DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-15
Claims amended: 3, 5-6, 8, 10-12,
Claims cancelled: n/a
New claims: n/a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claim 15 drawn to a computer readable recording medium. In the specification PGPUB version P. 58, 105, 155, 171, defines the claimed computer readable recording medium as “…computer program product may be stored on a computer readable recording medium”, which is open ended to interpretation (this is considered to be equivalent to a signal).
A “signal” embodying functional descriptive material is neither a process or a product (i.e. a tangible “thing”) and therefore does not fall within one of the four statutory classes of §101. Rather, “signal” is a form of energy, in the absence of any physical structure or tangible material.
Because the full scope of the claim as properly read in light of the disclosure encompasses non-statutory subject matter, the claim as a whole is non-statutory.
Further action is required, it is suggested to consider the terms “non-transitory … medium”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 13, 14, 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200282909) to (Zimmerman) in view of (US 20170185362) to (Cansino).
Regrading claim(s) 1, 5, 13, 14, 15, Zimmerman teach An automotive infotainment video player system (100); a display arrangement (20) configured to display at least two different videos simultaneously; an input device (30) configured to receive a user input for selecting one of the videos to be displayed; and a processing unit (40) configured to operate the display arrangement to receive, in response to a user's input for selecting one of the videos, at least two different videos from the video server and display the received videos simultaneously. (Fig. 1, 4, P. 41, 43, 49, 50-52, with suitable network connections include media oriented system transfer, displaying on display 50 (part of an infotainment system) two different videos simultaneously on two portion(s) 212, and 202, and user can touch the direction indicator 214 located on the second portion 210 of the display and drag or swing their finger around the circle in a clockwise or counter-clockwise direction, thereby changing the corresponding camera direction shown in the first-person composite camera view 202 located on the first portion 200).
Zimmerman further teach a computer program product comprising program code portions for performing the method of Claim 13 when the computer program product is executed on one or more computing devices, The computer program product of Claim 14, stored on a computer readable recording medium. (P. 55, p processor can execute various types of electronic instructions, such as software and/or firmware programs stored in memory, which enable the module to carry out various functionality. According to various embodiments, any one or more of the memory discussed herein (e.g., memory 26) can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium; these include different types of random-access memory (RAM), including various types of dynamic RAM (DRAM) and static RAM (SRAM)), read-only memory (ROM), solid-state drives (SSDs) (including other solid-state storage such as solid state hybrid drives (SSHDs)), hard disk drives (HDDs), magnetic or optical disc drives, or other suitable computer medium that electronically stores information).
Cansino teach a video server (10) configured to store a plurality of different videos, user input for selecting one of the videos stored on the video server to be displayed. (Fig. 1, 18A, 18B, 20, P. 162-165, 172, screen display 2010 illustrating contents 2012 corresponding to content stored within the in-vehicle infotainment system is set forth)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman by a video server (10) configured to store a plurality of different videos, user input for selecting one of the videos stored on the video server to be displayed as taught by Cansino in order to Utilizing in-vehicle systems in the control of content would increase customer satisfaction.
Regarding claim(s) 2, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the processing unit (40), the display arrangement (20), the video server (10), displaying the at least two different videos simultaneously.
processing unit is configured to operate display arrangement to perform at least one of start displaying the at least two different videos simultaneously, start displaying the at least two different videos after receiving of the at least two different videos from the video server has been completed, and start displaying the at least two different videos after a predetermined amount of video data for each of the at least two different videos has been received from the video server. (Fig. 1, 4, P. 41, 43, 49, 50-52, with suitable network connections include media oriented system transfer, displaying on display 50 (part of an infotainment system) two different videos simultaneously on two portion(s) 212, and 202, and user can touch the direction indicator 214 located on the second portion 210 of the display and drag or swing their finger around the circle in a clockwise or counter-clockwise direction, thereby changing the corresponding camera direction shown in the first-person composite camera view 202 located on the first portion 200).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server.
Zimmerman further teach to display at least one selection element, and wherein user input for selecting one of videos is based on an interaction of a user with the displayed selection element. (Fig. 1, 4, P. 41, 43, 49, 50-52, with suitable network connections include media oriented system transfer, displaying on display 50 (part of an infotainment system) two different videos simultaneously on two portion(s) 212, and 202, and user can touch the direction indicator 214 located on the second portion 210 of the display and drag or swing their finger around the circle in a clockwise or counter-clockwise direction, thereby changing the corresponding camera direction shown in the first-person composite camera view 202 located on the first portion 200, which reads on (user input for selecting one of videos is based on an interaction of a user with the displayed selection element)).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server, the input device (30)
Cansino further teach receive a user input for setting a combination of at least two different videos, which is to displayed by display arrangement in response to selecting one of the videos. (Fig. 1, 18A, 18B, 20, P. 71, 74, 86, 162-165, 172, screen display 2010 illustrating contents 2012 corresponding to content stored within the in-vehicle infotainment system is set forth, communicate user settings such as favorite channels, parental controls, font type and color schemes, to the in-vehicle infotainment system, User profiles may be changed/updated in response to the user's actions at the user receiving device based on the settings, and displaying corresponding programming changes accordingly, specifically P. 71, 74, 86,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino by receive a user input for setting a combination of at least two different videos, which is to displayed by display arrangement in response to selecting one of the videos as taught by Cansino in order to Utilizing in-vehicle systems in the control of content would increase customer satisfaction.
Regarding claim(s) 6, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server, the input device (30), simultaneously display the at least two different videos.
Cansino further teach display arrangement to simultaneously display at least two different videos and an accompanying text information, the accompanying text information being generated based on video data of at least one of the two different videos. (Fig. 1, 18A, 18B, 20, P. 71, 74, 86, 162-165, 172, Fig. 20, screen display illustrating contents 2012 corresponding to content stored within the in-vehicle infotainment system is set forth, and the two contents with their titles on each content).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino by display arrangement to simultaneously display at least two different videos and an accompanying text information, the accompanying text information being generated based on video data of at least one of the two different videos as taught by Cansino in order to Utilizing in-vehicle systems in the control of content would increase customer satisfaction.
Regarding claim(s) 7, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server, the input device (30), simultaneously display the at least two different videos, the accompanying text information, on text information visible in at least one of the two different videos when displayed
Cansino further teach accompanying text information is generated based on text information visible in at least one of the two different videos when displayed, wherein, optionally, the accompanying text information represents a translation of text, which is visible in at least one of the two different videos when displayed, into another language. (Fig. 1, 18A, 18B, 20, P. 71, 74, 81-82, 86, 162-165, 172, Fig. 18B, 20, screen display illustrating contents corresponding to content stored within the in-vehicle infotainment system is set forth, and the two contents with their titles on each content, and the ability to change the display language within user settings, so whatever selected language is displayed, specifically P. 74, 81-82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino by accompanying text information is generated based on text information visible in at least one of the two different videos when displayed, wherein, optionally, the accompanying text information represents a translation of text, which is visible in at least one of the two different videos when displayed, into another language as taught by Cansino in order to Utilizing in-vehicle systems in the control of content would increase customer satisfaction.
Claim(s) 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200282909) to (Zimmerman) in view of (US 20170185362) to (Cansino) in view of (20230101763) to (Bloch).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the selection element, the different videos stored on the video server (10).
Bloch further teach selection element is a video tree (T), which indicates a relationship between different videos stored. (P. 4, 8, 43-45 media presentations can also include interactive video structured in a video tree, prerecorded video segments in a video tree or other structure can be selectable presentable multimedia content, and played for a user based upon the user's selection of a particular video segment).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino by selection element is a video tree (T), which indicates a relationship between different videos stored as taught by Bloch in order to receiving a user interaction associated with the at least one first UI element, and dynamically modifying the interactive video and/or the at least one second UI element included in the video player layer based on the user interaction.
Claim(s) 8-10, 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200282909) to (Zimmerman) in view of (US 20170185362) to (Cansino) in view of (20190206444) to (Bates).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Zimmerman in view of Cansino teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server (10), the input device (30), simultaneously display the at least two different videos, the accompanying text information, on text information visible in at least one of the two different videos when displayed.
Cansino further teach each linked to at least one marking mask (M), and receive a user input including a user's interaction with display segment of one of the marking masks linked to one of the videos which are displayed by the display arrangement. (Fig. 1, 18A, 18B, 20, P. 71, 74, 81-82, 86, 162-165, 172, Fig. 18B, 20, screen display illustrating contents corresponding to content stored within the in-vehicle infotainment system is set forth, and the two contents with their interactive interface which can lead the user input to a wide selection of interface in relation to the currently watching contents).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino by each linked to at least one marking mask (M), each marking mask including at least one user-interactable display segment, and receive a user input including a user's interaction with a user-interactable display segment of one of the marking masks linked to one of the videos which are displayed by the display arrangement as taught by Cansino in order to Utilizing in-vehicle systems in the control of content would increase customer satisfaction.
Bates further teach each marking mask including at least one user-interactable display segment, user's interaction with a user-interactable display segment of one of the marking masks linked to one of the videos which are displayed by the display arrangement. (Fig. 1-2, P. 60-61, 133, 156, sent the set of plot segments to the user via an interactive user interface that allows the user to select options to view more information, read more on each plot segment, access auxiliary content, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino by each marking mask including at least one user-interactable display segment, user's interaction with a user-interactable display segment of one of the marking masks linked to one of the videos which are displayed by the display arrangement as taught by Bates in order to provide differences between the plotlines of the media versions that users may be interested in being alerted to.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server (10), the input device (30), the videos stored on the video server, the user-interactable display segments (S), displaying the at least two different videos.
Bates further teach to display user-interactable display segments (S) when displaying the different videos, wherein, optionally, the marking masks (M) are generated based on video data of the videos. (Fig. 1-2, P. 60-61, 133, 156, send the set of plot segments to the user via an interactive user interface that allows the user to select options to view more information, read more on each plot segment, access auxiliary content, etc.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates by to display user-interactable display segments (S) when displaying the different videos, wherein, optionally, the marking masks (M) are generated based on video data of the videos as taught by Bates in order to provide differences between the plotlines of the media versions that users may be interested in being alerted to.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server (10), the input device (30), the videos stored on the video server, the user-interactable display segments (S), displaying the at least two different videos.
Bates further teach at least one user-interactable display segment (S) is formed corresponding to an object visible in one of the videos when displayed. (Fig. 1-2, P. 48, 60-61, 127, 133, 142, 156, unique identifier may be represented through metadata such as subtitle data, object detection via video processing, such as Harry entering castle scene )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates by at least one user-interactable display segment (S) is formed corresponding to an object visible in one of the videos when displayed as taught by Bates in order to provide differences between the plotlines of the media versions that users may be interested in being alerted to.
Regarding claim(s) 12, Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server (10), the input device (30), the videos stored on the video server, the user-interactable display segments (S), displaying the at least two different videos, the processing unit (40).
Cansino further teach to operate the display arrangement in response to a user's input to perform at least one of: stop displaying the at least two different videos, continue displaying the at least two different videos, adjust a volume of a sound output, adjust a playback speed of the different videos, synchronously forward the at least two different videos, and synchronously rewind the at least two different videos. (Fig. 18B, P. 162-165, Various control buttons such as a play button 1856, amongst other buttons, for user to select content and what action to perform).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates by to operate the display arrangement in response to a user's input to perform at least one of: stop displaying the at least two different videos, continue displaying the at least two different videos, adjust a volume of a sound output, adjust a playback speed of the different videos, synchronously forward the at least two different videos, and synchronously rewind the at least two different videos as taught by Cansino in order to Utilizing in-vehicle systems in the control of content would increase customer satisfaction.
Claim(s) 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 20200282909) to (Zimmerman) in view of (US 20170185362) to (Cansino) in view of (20190206444) to (Bates) in view of (20040078814) to (Allen).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates teach the system (100), the display arrangement (20), the videos stored on video server (10), the input device (30), the at least one user-interactable display segment (S).
Cansino further teach at least one of the shape of the at least one user-interactable display segment and the position of the at least one user-interactable display segment is variable over video's playtime. (Fig. 6-10, P. 67, 79-84, Fig. 18B, 20, customized modular tickers with interactive supplemental information display simultaneously, wherein the viewer can select the content to be displayed for the module being customized, viewer can also select to customize appearance characteristics of one or more modules, include position on the display screen, size, shape, etc. amongst other options, ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zimmerman in view of Cansino in view of Bates by at least one of the shape of the at least one user-interactable display segment and the position of the at least one user-interactable display segment is variable over video's playtime as taught by Allen in order to provide user satisfaction with a service provider.
Conclusion
/RONG LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421