DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, including claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 5/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tzinares et al. (US Pub. 20240284588).
Regarding claim 1, Tzinares discloses a case for a vehicle amplifier (see figs. 1 and 2, items 100 and 102; paragraphs 17-18), the case comprising:
a housing for seating the amplifier (see fig. 2, item 102b; paragraph 19);
a cover for securing the amplifier in the housing (see fig. 2, item 102a; paragraph 19); and
a connector panel spanning between the housing and the cover, the connector panel having a frame at least partially surrounding a set of connectors configured to couple with a vehicle audio system (see figs. 5 and 6, items 108a, 108b, and 220; paragraph 26),
wherein a portion of the frame is recessed relative to the set of connectors (see figs. 5 and 6, items 108a, 108b, and 220; note the connector frame 220 is recessed relative to the connectors 108a and 108b).
Regarding claim 2, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein a first section of the frame is approximately aligned with the set of connectors and a second section of the frame is recessed relative to the set of connectors (see fig. 6, items 220 and 150).
Regarding claim 3, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the frame includes a first wall (see figs. 5 and 6, bottom surface of item 220), a second wall opposing the first wall (see figs. 5 and 6, top surface of item 220), and sidewalls spanning between the first wall and the second wall (see figs. 5 and 6, sides of item 220), wherein the first wall is forward of the second wall, the sidewalls are angled relative to the first wall and the second wall, and the second wall is shorter than the first wall, wherein the housing includes an interface coupled with the second wall and the sidewalls of the connector panel (see figs. 5 and 6, item 220; note the limitation “the first wall is forward of the second wall” has been interpreted reasonably broadly to read on the prior art reference since the limitation doesn’t specify the absolute direction of “forward”).
Regarding claim 4, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 3, as discussed above, wherein the sidewalls taper between the first wall and the second wall (see figs. 5 and 6, item 220).
Regarding claim 5, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, further comprising at least one lock tab extending from an upper surface of at least one of the set of connectors (see figs. 5 and 6, top of items 108a and 108b).
Regarding claim 6, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 5, as discussed above, wherein the at least one lock tab is positioned to engage a retention feature in the vehicle audio system, and wherein the recessed portion of the frame enables access to the at least one lock tab (see figs. 5 and 6, top of items 108a and 108b).
Regarding claim 7, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the amplifier includes a printed circuit board (PCB), and wherein the frame of the connector panel is separated from the PCB by a gap (see figs. 5 and 6, items 150 and 220; note the limitation gap has been interpreted reasonably broadly to read on the separation of frame 220 to the PCB 150).
Regarding claim 9, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the housing further includes a set of fins for enhancing heat transfer from the amplifier (see fig. 6, fins on top of item 102a).
Regarding claim 11, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the set of connectors includes a plurality of connectors each including a set of pins, wherein the case effectively seals the set of pins in each connector (see figs. 5 and 6, items 108a and 108b; paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 13, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, a vehicle comprising the case of claim 1 (see paragraph 17; vehicle 101).
Regarding claim 14, Tzinares discloses a method of assembling the case of claim 1, as discussed above, further including:
applying a sealant along an interface of the housing (see figs. 5 and 6, item 160; paragraph 27);
seating the frame of the connector panel in the housing at the interface (see figs. 5 and 6; items 102a, 210a-210c, and 214a-214c; paragraph 26); and
coupling the cover to the connector panel (see figs. 5 and 6, items 102b, 210d-210f, and 214d-214f; paragraph 26).
Regarding claim 16, Tzinares discloses a case for a vehicle amplifier (see figs. 1 and 2, items 100 and 102; paragraphs 17-18), the case comprising:
a housing for seating the amplifier, wherein the amplifier includes a printed circuit board (PCB) with an audio circuit (see fig. 6, item 102b and 150; paragraphs 17 and 20);
a cover for securing the amplifier in the housing (see fig. 6, item 102a; paragraph 19); and
a connector panel spanning between the housing and the cover, the connector panel having a frame at least partially surrounding a set of connectors configured to couple with a vehicle audio system (see figs. 5 and 6, items 108a, 108b, and 220; paragraph 26),
wherein the frame is separated from the PCB by a gap, and wherein a portion of the frame is recessed relative to the set of connectors (see figs. 5 and 6, items 108a, 108b, 150, and 220; note the connector frame 220 is recessed relative to the connectors 108a and 108b; note the limitation gap has been interpreted reasonably broadly to read on the separation of frame 220 to the PCB 150).
Regarding claim 17, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 16, as discussed above, further comprising a sealant coupling the housing to the frame (see figs. 5 and 6, item 160; paragraph 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzinares et al. (US Pub. 20240284588).
Regarding claim 10, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above, wherein the case provides a liquid ingress seal around the amplifier at a designated submerged depth (see paragraph 27).
Tzinares fails to explicitly disclose wherein the designated submerged depth is approximately 0.5 meters to approximately 1.5 meters.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein the designated submerged depth is approximately 0.5 meters to approximately 1.5 meters was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains and would have implemented it in order to prevent debris or liquid from contacting the plurality of electronics (see Tzinares, abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 11, as discussed above.
Tzinares fails to explicitly disclose wherein: (i) at least one of the connectors includes an 8-pin connector or a 16-pin connector, (ii) the amplifier includes one of: an 8-channel amplifier, a 16-channel amplifier, a 25 Volt (V) amplifier, a 40 V amplifier, or a 48 V amplifier (iii) the plurality of connectors includes at least two distinct type of connector with distinct functions, or (iv) at least one of the connectors includes a power pin or a speaker pin.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein: (i) at least one of the connectors includes an 8-pin connector or a 16-pin connector, (ii) the amplifier includes one of: an 8-channel amplifier, a 16-channel amplifier, a 25 Volt (V) amplifier, a 40 V amplifier, or a 48 V amplifier (iii) the plurality of connectors includes at least two distinct type of connector with distinct functions, or (iv) at least one of the connectors includes a power pin or a speaker pin was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains and would have included them on an ad hoc basis (see Tzinares, fig. 6, items 108a and 108b; paragraph 18).
Regarding claim 15, Tzinares discloses the method of claim 14, as discussed above.
Tzinares fails to explicitly disclose wherein after the sealant has set the case is ingress resistant under submission of up to approximately one meter of water.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein after the sealant has set the case is ingress resistant under submission of up to approximately one meter of water was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains and would have implemented it in order to prevent debris or liquid from contacting the plurality of electronics (see Tzinares, abstract).
Regarding claim 18, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 16, as discussed above.
Tzinares fails to explicitly disclose wherein the case provides a liquid ingress seal around the amplifier at a designated submerged depth, wherein the designated submerged depth is approximately 0.5 meters to approximately 1.5 meters.
However, examiner takes official notice wherein the case provides a liquid ingress seal around the amplifier at a designated submerged depth, wherein the designated submerged depth is approximately 0.5 meters to approximately 1.5 meters was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains and would have implemented it in order to prevent debris or liquid from contacting the plurality of electronics (see Tzinares, abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tzinares et al. (US Pub. 20240284588) in view of Yoder et al. (US Pub. 20240314945).
Regarding claim 8, Tzinares discloses the case of claim 1, as discussed above.
Tzinares fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a sealant coupling the housing to the frame, wherein the frame includes a set of tabs located on an outer surface thereof, the set of tabs defining channels for the sealant, wherein the sealant contacts a portion of at least three walls of the frame, and wherein the frame is angled to enable sealing with application of the sealant in a single orientation.
However, Yoder discloses further comprising a sealant coupling the housing to the frame (see fig. 7; paragraph 40), wherein the frame includes a set of tabs located on an outer surface thereof, the set of tabs defining channels for the sealant (see figs. 2, 5, and 6; paragraphs 31 and 40-41), wherein the sealant contacts a portion of at least three walls of the frame, and wherein the frame is angled to enable sealing with application of the sealant in a single orientation (see figs. 5-8; paragraphs 40-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, to have incorporated Yoder’s further comprising a sealant coupling the housing to the frame, wherein the frame includes a set of tabs located on an outer surface thereof, the set of tabs defining channels for the sealant, wherein the sealant contacts a portion of at least three walls of the frame, and wherein the frame is angled to enable sealing with application of the sealant in a single orientation with the case of Tzinares in order to implement a cost-effective sealing of the case.
Conclusion
/PAUL KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695