimuth angle comprises an angle between a fixed axis relative to a body of the first UE and the inter-UE directional vector (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1. Lenovo discloses wherein determining the inter-UE directional vector between the first UE and the second UE is based on: an angle of departure (AOD) measurement of an RF signal sent from the first UE to the second UE, an angle of arrival measurement (AOA) of an RF signal sent from the second UE to the first UE, a camera or lidar image of the second UE captured by the first UE, a sound measurement of the second UE captured by the first UE, or any combination thereof (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1. Lenovo discloses wherein the UE comprises a mobile phone or vehicle (paragraphs 45, 121, 189).
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 1. Lenovo discloses wherein receiving the reference azimuth angle comprises receiving the reference azimuth angle via: Sidelink Positioning Protocol (SLPP), Radio Resource Control (RRC), PC5-RRC, application layer signaling, or any combination thereof (paragraphs 128, 188, 194).
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein: to obtain the azimuth angle measurement with the first UE, the at least one processor is further configured to perform the azimuth angle measurement; to translate the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame, the at least one processor is further configured to translate the azimuth angle measurement from the first coordinate frame to the second coordinate frame; and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to send the translated azimuth angle measurement from the first UE to the second UE (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform the azimuth angle measurement as part of a positioning or sensing operation (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein: to obtain the azimuth angle measurement with the first UE, the at least one processor is further configured to receive the azimuth angle measurement at the first UE from the second UE; to translate the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame, the at least one processor is further configured to translate the azimuth angle measurement from the second coordinate frame to the first coordinate frame; and wherein the at least one processor is further configured to perform a positioning or sensing operation at the first UE using the translated azimuth angle measurement (paragraphs 192-194).
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine a second reference azimuth angle indicative of a relationship between the inter-UE directional vector and the first coordinate frame of the first UE at the first time; and send the second reference azimuth angle, via the at least one transceiver, from to the second UE (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 14. Lenovo discloses wherein the second reference azimuth angle comprises an angle between a fixed axis relative to a body of the first UE and the inter-UE directional vector (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein, the at least one processor is configured to determine the inter-UE directional vector between the first UE and the second UE based on: an angle of departure (AOD) measurement of an RF signal sent from the first UE to the second UE, an angle of arrival measurement (AOA) of an RF signal sent from the second UE to the first UE, a camera or lidar image of the second UE captured by the first UE, a sound measurement of the second UE captured by the first UE, or any combination thereof (paragraph 193).
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein the first UE comprises a mobile phone or vehicle (paragraphs 45, 121, 189).
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 10. Lenovo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive the reference azimuth angle from the second UE via: Sidelink Position Protocol (SLPP), Radio Resource Control (RRC), Radio Resource Control (RRC), application layer signaling, or any combination thereof (paragraphs 128, 188, 194).
Consider claim 20 and as applied to claim 19. Lenovo discloses wherein: the means for obtaining an azimuth angle measurement comprise means for performing the azimuth angle measurement; the means for translating the azimuth angle measurement between the first coordinate frame and the second coordinate frame comprise means for translating the azimuth angle measurement from the first coordinate frame to the second coordinate frame; and the device further comprises means for sending the translated azimuth angle measurement to the second UE (paragraph 193).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M BRANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 June 25, 2026