DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: “the opposing side” should be corrected to “an opposing side”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berghahn et al. US 8303003, hereinafter referred to as Berghahn and further in view of Bruce US 6749234.
Regarding claim 1, Berghahn discloses a door latch device (fig1) for an automotive vehicle door (40, see fig3) comprising :
a striker (51) can be inserted (see fig3),
a holding fork (10), rotatable between a holding position (fig5) in which the holding fork holds and immobilizes the striker and a releasing position (fig3) in which its hold on the striker is released, and
a locking claw (20) rotatable between a locking position (fig5) in which the locking claw locks the fork into the holding position and an unlocking position (fig3) in which the locking claw unlocks the fork, the locking claw being biased from the unlocked position towards the locked position,
wherein the holding fork comprises a first locking protrusion (14) facing a locking recess (see annotated figure, created to include surfaces of and be between 24 and 23) provided in the locking claw and delimited on one side by an inner side (interior surface of 24, annotated figure) of a protruding portion (24) of the locking claw, such that engagement of the first locking protrusion in the locking recess (engagement occurs at 23, fig5) locks the locking claw and the holding fork together, and a second locking protrusion (most exterior portion of 17, see annotated figure) configured to come into contact with an outer side (exterior side of 24, see annotated figure) of the protruding portion of the locking claw when the locking claw is in its locking position but the first locking protrusion is not in contact with a bottom surface (see annotated figure) of the locking recess to provide a backup in case the first locking protrusion is unable to secure a hold of the holding fork by the locking claw (NOTE: “24” is considered to provide an additional hold on the holding fork therefore it can be considered a “backup”).
Berghahn does not explicitly teach the latch housing components of the latch device (see col. 2 lines 3-4) although does acknowledge that other components of the latch housing exist. Berghahn does not teach: a base member having an insertion slot through which striker can be inserted; the holding fork disposed on the base member, a locking claw disposed on the base member.
Bruce teaches a door latch device (fig1) for an automative vehicle door (abstract) comprising:
a base member (12) having an insertion slot (15) through which striker (11) can be inserted;
a holding fork (18) disposed on the base member (see fig4),
a locking claw (17) disposed on the base member (fig4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch device of Berghahn to be mounted explicitly on latch housing component such as a base member with an insertion slot, a concept as taught by Bruce, in order to provide a reduced noise and rattle housing (Bruce) since Berghahn acknowledges that the housing exists but does not explicitly detail its parts, and the device of Berghahn would remain functionally equivalent. (Bruce col 1 lines 5-10, 50-55)
Regarding claim 2, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, further comprising a latch mechanism (Berghahn, 60,34,36; NOTE: the latch mechanism also includes above holding fork 10 and locking claw 20) that may be switched from a latched state preventing the vehicle door from being opened, to an unlatched state allowing the vehicle door to be opened and wherein, when the second locking protrusion is in contact with an opposing side (where it contacts the locking claw, annotated figures) of the locking claw, said second locking protrusion is subjected to the load received by the fork such that the claw is still engaged with the fork and the latch mechanism will not switch to the unlatched state. (Berghahn, annotated figure, fig3-5)
Regarding claim 3, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, wherein, when the claw is in its locking position, the second locking protrusion is located a distance from the fork on a side perpendicular to the direction in which the insertion slot extends. (Berghahn, annotated figure, Bruce fig1-4)
Regarding claim 4, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, wherein the second locking protrusion is located towards an outer side of the vehicle in a vehicle width direction (left to right, fig3) with respect to the first locking protrusion (Berghahn, fig3 left side of 40 is the outer side of the vehicle and right side of 40 is inner side of vehicle).
Regarding claim 5, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, wherein the protruding portion (Berghahn, 24) of the locking claw fits into a recessed portion (Berghahn, annotated figure) of the holding fork.
Regarding claim 6, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 5, wherein the protruding portion of the locking claw is formed in a portion of the locking recess that is adjacent to an outer side of the locking recess in the vehicle width direction. (Berghahn, annotated figure)
Regarding claim 7, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 5, wherein the recessed portion of the holding fork is adjacent to an inner side (Berghahn, annotated figure) of the first locking protrusion (Berghahn, see fig1-5) in the vehicle width direction.
Regarding claim 8, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 5, wherein the second locking protrusion comes into contact with an outer side of the protruding portion of the locking claw in the vehicle width direction. (Berghahn, annotated figure, fig1-5)
Regarding claim 9, Bergahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first locking protrusion and the second locking protrusion but does not teach wherein at least one of the first locking protrusion and the second locking protrusion has a generally triangular shape.
Berghahn does teach generally triangular shape protrusions (23,24) but on the locking claw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the combined device of Berghahn in view of Bruce with the modified at least one of first locking and second locking protrusion to be generally triangle, since a change in shape is a design consideration of one skilled in the art since there seems to be no criticality to the shape of the protrusion and the protrusion(s) would remain functionally equivalent.
Regarding claim 10, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, wherein a portion of the locking claw has an arc shape (annotated figure, Berghahn) centered about an axis of rotation (Berghahnm at 27) of the locking claw (32).
Regarding claim 11, Berghahn in view of Bruce further teaches the door latch device according to claim 1, further comprising a cover plate (Bruce, 13) disposed on one side of the base member (see Bruce, fig5, base member of Bruce is 12) on which the holding fork (Berghahn 10) and the locking claw (Berghahn 20) are disposed and supporting a first end of a rotation shaft (Berghahn, contains 11 for the holding fork and contains 27 for the locking claw – neither are explicitly labeled, fig3) of each of the holding fork and the locking claw, and a set plate (Bruce 14) arranged on a second side of the base member opposite to the first side and supporting a second side of the holding fork and the locking claw opposite to the first end of the rotation shaft. (Bruce fig5)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch device of Berghahn to be mounted explicitly on latch housing comprising further of a cover plate and set plate, a concept as taught by Bruce, in order to provide a reduced noise and rattle housing (Bruce) since Berghahn acknowledges that the housing exists but does not explicitly detail its parts, and the device of Berghahn would remain functionally equivalent. (Bruce col 1 lines 5-10, 50-55)
Annotated Figures
+++
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that Berghahn does not read on the second locking protrusion coming into contact with the opposing side of the locking claw. However, the “opposing side of the locking claw” is not given any frame of reference, to what it is it opposing? For the purposes of examination, it is considered a side. Applicant further states Berghahn essentially does not teach amended language of claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees. See above rejection for clarification and new annotated figure to support the Berghahn interpretation. Rejection maintained. Previous 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in light of amendments to claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Art is related to vehicle latches.
Related but not relied upon prior art: US 20230349203, US 12054974, US 20150097378.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.F.A./
Examiner
Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675