Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed 09/25/2024. Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024, 06/02/2025, and 01/06/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gauthier US 20200231048 A1 (“Gauthier”).
Regarding Claim 1. Gauthier teaches a method, performed by a control arrangement, for reducing backlash in a vehicle, said vehicle comprising:
a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle, and a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains), the method comprising a step of:
when a requested net torque for the vehicle is within the deliverable torque of one of the first powertrain and the second powertrain, controlling the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]).
Regarding Claim 2. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
further comprising controlling the first and second powertrains to maintain the first torque and the second torque, respectively, until a request for increased net torque for the vehicle has been detected (Torque demand is requested by the driver by pressing down, or otherwise engaging, the accelerator (also referred to as the throttle). Under normal conditions and as described above, as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash [paragraph 28]).
Regarding Claim 3. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
further comprising:
in response to a request for change of torque direction of the net torque for the vehicle, adjusting the values of the first torque and second torque to meet the requested change in net torque for the vehicle without changing torque direction of the first and second torques, respectively, when the requested net torque is within the deliverable torque of one of the first powertrain and the second powertrain (To prevent backlash, motor 201 always provides forward torque while motor 205 always provides reverse torque. The amount of torque applied by either motor depends upon the driver's desired direction of travel. For example, if the driver is accelerating in a forward direction, i.e., direction 213, then a large forward torque is generated by motor 201. At the same time, a small reverse torque is generated by motor 205. The amount of reverse torque generated by motor 205 is sufficient to ensure that there is no backlash in that powertrain when the driver wishes to decelerate or reverse direction, but small enough to have a relatively insignificant impact on forward vehicle travel and overall vehicle efficiency [Paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 6. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein, when the requested net torque for the vehicle is zero, the sum of the first torque and the second torque is zero (During in-gear EV operation, when the EV is stopped the minimum forward torque demand is offset by the minimum reverse torque demand, thereby preventing EV movement in either a forward or rearward direction [paragraph 5], which means that the net force is zero when the net requested torque is zero).
Regarding Claim 7. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the method is performed while the vehicle is in motion, or in conjunction with alteration of direction of travel of the vehicle (FIG. 4B shows the vehicle speed as a function of time, indicating changes in torque while the vehicle is in motion. FIG. 4B graphically illustrates vehicle speed, where forward vehicle motion is shown as a positive value and rearward vehicle motion is shown as a negative value. FIG. 4C graphically illustrates motor torque, where forward torque is shown as a positive value (solid line 411) and reverse torque is shown as a negative value (dashed line 413) [paragraph 24]. Additionally, the system is able to perform the method of claim 1 while switching from traveling forward to traveling in reverse [paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 8. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the vehicle constitutes a vehicle combination comprising at least a first vehicle unit and a second vehicle unit, and the first powertrain is arranged in the first vehicle unit, and the second powertrain is arranged in the second vehicle unit (FIG. 2 shows a pair of vehicle units setup for each axle of the vehicle, wherein the power trains are arranged in the vehicle units).
Regarding Claim 11. Gauthier teaches a control arrangement configured to reduce backlash in a vehicle,
said vehicle comprising: a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle, and a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains), wherein the control arrangement is configured to:
when a requested net torque for the vehicle is within the deliverable torque of one of the first powertrain and the second powertrain, control the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]. To prevent backlash, motor 201 always provides forward torque while motor 205 always provides reverse torque. The amount of torque applied by either motor depends upon the driver's desired direction of travel [paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 12. Gauthier teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
further configured to maintain the first torque from the first powertrain and the second torque from the second powertrain until a request for increased net torque for the vehicle has been detected (Torque demand is requested by the driver by pressing down, or otherwise engaging, the accelerator (also referred to as the throttle). Under normal conditions and as described above, as the driver increases their torque demand the motor(s) generating torque in the requested direction (i.e., either forward torque or reverse torque) increases the generated torque while the motor(s) generating torque in the opposite direction (i.e., either reverse torque or forward torque) generates minimal torque, thereby eliminating powertrain backlash [paragraph 28]).
Regarding Claim 13. Gauthier teaches a vehicle comprising:
a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle;
a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains); and
a control arrangement configured to:
when a requested net torque for the vehicle is within the deliverable torque of one of the first powertrain and the second powertrain, control the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]).
Regarding Claim 14. Gauthier teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
further configured to:
in response to a request for change of torque direction of the net torque for the vehicle, adjust the values of the first torque and second torque to meet the requested change in net torque for the vehicle without changing torque direction of the first and second torques, respectively, when the requested net torque is within the deliverable torque of one of the first powertrain and the second powertrain (To prevent backlash, motor 201 always provides forward torque while motor 205 always provides reverse torque. The amount of torque applied by either motor depends upon the driver's desired direction of travel. For example, if the driver is accelerating in a forward direction, i.e., direction 213, then a large forward torque is generated by motor 201. At the same time, a small reverse torque is generated by motor 205. The amount of reverse torque generated by motor 205 is sufficient to ensure that there is no backlash in that powertrain when the driver wishes to decelerate or reverse direction, but small enough to have a relatively insignificant impact on forward vehicle travel and overall vehicle efficiency [Paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 18. Gauthier teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the operations are performed while the vehicle is in motion, or in conjunction with alteration of direction of travel of the vehicle (FIG. 4B shows the vehicle speed as a function of time, indicating changes in torque while the vehicle is in motion. FIG. 4B graphically illustrates vehicle speed, where forward vehicle motion is shown as a positive value and rearward vehicle motion is shown as a negative value. FIG. 4C graphically illustrates motor torque, where forward torque is shown as a positive value (solid line 411) and reverse torque is shown as a negative value (dashed line 413) [paragraph 24]. Additionally, the system is able to perform the method of claim 1 while switching from traveling forward to traveling in reverse [paragraph 22]).
Regarding Claim 19. Gauthier teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier also teaches:
wherein the vehicle constitutes a vehicle combination comprising at least a first vehicle unit and a second vehicle unit, and the first powertrain is arranged in the first vehicle unit, and the second powertrain is arranged in the second vehicle unit (FIG. 2 shows a pair of vehicle units setup for each axle of the vehicle, wherein the power trains are arranged in the vehicle units).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier US 20200231048 A1 (“Gauthier”).
Regarding Claim 5. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier does not explicitly teach:
wherein the value of the one of the first and second torques having a torque direction opposite to the torque direction of the requested net torque is less than 30 Nm.
However, the exact requested net torque is purely a matter of obviousness, as there are a finite number of net torque values that the torque opposite the requested direction can be set, and selecting a torque value of 30 Nm is one of a finite number of identified solutions to the problem of preventing backlash, with a predictable result and high chance of success.
Regarding Claim 16. Gauthier teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier does not explicitly teach:
wherein the value of the one of the first and second torques having a torque direction opposite to the torque direction of the requested net torque is less than 30 Nm.
However, the exact requested net torque is purely a matter of obviousness, as there are a finite number of net torque values that the torque opposite the requested direction can be set, and selecting a torque value of 30 Nm is one of a finite number of identified solutions to the problem of preventing backlash, with a predictable result and high chance of success.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauthier US 20200231048 A1 (“Gauthier”) in combination with UDD et al. US 20190128345 A1 (“UDD”).
Regarding Claim 4. Gauthier teaches the method according to claim 1.
Gauthier does not teach:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value being equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain and equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain,
wherein each of the first and second predetermined backlash torques corresponds to a torque needed to turn a driveline the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline.
However, UDD teaches:
wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value being equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain and equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain,
wherein each of the first and second predetermined backlash torques corresponds to a torque needed to turn a driveline the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline (a system arranged for controlling a backlash of a powertrain included in a vehicle in connection with a gear shifting operation, wherein the system includes a determination unit arranged for determining a position for a clutch, for which position the change of the rotational speed has a value corresponding to a backlash torque Tbacklash, the backlash torque having a predetermined value suitable for eliminating backlash [paragraphs 33-36] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the predetermined value of the backlash torque Tbacklash is within a range of 10-50 Nm, or within a range of 15-25 Nm, or approximately 20 Nm [paragraph 48]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Gauthier with wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value being equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain and equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, wherein each of the first and second predetermined backlash torques corresponds to a torque needed to turn a driveline the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline as taught by UDD so as to allow the system to predict backlash torques and set counter torque values accordingly.
Regarding Claim 9. Gauthier teaches a program for reducing backlash in a vehicle, said vehicle comprising: a first powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more first drive wheels of the vehicle, and a second powertrain configured to provide propulsion torque to one or more second drive wheels of the vehicle, the first and second powertrains being mechanically separated from each other (a powertrain backlash control system for an electric vehicle (EV), the control system including (i) a first powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a forward direction; (ii) a second powertrain that includes one or more motors and is configured to propel the EV in a rearward direction; and (iii) a vehicle controller that is coupled to the first and second powertrains [paragraph 5], shown in FIG. 3 to be mechanically separate powertrains), wherein said program comprises instructions to cause one or more computing devices to perform the following operation:
when a requested net torque for the vehicle is within the deliverable torque of one of the first powertrain and the second powertrain, controlling the first powertrain to deliver a first torque to said one or more first drive wheels and the second powertrain to deliver a second torque to said one or more second drive wheels, the first torque and the second torque having opposite torque directions (the control system may further include a throttle assembly coupled to the vehicle controller. The throttle assembly is configured to receive torque requests from the EV's driver and transmit the torque request to the vehicle controller, where the torque requests are selected from within a range of possible torque requests that include a range of forward torque requests and a range of reverse torque requests [paragraph 6]. After receiving the torque request, the vehicle controller transmits a corresponding torque demand to at least one of the first and second powertrains, where the corresponding torque demand is selected from the plurality of forward torque demands and the plurality of reverse torque demands. When the torque request corresponds to a forward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting reverse torque demands to the second powertrain and to transmit a forward torque demand to the second powertrain. Similarly, when the torque request corresponds to a rearward torque request the vehicle controller may be configured to compare the current vehicle speed to a second preset value. If the current vehicle speed exceeds the second preset value, the vehicle controller may be configured to temporarily cease transmitting forward torque demands to the first powertrain and to transmit a reverse torque demand to the first powertrain [paragraph 8]).
Gauthier does not teach:
The program is a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer instructions (this is implied, but not explicitly taught).
However, UDD teaches:
The program is a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer instructions (A person skilled in the art will appreciate that a method for controlling a backlash of a powertrain according to the present invention can also be implemented in a computer program, which, when it is executed in a computer, instructs the computer to execute the method. The computer program is usually constituted by a computer program product 603 stored on a non-transitory/non-volatile digital storage medium, in which the computer program is incorporated in the computer-readable medium of the computer program product [paragraph 103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Gauthier with the program is a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising computer instructions as taught by UDD, in part because Gauthier already implies that their invention is meant to be a computer program product, and because this is a known technique in the art with a predictable result.
Regarding Claim 15. Gauthier teaches the control arrangement according to claim 11.
Gauthier does not teach:
wherein
each of the first torque and the second torque has a value being equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain and equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain,
wherein each of the first and second predetermined backlash torques corresponds to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline.
However, UDD teaches:
wherein
each of the first torque and the second torque has a value being equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain and equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain,
wherein each of the first and second predetermined backlash torques corresponds to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline (a system arranged for controlling a backlash of a powertrain included in a vehicle in connection with a gear shifting operation, wherein the system includes a determination unit arranged for determining a position for a clutch, for which position the change of the rotational speed has a value corresponding to a backlash torque Tbacklash, the backlash torque having a predetermined value suitable for eliminating backlash [paragraphs 33-36] According to an embodiment of the present invention, the predetermined value of the backlash torque Tbacklash is within a range of 10-50 Nm, or within a range of 15-25 Nm, or approximately 20 Nm [paragraph 48]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Gauthier with wherein each of the first torque and the second torque has a value being equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the first powertrain and equal to or greater than a predetermined backlash torque for the second powertrain, wherein each of the first and second predetermined backlash torques corresponds to a torque needed to turn a driveline of the relevant powertrain to remove backlash if altering rotational direction within said driveline as taught by UDD so as to allow the system to predict backlash torques and set counter torque values accordingly.
Conclusion
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656