DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/895,597 originally filed 09/25/2024. The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 02/02/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 16-17, 35, claims 49-50 are added is hereby acknowledged. Currently claims 1-50 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Previous Claim Objections
The claims were previously objected to for minor informalities. The office thanks the applicant for addressing these concerns as the claims have been amended to overcome this objection and consequently the previous objection is now hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Clymer “at most teaches or suggests icons changing based on load state, but these load state changes are still caused by an input that causes the change and therefore does not teach or suggest the recited feature.” however The Office respectfully disagrees. Clymer discloses in [0132] “The control application may allow the user via the network device to modify these scenes and to create new scenes. For an occupancy sensor, the status information may include, for example, whether the sensor has detected an occupancy event/condition and/or is in an occupancy state, has detected a continued occupancy event/condition and/or is in a continued occupancy state, and/or has detected a vacancy condition and/or is in a vacancy state. Again, these are examples and other information is possible.” which is, while is based on a user, is clearly not a driven user input to an application or device (ie. the user purposefully changing states). In addition, Clymer teaches in [0037] “the load control system 100 may include one or more remote-control devices 122, one or more occupancy sensors 110, one or more daylight sensors 108, and/or one or more window sensors 120. The control-source devices may wirelessly send or communicate digital messages via wireless signals, such as signals 154, to associated control-target devices for controlling an electrical load. The remote-control device 122 may send digital messages for controlling one or more control-target devices after actuation of one or more buttons on the remote-control device 122. …The daylight sensor 108 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to the detection of an amount of light within its observable area. The window sensor 120 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to a measured level of light received from outside of the user environment 102. For example, the window sensor 120 may detect when sunlight is directly shining into the window sensor 120, is reflected onto the window sensor 120, and/or is blocked by external means, such as clouds or a building. The window sensor 120 may send digital messages indicating the measured light level. ”. Therefore, while aspects of Clymer are directed to direct user input changes, this is not the only aspects of the disclosed teachings as seen above. Therefore, The Office respectfully submits the claims are still broad enough to read on the claimed invention and will be currently maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clymer et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0364665 A1 hereinafter Clymer in view of Zolotykh et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0034043 A1 hereinafter Zolotykh.
Consider Method Claim 1 and similar CRM Claim 17 and Apparatus Claim 16:
Clymer discloses a method [apparatus and CRM], comprising: (Clymer, [0039], [0234], See Abstract.)
at a computer system that is in communication with a display component: (Clymer, [0029], [0031], [0036-0041], [0036], “Control-target devices, in addition to being configured to wirelessly receive digital messages via wireless signals and to control respective electrical loads in response to the received digital messages, may also be configured to wirelessly transmit digital messages via wireless signals (e.g., to the system controller 150 and/or an associated control device(s)). A control-target device may communicate such messages to confirm receipt of messages and actions taken, to report status (e.g., light levels), etc. Again, control-target devices may also or alternatively communicate via wired communications.”)
displaying, via the display component, a first selectable indicator that includes a first background in a first visual state based on a current state of a physical environment (Clymer, [0135], “Turning now to FIG. 6A, there is shown a graphical user interface 610 that may be initially displayed by the control application to a user via network device 680 upon the application initially starting (such as by the user selecting and starting the application at the network device). Again, information displayed in user interface 610 may be based on information obtained by the control application from the system controller 250a upon the application being started. User interface 610 may include three sections (which may also be referred to herein as panes or areas or spaces) including a status section (or pane) 620, a menu selection section (also referred to herein as a menu selection pane, a tab section or a tab pane) 640, and an information section (or pane) 660. As further described below, status section 620 may provide the user with a status/state of control devices 220a within the load control system 210a.”)
while displaying the first selectable indicator that includes the first background in the first visual state, detecting a change to the current state of the physical environment; and in response to detecting the change in the current state characteristic of the physical environment and without detecting an input that causes the change in the current state of the physical environment: in accordance with a determination that the current state is a first state, changing the first background from the first visual state to a second visual state different from the first visual state; and (Clymer, [0137], [0151], [0155], [0183], [0168], “According to a further aspect of the Devices tab 642, the control application may display the icons in section 660 in a fashion to provide an indication of the status/state of the corresponding control device as similarly discussed herein. For example, the control application may change the appearance of the icon (e.g., change its color and/or contrast as compared to other icons) to signify the status/state of the corresponding control device (and/or the state of its respective controlled load(s)) as describe herein. For example, with respect to lighting control devices as represented by icons 810a-810d, icons 810a-810b are shown in the example of FIG. 6O as indicating that the lighting load(s) of the corresponding control devices are on and icons 810c-810d are shown in as indicating that the lighting loads of the corresponding control devices are all off. Color and/or contrast may be used in a similar fashion for icons representing other types of control devices. According to another example, different icons may be used for a given type of device to represent different states, such as shown in FIG. 6F with icons 716 representing open shades and icons 718 representing closed shades. Other examples are possible. According to a further aspect of section 660, the control application may dynamically change the appearance of icons in section 660 as the state/status of the corresponding control devices/loads change (e.g., if a light is turned off by a user in the user environment, the control application may change the appearance of a lighting control device icon in section 660 to show the changed state as similarly described herein). In general, the state/status of control devices as shown by the icons in section 660 may match the status/state of control devices as represented by the icons in section 620 and the interfaces that correspond to these icons.”)
Clymer, while disclosing to provide the icons with varying appearance however does not appear to further suggest in accordance with a determination that the current state is a second state, changing the first background from the first visual state to a third visual state that is different from the first visual state and the second visual state, wherein the second state is different from the first state.
Zolotykh however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide icons with varying degrees of (i.e dynamic ) appearance based on the current status of the object within the environment. Zolotykh teaches multiple states of the background color and therefore teaches in accordance with a determination that the current state is a second state, changing the first background from the first visual state to a third visual state that is different from the first visual state and the second visual state, wherein the second state is different from the first state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], [0077], “In some embodiments, each icon 65a, 65b can have a perimeter identifier 67a, 67b for illustrating some characteristic of the light setting that is saved for the corresponding light function form. For example, the perimeter identifier 67a, 67b may be color coded consistent with the color selected for the light to be projected by the luminaire corresponding to the icon 65a, 65b. In some embodiments, the icons 65a, 65b can have an icon background 66a, 66b for illustrating some characteristic of the light setting that is saved for the corresponding light function form. For example, the icon background 66a, 66b can a degree of dimming and/or illumination that has been saved for the luminaire. For example, the icon background 20 may depict a degree of shading from black to increasingly lighter shades of gray to white to indicate increasing illumination from being off to the highest degree of illumination that can be provided by a lamp. In other embodiments, the icon background 20 may have cross-hatching to indicate a degree of dimming and/or illumination. For example, the icon background 20 may depict a degree of cross hatching density from no cross-hatching to increasingly denser crosshatching to a solid color to indicate increasing illumination from being off to the highest degree of illumination that can be provided by a lamp. In some embodiments, the icons 65a, 65b may be accompanied by a text notation the provides information of the light setting that is saved for the icon 65a, 65b. In the example depicted in FIG. 5, the icon having reference number 65b has a text notation for a color temperature of 5K.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an icon having varying degrees of color based on the object under control as this was a known technique in view of Zolotykh and would have been utilized for the purpose of, as would be readily recognized by a person of skill in the art, that varying the color or a degree of dimming and/or illumination thereby providing visually to include information for the device under control (e.g. light form function of the luminaire). (Zolotykh, [0076])
Consider Claim 2 and Similar CRM Claim 18 and Computer Claim 32:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment: in accordance with a determination that the current state corresponds is a third state, different from the first state and the second state, continuing to display the first selectable indicator that includes the first background in the first visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0153], “Icon 626 may also be selectable by a user. Upon detecting/determining that the user has selected icon 626, the control application may display to the user via network device 680 a graphical user interface 740 as shown in FIG. 6J. Interface 740 may continue to display to the user icon 626 and the current temperature reading.”)
Consider Claim 3 and Similar CRM Claim 19 and Computer Claim 33:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, before detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment, the first selectable indicator is displayed concurrently with a second selectable indicator that includes a second background in a fourth visual state, the one or more programs including instructions for: in response to detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment: forgoing changing the second background from the fourth visual state to the second visual state; and forgoing changing the second background from the fourth visual state to the third visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 4 and Similar CRM Claim 20 and Computer Claim 34:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: in response to detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment, continuing to display the second selectable indicator that includes the second background that is displayed in the fourth visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 5 and Similar CRM Claim 21 and Computer Claim 35:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: before detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment, the first selectable indicator is displayed concurrently with a third selectable indicator that includes a third background that is displayed in a fifth visual state; the third background is displayed in a third respective state based on a current value of a setting that corresponds to the third selectable indicator; and the one or more programs include instructions for: in response to detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment and in accordance with a determination that the current state corresponds to the setting, changing the third background from the fifth visual state to a sixth visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 6 and Similar CRM Claim 22 and Computer Claim 36:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 5, wherein: changing the first background includes changing a first number of aspects of the first selectable indicator; and changing the third background includes changing a second number of aspects of the third selectable indicator, wherein the first number of aspects is different from the second number of aspects. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 7 and Similar CRM Claim 23 and Computer Claim 37:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: while displaying the first selectable indicator concurrently with the third selectable indicator, detecting an input; and in response to detecting the input: changing a third number of aspects of the first background; and changing a fourth number of aspects of the third background, wherein the third number of aspects is different from the fourth number of aspects. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0138], “Icon 622 may also be selectable by the user. Upon detecting/determining that the user has selected icon 622, the control application may display to the user via network device 680 the graphical user interface 702 as shown in FIG. 6C. Interface 702 may continue to display to the icon 622 and the number of lighting control devices having at least one lighting load determined to be currently on. Interface 702 may also include a “Turn All Lights Off” icon 704 (although other text and/or icons may be used), which may be selectable by the user. Interface 702 may also include a respective icon 706 for each lighting control device having lighting loads that are currently on (Again, according to this example, the control application may be configured to treat a lighting control device and its respective lighting load(s) as one unit, collectively representing the unit as one icon. As an alternative, each lighting load controlled by a lighting control device may be represented by an icon in interface 702, or some combination thereof). Each of these icons may also be selectable by the user. In this example, eight icons 706 are shown in connection with the value “8” as shown with icon 622. The control application may use the location indicator associated with each lighting control device to display with each icon an indication of the respective device's/lighting load's location in the user environment (in this example, textual information such as, “Kitchen,” “Living Room,” “Front Porch,” and “Master Bedroom” are used, although other mechanisms are possible such as segregating icons by location, similar to section 660 of FIG. 6A but only displaying icons for devices currently on). The control application may also use the type indicator associated with each lighting control device to display in connection with each icon a further indication of the device's/lighting load's location and/or function (in this example, textual information such as, “Ceiling Lights,” “Pendants,” “Sink Light,” “Sconces,” and “Table Lamps” are used, although other mechanisms are possible). As further shown in FIG. 6C, different icons may be used for various lighting control devices/lighting loads (here, example icons representative of a pendant, table lamp, sconce, and light bulb are used and other icons are possible). As indicated, the system controller may provide an indication of the type of icon the control application should use. As another example, the control application may use the location indicator and/or type indicator associated with each lighting control device, for example, to determine which icon to use. In general, the control application's use of textual information and customized icons allows the user to more easily determine the actual lighting control device/lights in the user environment the icon refers to.”)
Consider Claim 8 and Similar CRM Claim 24 and Computer Claim 38:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 5, wherein changing the first background from the first visual state to the second visual state occurs in conjunction with changing the third background from the fifth visual state to the sixth visual state, and wherein the first background is changed from the first visual state to the second visual state differently than how the third background is changed from the fifth visual state to the sixth visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0139], “According to a further aspect of interface 702, in a similar fashion to the control application actively updating the number displayed by icon 622 based on, for example, the system controller 250a actively monitoring the state of lighting control devices in the user environment, the control application may actively update the icons 706 displayed to the user as lighting control devices in the user environment change state from on to off and off to on (i.e., as lighting loads controlled by the device change state). In other words, as a lighting control device turns its respective lighting load(s) on (e.g., at least one of the loads), the control application may receive an indication of this change from the system controller 250a (for example, automatically or in response to a query by the control application) and display to the user an additional icon 706 in interface 702 that is associated with the lighting control device (in addition to incrementing the number associated with icon 622). Similarly, as a lighting control device turns all its respective lighting load(s) off, the control application may receive an indication of this change from the system controller 250a and remove from interface 702 the icon 706 associated with the lighting control device (in addition to decrementing the number associated with icon 622). As another example, rather than remove the icon from interface 702, the control application may change the appearance of the icon (e.g., change its color or contrast as compared to other icons) to signify off. If interface 702 is subsequently closed and then returned to by the user, the control application may now not display the icon. Other variations are possible.”)
Consider Claim 9 and Similar CRM Claim 25 and Computer Claim 39:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the current state is a first current state, the one or more programs including instructions for: while displaying the first selectable indicator that includes the first background displayed with the first visual state, detecting a second change to a second current state of the physical environment; and in response to detecting the second change to the second current state of the physical environment, forgoing changing the first background from the second visual state to a seventh visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 10 and Similar CRM Claim 26 and Computer Claim 40:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: in response to detecting the second change to the second current state of the physical environment, changing a respective selectable indicator that includes a respective visual state of a respective background from an eighth visual state to a ninth visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 11 and Similar CRM Claim 27 and Computer Claim 41:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein, before detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment, the first selectable indicator is displayed concurrently with a fifth selectable indicator that has a background that does not change based on a detected change to a state of the physical environment. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0136], “Beginning with section 620, as indicated this section may display the status/state of one or more control devices 220a within the load control system 210a. In this example, the control application displays three icons each indicating different status information. Icon 622 may be referred to herein as a lighting devices icon that indicates to the user the number of lighting control devices with respective lighting loads within the load control system that are currently on. Icon 624 may be referred to herein as a shades devices icon that indicates to the user the number of shade devices with respective shades within the load control system that are currently open/up (where open/up may be any shade state other than fully closed/down). Icon 626 may be referred to herein as a thermostat devices icon that indicates to the user a current temperature in the user environment 202a. One will recognize that fewer and/or additional icons conveying additional and/or other information to a user may be displayed by the control application in section 620. For example, FIG. 6B shows another example graphical user interface 601 that includes an icon 628 that may be referred to herein as an audio devices icon that may indicate to the user a status of audio devices within the load control system, such as whether any audio devices are currently on/playing music and/or the number of devices that are currently on/playing music. The control application may be configured such that section 620 is “scrollable” by the user (such as left to right or up/down) in order to display additional icons. As another example, section 620 may be configured such that there are multiple rows of icons displayed at one time to a user. As another example, section 620 may include what is referred to herein as a fans icon 776 as shown in FIG. 6L that may indicate to the user a status of fan devices within the load control system, such as the number of fans that are currently on. Section 620 may also be configurable by the user of the application such that only certain icons and corresponding status information are shown to the user, while others are not. According to another example, if there is no status to report for a given load control device (such as all lighting devices are off), the control application may not display the corresponding icon at all. Other examples are possible. Reference will now be made in further detail to representative icons that may be displayed by the control application in section 620”)
Consider Claim 12 and Similar CRM Claim 28 and Computer Claim 42:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: while displaying the first selectable indicator that includes the first background displayed in the second visual state, detecting a request to change the current value of a setting that corresponds to the first selectable indicator; and in response to detecting the request to change the current value of the setting: changing the current value of the setting from a first current value to a second current value; and changing the first background from the second visual state to a tenth visual state that is different from the second visual state. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0153], [0141], “For example, assuming the control application detects/determines that the user selects the icon 706 labeled “Kitchen Ceiling Lights,” the control application may display the control interface 708 shown in FIG. 6D (in this example, the lights are controlled as one to a common state). Control interface 708 may be shown alone or superimposed over interface 702, for example. One will recognize that control interface 708 is an example and other controls are possible. The control application may determine based on information provided by the system controller (e.g., from the type indicator) whether the “Kitchen Ceiling Lights” are configured as dimmable lights or simply on/off lights etc. and based on that determination may display an appropriate control interface. In this example, the “Kitchen Ceiling Lights” may be configured as dimmable lights and as such, the control application may display control interface 708 with a movable/slide-able actuator 710 (e.g., a vertically movable actuator) that may be actuated/moved by the user. The control application may initially display the actuator 710, as in this example, to provide an indication to the user of a current dimming state of the lights (e.g., the actuator is approximately mid-way along its possible path). Based on detecting movement of actuator 710 by the user (such as raising or lowering the intensity of the lights, turning the lights off, etc.), the control application may communicate one or more messages to the system controller 250a to instruct the controller to reconfigure the lighting control device/lights based on the user's instructions. If the user turns the lights off, this update may be reflected in icon 622 (e.g., decrementing the number) and interface 702 as similarly discussed above by removing or altering the appearance of the icon 706 corresponding to the “Kitchen Ceiling Lights.” As shown in FIG. 6D, control interface 708 may also include a selectable “Edit” icon 712 that when selected, may cause the control application to display a user interface that may allow a user to reconfigure the respective lighting control device/lights (here, the “Kitchen Ceiling Lights”). For example, referring to FIG. 6E, there is shown an example configuration interface 790 the control application may display to a user upon detecting selection of the “edit” icon 712. Interface 790 may include a field 791 and/or an actuator/icon 791′ configured to enable a user to change the type indicator (here “Ceiling Lights”) associated with the lighting control device, (e.g., through a drop-down menu of defined types obtained via actuation of actuator 791′, a free text field 791, etc.) Interface may also include an actuator/icon 792 configured to enable a user to change the location indicator (here, “Kitchen”) associated with the lighting control device (e.g., through a drop-down menu of defined locations obtained via actuation of actuator 792). Interface 790 may include an actuator/icon 793 configured to enable a user to change the icon associated with the lighting control device/lights (e.g., through a drop-down menu of defined icons obtained via actuation of actuator 793). The interface may include an actuator/icon 794 configured to enable a user to adjust or configure the trim level of the lighting control device/lights, such as a low-end trim level (e.g., a minimum light level the light(s) may be controlled to and/or a high-end trim level (e.g., a maximum light level the light(s) may be controlled to) (e.g., through a drop-down menu of defined trim levels obtained via actuation of actuator 794). Interface 790 may include an actuator/icon 795 configured to enable a user to adjust or configure whether the lighting control device controls the dimming level of its respective light(s) via either forward phase dimming or reverse phase dimming (e.g., through a drop-down menu obtained via actuation of actuator 795). Again, the control application may display editable features of a lighting control device (such as trim and phase) based on a determination that the lighting control device controls dimmable light(s). The interface may also include a “Delete Device” icon 796. Actuation of this icon 796 may cause the control application to instruct the system controller to remove the lighting control device from the load control system. Assuming the user makes changes to the lighting control device via interface 790, once done the user may select “Save” or “Cancel” (although other mechanisms may be used) as shown in the interface to return to control interface 708 for example and to save or not save the changes/configurations. Any saved changes made by the user regarding the editing of the lighting control device may be communicated by the control application to the system controller, which may then reconfigure the lighting control device accordingly. One will recognize that control interface 708 and configuration interface 790 are examples and other controls are possible. A user may exit control interface 708 by touching an area of the display screen of network device 680 outside of the interface 708. Other examples are possible.”)
Consider Claim 13 and Similar CRM Claim 29 and Computer Claim 43:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 12, wherein detecting the request to change the current value of the setting includes detecting one or more inputs that includes an input directed to the first selectable indicator. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0154], “Using information section or pane 760 as an example, the control application may display for a thermostat/HVAC system a current temperature reading 750 (here, 72 degrees) as determined by the respective thermostat device. Again, as a respective thermostat device determines a change in the current temperature reading in the user environment and the system controller 250a reports this change to the control application (automatically or in response to a query by the control application for example), the control application may actively update the current temperature reading 750 displayed to the user. The control application may also display the setpoint temperature(s) 756 (here, 70 degrees) the respective thermostat device is configured to control its respective the HVAC system to. Assuming the HVAC system has four modes including a heat mode, a cool mode, an auto mode and an off mode, none, one or more setpoint temperature(s) 756 may be shown. For example, if the thermostat is set to off, no set point temperature may be shown.”)
Consider Claim 14 and Similar CRM Claim 30 and Computer Claim 44:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the change in the current state of the physical environment includes detecting a change in at least one selected from the group of temperature, sound, and light. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0164], [0132], “The information provided by the system controller 250a may also include a current status/state and/or configuration of one or more of the control devices. For example, for a lighting control device the status information may include whether the respective lighting load(s) are in an on or off state, and if in the on state whether it is a dimmed state and possibly further the dimming level. For a shade device, the status information may include whether the respective shade(s) are open/up, closed/down, partially open/up, and if partially open/up its actual level. For a thermostat device and its respective HVAC system, the status information may include the setpoint/target temperature of the system, the present room temperature as measured by the thermostat device, the current mode setting (e.g., heat, cool, auto, off), the current fan setting (e.g., on, auto), and schedule information (e.g., on vs off, assuming the thermostat device is programable to have schedules). For a ceiling fan device, the status information may include whether the respective fan(s) are in an on or off state, and if in the on state possibly the fan speed. For an audio control device (e.g., a speaker system), the status information may include whether the device is on/playing music for example, or off and/or muted. For a keypad device such as a wall mounted, tabletop, and/or handheld/remote keypad, the status information may include which actuator of the device was last actuated (i.e., is currently activated) and if the keypad has one or more actuators corresponding to scenes, the configuration of each scene (e.g., what control devices are part of the scene, the settings of these devices for the scene such as light levels or fan speeds, etc.). The control application may allow the user via the network device to modify these scenes and to create new scenes. For an occupancy sensor, the status information may include, for example, whether the sensor has detected an occupancy event/condition and/or is in an occupancy state, has detected a continued occupancy event/condition and/or is in a continued occupancy state, and/or has detected a vacancy condition and/or is in a vacancy state. Again, these are examples and other information is possible.”)
Consider Claim 15 and Similar CRM Claim 31 and Computer Claim 45:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the computer system is in communication with a physical input mechanism, and wherein a representation related to a setting that corresponds to the first selectable indicator is caused to be displayed at least partially around the physical input mechanism. (Zolotykh, [0075-0078], Clymer, [0047-0048], [0123], [0040], “In general, the system controller 150 may be configured to allow a user 142 of the network device 144 to determine, for example, the configuration of the user environment 102 and load control system 100, such as rooms in the environment, which control devices are in which rooms (e.g., the location of the control devices within the user environment, such as which rooms), to determine the status and/or configuration of control devices (e.g., light levels, HVAC levels, shade levels), to configure the system controller (e.g., to change time clock schedules), to issue commands to the system controller in order to control and/or configure the control devices (e.g., change light levels, change HVAC levels, change shade levels, change presets, etc.), etc. Other examples are possible.”)
Consider Claim 46 and Similar CRM Claim 47 and Computer Claim 48:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current state of the physical environment is a quantitative attribute of the physical environment. (Zolotykh, [0077], “In some embodiments, each icon 65a, 65b can have a perimeter identifier 67a, 67b for illustrating some characteristic of the light setting that is saved for the corresponding light function form. For example, the perimeter identifier 67a, 67b may be color coded consistent with the color selected for the light to be projected by the luminaire corresponding to the icon 65a, 65b. In some embodiments, the icons 65a, 65b can have an icon background 66a, 66b for illustrating some characteristic of the light setting that is saved for the corresponding light function form. For example, the icon background 66a, 66b can a degree of dimming and/or illumination that has been saved for the luminaire. For example, the icon background 20 may depict a degree of shading from black to increasingly lighter shades of gray to white to indicate increasing illumination from being off to the highest degree of illumination that can be provided by a lamp. In other embodiments, the icon background 20 may have cross-hatching to indicate a degree of dimming and/or illumination. For example, the icon background 20 may depict a degree of cross hatching density from no cross-hatching to increasingly denser crosshatching to a solid color to indicate increasing illumination from being off to the highest degree of illumination that can be provided by a lamp. In some embodiments, the icons 65a, 65b may be accompanied by a text notation the provides information of the light setting that is saved for the icon 65a, 65b. In the example depicted in FIG. 5, the icon having reference number 65b has a text notation for a color temperature of 5K.”)
Consider Claim 49:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current state of the physical environment is detected in the physical environment. (Clymer, [0032], [0037], “With respect to control-source devices, the load control system 100 may include one or more remote-control devices 122, one or more occupancy sensors 110, one or more daylight sensors 108, and/or one or more window sensors 120. The control-source devices may wirelessly send or communicate digital messages via wireless signals, such as signals 154, to associated control-target devices for controlling an electrical load. The remote-control device 122 may send digital messages for controlling one or more control-target devices after actuation of one or more buttons on the remote-control device 122. One or more buttons may correspond to a preset scene for controlling the lighting load 115, for example. The occupancy sensor 110 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to an occupancy and/or vacancy condition (e.g., movement or lack of movement) that is sensed within its observable area. The daylight sensor 108 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to the detection of an amount of light within its observable area. The window sensor 120 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to a measured level of light received from outside of the user environment 102. For example, the window sensor 120 may detect when sunlight is directly shining into the window sensor 120, is reflected onto the window sensor 120, and/or is blocked by external means, such as clouds or a building. The window sensor 120 may send digital messages indicating the measured light level. The load control system 100 may include one or more other control-source devices. Again, one will recognize that control-source devices may also or alternatively communicate via wired communications.”)
Consider Claim 50:
Clymer in view of Zolotykh discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current state of the physical environment is based on sensor data detected in the physical environment, wherein the determination that the current state is the first state includes a determination that the sensor data corresponds to a first value, and wherein the determination that the current state is the second state includes a determination that the sensor data corresponds to a second value different from the first value. (Clymer, [0032], [0037], “With respect to control-source devices, the load control system 100 may include one or more remote-control devices 122, one or more occupancy sensors 110, one or more daylight sensors 108, and/or one or more window sensors 120. The control-source devices may wirelessly send or communicate digital messages via wireless signals, such as signals 154, to associated control-target devices for controlling an electrical load. The remote-control device 122 may send digital messages for controlling one or more control-target devices after actuation of one or more buttons on the remote-control device 122. One or more buttons may correspond to a preset scene for controlling the lighting load 115, for example. The occupancy sensor 110 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to an occupancy and/or vacancy condition (e.g., movement or lack of movement) that is sensed within its observable area. The daylight sensor 108 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to the detection of an amount of light within its observable area. The window sensor 120 may send digital messages to control-target devices in response to a measured level of light received from outside of the user environment 102. For example, the window sensor 120 may detect when sunlight is directly shining into the window sensor 120, is reflected onto the window sensor 120, and/or is blocked by external means, such as clouds or a building. The window sensor 120 may send digital messages indicating the measured light level. The load control system 100 may include one or more other control-source devices. Again, one will recognize that control-source devices may also or alternatively communicate via wired communications.”)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626