DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/895,559 filed 9/25/2024 which claims priority from provisional application nos. 63/587,110, 63/587111, and 63/587,112 all filed 9/30/2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-22 have been examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: The specification reference items: 109, 150, 600, 830 which do not appear to be shown in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, “the physical environment” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Regarding claim 9 (and similarly with claims 16-18), reciting “a second physical input mechanism” implies the recitation of a “first physical input mechanism” within the scope of claim 9, however, a “first physical input mechanism” is not recited within the scope of claim 9. Therefore, it is not clear whether a “first physical input mechanism” was intended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dorsaz et al. (US 2025/0023976 A1, filed 7/10/2023, hereinafter “Dorsaz”).
Regarding claim 1, Dorsaz teaches a method, comprising:
at a computer system that is in communication with a display component and a respective device. More specifically, an electronic mobile device (respective device) and vehicle display (display component) are connected to a vehicle computer (computer system) (Dorsaz, [0011]-[0013]).
detecting an input; More specifically, a button press in the dashboard or any input device of the vehicle selects a vehicle function (Dorsaz, [0035]-[0037], [0043]-[0044], [0046], e.g., music, vehicle sound settings, climate control settings).
in response to detecting the input: in accordance with a determination that a set of one or more criteria is met, causing the respective device to display one or more controls, wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when the respective device is at a predetermined location. More specifically, if the mobile device is connected to the vehicle and authenticated (criteria met) (Dorsaz, [0026]-[0028]), selection of vehicle functions cause the display in the mobile device to display icons for controlling the selected functions (Dorsaz, [0035]-[0036], [0041], [0042], [0051], [0055]).
in accordance with a determination that the set of one or more criteria is not met, displaying, via the display component, the one or more controls without causing the respective device to display the one or more controls. More specifically, if the mobile device is not connected to the vehicle (criteria met) (Dorsaz, [0026]-[0028]), selection of vehicle functions cause only the display in the vehicle to display icons for controlling the selected functions (Dorsaz, [0035]-[0036], [0041]-[0043], [0051], [0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the input is an input on a first physical input mechanism, and wherein the computer system is in communication with the first physical input mechanism. More specifically, a button press in the dashboard or any input device of the vehicle selects a vehicle function (Dorsaz, [0035]-[0037], [0043]-[0044], [0046], e.g., music, vehicle sound settings, climate control settings).
Regarding claim 21, this claim recites the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs for performing the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 22, this claim recites the system for performing the steps of the method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsaz, and further in view of Peng et al. (US 2024/0416752 A1, with priority to CN202111278594.9 filed 10/30/2021).
Regarding claim 3, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein detecting the input includes detecting that the respective device is at a predetermined location in the physical environment.
Peng discloses the vehicle system (computer system) communicates with central control screen (display component) and a terminal device (respective device) (Peng, Figures 1a, 1b, and 2, [0152], [0156]). In response to a trigger, which can be from user input operation on a button within the vehicle, defined at least as a first instruction, the vehicle obtains location information for any terminal devices inside or outside the vehicle via an in-vehicle location sensing operation (Peng, [0065], [0222], [0353], [0361], [0565], [0620], [0642], at least Figure 3). If the terminal device is determined to be inside the vehicle, and even at a specific seat within the vehicle (e.g., front passenger vs left-side rear row), a specific user interface will be displayed on the terminal device with one or more controls for the vehicle applicable to that specific seat (e.g., AC, heated seats, diffuser, etc.) (Peng, [0314]-[03163], Figures 10(a) and 10(b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Peng that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein detecting the input includes detecting that the respective device is at a predetermined location in the physical environment. With Dorsaz and Peng disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Peng additionally disclosing detecting the specific vehicle seat the phone is proximate to in order to determine what controls to be presented on the phone, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include wherein detecting the input includes detecting that the respective device is at a predetermined location in the physical environment in order to provide the user of the phone with vehicular controls only applicable to the specific seat, such as climate or seat adjustments, so as to not disrupt the other passengers. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 4, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of further comprising: before detecting the input, detecting a presence of a user; and in response to detecting the presence of the user, displaying, via the display component, an indication of a greeting for the user.
Peng discloses the vehicle system (computer system) communicates with central control screen (display component) and a terminal device (respective device) (Peng, Figures 1a, 1b, and 2, [0152], [0156]). In response to a trigger, which can be from user input operation on a button within the vehicle, defined at least as a first instruction, the vehicle obtains location information for any terminal devices inside or outside the vehicle via an in-vehicle location sensing operation (Peng, [0065], [0222], [0353], [0361], [0565], [0620], [0642], at least Figure 3). If the terminal device is determined to be inside the vehicle, and even at a specific seat within the vehicle (e.g., front passenger vs left-side rear row), a specific user interface will be displayed on the terminal device with one or more controls for the vehicle applicable to that specific seat (e.g., AC, heated seats, diffuser, etc.) (Peng, [0314]-[03163], Figures 10(a) and 10(b)). Several methods trigger the location sensing operation, including that a user’s terminal device is detected to meet a distance condition relative to the vehicle (Peng, [0065], [0070], [0287]) which in certain embodiments, can result in the display of a “connecting” message, Figure 12(b), or prompt information (exiting off-vehicle mode construed as entering in-vehicle mode), Figure 38(b) in the vehicle display (greeting) (Peng, [0505], [0553], [0559]-[0567]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Peng that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include further comprising: before detecting the input, detecting a presence of a user; and in response to detecting the presence of the user, displaying, via the display component, an indication of a greeting for the user. With Dorsaz and Peng disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Peng additionally disclosing detecting the specific vehicle seat the phone is proximate to in order to determine what controls to be presented on the phone as well as prompt the user with a connecting message construed as a greeting, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include further comprising: before detecting the input, detecting a presence of a user; and in response to detecting the presence of the user, displaying, via the display component, an indication of a greeting for the user in order to establish and acknowledge that there is connectivity/communication between the phone and the vehicle. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 5, Dorsaz and Peng teach the method of claim 4, further comprising: in response to detecting the presence of the user, modifying one or more settings based on a set of one or more preferences of the user. More specifically, the phone can automatically reconnect to the vehicle as previously paired (Dorsaz, [0015], [0024], [0027]), recognize the user, and proceed to automatically present vehicle function controls (Dorsaz, [0034]). Additionally, Peng describes that when the presence of a user and terminal is detected, automatically opening a door, automatically switching media playback to the vehicle from the phone, automatically switching navigation modes (Peng, [0045], [0507], [0574]-[0575], [0583], [0704]).
Regarding claim 6, Dorsaz and Peng teach the method of claim 4, wherein the one or more controls include: a first control that is displayed with a representation of a first value, wherein the first value is selected at least based on one or more first preferences in the set of one or more preferences of the user; and a second control that is displayed with a representation of a second value, wherein the first value is selected at least based on one or more second preferences in the set of one or more preferences of the user, and wherein the one or more second preferences are different from the one or more first preferences. More specifically, certain settings can be saved based on the saved preferences of a user and the certain settings can be shown based on the saved preferences of a user (Dorsaz, [0036], [0060]-[0069]). Peng additionally discloses views of a plurality of settings and their values at least in Figures 10(a), 10(b), and 11(b).
Regarding claim 7, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the respective device is displaying a first user interface while the input was detected, and wherein causing the respective device to display one or more controls includes causing the respective device to replace display of the first user interface with display of the one or more controls.
Peng discloses the vehicle system (computer system) communicates with central control screen (display component) and a terminal device (respective device) (Peng, Figures 1a, 1b, and 2, [0152], [0156]). In response to a trigger, which can be from user input operation on a button within the vehicle, defined at least as a first instruction, the vehicle obtains location information for any terminal devices inside or outside the vehicle via an in-vehicle location sensing operation (Peng, [0065], [0222], [0353], [0361], [0565], [0620], [0642], at least Figure 3). If the terminal device is determined to be inside the vehicle, and even at a specific seat within the vehicle (e.g., front passenger vs left-side rear row), a specific user interface will be displayed on the terminal device with one or more controls for the vehicle applicable to that specific seat (e.g., AC, heated seats, diffuser, etc.) (Peng, [0314]-[03163], Figures 10(a) and 10(b)). Several methods trigger the location sensing operation, including that a user’s terminal device is detected to meet a distance condition relative to the vehicle (Peng, [0065], [0070], [0287]) which in certain embodiments, can result in the display of a “connecting” message, Figure 12(b), or prompt information (exiting off-vehicle mode construed as entering in-vehicle mode), Figure 38(b) in the vehicle display (greeting) (Peng, [0505], [0553], [0559]-[0567]). The triggers in Peng cause the control user interfaces of Figures 10(a), 10(b), and 11(b) which appear to be overlays extending from the bottom of the display, replacing a home screen user interface (Peng, [0315]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Peng that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the respective device is displaying a first user interface while the input was detected, and wherein causing the respective device to display one or more controls includes causing the respective device to replace display of the first user interface with display of the one or more controls. With Dorsaz and Peng disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Peng additionally suggesting that the controls are an overlay replacing a home screen, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include wherein the respective device is displaying a first user interface while the input was detected, and wherein causing the respective device to display one or more controls includes causing the respective device to replace display of the first user interface with display of the one or more controls in order to ensure a user has the opportunity to utilize the vehicle controls. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 13, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls in a first arrangement, and wherein the computer system displays, via the display component, the one or more controls in a second arrangement that is different from the first arrangement.
Peng discloses the vehicle system (computer system) communicates with central control screen (display component) and a terminal device (respective device) (Peng, Figures 1a, 1b, and 2, [0152], [0156]). In response to a trigger, which can be from user input operation on a button within the vehicle, defined at least as a first instruction, the vehicle obtains location information for any terminal devices inside or outside the vehicle via an in-vehicle location sensing operation (Peng, [0065], [0222], [0353], [0361], [0565], [0620], [0642], at least Figure 3). If the terminal device is determined to be inside the vehicle, and even at a specific seat within the vehicle (e.g., front passenger vs left-side rear row), a specific user interface will be displayed on the terminal device with one or more controls for the vehicle applicable to that specific seat (e.g., AC, heated seats, diffuser, etc.) (Peng, [0314]-[03163], Figures 10(a) and 10(b)). Several methods trigger the location sensing operation, including that a user’s terminal device is detected to meet a distance condition relative to the vehicle (Peng, [0065], [0070], [0287]) which in certain embodiments, can result in the display of a “connecting” message, Figure 12(b), or prompt information (exiting off-vehicle mode construed as entering in-vehicle mode), Figure 38(b) in the vehicle display (greeting) (Peng, [0505], [0553], [0559]-[0567]). The triggers in Peng cause the control user interfaces of Figures 10(a), 10(b), and 11(b) which appear to be overlays, replacing a home screen user interface (Peng, [0315]). The way content is displayed on the central control screen of the vehicle may not be completely the same as screen content of the first terminal device (Peng, [0156], [0319]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Peng that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls in a first arrangement, and wherein the computer system displays, via the display component, the one or more controls in a second arrangement that is different from the first arrangement. With Dorsaz and Peng disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Peng additionally suggesting the displays on the terminal devices would be different from the vehicle displays of the same content, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include wherein the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls in a first arrangement, and wherein the computer system displays, via the display component, the one or more controls in a second arrangement that is different from the first arrangement because the user terminal device is most likely not the same size or dimensions as the vehicle device the same exact display may not display properly for many reasons. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsaz, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0118851 A1, hereinafter “Kim 1”).
Regarding claim 8, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the display component is displaying information over a first portion of a second user interface, a second portion of the second user interface, and a third portion of the second user interface, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the input and in accordance with a determination that the set of one or more criteria is not met, moving the information, such that the information is displayed on the first portion and the second portion of the second user interface and is not displayed on the third portion of the second user interface, wherein the one or more controls are displayed in the third portion of the second user interface.
Kim 1 discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s mobile phone (construed as the respective device) interacts with a vehicle’s internal display (display component) (Kim 1, abstract, [0014], Figure 47). The figures depict the internal display having three portions displaying information, and at least Figures 5, 6, 8, 64, 65, and 75 depict one of the three portions switching to display controls for the vehicle such as climate controls or safety related controls. If the phone is in independent mode it does not affect or is not affected/updated by the internal display, and is therefore construable as not meeting one or more criteria (Kim 1, [0128], [0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Kim 1 that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the display component is displaying information over a first portion of a second user interface, a second portion of the second user interface, and a third portion of the second user interface, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the input and in accordance with a determination that the set of one or more criteria is not met, moving the information, such that the information is displayed on the first portion and the second portion of the second user interface and is not displayed on the third portion of the second user interface, wherein the one or more controls are displayed in the third portion of the second user interface. With Dorsaz and Kim 1 disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Kim 1 additionally disclosing the vehicle display has three portions displaying information and while a mobile device is not meeting criteria, one of the three portions can switch to displaying input controls, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the display component is displaying information over a first portion of a second user interface, a second portion of the second user interface, and a third portion of the second user interface, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the input and in accordance with a determination that the set of one or more criteria is not met, moving the information, such that the information is displayed on the first portion and the second portion of the second user interface and is not displayed on the third portion of the second user interface, wherein the one or more controls are displayed in the third portion of the second user interface in order to allow the available displays to convey as much information as possible when they are not synchronized at all times. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 15, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein: the one or more controls occupy a first percentage of a display of the respective device while the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls; the one or more controls occupy a second percentage of a display that is communication with the computer system while the computer system is displaying the one or more controls via the display component; and the second percentage is smaller than the first percentage.
Kim 1 discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s mobile phone (construed as the respective device) interacts with a vehicle’s internal display (Kim 1, abstract, [0014], Figure 47). The figures depict the internal display having three portions displaying information, and at least Figures 5, 6, 8, 64, 65, and 75 depict one of the three portions switching to display controls for the vehicle such as climate controls or safety related controls. Per at least Figures 5 and 75, if the phone is in independent mode it does not affect or is not affected/updated by the internal display, and is therefore construable as not meeting one or more criteria (Kim 1, [0128], [0131]). Additionally, at least Figures 6, 7, 9, 64, 65, and 71, depict said climate controls or safety related controls occupy 100% of the phone display on the left and the internal display showing the same controls on 33% of the internal display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Kim 1 that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein: the one or more controls occupy a first percentage of a display of the respective device while the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls; the one or more controls occupy a second percentage of a display that is communication with the computer system while the computer system is displaying the one or more controls via the display component; and the second percentage is smaller than the first percentage. With Dorsaz and Kim 1 disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Kim 1 additionally disclosing the vehicle display will display controls on 33% of the vehicle display while the phone will display controls on 100% of the phone display, one of the three portions can switch to displaying input controls, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein: the one or more controls occupy a first percentage of a display of the respective device while the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls; the one or more controls occupy a second percentage of a display that is communication with the computer system while the computer system is displaying the one or more controls via the display component; and the second percentage is smaller than the first percentage in order to allow the available displays to convey as much information as possible. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsaz, and further in view of Santamaria et al. (US 2014/0365913 A1, hereinafter “Santamaria”).
Regarding claim 9, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the computer system is in communication with a second physical input mechanism and a first device, the method further comprising: detecting an input directed to the second physical input mechanism; and in response to detecting the input directed to the second physical input mechanism: updating display of at least one of the one or more controls based on the input that is directed to the second physical input mechanism; and causing the first device to provide output based on the input directed to the second physical input mechanism.
Santamaria discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s portable multifunction device display (“device 100” construed as the respective device) interacts with a vehicle’s one or more displays 546 (Santamaria, abstract, [0005], Figure 5A, [0174]). The vehicle includes several controls 548 that are physical input mechanisms and may include a front display 546-1 (construed as the display component) and rear display 546-2 (construed as the first device) (Santamaria, [0179]). Input to the physical input mechanisms can be sent to the device 100 which triages which display to update in response to the input (Santamaria, [0185]-[0186]). The input can update the device 100 display and vehicle front display 546-1 (Santamaria, [0259]-[0260]). The rear display 546-2 (first device) could provide updated output according to the input (Santamaria, [0187]-[0188]). Therefore, Santamaria suggests several physical input mechanisms that generate updated user interfaces specific to the input mechanism for the respective device, display component, and first device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Santamaira that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the computer system is in communication with a second physical input mechanism and a first device, the method further comprising: detecting an input directed to the second physical input mechanism; and in response to detecting the input directed to the second physical input mechanism: updating display of at least one of the one or more controls based on the input that is directed to the second physical input mechanism; and causing the first device to provide output based on the input directed to the second physical input mechanism. With Dorsaz and Santamaria disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Santamaria additionally disclosing that the control inputs are triaged to the appropriate display depending on the control and the displays’ states, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the computer system is in communication with a second physical input mechanism and a first device, the method further comprising: detecting an input directed to the second physical input mechanism; and in response to detecting the input directed to the second physical input mechanism: updating display of at least one of the one or more controls based on the input that is directed to the second physical input mechanism; and causing the first device to provide output based on the input directed to the second physical input mechanism in order to allow for many physical input mechanisms that provide vehicle controls to be utilized by the respective device and display component of the computer system and to allow the available displays to convey as much information as possible instead of being synchronized at all times. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 10, Dorsaz and Sanatmaria teach the method of claim 9, wherein the input directed to the second physical input mechanism is detected while causing the respective device to display the one or more controls, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the input directed to the second physical input mechanism, updating, via the display component, display of at least one of the one or more controls based on the input that is directed to the second physical input mechanism. More specifically, the process of receiving the control input includes identifying the display to update and determining the current display state of identified displays (Santamaria, [0183]-[0188]). An example process selects the appropriate display based on availability and/or based on a first display (respective device) being updated by a first input control results in a second display device (display component) being updated by a second input control (Santamaria, Figure 9C, [0304]-[0305]).
Regarding claim 11, Dorsaz and Sanatmaria teach the method of claim 10, wherein the input directed to the second physical input mechanism is detected while displaying, via the display component, the one or more controls and while not causing the respective device to display the one or more controls, the method further comprising: in response to detecting the input directed to the second physical input mechanism, forgoing causing a user interface of the respective device to be updated. More specifically, the process of receiving the control input includes identifying the display to update and determining the current display state of identified displays (Santamaria, [0183]-[0188]). The process of Figure 5B allows a first input and a second input to causes updates only to a vehicle display 546 (display component), rather than device 100 (respective display) if the vehicle display 546 is what the inputs are mapped to (Santamaria, Figure 9C, [0183]-[0188]).
Regarding claim 12, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of further comprising: while the respective device is displaying the one or more controls, detecting a first set of one or more inputs including an input directed to a first control not included in the one or more controls; and in response to detecting the set of one or more inputs including the input directed to the first control not included in the one or more controls, causing a second device to provide output based on the input directed to the first control.
Santamaria discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s portable multifunction device display (“device 100” construed as the respective device) interacts with a vehicle’s one or more displays 546 (Santamaria, abstract, [0005], Figure 5A, [0174]). The vehicle includes several controls 548 that are physical input mechanisms and may include a front display 546-1 (construed as the display component) and rear display 546-2 (construed as the first device) (Santamaria, [0179]). Input to the physical input mechanisms can be sent to the device 100 which triages which display to update in response to the input (Santamaria, [0185]-[0186]). The input can update the device 100 display and vehicle front display 546-1 (Santamaria, [0259]-[0260]). The rear display 546-2 (first device) could provide updated output according to the input (Santamaria, [0187]-[0188]). The process of Figure 5B allows a first input to cause an output to the device 100 display (respective display) and a second input to cause updates only to a vehicle display 546 (display component), rather than device 100 (respective display) according to the display states (Santamaria, Figure 9C, [0183]-[0188], [0216], Figure 6T). The process of receiving the control input includes identifying the display to update and determining the current display state of identified displays (Santamaria, [0183]-[0188]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Santamaria that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include further comprising: while the respective device is displaying the one or more controls, detecting a first set of one or more inputs including an input directed to a first control not included in the one or more controls; and in response to detecting the set of one or more inputs including the input directed to the first control not included in the one or more controls, causing a second device to provide output based on the input directed to the first control. With Dorsaz and Santamaria disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Santamaria additionally disclosing that the control inputs are triaged to the appropriate display depending on the control and the displays’ states, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include further comprising: while the respective device is displaying the one or more controls, detecting a first set of one or more inputs including an input directed to a first control not included in the one or more controls; and in response to detecting the set of one or more inputs including the input directed to the first control not included in the one or more controls, causing a second device to provide output based on the input directed to the first control in order to allow for many physical input mechanisms that provide vehicle controls to be utilized by the respective device and display component of the computer system and to allow the available displays to convey as much information as possible instead of being synchronized at all times. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsaz, and further in view of Penilla et al. (US 2022/0229541 A1, hereinafter “Penilla”).
Regarding claim 14, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the one or more controls are displayed with a first visual appearance while the respective device is caused to display the one or more controls, and wherein the one or more controls are displayed with a second visual appearance that is different from the first visual appearance while the computer system is displaying the one or more controls via the display component.
Penilla discloses methods of a vehicle for sharing vehicle controls to a portable device of passengers specific to the passengers seating position (Penilla, abstract). The controls represented in the mobile devices have different visual appearances from the vehicles representation such as indications of the specific seat the controls are applicable to or a higher granularity of setting control (Penilla, [0096], [0290], Figures 20, 23A-23D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Penilla that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the controls have different visual representations when they are displayed on the respective device versus the display component. With Dorsaz and Penilla disclosing physical vehicular environments with where phones (respective devices) and/or vehicular displays (display components) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Penilla additionally disclosing that the controls can be depicted pertaining to the particular seating location of the phone as well as more granular than the vehicle controls, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the controls have different visual representations when they are displayed on the respective device versus the display component in order to allow a user to have a clear understanding of what devices the controls will change and even provide more granular control of the settings. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Claim(s) 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsaz, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0331586 A1, hereinafter “Kim 2”).
Regarding claim 16, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the computer system is in communication with a third physical input mechanism, and wherein the predetermined location is a location that is near the third physical input mechanism.
Kim 2 discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s mobile terminal (respective device) communicates with vehicle controls when the mobile terminal is in a predetermined location within the vehicle (Kim 2, abstract, Figures 9 and 10, [0222]). Specifically, a sensing unit can detect the presence of the mobile terminal in a cradle (predetermined location) using at least a contact sensor (third physical input mechanism) or a pressure sensor (fourth physical input mechanism) (Kim 2, [0224]). When the mobile terminal is in the cradle, vehicular controls are displayed on the mobile terminal (Kim 2, Figures 17 and 18, [0238]-[0242]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Kim 2 that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the computer system is in communication with a third physical input mechanism, and wherein the predetermined location is a location that is near the third physical input mechanism. With Dorsaz and Kim 2 disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Kim 2 additionally disclosing detecting when the phone is near or in contact with a cradle in order to trigger the display of the vehicle controls on the phone, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include wherein the computer system is in communication with a third physical input mechanism, and wherein the predetermined location is a location that is near the third physical input mechanism in order to intuitively provide the user of the phone with vehicular controls applicable to the specific location of the phone within the vehicle, especially if the phone covers some of the vehicle controls. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 17, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the computer system is in communication with a fourth physical input mechanism, and wherein the predetermined location is above the fourth physical input mechanism.
Kim 2 discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s mobile terminal (respective device) communicates with vehicle controls when the mobile terminal is in a predetermined location within the vehicle (Kim 2, abstract, Figures 9 and 10, [0222]). Specifically, a sensing unit can detect the presence of the mobile terminal in a cradle (predetermined location) using at least a contact sensor (third physical input mechanism) or a pressure sensor (above the fourth physical input mechanism) (Kim 2, [0224]). When the mobile terminal is in the cradle, vehicular controls are displayed on the mobile terminal (Kim 2, Figures 17 and 18, [0238]-[0242]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Kim 2 that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the computer system is in communication with a fourth physical input mechanism, and wherein the predetermined location is above the fourth physical input mechanism. With Dorsaz and Kim 2 disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Kim 2 additionally disclosing detecting when the phone is in a cradle above a pressure sensor in order to trigger the display of the vehicle controls on the phone, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include wherein the computer system is in communication with a fourth physical input mechanism, and wherein the predetermined location is above the fourth physical input mechanism in order to intuitively provide the user of the phone with vehicular controls applicable to the specific location of the phone within the vehicle, especially if the phone covers some of the vehicle controls. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Regarding claim 18, Dorsaz and Kim 2 teach the method of claim 17, wherein the fourth physical input mechanism has a physically pressed state and a physically unpressed state. More specifically, a sensing unit can detect the presence of the mobile terminal in a cradle (predetermined location) using at least a contact sensor (third physical input mechanism) or a pressure sensor (physically pressed/unpressed fourth physical input mechanism) (Kim 2, [0224]). When the mobile terminal is in the cradle, vehicular controls are displayed on the mobile terminal (Kim 2, Figures 17 and 18, [0238]-[0242]).
Regarding claim 20, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein, while the respective device is at the predetermined location, the respective device is in a charging state.
Kim 2 discloses a vehicle environment and how a user’s mobile terminal (respective device) communicates with vehicle controls when the mobile terminal is in a predetermined location within the vehicle (Kim 2, abstract, Figures 9 and 10, [0222]). Specifically, a sensing unit can detect the presence of the mobile terminal in a cradle (predetermined location) using at least a contact sensor (third physical input mechanism) or a pressure sensor (fourth physical input mechanism) (Kim 2, [0224]). Additionally, when wireless charging is detected and/or when the mobile terminal is in the cradle, vehicular controls are displayed on the mobile terminal (Kim 2, Figures 17 and 18, [0238]-[0244]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Kim 2 that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein, while the respective device is at the predetermined location, the respective device is in a charging state. With Dorsaz and Kim 2 disclosing vehicular environments where phones (respective devices) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Kim 2 additionally disclosing detecting when the phone is in a cradle with a pressure sensor in order to trigger the display of the vehicle controls on the phone, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure, would include wherein, while the respective device is at the predetermined location, the respective device is in a charging state in order to intuitively provide the user of the phone with vehicular controls applicable to the specific location of the phone within the vehicle, especially if the phone covers some of the vehicle controls. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorsaz, and further in view of Corbin et al. (US 2017/0010633 A1, hereinafter “Corbin”).
Regarding clam 19, Dorsaz teaches the method of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when the respective device is magnetically connected.
Corbin discloses a magnetic attachment mechanism that can be used to releasably attach an accessory device to an electronic device. The accessory device can be used to augment the functionality of usefulness of the electronic device (Corbin, abstract). The devices communicate cooperatively with each other when magnetically connected (Corbin, [0008], [0010], [0057]). At least Figure 22A describes a vehicle environment where a tablet computer can be mounted directly to an automobile dashboard. When they are magnetically connected, the vehicle controls can be selected via the tablet (Corbin, [0138]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Dorsaz and Corbin that a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when the respective device is magnetically connected. With Dorsaz and Corbin disclosing vehicular environments where phones/tablets (respective devices) can display controls for controlling the vehicle, and with Corbin additionally disclosing detecting when the phone/tablet is magnetically connected to the vehicle in order to trigger the display of the vehicle controls on the phone/tablet, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component, presumably within a vehicular physical environment as navigation, climate, and audio controls are described in the disclosure would include wherein the set of one or more criteria includes a criterion that is met when the respective device is magnetically connected in order to intuitively provide the user of the phone with a secure way of utilizing their mobile device with vehicular controls applicable to the specific location of the phone within the vehicle providing a tangible way of knowing when communication should occur. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying controls, in response to detected input, in either a respective device or a display component.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action. The following are some of the most pertinent:
Faenger (US 2011/0185390 A1) – vehicle environment where a phone receives vehicle physical inputs and can control vehicle settings.
Liang (US 2026/0252074 A1, foreign priority to CN202111448154.3 filed 11/29/2021) – vehicle environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives vehicle control settings for configuration.
Buttolo (US 2016/0257198 A1) - vehicle environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives vehicle control settings for configuration.
Oh (US 2018/0268683 A1) - vehicle environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives vehicle control settings for configuration.
Ukai (US 8,676,270 B2) - vehicle environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives is mirrored with the vehicle for entering control settings.
Baalu (US 20160214621 A1) - vehicle environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives vehicle control inputs, otherwise the vehicle display receives the vehicle control inputs.
Oh (US 2024/0217528 A1) - vehicle environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives vehicle control settings for configuration.
Sanciangco (US 2017/0357441 A1) - computing environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives user interface for controlling another device.
Kwon (US 2023/0122934 A1) - computing environment where a phone in a predetermined location receives user interface for controlling another device.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171