DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ren (CN 205249083 U).
Claim 1
Ren teaches: A system comprising:
a first structure (2) having a coil (8);
a second structure (horizontal portion of 1 wherein 3 and 7 are bonded to) having a magnet (3, 7); and
a coupling structure (vertical portion of 1 wherein 2 and 10 are bonded to) connecting the first structure (2) to the second structure (horizontal portion of 1 wherein 3 and 7 are bonded to).
Claim 2/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the magnet (3, 7) and the coil (8) are positioned such that when the coil (8) and the magnet (3, 7) move with respect to each other, a voltage is produced at the coil (8).
Claim 3/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein:
the first structure (2) is a first cantilever (2); and
the second structure (horizontal portion of 1 wherein 3 and 7 are bonded to) is a second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1).
Claim 4/3/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 3, wherein the coil (8) is attached to a distal end of the first cantilever (2).
Claim 5/3/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 3, wherein the magnet (3, 7) is attached to a distal end of the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1).
Claim 6/3/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 3, wherein lengths the first cantilever (2) and the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1) substantially similar (as seen in Fig. 2).
Claim 7/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 1, further comprising an energy storage device (5) connected to the coil (8) and configured to store electrical energy generated by the coil (8) when the coil (8) and the magnet (3, 7) move with respect to each other.
Claim 8/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the system is a vibration energy harvesting system.
Claim 12
Ren teaches: A vibration energy harvesting system comprising:
a first cantilever (2) extending from a surface and terminating with a distal end, wherein a coil (8) is coupled to the distal end of the first cantilever (2);
a second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1) extending from the surface and terminating with a distal end, wherein a magnet (3, 7) is coupled to the distal end of the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1);
a coupling structure (vertical portion of 1 wherein 2 and 10 are bonded to) connecting the first cantilever (2) to the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1); and
the magnet (3, 7) and coil (8) are positioned such that when the coil (8) and magnet (3, 7) move with respect to each other, a voltage is produced at the coil (8).
Claim 13/12
Ren teaches: The vibration energy harvesting system of claim 12, wherein lengths of the first cantilever (2) and the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1) are substantially similar.
Claim 14/12
Ren teaches: The vibration energy harvesting system of claim 12, further comprising an energy storage device (5) connected to the coil (8) and configured to store electrical energy generated by the coil (8) when the coil (8) and the magnet (3, 7) move with respect to each other.
Claim 18/12
Ren teaches: The vibration energy harvesting system of claim 12, wherein the first cantilever (2) and the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1) extend from the surface in directions that are substantially parallel to each other.
Claim 19
Ren teaches: A system comprising:
a first cantilever (2) having a coil (8);
a second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1) having a magnet (3, 7);
a coupling structure (vertical portion of 1 wherein 2 and 10 are bonded to) connecting the first cantilever (2) to the second cantilever (horizontal portions of 1); and
the magnet (3, 7) and the coil (8) are positioned such that when the coil (8) and magnet (3, 7) move with respect to each other, a voltage is produced at the coil (8).
Claim 20/19
Ren teaches: The system of claim 19, further comprising an energy storage device (5) connected to the coil (8) and configured to store electrical energy generated by the coil (8) when the coil (8) and the magnet (3, 7) move with respect to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (CN 205249083 U).
Claim 10/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 1, including a first structure (cantilever 2) and a second structure (horizontal portions of housing 1 supporting magnets 3, 7), wherein the first structure includes a coil (8), the second structure includes magnets (3, 7), and the structures cooperatively vibrate to generate electrical energy. Ren further teaches that the cantilever structures possess substantially similar geometries and lengths (see Fig. 2 and corresponding disclosure regarding the cantilever structures). Ren is silent to disclosing: a stiffnesses of the first structure and the second structure are substantially similar.
Although Ren does not expressly disclose that the stiffness of the first structure and second structure are substantially similar, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was filed that similarly dimensioned cantilever structures arranged to cooperatively vibrate in a vibration energy harvesting system would possess substantially similar stiffnesses facilitate coordinated resonant behavior, predictable relative displacement between the magnet and coil, and improved energy harvesting efficiency. Optimizing cantilever stiffnesses for desired vibrational performance amounts to a routine engineering design consideration yielding predictable results.
Claim 16/12
Ren teaches: The vibration energy harvesting system of claim 12, including a first structure (cantilever 2) and a second structure (horizontal portions of housing 1 supporting magnets 3, 7), wherein the first structure includes a coil (8), the second structure includes magnets (3, 7), and the structures cooperatively vibrate to generate electrical energy. Ren further teaches that the cantilever structures possess substantially similar geometries and lengths (see Fig. 2 and corresponding disclosure regarding the cantilever structures). Ren is silent to disclosing: a stiffnesses of the first structure and the second structure are substantially similar.
Although Ren does not expressly disclose that the stiffness of the first structure and second structure are substantially similar, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) at the time the invention was filed that similarly dimensioned cantilever structures arranged to cooperatively vibrate in a vibration energy harvesting system would possess substantially similar stiffnesses fascillitate coordinated resonant behavior, predictable relative displacement between the magnet and coil, and improved energy harvesting efficiency. Optimizing cantilever stiffnesses for desired vibrational performance amounts to a routine engineering design consideration yielding predictable results.
Claims 9, 11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (CN 205249083 U) in view of Yuksek (US 10447135 B2).
Claim 9/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the second cantilever (2) may be made of a flexible material (aluminum, silicon and other appropriate materials; Description, preferred embodiment, para. 17), but is silent to the material composition of the coupling structure (vertical portion of 1 wherein 3 and 7 are bonded to) such that: the coupling structure is made of a flexible material.
Yuksek conversely teaches an energy harvesting system having coupled cantilever structures (12, 24) comprising a coil 26 and magnets 28 that oscillate relative to one another and further teaches the use of piezoelectric materials that generate energy through mechanical stress and deformation (see para. 54).
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have understood that such oscillatory cantilever systems employ flexible/compliant structural regions to permit elastic deformation and efficient transfer of vibrational energy. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to form the coupling structure from a flexible material.
Claim 11/10/1
Ren teaches: The system of claim 10, including a first structure (cantilever 2), and a second structure (horizontal portions of housing 1 supporting magnets 3, 7), and a coupling structure (vertical portion of housing 1) connecting the first and second structures. Ren is silent to teaching: wherein a stiffness of the coupling structure is less than that of the first structure and the second structure.
Yuksek conversely teaches coupled cantilever structures configured to oscillate and generate electrical energy through mechanical deformation and vibrational motion (see para. 54-55). Yuksek further teaches piezoelectric cantilever arrangements that flex during operation in response to oscillatory movement and mechanical interaction between cantilever members.
Although neither reference expressly discloses that the stiffness of the coupling structure is less than that of the first and second structures, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the coupling structure of Ren with greater compliance (i.e, lower stiffness) relative to the first and second structures in view of the teachings of Yuksek. A PHOSITA would have understood that vibration energy harvesting systems commonly employ comparatively compliant coupling regions to fascillitate relative oscillatory motion, improve strain transfer between vibrating members, reduce mechanical constraint, and enhance energy harvesting efficiency. Modifying the coupling structure of Ren to possess lower stiffness than the cantilever structures would therefore have represented a predictable use of known mechanical design principles to improve vibrationl response and enrgy transfer.
Claim 15/12
Ren teaches: The vibration energy harvesting system of claim 12, herein the second cantilever (2) may be made of a flexible material (aluminum, silicon and other appropriate materials; Description, preferred embodiment, para. 17), but is silent to the material composition of the coupling structure (vertical portion of 1 wherein 3 and 7 are bonded to) such that: the coupling structure is made of a flexible material.
Yuksek conversely teaches an energy harvesting system having coupled cantilever structures (12, 24) comprising a coil 26 and magnets 28 that oscillate relative to one another and further teaches the use of piezoelectric materials that generate energy through mechanical stress and deformation (see para. 54).
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have understood that such oscillatory cantilever systems employ flexible/compliant structural regions to permit elastic deformation and efficient transfer of vibrational energy. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to form the coupling structure from a flexible material.
Claim 17/16/12
Ren teaches: The vibration energy harvesting system of claim 16, including a first structure (cantilever 2), and a second structure (horizontal portions of housing 1 supporting magnets 3, 7), and a coupling structure (vertical portion of housing 1) connecting the first and second structures. Ren is silent to teaching: wherein a stiffness of the coupling structure is less than that of the first structure and the second structure.
Yuksek conversely teaches coupled cantilever structures configured to oscillate and generate electrical energy through mechanical deformation and vibrational motion (see para. 54-55). Yuksek further teaches piezoelectric cantilever arrangements that flex during operation in response to oscillatory movement and mechanical interaction between cantilever members.
Although neither reference expressly discloses that the stiffness of the coupling structure is less than that of the first and second structures, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to configure the coupling structure of Ren with greater compliance (i.e, lower stiffness) relative to the first and second structures in view of the teachings of Yuksek. A PHOSITA would have understood that vibration energy harvesting systems commonly employ comparatively compliant coupling regions to fascillitate relative oscillatory motion, improve strain transfer between vibrating members, reduce mechanical constraint, and enhance energy harvesting efficiency. Modifying the coupling structure of Ren to possess lower stiffness than the cantilever structures would therefore have represented a predictable use of known mechanical design principles to improve vibrationl response and enrgy transfer.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834