DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito (2017/0236908, hereafter Naito).
Regarding claim 1, Naito discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a chip which has a first surface (100 top, Fig. 3) on one side and a second surface (100 bottom, Fig. 3) on the other side; IGBT regions (70, Fig. 1) which are provided in the chip at an interval (par. 0061); a boundary region (Fig. 3, par. 0066) which is provided in a region between the IGBT regions in the chip (Fig. 1, 3); a first conductivity type cathode region (28) which is formed in a surface layer portion of the second surface in the boundary region (Fig .3); and a second conductivity type well region (17) which is formed in a surface layer portion of the first surface in the boundary region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein a collector potential is to be applied to the cathode region, and an emitter potential is to be applied to the well region (par. 0061, 0097, 0152).
Regarding claim 3, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) has a portion which faces the cathode region (28) in a thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Naito discloses a semiconductor device further comprising: a gate wiring (45) which is arranged above the first surface in the boundary region (between 70 and 80, Fig. 3); wherein the cathode region (28) faces the gate wiring in a thickness direction of the chip, and the well region (17) faces the gate wiring in the thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) is formed wider than the gate wiring (45) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Naito discloses a semiconductor device further comprising: a second conductivity type base region (14) which is formed in the surface layer portion of the first surface in each of the IGBT regions (70), wherein the well region (17) is formed deeper than the base region (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) is connected to the base region (14) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Naito discloses a semiconductor device further comprising: an interlayer insulation film (26) which covers the first surface; and an emitter electrode (52) which is arranged on the interlayer insulation film and electrically connected to the IGBT regions (70) (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito.
Regarding claim 4, Naito fails to explicitly disclose a semiconductor device wherein the well region is formed wider than the cathode region.
However, in another embodiment, Naito teaches a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) is formed wider than the cathode region (28) (Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito by providing the well region wider than the cathode in order to maintain a side depletion layer that prevents high-voltage breakdown as well as a resistance path that suppresses parasitic latch-up.
Regarding claim 5, Naito fails to explicitly disclose a semiconductor device further comprising: a second conductivity type collector region which is formed in the surface layer portion of the second surface in the boundary region; wherein the well region has a portion which faces the collector region in a thickness direction of the chip.
However, in another embodiment, Naito teaches a semiconductor device further comprising: a second conductivity type collector region (22) which is formed in the surface layer portion of the second surface in the boundary region (Fig. 12); wherein the well region (17) has a portion which faces the collector region in a thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito by providing a collector region in the boundary region in order to form a continuous charge injection layer, preventing localized electric field distortion and suppressing latch-up.
Regarding claim 8, Naito fails to explicitly disclose a semiconductor device wherein the cathode region is formed narrower than the gate wiring.
However, in another embodiment, Naito teaches a semiconductor device wherein the cathode region (28) is formed narrower than the gate wiring (45) (Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito by providing the cathode region narrower than the wiring in order to maximize the active surface area and ensure uniform charge propagation, preventing crowding during switching.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito in view of Narazaki et al. (2016/0293595, hereafter Narazaki).
Regarding claim 11, Naito, discussed above, fails to disclose a semiconductor device wherein the cathode region does not face the base region in a thickness direction of the chip.
However, Narazaki teaches a semiconductor device wherein the cathode region (127) does not face the base region (114) in a thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito with Narazaki by providing the cathode not facing the base region in order to prevent localized shorting, ensure proper conductivity modulation, and prevent parasitic latch-up.
Regarding claim 12, Naito discloses a semiconductor device further comprising: a trench structure (40, Fig. 2) which is formed through the base region in the first surface in each of the IGBT regions and to which a gate potential is to be applied (par. 0080).
Naito fails to disclose the well region is formed deeper than the trench structure of the each of the IGBT regions.
However, Narazaki teaches the well region (104) is formed deeper than the trench structure (111) of the each of the IGBT regions (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito with Narazaki by providing the well region deeper than the trench structure in order to mitigate electric field crowding and protect against premature dielectric breakdown.
Regarding claim 13, Naito fails to explicitly disclose a semiconductor device wherein the cathode region does not face the trench structure of each of the IGBT regions in a thickness direction of the chip.
However, in another embodiment, Naito teaches semiconductor device wherein the cathode region (28) does not face the trench structure (40) of each of the IGBT regions (70) in a thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 12-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito by providing the cathode not facing the trench structure in order to prevent parasitic shorting, ensure efficient injection, and maintain electric field distribution during blocking.
Regarding claim 14, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) is formed in the boundary region so as to be in contact with the trench structure (40) of each of the IGBT regions (70) (Fig. 2).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito in view of Matsuura (2016/0359026, hereafter Matsuura).
Regarding claim 16, Naito discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a chip which has a first surface (100 top) on one side and a second surface (100 bottom) on the other side (Fig. 3); IGBT regions which are provided at an interval in the chip (70, Fig. 1, par. 0061); a boundary region (par. 0066) which is provided in a region between the IGBT regions in the chip; a first conductivity type cathode region (28) which is formed in a surface layer portion of the second surface in the boundary region (Fig. 3); a second conductivity type well region (17) which is formed in a surface layer portion of the first surface in the boundary region; an interlayer insulation film (26) which is formed on the first surface in the boundary region (Fig. 3).
Naito fails to disclose a via electrode which is buried in the interlayer insulation film so as to be electrically connected to the well region; and an emitter electrode which is arranged on the interlayer insulation film so as to be electrically connected to the via electrode.
However, Matsuura teaches a via electrode (32/62) which is buried in the interlayer insulation film (26) so as to be electrically connected to the well region (14); and an emitter electrode (32) which is arranged on the interlayer insulation film so as to be electrically connected to the via electrode (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito with Matsuura by providing a via connecting the emitter and well through the insulating layer in order to establish reference potential while preventing parasitic latch-up during conduction.
Regarding claim 17, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) has a portion which faces the cathode region (28) in a thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 3).
Naito fails to disclose the via electrode faces the cathode region in the thickness direction of the chip.
However, Matsuura teaches the via electrode (32/62) faces the cathode region (28) in the thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito with Matsuura by providing the via facing the cathode in order to prevent premature turn-on and maximize initialized voltage threshold.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito in view of Matsuura as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Oosawa et al. (9634095, hereafter Oosawa).
Regarding claim 18, Naito and Matsuura discussed above fail to disclose semiconductor device further comprising: a gate wiring which is arranged above the first surface in the boundary region; wherein the interlayer insulation film covers the gate wiring, and the via electrode is buried in the interlayer insulation film at an interval from the gate wiring.
However, Oosawa teaches semiconductor device further comprising: a gate wiring (14) which is arranged above the first surface in the boundary region (Fig. 13); wherein the interlayer insulation film (17) covers the gate wiring, and the via electrode (18 lower) is buried in the interlayer insulation film at an interval from the gate wiring (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito and Matsuura with Oosawa by providing a gate wiring within the insulating film and at an interval from the via in order to minimize parasitic resistance and ensure the shortest lateral current path to prevent latch-up.
Regarding claim 19, Naito discloses a semiconductor device wherein the well region (17) has a portion which faces the gate wiring (45) in a thickness direction of the chip, and the cathode region (28) has a portion which faces the gate wiring in the thickness direction of the chip (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Naito and Matsuura fail to disclose a semiconductor device wherein the gate wiring has an opening portion formed at a position overlapping the boundary region, the well region has a portion which faces the opening portion in a thickness direction of the chip, the interlayer insulation film has an opening covering portion which covers the opening portion, and the via electrode is buried in the opening covering portion.
However, Oosawa teaches a semiconductor device wherein the gate wiring (14) has an opening portion formed at a position overlapping the boundary region (Fig. 13), the well region (11a) has a portion which faces the opening portion in a thickness direction of the chip, the interlayer insulation film (17) has an opening covering portion which covers the opening portion, and the via electrode (18 lower) is buried in the opening covering portion (Fig. 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Naito and Matsuura with Oosawa by providing the via between an opening of the wiring within the interlayer film in order to maximize layout density while providing direct, low-resistance vertical contact to underlying substrate without short-circuiting the gate.
Conclusion
/C.M.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ALI NARAGHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817