DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 5/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are amended. Claims 3, 4, 7, 14, and 17 are cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection and double patenting rejection set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/17/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Van Wijk (US 20210252948 A1), Shibata (US 20130113433 A1), and Kashiwai (US 20180201246 A1).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, with respect to Van Wijk not teaching multiple charging strategies based on monitored SoC and operational characteristics indicative of speeding conditions of the vehicle are fully considered but are unpersuasive. Under broad reasonable interpretation, Van Wijk’s teachings of determining whether to increase a torque limit of the electric generation device is equivalent to multiple charging strategies and the deceleration is equivalent to a speeding condition.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, with respect to Shibata are fully considered but are unpersuasive. The applicant argues that Shibata fails to describe selecting a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics indicative of a speeding condition of the vehicle, in a manner recited in amended independent claim 1 because Shibata's zones are determined based on battery deterioration characteristics, and not based on vehicle operational characteristics and SoC of battery as claimed. However, according to Shibata, “the battery zone determination unit 159 determines to which zone the battery 103 belongs based on the zone set by the zone setting unit 155 and the control SOC calculated” (See at least [0059]) and “a control instructing unit … that instructs to execute a control associated with the charge or discharge of the battery in accordance with the zone determined by the zone determination unit” (See at least [0018]). Accordingly, Shibata teaches selecting a charge strategy corresponding to different battery zones that are based on SoC. Shibata does not specifically teach the selection of the strategy based on operational characteristics indicative of the speeding condition of the vehicle, however, the Applicant needs to consider the combination of references including Kashiwai.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, with respect to Kashiwai are fully considered but are unpersuasive. The applicant argues that Kashiwai fails to describe selecting a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies based on monitored SoC and determined operational characteristics indicative of a speeding condition of the vehicle, in a manner recited in amended independent claim 1 and that Kashiwai's operational conditions relate to braking operations and brake pedal depressing force, and not acceleration conditions or coasting conditions as claimed. However, the Applicant is arguing the reference individually when the examiner relies on Kashiwai in combination with Van Wijk and Shibata. Further, under broad reasonable interpretation of the claim, a brake depressing force is equivalent to an acceleration condition and traveling on a downward slope for a long period of time is equivalent to a coasting condition. In these conditions, Kashiwai teaches that regenerative braking is restricted which is equivalent to selecting the reserve charging strategy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wijk (US 20210252948 A1) in view of Shibata (US 20130113433 A1) and Kashiwai (US 20180201246 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Van Wijk teaches
A power system for a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the power system comprising: an energy storage unit adapted to supply power to the TRU; (“a transport refrigeration system is provided. The transportation refrigeration system including: a transport container enclosing a refrigerated cargo space, the transport containing being integrally connected to a vehicle; a transportation refrigeration unit in operative association with the refrigerated cargo space, … an energy storage device configured to provide electrical power to the transportation refrigeration unit;” See at least [0007])
an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the TRU; (“an electric generation device operably connected to at least one of a wheel of the transport refrigeration system and a wheel axle of the transport refrigeration system, the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated;” See at least [0007])
and a charging system in communication with the energy storage unit, the axle generator, and the TRU, wherein the charging system is configured to: (“and a power management module in electrical communication with at least one of the energy storage device, the electric generation device, and the inertial sensor.” See at least [0007], wherein the power management system is interpreted as a charging system.; Also see at least fig. 1 (provided below) illustrating the power management module 310 in connection with the transportation refrigeration unit 22.)
monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit; (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device.” See at least [0010])
determine at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle; (“an inertial sensor configured to detect at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;” See at least [0007], wherein deceleration is a speeding condition.)
select a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic, (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
wherein the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, (“The power management module 310 may detect a state of charge of the energy storage device 350 and determine whether the energy storage device 350 may take additional charge (i.e., electrical power). For example, the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350.” See at least [0052]; Examiner Interpretation: The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device not taking additional charge is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy. The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge by increasing the torque limit of the electric generation device is interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
and control, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, and the selected charging strategy, a power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit, (“wherein the power management module activates the electric generation device when the inertial sensor detects at least one of the deceleration of the vehicle and the downward pitch of the vehicle.” See at least [0007]; “In addition to one or more of the features described above, or as an alternative, further embodiments of the transport refrigeration system may include that the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012]; “Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Alternatively, the charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge (see at least [0052] of Van Wijk) may be interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy. However, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach having three distinct modes.
Accordingly, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, an adaptive charging strategy, and a critical charging strategy. (“a zone determination unit (for example, a battery zone determination unit 159 in the embodiment) that determines to which zone of the plurality of zones set by the zone setting unit the charged state of the battery belongs, and a control instructing unit (for example, a control instructing unit 161 in the embodiment) that instructs to execute a control associated with the charge or discharge of the battery in accordance with the zone determined by the zone determination unit,” See at least [0018], wherein the control in accordance to each zone are different control strategies.; See at least fig. 8 (provided below) wherein the control strategy corresponding to Zone D is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy, the control strategy corresponding to Zone A is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy, and the control strategies corresponding to Zones B and C are interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
wherein the charging system is configured to restrict the power supply from the axle generator if the reserve charging strategy is selected, the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone D is interpreted as the first predefined range.; “the battery in Class H in Zone D (hereinafter, referred to as Zone DH") is in such a charged state that prohibits the charge of the battery by driving the electric motor by the internal combustion engine and restricts the regenerative operation of the electric motor during deceleration (an overcharge and lack of deceleration preventing state). Consequently, the control unit prohibits the charge of the battery in Zone DH and restricts the regeneration thereof.” See at least [0010])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Shibata also does not explicitly teach, but Kashiwai teaches
wherein the charging system is configured to restrict the power supply from the axle generator if the reserve charging strategy is selected, the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, and the speeding condition indicates at least one of an acceleration condition and a coasting condition of the vehicle. (“regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, and in the regenerative braking restriction mode, when the depressing force of the brake pedal by the driver exceeds a first depressing force over a predetermined period of time.” See at least [0008]; “the regenerative braking restriction mode, in which hydraulic braking is permitted and regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, when the place where the battery of the electric automobile is charged by an external power source is a high altitude place and the automobile travels on a downward slope for a long period of time after the battery is fully charged, the shortfall in the braking force due to the regenerative braking being suppressed can be compensated for by brake fluid pressure generated by the hydraulic booster device while preventing overcharging of the battery by the regenerative braking restriction mode.” See at least [0009])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk and Shibata to further include the teachings of Kashiwai with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent overcharging and negatively affecting the durability of the battery when braking is required. (See at least [0045])
Regarding Claim 2,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the speeding condition is indicative of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, the coasting condition, and the braking condition. (“The inertial sensor 360 is configured to detect a deceleration of the vehicle 102. The inertial sensor 360 is in operative association with the vehicle 102 and may detect when a brake 103 of the vehicle 102 is being applied to slow the vehicle 102 and/or the vehicle 102 is decelerating without the brakes 103 being applied (i.e., driver lets foot off accelerator pedal).” See at least [0050])
Regarding Claim 5,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the charging system comprises a battery management controller and a power management controller in communication with each other. (“The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 6,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein to control the power supply, based on the selected charging strategy, from the axle generator to the energy storage unit, the charging system is configured to: generate, by a battery management controller of the charging system, an input associated with the selected charging strategy, wherein the input is indicative of at least a charging rate and an amount of power to be supplied to the energy storage unit; (“The storage capacity management system 113 obtains information on the charge/discharge current Ib that is detected by the current sensor 105 and information on the terminal voltage Vb that is detected by the voltage sensor 107 and stores them in the memory 111. Additionally, the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated.” See at least [0050])
receive, by a power management controller of the charging system, the generated input from the battery management controller; and control, by the power management controller, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit based on the received input from the battery management controller. (“Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 8,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein: the (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052], wherein the charging mode corresponding to being less than a selected stated of charge is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy (See the alternate interpretation of Van Wijk described in claim 4).)
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein: the battery management controller is configured to select the adaptive charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a second predefined range, wherein the second predefined range is lower than the first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone A is interpreted as the second predefined range and zone D is the first predefined range.; See at least [0006-0008] describing the adaptive charging strategy associated with zone A involving different/adaptive strategies corresponding to different battery classes within zone A.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 9,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the power management controller is configured to variably supply the power from the axle generator to the energy storage unit if the adaptive charging strategy is selected, wherein the power management controller is configured to vary a torque associated with the axle generator based on the SoC of the energy storage unit to supply a variable power to the energy storage unit. (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Regarding Claim 10,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein: the (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein: the battery management controller is configured to select the critical charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a third predefined range, wherein the third predefined range is lower than the second predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zones B and C are interpreted as a third predefined range.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 11,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the battery management controller is configured to allow power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit (“The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 12,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a battery and a flow battery. (“Examples of the energy storage device 350 may include a battery system (e.g., a battery or bank of batteries), fuel cells, flow battery, and others devices capable of storing and outputting electric energy that may be DC.” See at least [0042])
Regarding Claim 13,
Van Wijk teaches
A method of controlling power supply to an energy storage unit of a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), (“a method of operating a transport refrigeration system including a vehicle integrally connected to a transport container is provided. The method including: powering a transportation refrigeration unit using an energy storage device … charging the energy storage device using an electric generation device” See at least [0018])
the method comprising: monitoring a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit; (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device.” See at least [0010])
determining at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle; (“an inertial sensor configured to detect at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;” See at least [0007], wherein deceleration is a speeding condition.)
selecting a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic, (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
wherein the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, (“The power management module 310 may detect a state of charge of the energy storage device 350 and determine whether the energy storage device 350 may take additional charge (i.e., electrical power). For example, the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350.” See at least [0052]; Examiner Interpretation: The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device not taking additional charge is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy. The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge by increasing the torque limit of the electric generation device is interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
and controlling, based on the monitored SoC, the determined operational characteristics, and the selected charging strategy, a power supply from an axle generator of the vehicle to the energy storage unit to charge the energy storage unit. (“wherein the power management module activates the electric generation device when the inertial sensor detects at least one of the deceleration of the vehicle and the downward pitch of the vehicle.” See at least [0007]; “In addition to one or more of the features described above, or as an alternative, further embodiments of the transport refrigeration system may include that the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012]; “Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Alternatively, the charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge (see at least [0052] of Van Wijk) may be interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy. However, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach having three distinct modes.
Accordingly, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, an adaptive charging strategy, and a critical charging strategy. (“a zone determination unit (for example, a battery zone determination unit 159 in the embodiment) that determines to which zone of the plurality of zones set by the zone setting unit the charged state of the battery belongs, and a control instructing unit (for example, a control instructing unit 161 in the embodiment) that instructs to execute a control associated with the charge or discharge of the battery in accordance with the zone determined by the zone determination unit,” See at least [0018], wherein the control in accordance to each zone are different control strategies.; See at least fig. 8 (provided below) wherein the control strategy corresponding to Zone D is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy, the control strategy corresponding to Zone A is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy, and the control strategies corresponding to Zones B and C are interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
wherein controlling the power supply comprises restricting the power supply from the axle generator if the reserve charging strategy is selected, the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone D is interpreted as the first predefined range.; “the battery in Class H in Zone D (hereinafter, referred to as Zone DH") is in such a charged state that prohibits the charge of the battery by driving the electric motor by the internal combustion engine and restricts the regenerative operation of the electric motor during deceleration (an overcharge and lack of deceleration preventing state). Consequently, the control unit prohibits the charge of the battery in Zone DH and restricts the regeneration thereof.” See at least [0010])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Shibata also does not explicitly teach, but Kashiwai teaches
wherein controlling the power supply comprises restricting the power supply from the axle generator if the reserve charging strategy is selected, the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, and the speeding condition indicates at least one of an acceleration condition and a coasting condition of the vehicle. (“regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, and in the regenerative braking restriction mode, when the depressing force of the brake pedal by the driver exceeds a first depressing force over a predetermined period of time.” See at least [0008]; “the regenerative braking restriction mode, in which hydraulic braking is permitted and regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, when the place where the battery of the electric automobile is charged by an external power source is a high altitude place and the automobile travels on a downward slope for a long period of time after the battery is fully charged, the shortfall in the braking force due to the regenerative braking being suppressed can be compensated for by brake fluid pressure generated by the hydraulic booster device while preventing overcharging of the battery by the regenerative braking restriction mode.” See at least [0009])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk and Shibata to further include the teachings of Kashiwai with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent overcharging and negatively affecting the durability of the battery when braking is required. (See at least [0045])
Regarding Claim 15,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein: the speeding condition is indicative of at least one of the acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, the coasting condition, and a braking condition. (“The inertial sensor 360 is configured to detect a deceleration of the vehicle 102. The inertial sensor 360 is in operative association with the vehicle 102 and may detect when a brake 103 of the vehicle 102 is being applied to slow the vehicle 102 and/or the vehicle 102 is decelerating without the brakes 103 being applied (i.e., driver lets foot off accelerator pedal).” See at least [0050])
Regarding Claim 16,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein controlling, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit further comprises: generating, by a battery management controller, an input associated with the selected charging strategy, wherein the input is indicative of at least a charging rate and an amount of power to be supplied to the energy storage unit; (“The storage capacity management system 113 obtains information on the charge/discharge current Ib that is detected by the current sensor 105 and information on the terminal voltage Vb that is detected by the voltage sensor 107 and stores them in the memory 111. Additionally, the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated.” See at least [0050])
receiving, by a power management controller, the generated input from the battery management controller; and controlling, by the power management controller, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit based on the received input from the battery management controller. (“Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 18,
Van Wijk further teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052], wherein the charging mode corresponding to being less than a selected stated of charge is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy (See the alternate interpretation of Van Wijk described in claim 4).)
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the battery management controller, the adaptive charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a second predefined range, wherein the second predefined range is lower than the first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone A is interpreted as the second predefined range and zone D is the first predefined range.; See at least [0006-0008] describing the adaptive charging strategy associated with zone A involving different/adaptive strategies corresponding to different battery classes within zone A.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 19,
Van Wijk further teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the third predefined range is lower than the second predefined range, and the speeding condition indicates at least one of the acceleration condition and the coasting condition of the vehicle, wherein, in the critical charging strategy, a maximum power is supplied from the axle generator to the energy storage unit. (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the battery management controller, the critical charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a third predefined range, wherein the third predefined range is lower than the second predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zones B and C are interpreted as a third predefined range.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 20,
Van Wijk further teaches
further comprising: allowing, by the (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
allowing, by the battery management controller, power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit (“The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARSTON G. EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3657