Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed 07/28/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-17, filed 07/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Gauthier in combination with UDD do not teach the elements of amended claims 1, 9, 11, and 13. Specifically, applicant argues that Gauthier never conditions, on a determination that the requested net torques each having a value at least equal to the greater of the two powertrains’ predetermined backlash torques, as recited in claims 1, 9, 11, and 13 as amended. However, Gauthier expressly teaches "as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash. However in this modified approach, when the driver requests torque in excess of that which can be generated by the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction, the motor(s) used to generate torque in the opposite direction provides additional torque in the requested direction" [paragraph 28]. In order for the system to know when the driver requests torque in excess of that which can be generated by the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction, it is implicit that the system determines whether the requested net torque has a value that is within a range that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain. Applicant further argues that Gauthier does not teach or suggest that each for the first and second torque values to be applied to the system is selected based on the greater value of the predetermined backlash torque of either of the first or second powertrains. However, UDD has previously been relied upon to teach this element, as well as the element of a predetermined backlash torque. Applicant argues on page 13 that UDD does not remedy these deficiencies, but their arguments merely address the references in piecemeal. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The rejection of the claims is not based Gauthier or UDD alone, but the combination of the disclosures together, and modifying these inventions to combine their elements would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for allowing the system to predict backlash torques and set counter torque values accordingly. Gauthier is clearly teaching a system that has a first and second torque for the driveline, and determines whether the first or second powertrain can meet the demand for the requested torque, it just doesn't teach the predetermined backlash elements. Setting a predetermined threshold in advance is not outside the realm of obviousness, and it is taught by the UDD reference. The fact that UDD’s approach is reactive is moot, as UDD is not relied upon to teach determining when the requested net torque is within the deliverable range of one powertrain. Applicant’s arguments that this combination would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art are mostly based on UDD teaching a single powertrain, wherein duplicating the powertrain in UDD would have been mere duplication of parts, a fairly obvious modification. Apart from that, the combination of references would have been obvious for the reasons listed in the prior office action, and as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11-14, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier US 20200231048 A1 (“Gauthier”) in combination with UDD et al. US 20190128345 A1 (“UDD”).
Regarding Claim 1. Gauthier teaches a method, performed by a control arrangement, for reducing backlash in a vehicle, said vehicle comprising:
a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle, and a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains), the method comprising the steps of:
receiving a requested net torque for the vehicle;
determining whether the requested net torque has a value that is within a range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain (as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash. However in this modified approach, when the driver requests torque in excess of that which can be generated by the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction, the motor(s) used to generate torque in the opposite direction provides additional torque in the requested direction" [paragraph 28]. In order for the system to know when the driver requests torque in excess of that which can be generated by the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction, it is implicit that the system determines whether the requested net torque has a value that is within a range that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain); and
when the requested net torque for the vehicle has a value that is within the range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain, controlling the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]).
Gauthier does not teach:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline.
However, UDD teaches:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline (a system arranged for controlling a backlash of a powertrain included in a vehicle in connection with a gear shifting operation, wherein the system includes a determination unit arranged for determining a position for a clutch, for which position the change of the rotational speed has a value corresponding to a backlash torque Tbacklash, the backlash torque having a predetermined value suitable for eliminating backlash [paragraphs 33-36] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the predetermined value of the backlash torque Tbacklash is within a range of 10-50 Nm, or within a range of 15-25 Nm, or approximately 20 Nm [paragraph 48]. While it is not explicit that each backlash torque will be equal to the greater of the predetermined backlash torque for one or more powertrains, an embodiment where that is the case is included within the disclosed ranges. Further, while UDD only teaches one powertrain in their disclosure, duplicating the process of UDD with a second powertrain would have been obvious duplication of parts).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Gauthier with wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline as taught by UDD so as to allow the system to predict backlash torques and set counter torque values accordingly.
Regarding Claim 2. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
further comprising controlling the first and second powertrains to maintain the first torque and the second torque, respectively, until a request for increased net torque for the vehicle has been detected (Torque demand is requested by the driver by pressing down, or otherwise engaging, the accelerator (also referred to as the throttle). Under normal conditions and as described above, as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash [paragraph 28]).
Regarding Claim 3. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
further comprising:
in response to a request for change of torque direction of the net torque for the vehicle, adjusting the values of the first torque and second torque to meet the requested change in net torque for the vehicle without changing torque direction of the first and second torques, respectively, when the requested net torque is within the range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain and the second powertrain (To prevent backlash, motor 201 always provides forward torque while motor 205 always provides reverse torque. The amount of torque applied by either motor depends upon the driver's desired direction of travel. For example, if the driver is accelerating in a forward direction, i.e., direction 213, then a large forward torque is generated by motor 201. At the same time, a small reverse torque is generated by motor 205. The amount of reverse torque generated by motor 205 is sufficient to ensure that there is no backlash in that powertrain when the driver wishes to decelerate or reverse direction, but small enough to have a relatively insignificant impact on forward vehicle travel and overall vehicle efficiency [Paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 5. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier does not explicitly teach:
wherein the value of the one of the first and second torques having a torque direction opposite to the torque direction of the requested net torque is less than 30 Nm.
However, the exact requested net torque is purely a matter of obviousness, as there are a finite number of net torque values that the torque opposite the requested direction can be set, and selecting a torque value of 30 Nm is one of a finite number of identified solutions to the problem of preventing backlash, with a predictable result and high chance of success.
Regarding Claim 6. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein, when the requested net torque for the vehicle is zero, the sum of the first torque and the second torque is zero (During in-gear EV operation, when the EV is stopped the minimum forward torque demand is offset by the minimum reverse torque demand, thereby preventing EV movement in either a forward or rearward direction [paragraph 5], which means that the net force is zero when the net requested torque is zero).
Regarding Claim 7. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the method is performed while the vehicle is in motion, or in conjunction with alteration of direction of travel of the vehicle (FIG. 4B shows the vehicle speed as a function of time, indicating changes in torque while the vehicle is in motion. FIG. 4B graphically illustrates vehicle speed, where forward vehicle motion is shown as a positive value and rearward vehicle motion is shown as a negative value. FIG. 4C graphically illustrates motor torque, where forward torque is shown as a positive value (solid line 411) and reverse torque is shown as a negative value (dashed line 413) [paragraph 24]. Additionally, the system is able to perform the method of claim 1 while switching from traveling forward to traveling in reverse [paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 8. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the vehicle constitutes a vehicle combination comprising at least a first vehicle unit and a second vehicle unit, and the first powertrain is arranged in the first vehicle unit, and the second powertrain is arranged in the second vehicle unit (FIG. 2 shows a pair of vehicle units setup for each axle of the vehicle, wherein the power trains are arranged in the vehicle units).
Regarding Claim 11. Gauthier teaches a control arrangement configured to reduce backlash in a vehicle,
said vehicle comprising: a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle, and a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains), wherein the control arrangement is configured to:
receive a requested net torque for the vehicle;
determine whether the requested net torque has a value that is within a range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain (as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash. However in this modified approach, when the driver requests torque in excess of that which can be generated by the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction, the motor(s) used to generate torque in the opposite direction provides additional torque in the requested direction" [paragraph 28]. In order for the system to know when the driver requests torque in excess of that which can be generated by the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction, it is implicit that the system determines whether the requested net torque has a value that is within a range that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain); and
when the requested net torque for the vehicle has a value that is within the range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain, control the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]. To prevent backlash, motor 201 always provides forward torque while motor 205 always provides reverse torque. The amount of torque applied by either motor depends upon the driver's desired direction of travel [paragraph 22]).
Gauthier does not teach:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline.
However, UDD teaches:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline (a system arranged for controlling a backlash of a powertrain included in a vehicle in connection with a gear shifting operation, wherein the system includes a determination unit arranged for determining a position for a clutch, for which position the change of the rotational speed has a value corresponding to a backlash torque Tbacklash, the backlash torque having a predetermined value suitable for eliminating backlash [paragraphs 33-36] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the predetermined value of the backlash torque Tbacklash is within a range of 10-50 Nm, or within a range of 15-25 Nm, or approximately 20 Nm [paragraph 48]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Gauthier with wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline as taught by UDD so as to allow the system to predict backlash torques and set counter torque values accordingly.
Regarding Claim 12. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
further configured to maintain the first torque from the first powertrain and the second torque from the second powertrain until a request for increased net torque for the vehicle has been detected (Torque demand is requested by the driver by pressing down, or otherwise engaging, the accelerator (also referred to as the throttle). Under normal conditions and as described above, as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash [paragraph 28]).
Regarding Claim 13. Gauthier teaches a vehicle comprising:
a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle;
a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains); and
a control arrangement configured to:
receive a requested net torque for the vehicle;
determine whether the requested net torque has a value that is within a range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain; and
when the requested net torque for the vehicle has a value that is within the range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain, control the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]).
Gauthier does not teach:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline.
However, UDD teaches:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline (a system arranged for controlling a backlash of a powertrain included in a vehicle in connection with a gear shifting operation, wherein the system includes a determination unit arranged for determining a position for a clutch, for which position the change of the rotational speed has a value corresponding to a backlash torque Tbacklash, the backlash torque having a predetermined value suitable for eliminating backlash [paragraphs 33-36] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the predetermined value of the backlash torque Tbacklash is within a range of 10-50 Nm, or within a range of 15-25 Nm, or approximately 20 Nm [paragraph 48]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Gauthier with wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value that is at least equal to the greater of: (i) a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain or (ii) a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, where the first and second predetermined backlash torques respectively correspond to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline as taught by UDD so as to allow the system to predict backlash torques and set counter torque values accordingly.
Regarding Claim 14. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
further configured to:
in response to a request for change of torque direction of the net torque for the vehicle, adjust the values of the first torque and second torque to meet the requested change in net torque for the vehicle without changing torque direction of the first and second torques, respectively, when the requested net torque is within the range of deliverable torque that can be applied by either the first powertrain or the second powertrain (To prevent backlash, motor 201 always provides forward torque while motor 205 always provides reverse torque. The amount of torque applied by either motor depends upon the driver's desired direction of travel. For example, if the driver is accelerating in a forward direction, i.e., direction 213, then a large forward torque is generated by motor 201. At the same time, a small reverse torque is generated by motor 205. The amount of reverse torque generated by motor 205 is sufficient to ensure that there is no backlash in that powertrain when the driver wishes to decelerate or reverse direction, but small enough to have a relatively insignificant impact on forward vehicle travel and overall vehicle efficiency [Paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 16. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier does not explicitly teach:
wherein the value of the one of the first and second torques having a torque direction opposite to the torque direction of the requested net torque is less than 30 Nm.
However, the exact requested net torque is purely a matter of obviousness, as there are a finite number of net torque values that the torque opposite the requested direction can be set, and selecting a torque value of 30 Nm is one of a finite number of identified solutions to the problem of preventing backlash, with a predictable result and high chance of success.
Regarding Claim 17. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein, when the requested net torque for the vehicle is zero, the sum of the first torque and the second torque is zero (During in-gear EV operation, when the EV is stopped the minimum forward torque demand is offset by the minimum reverse torque demand, thereby preventing EV movement in either a forward or rearward direction [paragraph 5], which means that the net force is zero when the net requested torque is zero).
Regarding Claim 18. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the operations are performed while the vehicle is in motion, or in conjunction with alteration of direction of travel of the vehicle (FIG. 4B shows the vehicle speed as a function of time, indicating changes in torque while the vehicle is in motion. FIG. 4B graphically illustrates vehicle speed, where forward vehicle motion is shown as a positive value and rearward vehicle motion is shown as a negative value. FIG. 4C graphically illustrates motor torque, where forward torque is shown as a positive value (solid line 411) and reverse torque is shown as a negative value (dashed line 413) [paragraph 24]. Additionally, the system is able to perform the method of claim 1 while switching from traveling forward to traveling in reverse [paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 19. Gauthier in combination with UDD teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the vehicle constitutes a vehicle combination comprising at least a first vehicle unit and a second vehicle unit, and the first powertrain is arranged in the first vehicle unit, and the second powertrain is arranged in the second vehicle unit (FIG. 2 shows a pair of vehicle units setup for each axle of the vehicle, wherein the power trains are arranged in the vehicle units).
Conclusion
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656