DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsuchida teaches a method (operation of Figs. 1 and 2, Paras. [0035]-[0049]) comprising:
obtaining a motion sensor signal from a motion sensor (X-axis sensor 71a, Y-axis sensor 71b, and Z-axis sensor 71c within the acceleration sensor IC 7 each output measurement results corresponding to the acceleration of each component, Para. [0044]);
obtaining a reference signal (digital input signal 13-1, Fig. 2, Para. [0036]) indicative of parasitic vibration from a vibration source mechanically coupled to the motion sensor (Paras. [0009], [0034], and [0036]);
generating, using an adaptive noise canceller (adaptive Filter 74, Fig. 2), an estimate of the parasitic vibration (the adaptive filter 74 synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]); and
using the estimated parasitic vibration to cancel the parasitic vibration from the motion sensor signal (the adaptive filter 74 synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, respectively, cancels out the coupled components of the enclosure vibration from the loudspeaker 6, Para. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tsuchida teaches wherein the reference signal is proportional to the parasitic vibration (the acoustic signal processing unit 3 outputs the same digital input signal 13-1 to the acoustic signal line 13 as the acoustic signal that it outputs to the loudspeaker 6, Para. [0038]; adaptive filter 74 uses the digital input signal 13-1 to synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 3, Tsuchida teaches wherein the reference signal is a music file that has been equalized or filtered (acoustic signal processing unit 3 performs A/D (Analog to Digital) conversion and outputs a digital output of the same acoustic signal as the acoustic signal output to the loudspeaker 6 to the acceleration sensor IC 7 via the acoustic signal line 13, Para. [0025]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsuchida teaches wherein the vibration source is a loudspeaker (loudspeaker 6, Para. [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Delano et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0129098 A1, hereinafter "Delano").
Regarding Claim 4, Tsuchida fails to explicitly teach wherein the reference signal is an analog signal.
However, Delano teaches wherein the reference signal is an analog signal (analog ANC circuit 204 receives analog reference signal from 110, Fig. 2, Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsuchida) to include the analog reference signal (as taught by Delano). Doing so produces better overall noise cancellation (Delano Para. [0051]).
5. Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Hendrix et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0270222 A1, hereinafter "Hendrix").
Regarding Claim 5, Tsuchida fails to explicitly teach wherein the adaptive noise canceller includes an adaptive filter, and coefficients of the adaptive filter are programmable.
However, Hendrix teaches wherein the adaptive noise canceller includes an adaptive filter, and coefficients of the adaptive filter are programmable (a noise-canceling system having fixed or programmable filters, where the coefficients of adaptive filter 32A are pre-set, selected or otherwise not continuously adapted, Fig. 3, Para. [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsuchida) to include the programmable coefficient of the adaptive filter (as taught by Hendrix). Doing so minimizes error and the filter can be adapted to the desired response.
6. Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0061192 A1, hereinafter "Chen").
Regarding Claim 7, Tsuchida fails to explicitly teach wherein the vibration source is a haptic engine.
However, Chen teaches wherein the vibration source is a haptic engine (haptic actuator 40, Fig. 5, Paras. [0036]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsuchida) to include the haptic engine (as taught by Chen). Doing so, specific harmonic noise frequencies can be targeted without generating unwanted broad-spectrum interference.
7. Claim(s) 8, 9, 13, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Yang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 116439913 A, hereinafter "Yang").
Regarding Claim 8, Tsuchida teaches a system (system 1, Fig. 1, Para. [0027]) comprising:
at least one motion sensor (acceleration sensor IC 7, Figs. 1 and 2) configured to sense motion in at least one direction, and output a signal proportional to the sensed motion (X-axis sensor 71a, Y-axis sensor 71b, and Z-axis sensor 71c within the acceleration sensor IC 7 each output measurement results corresponding to the acceleration of each component, Para. [0044]);
a voltage converter configured to convert the sensed motion into a voltage signal (the three-axis acceleration sensor unit 71 converts the acceleration of the three mutually orthogonal axes, the X, Y, and Z axes, into electrical signals, Para. [0031]; acceleration sensor IC digitizes the voltage outputs in each axial direction, Para. [0002]);
an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog voltage signal into a digital signal (A/D converter 73 converts the analog input signal output from the MUX 72 into a digital signal, Fig. 2, Para. [0033]); and
a disturbance estimator (adaptive Filter 74, Fig. 2) configured to estimate a disturbance signal included in the digital signal due to parasitic vibration (the adaptive filter 74 synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]) generated by a vibration source mechanically coupled to the at least one motion sensor (Paras. [0009], [0034], and [0036]); and
a processor configured to provide the digital signal to at least one application (CPU 2a executes a pedometer application program that utilizes the acceleration measurement results, Para. [0035]).
Tsuchida fails to explicitly teach a subtraction unit configured to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal.
However, Yang teaches a subtraction unit configured to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal (shown is a subtraction unit which can be used to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal, Fig. 6, Paras. [0117] and [0118])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (as taught by Tsuchida) to include the subtraction unit (as taught by Yang). Doing so improves operation reliability of the sensor.
Regarding Claim 9, Tsuchida in view of Yang teach wherein the disturbance estimator is a digital active noise canceller (Tsuchida, adaptive filter 74, Fig. 2, Para. [0036]) that receives the digital signal and a digital reference input that is proportional to the disturbance (Tsuchida, the adaptive filter 74 takes the digital input signal 13-1 from the acoustic signal line 13 and the output of the A/D converter 73 inside the acceleration sensor IC 7 as input, Para. [0036]), and iteratively computes the estimated disturbance signal based on an error between the digital signal and the estimated disturbance signal (Tsuchida, the adaptive filter 74 takes the digital input signal 13-1 from the acoustic signal line 13 and the output of the A/D converter 73 inside the acceleration sensor IC 7 as input, cancels out the noise (or error) superimposed on the outputs of the acceleration sensor unit 71, Para. [0036]; see also Para. [0047]).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsuchida teaches a system (system 1, Fig. 1, Para. [0027]) comprising:
a mounting platform (an acceleration sensor is mounted on a portable device, and a loudspeaker also mounted within the same housing, Abstract, Paras. [0001], and [0017]-[0020]; i.e. there is a mounting platform to which components are mounted);
at least one motion sensor (acceleration sensor IC 7, Figs. 1 and 2) mounted on the mounting platform (an acceleration sensor is mounted on a portable device, and a loudspeaker also mounted within the same housing, Abstract, Paras. [0001], and [0017]-[0020]; i.e. there is a mounting platform to which components are mounted) and configured to sense motion in at least one direction, and output a signal proportional to the sensed motion (X-axis sensor 71a, Y-axis sensor 71b, and Z-axis sensor 71c within the acceleration sensor IC 7 each output measurement results corresponding to the acceleration of each component, Para. [0044]);
a vibration source (loudspeaker 6, Para. [0036]) mechanically coupled to the mounting platform (an acceleration sensor is mounted on a portable device, and a loudspeaker also mounted within the same housing, Abstract, Paras. [0001], and [0017]-[0020]; i.e. there is a mounting platform to which components are mounted);
a controller (processing unit 3, Fig. 1, Para. [0025]) that generates vibrations (digital input signal 13-1, Fig. 2, Para. [0036]) that also incur disturbances due to parasitic vibration generated by the vibration source (the acoustic signal processing unit 3 outputs the same digital input signal 13-1 to the acoustic signal line 13 as the acoustic signal that it outputs to the loudspeaker 6, Para. [0038]; adaptive filter 74 uses the digital input signal 13-1 to synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]), where the disturbance is mechanically coupled to the motion sensor through the mounting platform (Paras. [0009] and [0036];
a voltage converter configured to convert the sensed motion into a voltage signal (the three-axis acceleration sensor unit 71 converts the acceleration of the three mutually orthogonal axes, the X, Y, and Z axes, into electrical signals, Para. [0031]; acceleration sensor IC digitizes the voltage outputs in each axial direction, Para. [0002]);
an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the analog voltage signal into a digital signal (A/D converter 73 converts the analog input signal output from the MUX 72 into a digital signal, Fig. 2, Para. [0033]); and
a disturbance estimator (adaptive Filter 74, Fig. 2) configured to estimate a disturbance signal included in the digital signal due to parasitic vibration (the adaptive filter 74 synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]) generated by the vibration source mechanically coupled to the at least one motion sensor (an acceleration sensor is mounted on a portable device, and a loudspeaker also mounted within the same housing, Abstract, Paras. [0001], and [0017]-[0020]; i.e. there is a mounting platform to which components are mounted); and
a circuit configured to provide the digital signal to at least one application (CPU 2a executes a pedometer application program that utilizes the acceleration measurement results, Para. [0035]).
Tsuchida fails to explicitly teach a subtraction unit configured to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal.
However, Yang teaches a subtraction unit configured to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal (shown is a subtraction unit which can be used to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal, Fig. 6, Paras. [0117] and [0118])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (as taught by Tsuchida) to include the subtraction unit (as taught by Yang). Doing so improves operation reliability of the sensor.
Regarding Claim 14, it is similarly rejected as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim18, Tsuchida teaches a system (system 1, Fig. 1, Para. [0027]) comprising:
at least one motion sensor (acceleration sensor IC 7, Figs. 1 and 2) configured to sense motion in at least one direction, and output a signal proportional to the sensed motion (X-axis sensor 71a, Y-axis sensor 71b, and Z-axis sensor 71c within the acceleration sensor IC 7 each output measurement results corresponding to the acceleration of each component, Para. [0044]);
a vibration source mechanically coupled to the motion sensor (an acceleration sensor is mounted on a portable device, and a loudspeaker also mounted within the same housing, Abstract, Paras. [0001], and [0017]-[0020]; i.e. there is a mounting platform to which components are mounted);
a controller (controller 3, Fig. 1, Para. [0025]) configured to generate a reference signal (digital input signal 13-1, Fig. 2, Para. [0036]) proportional to a disturbance due to parasitic vibration generated by the vibration in response to receiving an audio waveform (the acoustic signal processing unit 3 outputs the same digital input signal 13-1 to the acoustic signal line 13 as the acoustic signal that it outputs to the loudspeaker 6, Para. [0038]; adaptive filter 74 uses the digital input signal 13-1 to synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]);
a voltage converter configured to convert the sensed motion into a voltage signal (the three-axis acceleration sensor unit 71 converts the acceleration of the three mutually orthogonal axes, the X, Y, and Z axes, into electrical signals, Para. [0031]; acceleration sensor IC digitizes the voltage outputs in each axial direction, Para. [0002]);
a disturbance estimator (adaptive Filter 74, Fig. 2) configured to estimate a disturbance signal included in the voltage signal due to parasitic vibration (the adaptive filter 74 synthesizes the vibration components from the loudspeaker 6 into the X, Y, and Z axis components, Para. [0047]);
an analog-to-digital converter configured to convert the voltage signal into a digital signal (A/D converter 73 converts the analog input signal output from the MUX 72 into a digital signal, Fig. 2, Para. [0033]); and
a circuit configured to provide the digital signal to at least one application (CPU 2a executes a pedometer application program that utilizes the acceleration measurement results, Para. [0035]).
Tsuchida fails to explicitly teach a subtraction unit configured to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the voltage signal.
However, Yang teaches a subtraction unit configured to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal (shown is a subtraction unit which can be used to subtract the estimated disturbance signal from the digital signal, Fig. 6, Paras. [0117] and [0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (as taught by Tsuchida) to include the subtraction unit (as taught by Yang). Doing so improves operation reliability of the sensor.
Regarding Claim 19, it is similarly rejected as Claim 9.
8. Claim(s) 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Yang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 116439913 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Delano et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0129098 A1, hereinafter "Delano").
Regarding Claim 10, Tsuchida in view of Yang teach wherein the disturbance estimator is an active noise canceller (Tsuchida, adaptive filter 74, Fig. 2, Para. [0036]) that receives the voltage signal and an reference input that is proportional to the disturbance (Tsuchida, the adaptive filter 74 takes the digital input signal 13-1 from the acoustic signal line 13 and the output of the A/D converter 73 inside the acceleration sensor IC 7 as input, Para. [0036]), and iteratively computes the estimated disturbance signal based on an error between the voltage signal and the estimated disturbance signal (Tsuchida, the adaptive filter 74 takes the digital input signal 13-1 from the acoustic signal line 13 and the output of the A/D converter 73 inside the acceleration sensor IC 7 as input, cancels out the noise (or error) superimposed on the outputs of the acceleration sensor unit 71, Para. [0036]; see also Para. [0047]).
Tsuchida in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach an analog active noise canceller that receives an analog reference input.
However, Delano teaches an analog active noise canceller that receives an analog reference input (analog ANC circuit 204 receives analog reference signal from 110, Fig. 2, Para. [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (as taught by Tsuchida in view of Yang) to include the analog active noise canceller which receives analog reference signal (as taught by Delano). Doing so produces better overall noise cancellation (Delano Para. [0051]).
Regarding Claim 16, it is similarly rejected as Claim 10.
9. Claim(s) 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Yang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 116439913 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Hendrix et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0270222 A1, hereinafter "Hendrix").
Regarding Claim 11, Tsuchida in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach wherein the active noise canceller includes an adaptive filter, and coefficients of the adaptive filter are programmable.
However, Hendrix teaches wherein the adaptive noise canceller includes an adaptive filter, and coefficients of the adaptive filter are programmable (a noise-canceling system having fixed or programmable filters, where the coefficients of adaptive filter 32A are pre-set, selected or otherwise not continuously adapted, Fig. 3, Para. [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method (as taught by Tsuchida in view of Yang) to include the programmable coefficient of the adaptive filter (as taught by Hendrix). Doing so minimizes error and the filter can be adapted to the desired response.
Regarding Claim 15, it is similarly rejected as Claim 11.
10. Claim(s) 12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Tsuchida (Japanese Pub. No. 2013051553 A) in view of Yang et al. (Chinese Pub. No. CN 116439913 A, hereinafter "Yang"), and further in view of Osman et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0046912 A1, hereinafter "Osman").
Regarding Claim 12, Tsuchida in view of Yang fail to explicitly teach where the system is included in a head mounted device and the at least one motion sensor senses motion of the head mounted device.
However, Osman teaches where the system is included in a head mounted device and the at least one motion sensor senses motion of the head mounted device (system 10, with HMD 12, with motion sensor 38 to sense motion signals representing motion of the head of the wearer of the HMD, Figs. 1 and 2, Paras. [0025], [0031], and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system (as taught by Tsuchida in view of Yang) to include the system in a head mounted device (as taught by Osman). Doing so ensures accurate controller motion tracking to improve overall user immersion.
Regarding Claim 17, it is similarly rejected as Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 20, it is similarly rejected as Claim 12.
Conclusion
/CHIMEZIE EZERIWE BEKEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691