Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 9,337,577 (“Hitchcock”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 8,366,481 (“Ehret”).
Regarding claim 1, Hitchcock discloses a connector housing assembly, comprising:
a first housing (202) having a first flange (216) installed on a first installation panel (surface of 106), the first flange has a first mounting hole (306);
a first support member (312) installed in the first mounting hole and having a first through-hole (322) that extends along an axial direction of the first mounting hole (see Fig. 4);
a first elastic ring (310, which may be a single deflectable finger surrounding the perimeter of surface 308, see col. 5, lns. 1 – 3) fitted on the first support member (see Fig. 4) and radially compressed between the first support member and the first mounting hole (310 compressed during by 312, 310 integrally extends from a portion of the wall and is between a wall portion and 312, and see col. 7, lns. 26 – 45 and col. 8, lns. 1 – 7); and
a first connecting member (214) passing through the first through-hole and connectable to the first installation panel (see col. 8, lns. 1 – 3), there is a first radial gap (420) between the first support member and the inner circumferential surface of the first mounting hole when the first housing is installed on the first installation panel, allowing the first housing to float radially relative to the first connecting member (see Fig. 4).
Hitchcock discloses the first elastic ring fitted on the support member, and the ring will be radially deflected and will experience compression in a radial direction, but the ring is integral with the mounting hole and thus Hitchcock does not disclose the elastic ring fitted on the first support member and radially compressed between the first support member and an inner circumferential surface of the first mounting hole.
However, Ehret teaches a connector with an outer tubular member 30 with a mounting hole defining an inner circumferential surface, and an inner tubular member 50 within the mounting hole, and an elastic ring 70 within the mounting hole and radially compressed between the inner circumferential surface and the inner tubular member, to provide a biasing force so as to align the structures. (Fig. 1A, col. 7, ln. 54 – col. 8, ln. 54, and col. 16, lns. 1 – 4).
It would have been obvious to replace the elastic biasing structure of Hitchcock with the elastic biasing structure of Ehret, because the structure of Ehret provides a consistent biasing force which helps keep the inner and outer members aligned while still allowing for relative movement between the two members, and also because the structure spans the gap to provide a seal function.
Regarding claim 2, Hitchcock discloses wherein, when the first housing is installed on the first installation panel, the first support member is spaced from the first flange by a first axial gap (306) in the axial direction of the first mounting hole to allow the first housing to float radially and axially relative to the first connecting member.
Regarding claim 3, Hitchcock discloses wherein, when the first housing is installed on the first installation panel, an end (surface 424) of the first support member is pressed against the first installation panel (col. 6, lns. 42 – 44), and another end (upper end of 312) of the first support member (312) is separated from the first flange by the first axial gap (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Hitchcock as modified by Ehret discloses wherein the first support member has a first neck (portion 314, Hitchcock) located between its ends, the first elastic ring is sleeved on the first neck of the first support member (the ring 310 is around portion 314, Hitchcock, and the ring 70 is similarly around a neck portion of 50 in Ehret) and centrally positions the first support member in the first mounting hole (biasing member 70 engages the opposed wall surfaces and centers 50 within the hole of 30, Ehret) .
Regarding claim 8, Hitchcock discloses a connector, comprising:
a connector housing assembly (Fig. 3), including:
a first housing (202) having a first flange (206) installed on a first installation panel (surface of 106), the first flange has a first mounting hole (306);
a first support member (312) installed in the first mounting hole and having a first through-hole (322) that extends along an axial direction of the first mounting hole;
a first elastic ring (310, which may be a single deflectable finger surrounding the perimeter of surface 308, see col. 5, lns. 1 – 3) fitted on the first support member (see Fig. 4) and radially compressed between the first support member and the first mounting hole (310 compressed during by 312, 310 integrally extends from a portion of the wall and is between a wall portion and 312, and see col. 7, lns. 26 – 45 and col. 8, lns. 1 – 7); and
a first connecting member (214) passing through the first through-hole and connectable to the first installation panel (see col. 8, lns. 1 – 3), there is a first radial gap (420) between the first support member and the inner circumferential surface of the first mounting hole when the first housing is installed on the first installation panel, allowing the first housing to float radially relative to the first connecting member (see Fig. 4); and
a first terminal (302) inserted into a first terminal hole of the first housing (302 extends through a hole portion in a wall inside the housing space 208, the wall is seen in Fig. 3 and the contacts extend through the connector as seen in Fig. 1 and col. 4, lns. 26 – 36).
Hitchcock discloses the first elastic ring fitted on the support member, and the ring will be radially deflected and will experience compression in a radial direction, but the ring is integral with the mounting hole and thus Hitchcock does not disclose the elastic ring fitted on the first support member and radially compressed between the first support member and an inner circumferential surface of the first mounting hole.
However, Ehret teaches a connector with an outer tubular member 30 with a mounting hole defining an inner circumferential surface, and an inner tubular member 50 within the mounting hole, and an elastic ring 70 within the mounting hole and radially compressed between the inner circumferential surface and the inner tubular member, to provide a biasing force so as to align the structures. (Fig. 1A, col. 7, ln. 54 – col. 8, ln. 54, and col. 16, lns. 1 – 4).
It would have been obvious to replace the elastic biasing structure of Hitchcock with the elastic biasing structure of Ehret, because the structure of Ehret provides a consistent biasing force which helps keep the inner and outer members aligned while still allowing for relative movement between the two members, and also because the structure spans the gap to provide a seal function.
Regarding claim 10, Hitchcock a connector assembly, comprising:
a connector (102), including:
a connector housing assembly (Fig. 3), having:
a first housing (202) having a first flange (206) installed on a first installation panel (surface of 106), the first flange has a first mounting hole (306);
a first support member (312) installed in the first mounting hole and having a first through-hole (322) that extends along an axial direction of the first mounting hole (see Fig. 4);
a first elastic ring (310, which may be a single deflectable finger surrounding the perimeter of surface 308, see col. 5, lns. 1 – 3) fitted on the first support member (see Fig. 4) and radially compressed between the first support member and the first mounting hole (310 compressed during by 312, 310 integrally extends from a portion of the wall and is between a wall portion and 312, and see col. 7, lns. 26 – 45 and col. 8, lns. 1 – 7); and
a first connecting member (214) passing through the first through-hole and connectable to the first installation panel (see col. 8, lns. 1 – 3), there is a first radial gap (420) between the first support member and the inner circumferential surface of the first mounting hole when the first housing is installed on the first installation panel, allowing the first housing to float radially relative to the first connecting member (see Fig. 4); and
a first terminal (302) inserted into a first terminal hole of the first housing (302 extends through a hole portion in a wall inside the housing space 208, the wall is seen in Fig. 3 and the contacts extend through the connector as seen in Fig. 1 and col. 4, lns. 26 – 36); and
a mating connector (104) mated with the connector.
Hitchcock discloses the first elastic ring fitted on the support member, and the ring will be radially deflected and will experience compression in a radial direction, but the ring is integral with the mounting hole and thus Hitchcock does not disclose the elastic ring fitted on the first support member and radially compressed between the first support member and an inner circumferential surface of the first mounting hole.
However, Ehret teaches a connector with an outer tubular member 30 with a mounting hole defining an inner circumferential surface, and an inner tubular member 50 within the mounting hole, and an elastic ring 70 within the mounting hole and radially compressed between the inner circumferential surface and the inner tubular member, to provide a biasing force so as to align the structures. (Fig. 1A, col. 7, ln. 54 – col. 8, ln. 54, and col. 16, lns. 1 – 4).
It would have been obvious to replace the elastic biasing structure of Hitchcock with the elastic biasing structure of Ehret, because the structure of Ehret provides a consistent biasing force which helps keep the inner and outer members aligned while still allowing for relative movement between the two members, and also because the structure spans the gap to provide a seal function.
Claims 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitchcock and Ehret, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,281,609 (“Suzuki”) and U.S. Pat. No. 10,393,158 (“Boedot”).
Regarding claim 5, Hitchcock discloses the first connecting member (214) is a threaded piece (see Fig. 4) having a connection with a first installation panel (col. 6, lns. 36 - 42).
Hitchcock does not disclose the connecting member as having a threaded connection with a first threaded hole formed on the panel, or a first internal thread forming a threaded connection with the first connecting member is formed in the first through-hole of the first support member.
Suzuki teaches a floating connector with a flange 25 and a screw 57 passing through the flange and a supporting member 29 to complete a threaded connection with a first threaded hole 61 formed on a panel 19 (see Fig. 8B and col. 5, lns. 31 – 34).
Furthermore, Boedot teaches a threaded connecting member passing through a through hole of the supporting member 1, and the supporting member has an internal thread 22 forming a threaded connection with the connecting member in the through hole (see Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to make the engagement between the connecting member and support member a threaded engagement in the through-hole of the support member, because this is a secure engagement that is also able to be reversed in case the need to disassemble the members arises.
Regarding claim 6, Hitchcock when the first housing is installed on the first installation panel, an end face (424) of the first support member is against the first installation panel (col. 6, lns. 43 – 44), and a head (426) of the first connecting member is against another end face (430) of the first support member (see Fig. 4), the first support member is fastened to the first installation panel (312 is captured against the panel by the screw).
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitchcock and Ehret, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of WO 2012025421 A1 (“Theiner”).
Regarding claim 7, Hitchcock discloses the terminal in the housing but does not disclose wherein a first terminal hole is formed in the first housing and receives a first terminal, a first step portion is formed in the first terminal hole, the first step portion rests against a first locking spring of the first terminal to lock the first terminal in the first terminal hole.
However, Theiner teaches mounting a terminal 61 within a terminal hole formed in a housing and receiving the terminal (See Fig. 2), a first step portion is formed in the first terminal hole, the first step portion rests against a first locking spring of the first terminal to lock the first terminal in the first terminal hole (see latching 20, where lance spring 67 rests against a step of the housing, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to provide a step in the housing and spring on the terminal as taught by Theiner because this secures the terminal in a desired position and ensures the terminal is ready to mate with a mating connector.
Regarding claim 9, Hitchcock discloses the terminal in the housing but does not disclose wherein the first terminal has a first locking spring, a first step portion inside the first terminal hole is pressed against a first locking spring of the first terminal to lock the first terminal in the first terminal hole.
However, Theiner teaches mounting a terminal 61 within a terminal hole formed in a housing and receiving the terminal (See Fig. 2), wherein the first terminal has a first locking spring, a first step portion inside the first terminal hole is pressed against a first locking spring of the first terminal to lock the first terminal in the first terminal hole (see latching 20, where lance spring 67 rests against a step of the housing, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to provide a step in the housing and spring on the terminal as taught by Theiner because this secures the terminal in a desired position and ensures the terminal is ready to mate with a mating connector.
Claims 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitchcock and Ehret, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,290,974 (“Ishibashi”).
Regarding claim 11, Hitchcock discloses wherein the mating connector includes:
a second housing (104) having a second terminal hole and matable with the first housing (see Fig. 1); and
a second terminal (118) inserted into the second terminal hole and matable with the first terminal.
Hitchcock does not disclose how the terminal 118 is assembled with housing 104 and thus does not disclose the housing having a second terminal hole and the second terminal inserted into the second terminal hole. However, Ishibashi teaches a connector system for connectors with flange mounting structures, the system having first (80) and second (30) connectors, and terminals within the connectors which are matable with each other are inserted within terminal holes of housings of the connectors (see Figs. 6, 8). It would have been obvious to insert the terminal of the mating connector in a hole of the second housing because this secures and protects the terminal within the housing body and positions the terminal for mating with the connector.
Regarding claim 12, Hitchcock does not disclose wherein the connector is a female connector, the first terminal is a female terminal, the mating connector is a male connector, and the second terminal is a male terminal, and when the connector is mated with the mating connector, a portion of the first housing is inserted into the second housing and a portion of the second terminal is inserted into the first terminal.
However, Ishibashi teaches a connector system for connectors with flange mounting structures, the system having first (80) and second (30) connectors, wherein the first connector is a female connector (30 accepts pins 31A), a first terminal (71) is a female terminal, the second connector is a male connector (30 has male pins 31A), and a second terminal (31A) is a male terminal, and when the first connector is mated with the second connector, a portion of the first housing is inserted into the second housing and a portion of the second terminal is inserted into the first terminal (see Figs. 10 – 12).
It would have been obvious to make the first connector a female connector with female terminals and the mating connector a male connector with terminals which are inserted into the female terminals, because this is nothing more than a substitution of one known connector mating structure for another, with the predictable result of providing terminals and housings arranged to present a housing pair which protects the terminals therein while presenting the terminals in a manner in which the terminals can mate together while remaining protected by the respective housings.
Regarding claim 13, Hitchcock does not disclose wherein a first guide slope is formed on an outer side of an end of the first housing, and a second guide slope is formed on an inner side of an end of the second housing, the first guide slope is mated with the second guide slope to guide the first housing into the second housing. However, Ishibashi further teaches a first guide slope is formed on an outer side of an end of the first housing (see sloped portion circled at A, below), and a second guide slope is formed on an inner side of an end of the second housing (see sloped portion circled at B, below), the first guide slope is mated with the second guide slope to guide the first housing into the second housing (the connector 80 floats and moves radially to account for misalignment, see col. 7 lns. 55 – 67, and the circled portions guide the respective housings during this misalignment)
Claims 14 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 9,337,577 (“Hitchcock”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 8,366,481 (“Ehret”) and U.S. Pat. No. 10,290,974 (“Ishibashi”), and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 12,294,179 (“Kirchhofer”).
Regarding claim 14, Hitchcock does not disclose wherein the second housing has a second flange installed on a second installation panel formed with a second mounting hole, the mating connector includes:
a second support member installed in the second mounting hole and having a second through-hole that extends along an axial direction of the second mounting hole;
a second elastic ring fitted on the second support member and radially compressed between the second support member and an inner circumferential surface of the second mounting hole; and
a second connecting member passing through the second through-hole and connecting to the second installation panel.
However, Kirchhofer teaches a connector assembly where both first and second connectors are floatably mounted on panel structures (movement along at least x and y axis by both connectors due to space 9, see at least Figs. 5 and 6). Furthermore, the recited support member, ring, and connecting member is disclosed and taught as recited in the discussion of claim 1, above.
It would have been obvious to provide the mating connector as mounted to a panel structure as taught by Kirchhofer because this provides the mating connector with a secure mounting arrangement that can be easily positioned as required by a user. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to make the mating connector float relative to the panel, because this allows each connector to adjust for mating misalignment which helps ensure the two connectors come to a mating alignment when mated.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to make the mounting structures of the mating connector the same as the mounting structures as recited above, as disclosed by Hitchcock and modified by Ehret as recited in the discussion of claim 1, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). Therefore the mating connector would have the limitations of claim 14, duplicating the arrangement as discussed in claim 1, above.
Regarding claims 15 – 18, these elements are disclosed as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 – 4 and are duplicated in the mating connector as discussed above.
Claims 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitchcock, Ehret, Ishibashi and Kirchhofer, as applied to claims 10, 11 and 14 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 9,287,609 (“Suzuki”) and U.S. Pat. No. 10,393,158 (“Boedot”).
Regarding claims 19 – 20, Hitchcock as modified by Suzuki and Boedot discloses the language of claim 19 as discussed in the rejection of claim 5, above, and Hitchcock discloses the language of claim 20 as discussed in the rejection of claim 6, above. Also, as discussed in the rejection of claim 14 the mounting features of the first connector and second connector are identical.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831