DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is in response the RCE and remarks filed on 07 August 2026.
Claims 1-25 are presently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sitton et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0119022 in view of Lee et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0056058 in view of Sanchez Melendez et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0020599 and further in view of Ammanur et al., U. S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0132297.
Regarding claim 1, Sitton discloses a system, comprising: a first device (see Sitton, ¶ [0028]; Ethernet Device is disclosed); a second device (see Sitton, fig. 1 item 150; external device is disclosed); and a fabric connected to the first device and the second device, the fabric including a fabric component, the fabric component including a transformation function (see Sitton, fig. 5 item 535a-535d; ¶ [0006], [0103] and [0107]; data transformation engine is provided); wherein the fabric component is configured to receive a first packet originating from the first device, the first packet including a first, to execute the transformation function on to generate a second (see Sitton, ¶ [0116]; data transformation is performed on the received data), and the second packet including the second, wherein the second packet is different from the first packet (see Sitton, fig. 2 item 212, ¶ [0032] and [0079]; transformed packet data is generated).
Although Sitton discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose to send a second packet toward the second device.
Lee teaches intelligent controller and sensor network bus that teaches to send a second packet toward the second device (see Lee, ¶ [0103]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with that of Sitton in order to the efficiently forward the converted packet data to its intended destination.
Although the combination of Sitton-Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose wherein the first payload in the first packet is processed within the fabric to generate the second payload to include in the second packet.
Sanchez teaches wherein the first data in the first packet is processed within the fabric to generate the second data to include in the second packet (see Sanchez, ¶ [0013], [0016] and [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teaching so Sanchez with that of Sitton-Lee in order to efficiently perform some of the processing while the packet is still traversing in the fabric component.
Although the combination of Sitton-Lee-Sanchez disclose the invention substantially as claimed, they do not explicitly disclose packet including first header and first payload and generating second packet including second payload.
Ammanur teaches packet including first header and first payload and generating second packet including second payload (see Ammanur, ¶ [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to efficiently modify the first packet by including additional information to produce the second packet.
Regarding claim 2, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric further includes a second fabric component (see Sitton, ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein: the second fabric component includes a second transformation function; and the second fabric component is configured to receive the second packet from the fabric component, to execute the second transformation function on the second payload to generate a third payload, and to send a third packet toward the second device, the third packet including the third payload, wherein the third payload is different from the first payload, and the second payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0117], Lee, ¶ [0103] and Ammanur, ¶ [0035]). Same motivation utilized in claim 1 applies equally to claim 3 as well.
Regarding claim 4, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric component includes a context to manage execution of the transformation function, the context including a third data used to execute the transformation function (see Sitton, ¶ [0112] and Sanchez, ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 5, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein the first device or the second device is configured to request the fabric component to execute the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0028] and [0074]).
Regarding claim 6, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein: the first device or the second device is configured to request execution of the transformation function on the first payload; and the fabric component is configured to select itself to execute the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0075] and [0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein the first packet includes an identifier of the transformation function (see Sitton, ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 8, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric component is configured to keep a connection to the second device active while executing the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0103]).
Regarding claim 9, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez- Ammanur teaches wherein: the first packet further includes a first metadata associated with the first payload; the second packet further includes a second metadata associated with the second payload; and the second metadata is different from the first metadata (see Sitton, ¶ [0120]).
Regarding claim 10, Sitton a method, comprising: receiving, at a fabric component of a fabric connected to a first device and a second device, a first packet originating from the first device, the first packet including a first data (see Sitton, ¶ [0028]; first packet is received); executing, at the fabric component, a transformation function on the first data to produce a second data (see Sitton, fig. 5 item 535a-535d; ¶ [0006], [0103] and [0107]; data transformation engine is provided); generating, at the fabric component, a second packet, the second packet including the second data, the second packet different from the first packet (see Sitton, fig. 2 item 212, ¶ [0032] and [0079]; transformed packet data is generated).
Although Sitton discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose and sending the second packet toward the second device.
Lee teaches and sending the second packet toward the second device (see Lee, ¶ [0103]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with that of Sitton in order to the efficiently forward the converted packet data to its intended destination.
Although the combination of Sitton-Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data in the first packet is processed within the fabric to generate the second data to include in the second packet.
Sanchez teaches wherein the first data in the first packet is processed within the fabric to generate the second data to include in the second packet (see Sanchez, ¶ [0013], [0016] and [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teaching so Sanchez with that of Sitton-Lee in order to efficiently perform some of the processing while the packet is still traversing in the fabric component.
Although the combination of Sitton-Lee-Sanchez disclose the invention substantially as claimed, they do not explicitly disclose packet including first header and first payload and generating second packet including second payload wherein the second payload is different than the first payload.
Ammanur teaches packet including first header and first payload and generating second packet including second payload wherein the second payload is different than the first payload (see Ammanur, ¶ [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to efficiently modify the first packet by including additional information to produce the second packet.
Regarding claim 11, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein: the method further comprises receiving, at the fabric component, a third packet originating from the first device, the third packet including a third header and a third payload; and executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the first payload to produce the second payload includes: executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the first payload to produce an interim payload; and executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the interim payload and the third payload to produce the second payload, wherein the third payload is different from the first payload and second payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0075], [0110] and Ammanur, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric further includes a second fabric component (see Sitton, ¶ [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein sending the second packet toward the second device includes: receiving, at the second fabric component, the second packet sent from the fabric component; executing, at the second fabric component, a second transformation function on the second payload to produce a third payload, the third payload different from the first payload and second payload; generating, at the second fabric component, a third packet, the third packet including the third payload and the second packet; and sending the third packet toward the second device (see Sitton, ¶ [0117], Lee, ¶ [0103] and Ammanur, ¶ [0035]). Same motivation utilized in claim 10 applies equally to claim 11 as well.
Regarding claim 14, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches further comprising allocating, at the fabric component, a context to manage execution of the transformation function, the context including a third data used to execute the transformation function (see Sitton, ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 15, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches further comprising receiving, at the fabric component, a request from the second device for the fabric component to execute the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0028] and [0074] and Sanchez, ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 16, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the first payload to produce a second payload includes selecting the fabric component, by the fabric component, to execute the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0075] and [0102]).
Regarding claim 17, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches further comprising keeping, by the fabric component, a connection to the second device active while executing the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0103]).
Regarding claim 18, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein: the first packet further includes a first metadata associated with the first payload; and generating, at the fabric component, the second packet, includes generating, at the fabric component, the second packet, the second packet including the second payload and a second metadata associated with the second payload, the second metadata different from the first metadata (see Sitton, ¶ [0120]).
Regarding claim 19, Sitton discloses a system, comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by a machine, result in: receiving, at a fabric component of a fabric connected to a first device and a second device, a first packet originating from the first device, the first packet including a first (see Sitton, ¶ [0028]; first packet is received); executing, at the fabric component, a transformation function on the first to produce a second (see Sitton, fig. 5 item 535a-535d; ¶ [0006], [0103] and [0107]; data transformation engine is provided); generating, at the fabric component, a second packet, the second packet including the second (see Sitton, fig. 2 item 212, ¶ [0032] and [0079]; transformed packet data is generated).
Although Sitton discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose and sending the second packet toward the second device.
Lee teaches and sending the second packet toward the second device (see Lee, ¶ [0103]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lee with that of Sitton in order to the efficiently forward the converted packet data to its intended destination.
Although the combination of Sitton-Lee discloses the invention substantially as claimed, it does not explicitly disclose wherein the first data in the first packet is processed within the fabric to generate the second data to include in the second packet.
Sanchez teaches wherein the first data in the first packet is processed within the fabric to generate the second data to include in the second packet (see Sanchez, ¶ [0013], [0016] and [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teaching so Sanchez with that of Sitton-Lee in order to efficiently perform some of the processing while the packet is still traversing in the fabric component.
Although the combination of Sitton-Lee-Sanchez disclose the invention substantially as claimed, they do not explicitly disclose packet including first header and first payload and generating second packet including second payload wherein the second payload is different than the first payload.
Ammanur teaches packet including first header and first payload and generating second packet including second payload wherein the second payload is different than the first payload (see Ammanur, ¶ [0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the invention to efficiently modify the first packet by including additional information to produce the second packet.
Regarding claim 20, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein: the non-transitory storage medium has stored thereon further instructions that, when executed by the machine, result in receiving, at the fabric component, a third packet originating from the first device, the third packet including a third header and a third payload; and executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the first payload to produce the second payload includes: executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the first payload to produce an interim payload; and executing, at the fabric component, the transformation function on the interim payload and the third payload to produce the second payload, wherein the third payload is different from the first payload and the second payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0075], [0110] and Ammanur, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 21, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric component includes a root complex or a switch (see Sitton, ¶ [0093] and Lee, ¶ [0093]).
Regarding claim 22, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric component is configured to send a Data Link Layer Packet (DLLP) to the second device to keep the connection to the second device active while executing the transformation function on the first payload (see Sitton, ¶ [0026] and Sanchez, ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 23, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric component includes a root complex or a switch (see Sitton, ¶ [0093] and Lee, ¶ [0093]).
Regarding claim 24, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein keeping, by the fabric component, a connection to the second device active while executing the transformation function on the first payload includes sending, by the fabric component, a Data Link Layer Packet (DLLP) to the second device (see Sitton, ¶ [0026] and Sanchez, ¶ [0049]).
Regarding claim 25, Sitton-Lee-Sanchez-Ammanur teaches wherein the fabric component includes a root complex or a switch (see Sitton, ¶ [0093] and Lee, ¶ [0093]).
Prior Art of Record
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Please refer to form PTO-892 (Notice of Reference Cited) for a list of relevant prior art.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED IBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444