Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 09/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-11, filed 09/25/2026, with respect to the reference Huh (US 2019/0129147) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states "… As can be seen in relation to element 370 of Huh's FIG. 5 above, Huh teaches "the seventh lens 370 has a negative refractive power, and an object-side surface thereof is convex and an image-side surface thereof is concave." Huh [0091] (emphasis added). Therefore, Huh does not teach "wherein at least a part that is of an object side surface of the seventh lens and that corresponds to the optical axis is a concave surface" as recited in amended claim 1…". Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim is the metes and bounds of the invention. Even though the Figures 19, 23 and 27 of the instant application show that at least a part that is of an object side surface of the seventh lens 117 and that disposed at the optical axis is a concave surface, the language of the Specification is not considered to be the “metes and bounds” of the subject matter for which protection is sought. The dictionary.com defines “corresponding” as “similar in position, or associated in a working or other relationship”, and the claim language of " at least a part that is of an object side surface of the seventh lens and that corresponds to the optical axis is a concave surface" is not interpreted as " at least a part that is of an object side surface of the seventh lens and that disposed at the optical axis is a concave surface". Therefore, with broadest reasonable interpretation, Huh teaches that a lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]) comprises a plurality of lenses (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of lenses comprise at least a first lens (310 in Fig. 5), a second lens (320 in Fig. 5), a third lens (330 in Fig. 5), a fourth lens (340 in Fig. 5), a fifth lens (350 in Fig. 5), a sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5), and a seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) that are sequentially arranged (Fig. 5) and consecutively arranged (Fig. 5) from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 5); and at least a part (the part of A1 or A2 in Picture 1) that is of an object side surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1) of the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Fig. 5, Picture 1, even the part A1 or A2 is not located/disposed at the optical axis, the part A1 or A2 does correspond to the optical axis since A1 or A1 has a fixed distance to, or associated in a position relationship with the optical axis) is a concave surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1, the part A1 or A2 has a concave surface).
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-11, filed 09/25/2026, with respect to the reference Zhang (CN114047595) have been fully considered and they are persuasive. The claims 3, 12 and 18 are indicated as allowable subject matter as stated below.
Regarding limitations of the instant case in view of the amended Claims and upon further considerations, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and/or new prior art as presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huh (US 2019/0129147).
Regarding claim 1, Huh teaches a lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]), comprising a plurality of lenses (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of lenses comprise at least a first lens (310 in Fig. 5), a second lens (320 in Fig. 5), a third lens (330 in Fig. 5), a fourth lens (340 in Fig. 5), a fifth lens (350 in Fig. 5), a sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5), and a seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) that are sequentially arranged (Fig. 5) and consecutively arranged (Fig. 5) from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 5);
the lens assembly meets a conditional expression: 0.85≤2×IMH/(TTL×F#)≤1.5 (Tables 5 and 7, TTL=5.1664, TTL/IMH=1.3926, F#=1.550; therefore, IMH=5.1664/1.3926=3.7099; 2×IMH/(TTL×F#)=2*3.7099/(5.1664*1.550)=0.9266), wherein IMH is an image height half of the lens assembly ([0045]), F #is an F-number of the lens assembly (Table 5 and 7, [0016, 0076]), and TTL is a total track length of the lens assembly ([0045]);
a refractive index nd1 of the first lens and a refractive index nd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0.1<nd2−nd1<0.15 (Table 5, nd2−nd1=1.661-1.544=0.117), and an Abbe number vd1 of the first lens and an Abbe number vd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0<vd1−vd2<40 (Table 5, vd1−vd2=56.1-20.4=35.7); and
a focal length f3 of the third lens and a focal length f4 of the fourth lens meet a conditional expression: |f3/f4|>2.5 (Table 5, |f3/f4|=|(-223.645)/7.552|=29.614);
wherein the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) is located on a side that is of the sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5) and that faces the image side (Fig. 5), and the seventh lens has a negative focal power (Table 5, f7=-9.340); and
wherein at least a part (the part of A1 or A2 in Picture 1) that is of an object side surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1) of the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Fig. 5, Picture 1, even the part A1 or A2 is not located at the optical axis, the part A1 or A2 does correspond to the optical axis since A1 or A1 has a fixed distance to, or associated in a position relationship with the optical axis) is a concave surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1, the part A1 or A2 has a concave surface).
Picture 1, from Fig. 5 of Huh (US 2019/0129147)
Regarding claims 2, 4-9, 13-14 and 16-17, Huh also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 2) a distance d45 from an image side surface of the fourth lens to an object side surface of the fifth lens in the optical axis direction meets a conditional expression: 0.03<d45/TTL<0.25 (Table 5, d45/TTL=0.4601/5.1664=0.089).
(Claim 4) the Abbe number vd2 of the second lens, an Abbe number vd3 of the third lens, and an Abbe number vd4 of the fourth lens meet a conditional expression: vd2+vd3+vd4>92 (Table 5, vd2+vd3+vd4=20.4+56.1+56.1=132.6).
(Claim 5) a refractive index nd4 of the fourth lens is less than 1.69 (Table 5, nd4=1.544).
(Claim 6) at least the first lens, the second lens, the third lens, the fourth lens, and the fifth lens are plastic lenses ([0049, 0051, 0053, 0055, 0057]).
(Claim 7) the first lens has a positive focal power, and the second lens has a negative focal power (Table 5, f1=3.999, f2=-6.959).
(Claim 8) at least a part that is of an image side surface of the first lens (310 in Fig. 5) and that corresponds to the optical axis is a concave surface (Fig. 5, Table 5)
(Claim 9) the third lens has a negative focal power, and the fourth lens has a positive focal power (Table 5, f3=-223.645, f4=7.552).
(Claim 13) the focal length f4 of the fourth lens and a total focal length f of the lens assembly meet a conditional expression: 0≤f4/f≤10 (Table 5, f=4.29, f4=7.552; f4/f=7.552/4.29=1.76).
(Claim 14) a quantity N of the lenses meets a conditional expression: 7≤N≤10 (Fig. 5, N=7).
(Claim 16) at least a part (the part of A3 in Picture 1) that is of an image side surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1) of the seventh lens (370 in fig. 5) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Fig. 5, Picture 1) is a concave surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1, the part A3 has a concave surface).
(Claim 17) a curvature radius R13 of the object side surface of the seventh lens and a total focal length f of the lens assembly meet a conditional expression: 0≤|R13/f|≤1.8 (Table 5, f=4.29, R13=1.9095; |R13/f|=|1.9095/4.29|=0.445).
Regarding claim 19, Huh teaches a camera module (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]), comprising at least an image sensor (390 in Fig. 5) and a lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]), wherein the image sensor(390 in Fig. 5) is located on a side that is of the lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]) and that faces an image side (Fig. 5);
wherein the lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]), comprising a plurality of lenses (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of lenses comprise at least a first lens (310 in Fig. 5), a second lens (320 in Fig. 5), a third lens (330 in Fig. 5), a fourth lens (340 in Fig. 5), a fifth lens (350 in Fig. 5), a sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5), and a seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) that are sequentially arranged (Fig. 5) and consecutively arranged (Fig. 5) from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 5);
the lens assembly meets a conditional expression: 0.85≤2×IMH/(TTL×F#)≤1.5 (Tables 5 and 7, TTL=5.1664, TTL/IMH=1.3926, F#=1.550; therefore, IMH=5.1664/1.3926=3.7099; 2×IMH/(TTL×F#)=2*3.7099/(5.1664*1.550)=0.9266), wherein IMH is an image height half of the lens assembly ([0045]), F #is an F-number of the lens assembly (Table 5 and 7, [0016, 0076]), and TTL is a total track length of the lens assembly ([0045]);
a refractive index nd1 of the first lens and a refractive index nd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0.1<nd2−nd1<0.15 (Table 5, nd2−nd1=1.661-1.544=0.117), and an Abbe number vd1 of the first lens and an Abbe number vd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0<vd1−vd2<40 (Table 5, vd1−vd2=56.1-20.4=35.7); and
a focal length f3 of the third lens and a focal length f4 of the fourth lens meet a conditional expression: |f3/f4|>2.5 (Table 5, |f3/f4|=|(-223.645)/7.552|=29.614);
wherein the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) is located on a side that is of the sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5) and that faces the image side 9Fig. 5), and the seventh lens has a negative focal power (Table 5, f7=-9.340); and
wherein at least a part (the part of A1 or A2 in Picture 1) that is of an object side surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1) of the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Fig. 5, Picture 1, even the part A1 or A2 is not located at the optical axis, the part A1 or A2 does correspond to the optical axis since A1 or A1 has a fixed distance to, or associated in a position relationship with the optical axis) is a concave surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1, the part A1 or A2 has a concave surface).
Regarding claim 20, Huh teaches an electronic device (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0003, 0089-0103]), comprising at least a housing ([0003], the inherent house corresponding to the house/frame/case/shell of the wireless terminal, in which the camera modules is mounted) and a camera module (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0003, 0089-0103]), wherein the camera module is disposed on the housing ([0003]);
Wherein the camera module (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0003, 0089-0103]), comprising at least an image sensor (390 in Fig. 5) and a lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]), wherein the image sensor(390 in Fig. 5) is located on a side that is of the lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]) and that faces an image side (Fig. 5);
wherein the lens assembly (Fig. 5-6, Tables 5-7, [0089-0103]), comprising a plurality of lenses (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of lenses comprise at least a first lens (310 in Fig. 5), a second lens (320 in Fig. 5), a third lens (330 in Fig. 5), a fourth lens (340 in Fig. 5), a fifth lens (350 in Fig. 5), a sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5), and a seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) that are sequentially arranged (Fig. 5) and consecutively arranged (Fig. 5) from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 5);
the lens assembly meets a conditional expression: 0.85≤2×IMH/(TTL×F#)≤1.5 (Tables 5 and 7, TTL=5.1664, TTL/IMH=1.3926, F#=1.550; therefore, IMH=5.1664/1.3926=3.7099; 2×IMH/(TTL×F#)=2*3.7099/(5.1664*1.550)=0.9266), wherein IMH is an image height half of the lens assembly ([0045]), F #is an F-number of the lens assembly (Table 5 and 7, [0016, 0076]), and TTL is a total track length of the lens assembly ([0045]);
a refractive index nd1 of the first lens and a refractive index nd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0.1<nd2−nd1<0.15 (Table 5, nd2−nd1=1.661-1.544=0.117), and an Abbe number vd1 of the first lens and an Abbe number vd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0<vd1−vd2<40 (Table 5, vd1−vd2=56.1-20.4=35.7); and
a focal length f3 of the third lens and a focal length f4 of the fourth lens meet a conditional expression: |f3/f4|>2.5 (Table 5, |f3/f4|=|(-223.645)/7.552|=29.614);
wherein the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) is located on a side that is of the sixth lens (360 in Fig. 5) and that faces the image side 9Fig. 5), and the seventh lens has a negative focal power (Table 5, f7=-9.340); and
wherein at least a part (the part of A1 or A2 in Picture 1) that is of an object side surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1) of the seventh lens (370 in Fig. 5) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Fig. 5, Picture 1, even the part A1 or A2 is not located at the optical axis, the part A1 or A2 does correspond to the optical axis since A1 or A1 has a fixed distance to, or associated in a position relationship with the optical axis) is a concave surface (Fig. 5, Picture 1, the part A1 or A2 has a concave surface).
Claims 1, 7, 9-11 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2023/0070553).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a lens assembly (Embodiment 5, Fig. 9-10, Tables 9-10, [0145-0156]), comprising a plurality of lenses (Fig. 9), wherein the plurality of lenses comprise at least a first lens (E1 in Fig. 9), a second lens (E2 in Fig. 9), a third lens (E3 in Fig. 9), a fourth lens (E4 in Fig. 9), a fifth lens (E5 in Fig. 9), a sixth lens (E6 in Fig. 9), and a seventh lens (E7 in Fig. 9) that are sequentially arranged (Fig. 9) and consecutively arranged (Fig. 9) from an object side to an image side along an optical axis (Fig. 9);
the lens assembly meets a conditional expression: 0.85≤2×IMH/(TTL×F#)≤1.5 (from the Tables 9-10 and the table below [0156], TTL=6.527, IMH=5.12; F#=1.84; therefore, 2×IMH/(TTL×F#)=2*5.12/(6.527*1.84)=0.853), wherein IMH is an image height half of the lens assembly, F #is an F-number of the lens assembly, and TTL is a total track length of the lens assembly;
a refractive index nd1 of the first lens and a refractive index nd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0.1<nd2−nd1<0.15 (Table 9, nd2−nd1=1.686-1.545=0.141), and an Abbe number vd1 of the first lens and an Abbe number vd2 of the second lens meet a conditional expression: 0<vd1−vd2<40 (Table 9, vd1−vd2=56.1-18.4=37.7); and
a focal length f3 of the third lens and a focal length f4 of the fourth lens meet a conditional expression: |f3/f4|>2.5 (Table 9, |f3/f4|=|(-316.64)/93.06|=3.4);
wherein the seventh lens (E7 in Fig. 9) is located on a side that is of the sixth lens (E6 in Fig. 9) and that faces the image side (Fig. 9), and the seventh lens has a negative focal power (Table 9, f7=-4.19); and
wherein at least a part (the center part of left side surface of E7 in Fig. 9) that is of an object side surface of the seventh lens (Fig. 9) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Fig. 9) is a concave surface (Fig. 9).
Regarding claims 7, 9-11 and 14-15, Huh also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 7) the first lens (E1 in Fig. 9) has a positive focal power (Table 9), and the second lens (E2 in Fig. 9) has a negative focal power (Table 9).
(Claim 9) the third lens (E3 in Fig. 9) has a negative focal power (Table 9), and the fourth lens (E4 in Fig. 9) has a positive focal power (Table 9).
(Claim 10) at least a part (P1 in Picture 2) that is of an object side surface of the third lens (E3 in Fig. 9) and that corresponds to the optical axis (Picture 2, Fig. 9) is a concave surface (Picture 2, Fig. 9), and at least a part (P2 in Picture 2) that is of an image side surface of the third lens (E3 in Fig. 9) and that corresponds to the optical axis is a convex surface (Picture 2, Fig. 9).
(Claim 11) at least a part (P3 in Picture 2) that is of the image side surface of the fourth lens (E4 in Fig. 9) and that corresponds to the optical axis is a convex surface (Picture 2, Fig. 9).
(Claim 14) a quantity N of the lenses meets a conditional expression: 7≤N≤10 (Fig. 9, N=7).
(Claim 15) a focal length fi of each lens and the total focal length f of the lens assembly meet a conditional expression: Σi=1…N|f/fi|>3, wherein fi is a focal length of an ith lens, and i=1 . . . N (From the Tables 9-10 and the table below [0156], Σi=1…N|f/fi|=3.789).
Picture 2, from Fig. 9 of Chen (US 2023/0070553)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of a lens assembly as set forth in claims 3, 12, and 18.
Regarding claim 3, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a lens assembly recited in claim 1, wherein “an Abbe number vd3 of the third lens and an Abbe number vd5 of the fifth lens meet a conditional expression: vd3/vd5<1” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 12, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a lens assembly recited in claim 1, wherein “a curvature radius R2 of an image side surface of the first lens and a curvature radius R3 of an object side surface of the second lens meet a conditional expression: R2/R3>1.4” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Regarding claim 18, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a lens assembly recited in claim 17, wherein “a focal length f1 of the first lens, a focal length f6 of the sixth lens, and a focal length f7 of the seventh lens meet a conditional expression: f1/(f6+f7)>1.4” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871