DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Merget (Publication No.: US 2018/0180826 A1).
Regarding claim 5, 1, Merget teaches An optical subassembly comprising a substrate (e.g. “substrate” as in paragraph [0081] and throughout; reference numeral 200 in Figure 2a) ; an electrical interconnection layer (reference numeral 107, 207a, 207b in Figure 2a and Figure 2b) disposed on the substrate, wherein the electrical interconnection layer comprises at least a first electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209a in Figure 2b) ; a waveguide (reference numeral 101, 102, 103 in Figure 2b) formed on the interconnection layer, wherein the waveguide comprises a top cladding layer (reference numeral 102 in Figure 2b) disposed on a core layer (reference numeral 101 in Figure 2b), with the core layer disposed on a bottom cladding layer (reference numeral 103 in Figure 2b) , wherein the core layer is embedded at least partially in the top cladding layer (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b), wherein the core layer comprises silicon oxynitride (e.g. “silicon oxi-nitride (SiON)” auxiliary cladding layer(s) as in paragraph [0065]; “SiON core layer” as in paragraph [0066]; “one or more auxiliary cladding layers” as in paragraph [0063]); a cavity (reference numeral 200b in Figure 2c; e.g. “cavity” as in paragraph [0009] and throughout) formed on and through at least the top cladding layer, wherein the cavity contacts the waveguide to expose a facet of the core layer (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2c), wherein the cavity is configured to house a device (e.g. “flip-chip photonic chip (FCPC)” as in paragraph [0003] and throughout; reference numeral 100 in Figure 2a) coupled to the facet of the core layer, wherein the device comprises a terminal configured to electrically couple to the at least an electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 107, 207a, 207b, 209a, 209b in Figure 2a and Figure 2b).
Regarding claim 2, Merget teaches An optical subassembly as in claim 1, wherein the at least a first electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209a in Figure 2b) is configured to be electrically coupled to a first terminal (reference numeral 107 in Figure 2b) of a first device disposed on the electrical interconnection layer, wherein the first device comprises an optical component or an optoelectrical component (e.g. “flip-chip photonic chip (FCPC)” as in paragraph [0003] and throughout) configured to be aligned with the waveguide.
Regarding claim 3, 4, Merget teaches An optical subassembly as in claim 1, wherein the at least a first electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209a in Figure 2b) is configured to be electrically coupled to a first terminal of a first device disposed on the electrical interconnection layer (reference numeral 107 in Figure 2b), wherein the first device comprises an optical element or an optoelectrical element configured to be aligned with the waveguide (e.g. “flip-chip photonic chip (FCPC)” as in paragraph [0003] and throughout), the optical assembly further comprising a second device (e.g. “a second photonic device” as in paragraph [0026]) fabricated on the substrate under the electrical interconnection layer, wherein the at least a first electrical interconnection line or a second electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209b in Figure 2a) in the electrical interconnection layer is coupled to a second terminal of the second device, wherein the second device is configured for electrically communication with the first device (e.g. via electrical interconnects 207a, 207b, 209a, 209bas illustrated in Figure 2a).
Regarding claim 6, Merget teaches An optical subassembly as in claim 5, wherein the core layer (reference numeral 101 in Figure 2b) is partially embedded in the top cladding layer (reference numeral 102 in Figure 2b) , with the top cladding layer disposed on the embedded core area (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b), with the top cladding layer disposed on a portion of the core layer (reference numeral 101a in Figure 2b) not embedded in the top cladding layer, and with a portion of the core layer not embedded in the top cladding layer (reference numeral 101a in Figure 2b) disposed on the bottom cladding layer (reference numeral 103 in Figure 2b) at areas outside the embedded core area, wherein the cavity (reference numeral 200b in Figure 2c; e.g. “cavity” as in paragraph [0009] and throughout) is formed through the top cladding layer, the portion of the core layer not embedded in the top cladding layer, and the bottom cladding layer (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b).
Regarding claim 7, Merget teaches An optical subassembly as in claim 5, wherein the core layer (reference numeral 101 in Figure 2b) is totally embedded in the top cladding layer, with the top cladding layer (reference numeral 102 in Figure 2b) disposed on the embedded core area and disposed on the bottom cladding layer at areas outside the embedded core area (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b), wherein the cavity is formed through the top cladding layer, and the bottom cladding layer (reference numeral 200b in Figure 2c; e.g. “cavity” as in paragraph [0009] and throughout).
Regarding claim 8, Merget teaches An optical subassembly as in claim 5, wherein the core layer and the bottom cladding layer are totally embedded in the top cladding layer (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b), with the top cladding layer (reference numeral 102 in Figure 2b) disposed on the embedded core area (reference numeral 101 in Figure 2b) and on the electrical interconnection layer (reference numeral 106 in Figure 2b) outside the core and bottom cladding area, wherein the cavity is formed through the top cladding layer (reference numeral 200b in Figure 2c; e.g. “cavity” as in paragraph [0009] and throughout).
Regarding claim 9, Merget teaches An optical subassembly as in claim 5, further comprising a second device (e.g. “a second photonic device” as in paragraph [0026]) fabricated on the substrate under the electrical interconnection layer, wherein the at least a first electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209b in Figure 2a) or a second electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209a in Figure 2a) in the electrical interconnection layer is coupled to a second terminal of the second device.
Regarding claim 10, Merget teaches An optical subassembly comprising a substrate (e.g. "substrate" as in paragraph [0081] and throughout; reference numeral 200 in Figure 2a); an electrical interconnection layer disposed on the substrate (reference numeral 107, 207a, 207b in Figure 2a and Figure 2b), wherein the electrical interconnection layer comprises at least a first electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 209a in Figure 2b); a waveguide (reference numeral 101, 102, 103 in Figure 2b) formed on the electrical interconnection layer, wherein the waveguide comprises top cladding layer (reference numeral 102 in Figure 2b) on a core layer (reference numeral 101 in Figure 2b) on a bottom cladding layer (reference numeral 103 in Figure 2b) , wherein the top cladding layer extends toward the core layer to cover at least portions of two opposite sides of the core layer (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b), wherein the top cladding layer extends outward from the two opposite sides of the core layer (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2b), wherein the core layer comprises a first optical axis configured to show a first propagation direction of optical signals in the waveguide (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2a), wherein the core layer and the cladding layers comprise silicon oxynitride (e.g. “silicon oxi-nitride (SiON)” auxiliary cladding layer(s) as in paragraph [0065]; “SiON core layer” as in paragraph [0066]; “one or more auxiliary cladding layers” as in paragraph [0063]); a cavity (reference numeral 200b in Figure 2c; e.g. “cavity” as in paragraph [0009] and throughout) formed on the top cladding layer and through at least the top cladding layer, wherein the cavity is adjacent to the waveguide to expose a facet of the core layer (reference numeral 122 in Figure 2c), one or more alignment aid elements disposed in the cavity element (leftmost reference numeral 223 in Figure 2b, Figure 2c), wherein the one or more alignment aids are configured to assist in aligning a second optical axis of an optical or optoelectronic device assembled in the cavity with the first optical axis (e.g. “alignment” as in paragraph [0081] and as illustrated in Figure 2b, Figure 2c), wherein the device is configured to be electrically coupled to the at least a first electrical interconnection line (reference numeral 107, 207a, 207b, 209a, 209b in Figure 2a and Figure 2b).
Regarding claim 11, Merget teaches a substrate as in claim 10, wherein the one or more alignment aid elements comprise a first alignment aid element (leftmost reference numeral 223 in Figure 2b, Figure 2c), wherein the first alignment aid comprises a first outer surface (reference numeral 221 in Figure 2c), wherein the first outer surface is separated by a first distance with the first optical axis (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2c), wherein the first distance is configured to match with a second distance (e.g. the distance from the top of reference numeral 203 to the optical axis of waveguide 201 in Figure 2c), wherein the second distance is a separation between a second outer surface of the device (reference numeral 121 in Figure 2c) and a second optical axis of the device with the second optical axis configured to show a second propagation direction of optical signals to or from the device (e.g. the optical axis of waveguide 201 in Figure 2c illustrated as "B" in Figure 2a), wherein the matching is configured to allow an alignment of the first optical axis with the second optical axis when the device is assembled in the cavity on the substrate with the second outer surface contacting with the first outer surface (e.g. “alignment” as in paragraph [0081] and as illustrated in Figure 2b, Figure 2c).
Regarding claim 12, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the one or more alignment aid elements comprise a second alignment aid element (e.g. rightmost reference numeral 223 in Figure 2b, Figure 2c), wherein the second alignment aid element comprises a third outer surface (e.g. rightmost reference numeral 221 in Figure 2b) parallel to the first outer surface, wherein the third outer surface is in a vicinity of the first optical axis (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 2a, Figure 2b), wherein the second alignment aid element comprises a fiducial pattern configured for assisting in placing the device in the cavity on the substrate (reference numeral 223 in Figure 2a, Figure 2b).
Regarding claim 13, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the one or more alignment aid elements comprise a third alignment aid element (e.g. lower leftmost reference numeral 221 in Figure 2a), wherein the third alignment aid element comprises a fourth outer surface not parallel to the first outer surface (e.g. any of the vertical outer surfaces of columns 223 not parallel with outer surfaces 221 of rightmost column 223 as illustrated in Figures 2a, Figure 2b, Figure 2c), wherein the fourth outer surface is configured to be separated with a fifth outer surface of the device (e.g. lower leftmost reference numeral 121 in Figure 2a) by a distance less than an alignment tolerance between the first and second optical axes (e.g. "improved alignment" as in paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 14, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the one or more alignment aid elements comprise a fourth alignment aid element (e.g. lower rightmost reference numeral 221 in Figure 2a), wherein the fourth alignment aid element comprises an alignment constraint (e.g. the column 223 as illustrated in Figure 2b) for laterally aligning an optical fiber, wherein the alignment constraint is configured to align an optical axis of the optical fiber with the first optical axis in a lateral direction (e.g. "alignment" as in paragraph [0081] and as illustrated in Figure 2b, Figure 2c).
Regarding claim 15, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the first or second alignment aid element comprises a pillar (e.g. the column 223 as illustrated in Figure 2b) or a recess comprising a top layer comprising a top surface with the top surface being the first or third outer surface, respectively.
Regarding claim 16, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the first or second alignment aid element comprises a top layer comprising Al, an alloy of aluminum (e.g. "aluminum nitride" as in paragraph [0065]), AlOx, Au, Ag, Ni, Pt, Ti, TiOx, Ta, or TaOx (e.g. "tentalum oxide" (sic) as in paragraph [0065]).
Regarding claim 17, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the third outer surface is aligned with the first surface with a tolerance of a photolithography process (e.g. via "lithographic step" as in paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the fourth outer surface (e.g. any of the vertical outer surfaces of columns 223 not parallel with outer surfaces 221 of rightmost column 223 as illustrated in Figures 2a, Figure 2b, Figure 2c) is configured to establish a limit for the device optical component to travel in a direction parallel to the lateral plane to be within the alignment tolerance.
Regarding claim 19, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the third alignment aid element (e.g. lower leftmost reference numeral 221 in Figure 2a) is configured to prevent misalignments of the second optical axis with the first optical axis by limiting movements of the device during a soldering aligning process.
Regarding claim 20, Merget teaches A substrate as in claim 10, wherein the fourth alignment aid element (e.g. lower leftmost reference numeral 221 in Figure 2a) comprises a v-groove alignment aid (e.g. the surface that engages surface 123 in Figure 2b) disposed along the optical fiber (reference numeral 101 in Figure 2b).
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635