FIRST NON-FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 16, line 2 of the claim reads “are operable to cause to be performed operations comprising” and this claim phrase is not clearly understood. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. CN113790102.
With respect to claims 1, 9, and 16, Chen teaches a turboshaft engine (gas turbine 1) for powering the aircraft; an inlet barrier filter (IBF)(filters 8, 9, and 10) for filtering air at an inlet through which the turboshaft engine draws inlet air (page 3); a differential pressure transducer (differential pressure transmitters 11, 12, 13, 14) for measuring a differential pressure across the IBF during operation of the aircraft (pages 3 and 4); and a flight control computer system (power control system 4) configured to, during operation of the aircraft: periodically calculate a restriction of an airflow through the IBF (data is received from the differential pressure transmitters, page 4); periodically determine a rate of change of the restriction of the airflow (change rate of the differential pressure is determined, pages 4 and 5); compare the rate of change to a threshold rate (judging and determining health of filter from the change rate and pressure difference set values, pages 4 and 5); and provide an alert to a pilot of the aircraft when the determined rate of change exceeds the threshold rate (health state is displayed, page 4).
With respect to claims 2, 10, and 17, Chen teaches wherein the restriction of the airflow through the IBF is calculated as a function of the differential pressure measured by the differential pressure transducer and at least one characteristic differential pressure value (interpreted as the differential pressure data from the differential pressure transmitters 11, 12, 13, 14, pages 3 and 4).
With respect to claims 3-7, 11-15, and 18-20, Chen teaches an instrument panel including an indicator configured to provide the alert (interpreted as the display for displaying each level of filter core health, pages 3 and 4), wherein the indicator comprises a gauge or light element (interpreted as the display for displaying each level of filter core health which is a gauge level as well as light element, pages 3 and 4), wherein the flight control computer system is further configured to estimate from the rate of change an amount of time the aircraft can continue to operate in current conditions before the restriction of the airflow reaches a maximum limit (filter core remaining service life is displayed, pages 3 and 4), an instrument panel of a cockpit of the aircraft including an indicator configured to present a text message including the estimated amount of time (interpreted as the displayed remaining service life of the filter core, pages 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. CN113790102 in view of Bergami U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0112981.
With respect to claim 8, Chen teaches the claimed invention except wherein the aircraft comprises a rotorcraft. Bergami teaches a control method for controlling an air intake system for an engine of a helicopter (abstract, paragraph 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Chen and provide the filter health system as part of the helicopter control system of as taught by Bergami in order to provide more reliably helicopter control system.
Conclusion
FREDDIE KIRKLAND III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
/Freddie Kirkland III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 7/11/2026