DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the respective claims:
"the reserve charging strategy" in Claims 7 and 17
"the adaptive charging strategy" in Claims 8, 9, and 18
"the first predefined range" in Claims 8 and 18
"the critical charging strategy" in Claims 10 and 19
"the second predefined range" in Claims 10 and 19
"the acceleration condition and the coasting condition" in Claims 7, 8, 10, 17, 18, and 19
"the braking condition and the de-acceleration condition" in Claims 11 and 20
"the plurality of charging strategies" in Claim 15
It is unclear what the claim limitations are referencing because of the use of the word ‘the’ when the claim limitation is not previously mentioned in the claim. E.g., what is the reserve charging strategy referencing when it is not previously mentioned in claim 7 or its parent claims? For examination purposes, the claim limitations are interpreted as being introduced for the first time in the respective claim, (e.g., “[[the]] a reserve charging strategy”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Wijk (US 20210252948 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Van Wijk teaches
A power system for a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the power system comprising: an energy storage unit adapted to supply power to the TRU; (“a transport refrigeration system is provided. The transportation refrigeration system including: a transport container enclosing a refrigerated cargo space, the transport containing being integrally connected to a vehicle; a transportation refrigeration unit in operative association with the refrigerated cargo space, … an energy storage device configured to provide electrical power to the transportation refrigeration unit;” See at least [0007])
an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the TRU; (“an electric generation device operably connected to at least one of a wheel of the transport refrigeration system and a wheel axle of the transport refrigeration system, the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated;” See at least [0007])
and a charging system in communication with the energy storage unit, the axle generator, and the TRU, wherein the charging system is configured to: (“and a power management module in electrical communication with at least one of the energy storage device, the electric generation device, and the inertial sensor.” See at least [0007], wherein the power management system is interpreted as a charging system.; Also see at least fig. 1 (provided below) illustrating the power management module 310 in connection with the transportation refrigeration unit 22.)
monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit; (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device.” See at least [0010])
determine at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle; (“an inertial sensor configured to detect at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;” See at least [0007], wherein deceleration is a speeding condition.)
and control, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit. (“wherein the power management module activates the electric generation device when the inertial sensor detects at least one of the deceleration of the vehicle and the downward pitch of the vehicle.” See at least [0007]; “In addition to one or more of the features described above, or as an alternative, further embodiments of the transport refrigeration system may include that the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012]; “Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Regarding Claim 2,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the speeding condition is indicative of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition. (“The inertial sensor 360 is configured to detect a deceleration of the vehicle 102. The inertial sensor 360 is in operative association with the vehicle 102 and may detect when a brake 103 of the vehicle 102 is being applied to slow the vehicle 102 and/or the vehicle 102 is decelerating without the brakes 103 being applied (i.e., driver lets foot off accelerator pedal).” See at least [0050])
Regarding Claim 3,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein to control the power supply, the charging system is configured to: select a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic; and control, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit. (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
Regarding Claim 12,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a battery and a flow battery. (“Examples of the energy storage device 350 may include a battery system (e.g., a battery or bank of batteries), fuel cells, flow battery, and others devices capable of storing and outputting electric energy that may be DC.” See at least [0042])
Regarding Claim 13,
Van Wijk teaches
A method of controlling power supply to an energy storage unit of a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), (“a method of operating a transport refrigeration system including a vehicle integrally connected to a transport container is provided. The method including: powering a transportation refrigeration unit using an energy storage device … charging the energy storage device using an electric generation device” See at least [0018])
the method comprising: monitoring a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit; (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device.” See at least [0010])
determining at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle; (“an inertial sensor configured to detect at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;” See at least [0007], wherein deceleration is a speeding condition.)
and controlling, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from an axle generator of the vehicle to the energy storage unit to charge the energy storage unit. (“wherein the power management module activates the electric generation device when the inertial sensor detects at least one of the deceleration of the vehicle and the downward pitch of the vehicle.” See at least [0007]; “In addition to one or more of the features described above, or as an alternative, further embodiments of the transport refrigeration system may include that the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012]; “Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Regarding Claim 14,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein controlling the power supply further comprises: selecting a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic; and controlling, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit. (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-11, 15-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wijk (US 20210252948 A1) in view of Shibata (US 20130113433 A1).
Regarding Claim 4,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, (“The power management module 310 may detect a state of charge of the energy storage device 350 and determine whether the energy storage device 350 may take additional charge (i.e., electrical power). For example, the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350.” See at least [0052]; Examiner Interpretation: The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device not taking additional charge is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy. The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge by increasing the torque limit of the electric generation device is interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
Alternatively, the charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge (see at least [0052] of Van Wijk) may be interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy. However, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach having three distinct modes.
Accordingly, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, an adaptive charging strategy, and a critical charging strategy. (“a zone determination unit (for example, a battery zone determination unit 159 in the embodiment) that determines to which zone of the plurality of zones set by the zone setting unit the charged state of the battery belongs, and a control instructing unit (for example, a control instructing unit 161 in the embodiment) that instructs to execute a control associated with the charge or discharge of the battery in accordance with the zone determined by the zone determination unit,” See at least [0018], wherein the control in accordance to each zone are different control strategies.; See at least fig. 8 (provided below) wherein the control strategy corresponding to Zone D is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy, the control strategy corresponding to Zone A is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy, and the control strategies corresponding to Zones B and C are interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 5,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the charging system comprises a battery management controller and a power management controller in communication with each other. (“The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 6,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein to control the power supply, based on the selected charging strategy, from the axle generator to the energy storage unit, the charging system is configured to: generate, by a battery management controller of the charging system, an input associated with the selected charging strategy, wherein the input is indicative of at least a charging rate and an amount of power to be supplied to the energy storage unit; (“The storage capacity management system 113 obtains information on the charge/discharge current Ib that is detected by the current sensor 105 and information on the terminal voltage Vb that is detected by the voltage sensor 107 and stores them in the memory 111. Additionally, the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated.” See at least [0050])
receive, by a power management controller of the charging system, the generated input from the battery management controller; and control, by the power management controller, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit based on the received input from the battery management controller. (“Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 8,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein: the (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052], wherein the charging mode corresponding to being less than a selected stated of charge is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy (See the alternate interpretation of Van Wijk described in claim 4).)
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein: the battery management controller is configured to select the adaptive charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a second predefined range, wherein the second predefined range is lower than the first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone A is interpreted as the second predefined range and zone D is the first predefined range.; See at least [0006-0008] describing the adaptive charging strategy associated with zone A involving different/adaptive strategies corresponding to different battery classes within zone A.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 9,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the power management controller is configured to variably supply the power from the axle generator to the energy storage unit if the adaptive charging strategy is selected, wherein the power management controller is configured to vary a torque associated with the axle generator based on the SoC of the energy storage unit to supply a variable power to the energy storage unit. (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Regarding Claim 10,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein: the (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein: the battery management controller is configured to select the critical charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a third predefined range, wherein the third predefined range is lower than the second predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zones B and C are interpreted as a third predefined range.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 11,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein the (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein the battery management controller is configured to allow power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit (“The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 15,
Van Wijk further teaches
wherein: the speeding condition is indicative of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition; (“The inertial sensor 360 is configured to detect a deceleration of the vehicle 102. The inertial sensor 360 is in operative association with the vehicle 102 and may detect when a brake 103 of the vehicle 102 is being applied to slow the vehicle 102 and/or the vehicle 102 is decelerating without the brakes 103 being applied (i.e., driver lets foot off accelerator pedal).” See at least [0050])
and the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, (“The power management module 310 may detect a state of charge of the energy storage device 350 and determine whether the energy storage device 350 may take additional charge (i.e., electrical power). For example, the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350.” See at least [0052]; Examiner Interpretation: The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device not taking additional charge is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy. The charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge by increasing the torque limit of the electric generation device is interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
Alternatively, the charge mode corresponding to the energy storage device taking additional charge (see at least [0052] of Van Wijk) may be interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy. However, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach having three distinct modes.
Accordingly, Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
the plurality of charging strategies comprises at least a reserve charging strategy, an adaptive charging strategy, and a critical charging strategy. (“a zone determination unit (for example, a battery zone determination unit 159 in the embodiment) that determines to which zone of the plurality of zones set by the zone setting unit the charged state of the battery belongs, and a control instructing unit (for example, a control instructing unit 161 in the embodiment) that instructs to execute a control associated with the charge or discharge of the battery in accordance with the zone determined by the zone determination unit,” See at least [0018], wherein the control in accordance to each zone are different control strategies.; See at least fig. 8 (provided below) wherein the control strategy corresponding to Zone D is interpreted as a reserve charging strategy, the control strategy corresponding to Zone A is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy, and the control strategies corresponding to Zones B and C are interpreted as a critical charging strategy.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 16,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein controlling, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit further comprises: generating, by a battery management controller, an input associated with the selected charging strategy, wherein the input is indicative of at least a charging rate and an amount of power to be supplied to the energy storage unit; (“The storage capacity management system 113 obtains information on the charge/discharge current Ib that is detected by the current sensor 105 and information on the terminal voltage Vb that is detected by the voltage sensor 107 and stores them in the memory 111. Additionally, the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated.” See at least [0050])
receiving, by a power management controller, the generated input from the battery management controller; and controlling, by the power management controller, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit based on the received input from the battery management controller. (“Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 18,
Van Wijk further teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052], wherein the charging mode corresponding to being less than a selected stated of charge is interpreted as an adaptive charging strategy (See the alternate interpretation of Van Wijk described in claim 4).)
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the battery management controller, the adaptive charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a second predefined range, wherein the second predefined range is lower than the first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone A is interpreted as the second predefined range and zone D is the first predefined range.; See at least [0006-0008] describing the adaptive charging strategy associated with zone A involving different/adaptive strategies corresponding to different battery classes within zone A.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 19,
Van Wijk further teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the in the critical charging strategy, a maximum power is supplied from the axle generator to the energy storage unit. (“the power management module 310 may detect that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge (e.g., 50% charged). If the power management module 310 detects that the state of charge of the energy storage device 350 is less than a selected state of charge then the power management module 310 may increase the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time if the transport refrigeration system 200 is also detected to be decelerating and/or going downhill (i.e., free energy). The selected period of time may be short enough, such that the electric generation device 340 does not overheat. Advantageously, temporarily raising the torque limit of the electric generation device 340 for a selected period of time allows the electric generation device 340 to generate as much electric power as possibly when the energy is “free” and there is space in the energy storage device 350. As discussed above, energy may be considered “free” when the vehicle 102 is moving downhill or decelerating.” See at least [0052])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
further comprising: selecting, by the battery management controller, the critical charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a third predefined range, wherein the third predefined range is lower than the second predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zones B and C are interpreted as a third predefined range.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Regarding Claim 20,
Van Wijk further teaches
further comprising: allowing, by the (“the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device and increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge and the deceleration is greater than a selected deceleration.” See at least [0012])
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
allowing, by the battery management controller, power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit (“The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050]; “when a driving force is transmitted from the driven wheels W side to the electric motor M side during deceleration, the electric motor M functions as a generator to generate a so-called regenerated braking force, whereby the kinetic energy of a vehicle body is recovered into the battery 103 as regenerated energy.” See at least [0045]; “the control instructing unit 161 permits the charge of the battery 103 by driving the electric motor M by the internal combustion engine E when the battery 103 is in Zone AL.” See at least [0061])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wijk (US 20210252948 A1) in view of Shibata (US 20130113433 A1) and Kashiwai (US 20180201246 A1).
Regarding Claim 7,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
wherein: the battery management controller is configured to select the reserve charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone D is interpreted as the first predefined range.; “the battery in Class H in Zone D (hereinafter, referred to as Zone DH") is in such a charged state that prohibits the charge of the battery by driving the electric motor by the internal combustion engine and restricts the regenerative operation of the electric motor during deceleration (an overcharge and lack of deceleration preventing state). Consequently, the control unit prohibits the charge of the battery in Zone DH and restricts the regeneration thereof.” See at least [0010])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Shibata also does not explicitly teach, but Kashiwai teaches
to select the reserve charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, and the speeding condition indicates at least one of the acceleration condition and the coasting condition of the vehicle, (“regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, and in the regenerative braking restriction mode, when the depressing force of the brake pedal by the driver exceeds a first depressing force over a predetermined period of time.” See at least [0008]; “the regenerative braking restriction mode, in which hydraulic braking is permitted and regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, when the place where the battery of the electric automobile is charged by an external power source is a high altitude place and the automobile travels on a downward slope for a long period of time after the battery is fully charged, the shortfall in the braking force due to the regenerative braking being suppressed can be compensated for by brake fluid pressure generated by the hydraulic booster device while preventing overcharging of the battery by the regenerative braking restriction mode.” See at least [0009])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk and Shibata to further include the teachings of Kashiwai with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent overcharging and negatively affecting the durability of the battery when braking is required. (See at least [0045])
Regarding Claim 17,
Van Wijk does not explicitly teach, but Shibata teaches
selecting, by the battery management controller, the reserve charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, (“the storage capacity management system 113 sets a range of a storage capacity for each of a plurality of zones (Zone C, Zone B, Zone A, Zone D) that make up the range (the lower limit SOC to the upper limit SOC) of the control SOC where the battery can be used and each of classes (Class L, Class M, Class H) of Zone A. In addition, the storage capacity management system 113 calculates a control SOC of the battery 103 based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) of the battery 103. The storage capacity management system 113 determines to which zone or class the battery 103 belongs based on the control SOC so calculated. Further, the storage capacity management system 113 controls the electric power control unit 101 according to the zone or class determined.” See at least [0050] and fig. 8, wherein zone D is interpreted as the first predefined range.; “the battery in Class H in Zone D (hereinafter, referred to as Zone DH") is in such a charged state that prohibits the charge of the battery by driving the electric motor by the internal combustion engine and restricts the regenerative operation of the electric motor during deceleration (an overcharge and lack of deceleration preventing state). Consequently, the control unit prohibits the charge of the battery in Zone DH and restricts the regeneration thereof.” See at least [0010])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk to further include the teachings of Shibata with a reasonable expectation of success such that “the performance of the battery can be exhibited sufficiently while the influence of the deterioration is suppressed to a minimum level.” (See at least [0029])
Shibata also does not explicitly teach, but Kashiwai teaches
selecting, by the battery management controller, the reserve charging strategy if at least: the SoC of the energy storage unit is within a first predefined range, and the speeding condition indicates at least one of the acceleration condition and the coasting condition of the vehicle, (“regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, and in the regenerative braking restriction mode, when the depressing force of the brake pedal by the driver exceeds a first depressing force over a predetermined period of time.” See at least [0008]; “the regenerative braking restriction mode, in which hydraulic braking is permitted and regenerative braking is restricted when the percentage charge of the battery is a threshold value or greater, when the place where the battery of the electric automobile is charged by an external power source is a high altitude place and the automobile travels on a downward slope for a long period of time after the battery is fully charged, the shortfall in the braking force due to the regenerative braking being suppressed can be compensated for by brake fluid pressure generated by the hydraulic booster device while preventing overcharging of the battery by the regenerative braking restriction mode.” See at least [0009])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of modified Van Wijk and Shibata to further include the teachings of Kashiwai with a reasonable expectation of success to prevent overcharging and negatively affecting the durability of the battery when braking is required. (See at least [0045])
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 12 are rejected on the ground of obviousness type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 (see corresponding claim mapping below) of U.S. Patent No. 12011975 in view of Van Wijk (US 20210252948 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
12011975 Claims
1
A power system for a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the power system comprising:
(Claim 1) A transport refrigeration system comprising: … a transportation refrigeration unit
1
an energy storage unit adapted to supply power to the TRU;
(Claim 1) an energy storage device configured to provide electrical power to the transportation refrigeration unit;
1
an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the TRU;
(Claim 1) an electric generation device operably connected to at least one of a wheel of the transport refrigeration system and a wheel axle of the transport refrigeration system, the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated;
1
and a charging system in communication with the energy storage unit, the axle generator,
(Claim 1) a power management module in electrical communication with at least one of the energy storage device, the electric generation device and the inertial sensor,
1
wherein the charging system is configured to: monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
(Claim 1) wherein the power management module is configured to detect a state of charge of the energy storage device
1
determine at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle;
(Claim 1) an inertial sensor configured to detect at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;
1
and control, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 1) the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated; … in response to detecting at least one of deceleration of the vehicle and downward pitch of the vehicle, increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge,
The Claims of U.S. Patent No. 12011975 does not explicitly teach, however Van Wijk teaches
a charging system in communication with the energy storage unit, the axle generator, and the TRU (“a power management module in electrical communication with at least one of the energy storage device, the electric generation device, and the inertial sensor.” See at least [0007], wherein the power management system is interpreted as a charging system.; Also see at least fig. 1 (provided below) illustrating the power management module 310 in connection with the transportation refrigeration unit 22.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12011975 to further include the teachings of Van Wijk with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate communication between the parts to improve overall control of the system wherein the charging system powers the TRU.
Regarding Claims 2, 3, and 12,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
12011975 Claims
2
The power system according to claim 1, wherein the speeding condition is indicative of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition.
(Claim 1) an inertial sensor configured to detect at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;
3
The power system according to claim 1, wherein to control the power supply, the charging system is configured to: select a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic; and control, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 1) the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated; … in response to detecting at least one of deceleration of the vehicle and downward pitch of the vehicle, increase a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge,
12
The power system according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a battery and a flow battery.
(Claim 9) The transportation refrigeration system of claim 1, wherein the energy storage device includes a battery system.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12011975. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application’s claims are broader and are anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12011975.
Regarding Claims 13 and 14,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
12011975 Claims
13
A method of controlling power supply to an energy storage unit of a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the method comprising:
(Claim 12) A method of operating a transport refrigeration system comprising a vehicle integrally connected to a transport container, the method comprising: powering a transportation refrigeration unit using an energy storage device,
13
monitoring a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
(Claim 12) detecting a state of charge of the energy storage device
13
determining at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle;
(Claim 12) detecting, using an inertial sensor, at least one of a deceleration of the vehicle and a downward pitch of the vehicle;
13
and controlling, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from an axle generator of the vehicle to the energy storage unit to charge the energy storage unit.
(Claim 12) charging the energy storage device using an electric generation device operably connected to at least one of a wheel of the transport refrigeration system and a wheel axle of the transport refrigeration system, the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated; … in response to detecting at least one of deceleration of the vehicle and downward pitch of the vehicle, increasing a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge,
14
The method according to claim 13, wherein controlling the power supply further comprises: selecting a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic; and controlling, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 12) charging the energy storage device using an electric generation device operably connected to at least one of a wheel of the transport refrigeration system and a wheel axle of the transport refrigeration system, the electric generation device being configured to generate electrical power from at least one of the wheel and the wheel axle to charge the energy storage device when the electric generation device is activated; … in response to detecting at least one of deceleration of the vehicle and downward pitch of the vehicle, increasing a torque limit of the electric generation device for a selected period of time when the state of charge is less than a selected state of charge,
Claims 1-3 and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 18 (claims filed 12/19/2024; see the claim mapping below) of copending Application No. 18987153 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application’s claims are broader and are anticipated by the claims of Application No. 18987153. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 18987153 Claims
1
A power system for a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the power system comprising:
(Claim 1) A power system for optimizing power supply to an Electrified Transportation Refrigeration Unit (E-TRU) of an electric vehicle, the power system comprising:
1
an energy storage unit adapted to supply power to the TRU;
(Claim 1) an energy storage unit configured to supply power to the E-TRU;
1
an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the TRU;
(Claim 1) an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the E-TRU;
1
and a charging system in communication with the energy storage unit, the axle generator, and the TRU,
(Claim 1) a charge management system in communication with the E-TRU, the energy storage unit, and the axle generator,
1
wherein the charging system is configured to: monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
(Claim 1) the charge management system configured to: monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
1
determine at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle;
(Claim 1) access route information associated with the electric vehicle, the route information comprising at least one of information retrieved from a Geographical Information System (GIS), information associated with driver behavior, and information retrieved from a sensing system associated with the electric vehicle;
(Claim 8) The power system according to claim 1, wherein the information retrieved from the sensing system comprises information associated with detection of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition, and an idling condition of the electric vehicle.
1
and control, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 1) predict a power requirement of at least the E-TRU based on the accessed route information; control the axle generator in at least one of an engaged mode and a disengaged mode based on the monitored SoC and the predicted power requirement of at least the E-TRU.
Regarding Claims 2 and 3,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 18987153 Claims
2
The power system according to claim 1, wherein the speeding condition is indicative of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition.
(Claim 8) The power system according to claim 1, wherein the information retrieved from the sensing system comprises information associated with detection of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition, and an idling condition of the electric vehicle.
3
The power system according to claim 1, wherein to control the power supply, the charging system is configured to: select a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic; and control, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 1) predict a power requirement of at least the E-TRU based on the accessed route information; control the axle generator in at least one of an engaged mode and a disengaged mode based on the monitored SoC and the predicted power requirement of at least the E-TRU.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 18987153 Claims
13
A method of controlling power supply to an energy storage unit of a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the method comprising:
(Claim 11) A method for optimizing power supply to an Electrified Transportation Refrigeration Unit (E-TRU) of an electric vehicle, the method comprising:
13
monitoring a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
(Claim 11) monitoring, via a charge management system, a State of Charge (SoC) of an energy storage unit;
13
determining at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle;
accessing, via the charge management system, route information associated with the electric vehicle, the route information comprising at least one of information retrieved from a Geographical Information System (GIS), information associated with driver behavior, and information retrieved from a sensing system associated with the electric vehicle;
(Claim 18) The method according to claim 11, wherein the information retrieved from the sensing system comprises information associated with detection of at least one of an acceleration condition, a de-acceleration condition, a coasting condition, and a braking condition, and an idling condition of the electric vehicle.
13
and controlling, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from an axle generator of the vehicle to the energy storage unit to charge the energy storage unit.
(Claim 11) predicting, via the charge management system, a power requirement of at least the E-TRU based on the accessed route information; controlling, via the charge management system, the axle generator in at least one of an engaged mode and a disengaged mode based on the monitored SoC and the predicted power requirement of at least the E-TRU.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 18987153 Claims
14
The method according to claim 13, wherein controlling the power supply further comprises: selecting a charging strategy from a plurality of charging strategies to charge the energy storage unit based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristic; and controlling, based on the selected charging strategy, the power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 11) predicting, via the charge management system, a power requirement of at least the E-TRU based on the accessed route information; controlling, via the charge management system, the axle generator in at least one of an engaged mode and a disengaged mode based on the monitored SoC and the predicted power requirement of at least the E-TRU.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12011975.
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 8 of Application No. 18987153 teaches The power system according to claim 1, as rejected above.
Claim 8 of Application No. 18987153 does not explicitly teach, but claim 7 teaches
wherein the charging system comprises a battery management controller and a power management controller in communication with each other. (wherein the charge management system comprises a battery management controller and an E-TRU controller in communication with each other and an electronic drive controller configured to control the axle generator.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Claim 8 of Application No. 18987153 to further include the teachings of claim 7 with a reasonable expectation of success to facilitate communication between the parts to improve overall control of the system.
Claims 1, 12, and 13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 12 (claims filed 3/12/2025; see the claim mapping below) of copending Application No. 19077278 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application’s claims are broader and are anticipated by the claims of Application No. 19077278.
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 19077278 Claims
1
A power system for a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the power system comprising:
(Claim 1) A power supply system for a transport refrigeration unit (TRU), wherein the power supply system comprises:
1
an energy storage unit adapted to supply power to the TRU;
(Claim 1) a battery electrically connected to one or more components of the TRU;
1
an axle generator in communication with the energy storage unit and adapted to supply power to at least one of the energy storage unit and the TRU;
(Claim 1) a generator electrically connected to the battery, wherein the generator is operatively coupled to an axle of a trailer of the TRU, the generator being configured to generate electrical power upon rotation of the axle according to a rotational speed of the axle;
1
and a charging system in communication with the energy storage unit, the axle generator, and the TRU,
(Claim 1) a controller operatively coupled to the battery, the TRU, and the generator,
1
wherein the charging system is configured to: monitor a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
(Claim 2) wherein the controller is further configured to: monitor a real-time SoC of the battery, the real-time SoC indicating an amount of energy stored in the battery;
1
determine at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle;
(Claim 2) monitor the rotational speed of the axle during the trip and determine the electrical power generated by the generator based on the rotational speed;
1
and control, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from the axle generator to the energy storage unit.
(Claim 2) and activate the generator to generate and/or supply the electrical power to the battery and/or TRU based on one or more of: the predicted electrical power consumption of the TRU, the real-time SoC of the battery, the threshold SoC level, and the electrical power generated by the generator.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 19077278 Claims
12
The power system according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage unit comprises at least one of a battery and a flow battery.
(Claim 1) a battery electrically connected to one or more components of the TRU;
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim
This Application’s Claim
Application No. 19077278 Claims
13
A method of controlling power supply to an energy storage unit of a vehicle having a Transportation Refrigeration Unit (TRU), the method comprising:
(Claim 11) A method for power supply management in a transport refrigeration unit (TRU) equipped with a generator and a battery, wherein the method comprises:
13
monitoring a State of Charge (SoC) of the energy storage unit;
(Claim 12) receiving, by the controller, a real-time SoC of the battery monitored by a second set of sensors, the real-time SoC indicating an amount of energy available in the battery;
13
determining at least one operational characteristic associated with the vehicle, wherein the at least one operational characteristic is indicative of at least a speeding condition of the vehicle;
(Claim 12) receiving, by the controller, a rotational speed of an axle or speed of a trailer of the TRU during the trip from a third set of sensors and correspondingly determining electrical power generated by or available at a generator based on the rotational speed;
13
and controlling, based on the monitored SoC and the determined operational characteristics, a power supply from an axle generator of the vehicle to the energy storage unit to charge the energy storage unit.
(Claim 12) after the TRU depletes the real-time SoC of the battery to or below the threshold SoC level, activating, by the controller, the generator via the electrical control signal for generating and supplying the electrical power to the battery and/or the TRU during the trip based on any one or more of the predicted electrical power consumptions of the TRU, the real-time SoC of the battery, the threshold SoC level, and the electrical power available at the generator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liao (WO 2020068637 A1) is pertinent because it discusses a transportation refrigeration system configured for use with a vehicle having a vehicle energy storage device that stores electrical power for a propulsion motor that propels the vehicle, the transportation refrigeration system including: a transportation refrigeration unit; an energy storage device electrically connected to the transportation refrigeration unit, the energy storage device configured to store electrical power to power the transportation refrigeration unit; and a power management system electrically connected to the vehicle energy storage device and the energy storage device, wherein the power management system is configured to apportion electricity between the vehicle energy storage device and the energy storage device.
Oldridge (US 20160318501 A1) is pertinent because it discusses adjusting a torque curve and regenerative braking profiles depending on battery state of charge.
Renault (US 20210206261 A1) is pertinent because it discusses controlling electric generators for a transportation refrigeration unit (TRU) based on vehicle speed.
/KARSTON G. EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 3657