Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15 set forth in the amendment submitted 7/27/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-12, filed 7/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, and the rejection of Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-10 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-10, of the remarks, filed on 7/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, that “As amended, independent claim 1 requires, during the manufacturing of the battery cell, performing at least one of: filling the battery cell with an electrolyte, charging the battery cell, and discharging the battery cell. There is no similar teaching or suggestion derivable from Hwang (Remarks-Page 8).
……………………..
The specification repeatedly explains that the disclosed method is applied during battery-cell manufacturing, including during electrolyte filling or formation, and that determining current flow during these manufacturing operations permits early detection of faulty cells, improving manufacturing efficiency and manufacturing quality (paras. [0008]-[0012]). (Remarks-Page 9)
As such, current flow is determined in order to evaluate characteristics of the battery cell itself during manufacture, including electrolyte wetting, impedance, capacity, current distribution, and manufacturing anomalies that may indicate defective battery cells. Paragraph [0011] explains that measured current flow may indicate cell capacity, internal impedance, electrolyte impedance, electrolyte wetting, self-discharge rate, and other battery-cell characteristics useful for early identification of manufacturing defects, while paragraphs [0025]-[0033] further explain generating current maps and identifying anomalies within the battery cell.
Against this backdrop, Hwang is directed to an entirely different problem. Hwang uses measured current only as an intermediate quantity for determining whether the Hall-effect sensor itself has drifted from a zero-current reference, and the measured offset values are repeatedly compared against a reference value to determine whether the current sensor is faulty (paras. [0015]-[0028], [0044]-[0058]). Every embodiment of Hwang begins with an already-completed battery installed within a vehicle electrical system, the battery connected to a vehicle controller, load, and Hall-effect current sensor that operate only after manufacture has been completed (Figs. 1-3 and paras. [0039]-[0058]).
………….
For at least the reasons discussed above, claim 1 is novel and patentable over Hwang (Remarks-Page 10).”
.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-10, of the remarks, filed on 7/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 4/28/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “during the manufacturing of the battery cell, performing at least one of: filling the battery cell with an electrolyte, charging the battery cell, and discharging the battery cell; and determining, by the contactless current sensor, a current flow within the battery cell during or after said at least one of the filling the battery cell with the electrolyte, the charging the battery cell, and the discharging the battery cell”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Claim 1 now requires any of the steps: filling the battery cell with an electrolyte, charging the battery cell, and discharging the battery cell; and determining, by the contactless current sensor, a current flow within the battery cell during or after said at least one of the filling the battery cell with the electrolyte, the charging the battery cell, and the discharging the battery cell should be performed during the manufacturing of the battery cell. Therefore, present amendment changes the scope of the claim. Ye; Shaoli et al. (Hereinafter, “Shaoli”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220099714 A1 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 4/28/2026 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Ye; Shaoli et al. (Hereinafter, “Shaoli”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220099714 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
However, applicant’s argument “As such, current flow is determined in order to evaluate characteristics of the battery cell itself during manufacture, including electrolyte wetting, impedance, capacity, current distribution, and manufacturing anomalies that may indicate defective battery cells. Paragraph [0011] explains that measured current flow may indicate cell capacity, internal impedance, electrolyte impedance, electrolyte wetting, self-discharge rate, and other battery-cell characteristics useful for early identification of manufacturing defects, while paragraphs [0025]-[0033] further explain generating current maps and identifying anomalies within the battery cell” is not persuasive. This limitation is not recited in the claim and therefore not required By Hwang. Claim is rejected in light of the specification however the limitation is not incorporated in the claim from the specification. It is the claim language which is considered to be rejected under references.
In response to Applicant's argument that Paragraph [0011] explains that measured current flow may indicate cell capacity, internal impedance, electrolyte impedance, electrolyte wetting, self-discharge rate, and other battery-cell characteristics useful for early identification of manufacturing defects, while paragraphs [0025]-[0033] further explain generating current maps and identifying anomalies within the battery cell, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (Paragraph [0011] explains that measured current flow may indicate cell capacity, internal impedance, electrolyte impedance, electrolyte wetting, self-discharge rate, and other battery-cell characteristics useful for early identification of manufacturing defects, while paragraphs [0025]-[0033] further explain generating current maps and identifying anomalies within the battery cell) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., measured current flow may indicate cell capacity, internal impedance, electrolyte impedance, electrolyte wetting, self-discharge rate, and other battery-cell characteristics useful for early identification of manufacturing defects, generating current maps and identifying anomalies within the battery cell) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Applicant’s argument, “Hwang uses measured current only as an intermediate quantity for determining whether the Hall-effect sensor itself has drifted from a zero-current reference, and the measured offset values are repeatedly compared against a reference value to determine whether the current sensor is faulty (paras. [0015]-[0028], [0044]-[0058])” is persuasive. However, applicant has amended the claims as explained above. Therefore Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Ye; Shaoli et al. (Hereinafter, “Shaoli”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20220099714 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 11, of the remarks, filed on 7/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, that “Claim 12 further requires manufacturing equipment configured to perform at least one step of manufacturing one or more battery cells, and is at least novel and patentable over Hwang for the same reasons discussed above.
Claims 2-3, 7, 11 and 15 depend from claim 1 and are at least patentable therefrom.
It is further noted that the rejection of claim 3 fails to identify measurement of at least one magnetic field gradient in Hwang. While the rejection asserts that a magnetic field creates a magnetic field gradient, this statement fails to evidence measurement of a magnetic field gradient.”
As taught in at least paras. [0017]-[0018] of the current disclosure, a gradient may be determined by using a gradiometer or by determining a difference between two sensing elements arranged relatively to one another along the spatial direction in which the gradient is to be determined. There is no similar teaching in Hwang, as Hwang only discloses measurement of a magnetic field at one position, not a gradient.
Withdrawal of the rejection is kindly requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11 (stated above), 11 of the remarks, filed on 7/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3 and 7, 11-12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 4/28/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive.
Claim 12 recites, “manufacturing equipment configured to perform at least one step of manufacturing one or more battery cells, ……”. However, claim does not recite that the steps are performed during manufacturing time. Current sensor of a battery system is also a part of manufacturing equipment. And to diagnosis the failure of the current sensor of the battery system also be a step of manufacturing. Claim 12 does not recite the steps performed during manufacturing time as amended claim 1 recites. Claim 12 recites manufacturing steps and diagnosis the current sensor is also a step of manufacturing whether it is done during manufacturing or after manufacturing to test the system. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Claim 12 can still be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 4/28/2026, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant argues regarding claim 3, that, “It is further noted that the rejection of claim 3 fails to identify measurement of at least one magnetic field gradient in Hwang” which is not persuasive. Hwang discloses, “A Hall effect sensor or a Hall sensor, which measures a magnetic field induced by a current to measure the current, is advantageously used as a non-contact type sensor; Paragraph 0006] Line 4-7”. Magnetic field creates magnetic field gradient. Claim recites that determining the current flow within the battery cell is based on measurement of at least one magnetic field gradient. Claim recites based on magnetic field gradient. However, claim does not recite “a gradient may be determined by using a gradiometer or by determining a difference between two sensing elements arranged relatively to one another along the spatial direction in which the gradient is to be determined”. Claim only recites based on the measurement of the magnetic field gradient. Claim does not recite that the current flow is determined from magnetic field gradient. Claim recites, “based on……”. Hwang discloses hall sensor which creates magnetic field can also create magnetic field gradient and therefore current can be measured based on magnetic field gradient. Claim does not recite anything about the gradiometer or how the magnetic field gradient is determined. This limitation is not recited in the claim and therefore not required By Hwang. Claim is rejected in light of the specification however the limitation is not incorporated in the claim from the specification. It is the claim language which is considered to be rejected under references.
In response to Applicant's argument that a gradient may be determined by using a gradiometer or by determining a difference between two sensing elements arranged relatively to one another along the spatial direction in which the gradient is to be determined, applicant misinterprets the principle that claims are interpreted in the light of the specification. Although these elements (a gradient may be determined by using a gradiometer or by determining a difference between two sensing elements arranged relatively to one another along the spatial direction in which the gradient is to be determined) are found as examples or embodiments in the specification, they were not claimed explicitly. Nor were the words that are used in the claims defined in the specification to require these limitations. A reading of the specification provides no evidence to indicate that these limitations must be imported into the claims to give meaning to disputed terms. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
In response to Applicant’s argument that does not include certain features of Applicant's invention, the limitations on which the Applicant relies (i.e., a gradient may be determined by using a gradiometer or by determining a difference between two sensing elements arranged relatively to one another along the spatial direction in which the gradient is to be determined) are not stated in the claims. It is the claims that define the claimed invention, and it is claims, not specifications that are anticipated or unpatentable. Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 7 USPQ2d 1064.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Hwang can still be applied to reject claim 3, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 12, of the remarks, filed on 7/27/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-10 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1, that, “It is further noted that the rejection fails to identify, and the combination of Hwang and Lohmann fails to disclose or suggest, at least: relative motion of the contactless current sensor and the battery cell as required in claim 6 (the asserted "Sensor is moved different side" does not appear in the combination of Hwang and Lohmann); applying pressure to the battery cell as required in claim 10; one or more support structures configured to apply pressure onto the one or more battery cells during manufacturing as required in claim 13; and a first current sensing element placed between two neighboring battery cells as required in claim 14.
As such, the above rejections clearly fail to establish any element of prima facie obviousness and should be withdrawn.
Withdrawal of the rejection is kindly requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 11 (stated above), 11 of the remarks, filed on 7/27/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-10 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 4/28/2026 have been fully considered and is not persuasive. Because claim 6 does not recite any specific way of calculating relative motion of the current sensor. Applicant argues that Lohmann does not disclose, “Sensor is moved different side”. However, claim does not recite this limitation and therefore not required by the claim as explained above. Applicant’s argument that Lohmann does not disclose during manufacturing is not persuasive. Lohmann teaches, “[0060] The disclosed embodiments are easily integrated into a manufacturing process since a small number (3-4) of process steps are required. Specifically, forming a functional organic semiconductor layer, two contact layers and optionally an encapsulation layer. “Therefore, Lohmann discloses that the sensor is provided in the BMS and the disclosure can be applied during manufacturing. Applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive. Lohmann still can be applied to reject the claim limitation as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Therefore, Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Shaoli ‘714 A1 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1, and Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1.
Regarding claim 12 Hwang teaches a manufacturing equipment configured to perform at least one step of manufacturing one or more battery cells (apparatuses and methods for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle, capable of measuring an offset current when the ignition is turned off and when the ignition is turned on next time; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; FIG. 3 is a flow chart illustrating a method for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-3), the at least one step of manufacturing the one or more battery cells comprising (one limitation is required by the claim):
filling the battery cell with an electrolyte,
charging the battery cell (A controller of an eco-friendly vehicle constantly measures a current of a battery while driving and charging to control electric power and monitor states of the vehicle and various components; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-4), and
discharging the battery cell (The current sensor 120 measures current output (or discharged) from the high voltage battery 110; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4); and
the manufacturing equipment comprising one or more contactless current sensors [120] in Figure 1 (the apparatus for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle includes a high voltage battery 110, a current sensor 120; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-3) (A Hall effect sensor or a Hall sensor, which measures a magnetic field induced by a current to measure the current, is advantageously used as a non-contact type sensor; Paragraph [0006] Line 4-7; FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an apparatus for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3), each comprising at least one current sensing element (The current sensor 120 measures current output (or discharged) from the high voltage battery 110. The current sensor 120 may be implemented as a Hall effect current meter, a Hall sensor, or a magnetic sensor; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4) for determining a current flow within at least one of the one or more battery cells during or after said at least one step of manufacturing. (When the ignition is turned off, the controller 140 measures a current value (offset) through the current sensor 120; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-3; A controller of an eco-friendly vehicle constantly measures a current of a battery while driving and charging to control electric power and monitor states of the vehicle and various components; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over .
Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Ye; Shaoli et al. (Hereinafter, “Shaoli”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20220099714 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a method for determining current flow in a battery cell during manufacturing of the battery cell (apparatuses and methods for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle, capable of measuring an offset current when the ignition is turned off and when the ignition is turned on next time; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; FIG. 3 is a flow chart illustrating a method for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-3), the method comprising:
arranging a contactless current sensor [120] in Figure 1 (the apparatus for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle includes a high voltage battery 110, a current sensor 120; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-3) relatively to the battery cell [110] (A Hall effect sensor or a Hall sensor, which measures a magnetic field induced by a current to measure the current, is advantageously used as a non-contact type sensor; Paragraph [0006] Line 4-7; FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an apparatus for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3),
wherein the contactless current sensor comprises at least one current sensing element (The current sensor 120 measures current output (or discharged) from the high voltage battery 110. The current sensor 120 may be implemented as a Hall effect current meter, a Hall sensor, or a magnetic sensor; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4);
performing at least one of (only one limitation is required by the claim):
filling the battery cell with an electrolyte,
charging the battery cell (A controller of an eco-friendly vehicle constantly measures a current of a battery while driving and charging to control electric power and monitor states of the vehicle and various components; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-4), and
discharging the battery cell (The current sensor 120 measures current output (or discharged) from the high voltage battery 110; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4); and
determining, by the contactless current sensor [120], a current flow within the battery cell during or after said at least one of the filling the battery cell with the electrolyte, the charging the battery cell, and the discharging the battery cell (When the ignition is turned off, the controller 140 measures a current value (offset) through the current sensor 120; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-3; A controller of an eco-friendly vehicle constantly measures a current of a battery while driving and charging to control electric power and monitor states of the vehicle and various components; Paragraph [0005] Line 1-4).
However Hwang fails to teach that performing at least one of: filling the battery cell with an electrolyte, charging the battery cell, and discharging the battery cell; and determining, by the contactless current sensor, a current flow within the battery cell during or after said at least one of the filling the battery cell with the electrolyte, the charging the battery cell, and the discharging the battery cell are during the manufacturing of the battery cell.
Shaoli teaches measuring DC currents, and in a particular aspect to controlling a battery current during battery formation and/or testing (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
during the manufacturing of the battery cell, performing at least one of (one limitation is :
filling the battery cell with an electrolyte,
charging the battery cell, and
discharging the battery cell (FIG. 1 shows an example battery cell charge profile that may be used during battery formation and/or testing. It will be appreciated that there may also be similar battery cell current discharge profiles to be used during battery formation and/or testing; Paragraph [0058] Line 1-5; The formation/testing controller 210 is suitable for coupling to the FET driver 270 to control the operation of the FETs 275, and therefore control the current and/or voltage applied to the battery cell 250 during charging and/or control the current and/or voltage that is discharged battery cell 250 during discharging; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-6; The controller 210 may control the FETs 275 to set this average voltage to be higher than the battery cell voltage during charging in order to drive a desired charging formation/testing current into the battery cell 250; Paragraph [0060] Line 8-12); and
determining, by the contactless current sensor, a current flow within the battery cell during or after said at least one of the filling the battery cell with the electrolyte, the charging the battery cell, and the discharging the battery cell are during the manufacturing of the battery cell. The purpose of doing so is to continually or intermittently update the determined transfer function without requiring time consuming, complex re-calibration of the system, such that any long-term sensor drift may easily be corrected for, to lengthen the time period between recalibrations, since it can be detected whether or not recalibration is required rather than simply following set recalibration schedules, to detect any changes in any part of the current measurement signal chain by determining the transfer function and therefore compensated for, to further improve accuracy of control of the formation/testing current of the battery cell.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang in view of Shaoli, because Shaoli teaches to perform during the manufacturing of the battery cell, at least one of (one limitation is: filling the battery cell with an electrolyte, charging the battery cell, and discharging the battery cell continually or intermittently updates the determined transfer function without requiring time consuming, complex re-calibration of the system, such that any long-term sensor drift may easily be corrected for, lengthens the time period between recalibrations, since it can be detected whether or not recalibration is required rather than simply following set recalibration schedules, detects any changes in any part of the current measurement signal chain by determining the transfer function and therefore compensated for, further improves accuracy of control of the formation/testing current of the battery cell (Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang teaches a method,
wherein the at least one current sensing element is any of (only one limitation is required by the claim):
a Hall element (The current sensor 120 measures current output (or discharged) from the high voltage battery 110. The current sensor 120 may be implemented as a Hall effect current meter, a Hall sensor, or a magnetic sensor; Paragraph [0042] Line 1-4);
a magnetoresistance element, including elements that are sensitive to the colossal
magnetoresistance, CMR, effect, the giant magnetoresistance, GMR, effect, and the tunnel
magnetoresistance, TMR,
a magnetoimpedance sensing element,
a fluxgate magnetometer,
a microelectromechanical systems, MEMS, magnetometer, or
an inductive sensing element (Not required by the claim).
Regarding claim 3, Hwang teaches a method,
wherein the determining the current flow within the battery cell is based on measurement of at least one magnetic field gradient (A Hall effect sensor or a Hall sensor, which measures a magnetic field induced by a current to measure the current, is advantageously used as a non-contact type sensor; Paragraph 0006] Line 4-7; Magnetic field creates magnetic field gradient).
Regarding claim 7, Hwang teaches a method, further comprising:
identifying deviations in the determined current flow (Claim 5: The apparatus according to claim 3, wherein when any one of the first offset current and the second offset current is equal to or greater than the reference value, the controller is configured to measure a third offset current through the current sensor for a third preset period of time, and to determine whether the third offset current is equal to or greater than the reference value; Claim 6. The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein when the third offset current is less than the reference value, the controller is configured to determine that the current sensor is normal, and to set the third offset current as an offset current of the current sensor; Current value is below or higher than the reference value is the deviation from the normal value and therefore controller identifies deviation of the current value).
.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang teaches a contactless current sensor (A Hall effect sensor or a Hall sensor, which measures a magnetic field induced by a current to measure the current, is advantageously used as a non-contact type sensor; Paragraph [0006] Line 4-7; FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating an apparatus for diagnosing failure of a current sensor of a battery system for an eco-friendly vehicle; Paragraph [0039] Line 1-3),
configured to be used according to a method according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Hwang teaches A battery cell produced by a method
that involves the determination of current flow during manufacturing of the battery cell according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Shaoli ‘714 A1 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hwang and Shaoli fails to teach a method, wherein the at least one contactless current sensor comprises an array comprising a plurality of current sensing elements, wherein the current sensing elements of the plurality of current sensing elements are evenly distributed in a plane or wherein the current sensing elements of the plurality of current sensor elements, when arranged relatively to the battery cell, are more densely distributed in edge regions of the battery cell compared to a center region of the battery cell.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein the at least one contactless current sensor [112] in Figure 1 comprises an array comprising a plurality of current sensing elements [116], wherein the current sensing elements of the plurality of current sensing elements (A flexible sensor assembly in the form of a 2D sensor foil 112 is located on the outer surface of the cathode current collector 108. The 2D sensor foil 112, also shown in FIG. 2, includes a flexible substrate 114 and an array of magnetic field sensing sensors or pixels 116; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-5) are evenly distributed in a plane or wherein the current sensing elements of the plurality of current sensor elements, when arranged relatively to the battery cell, are more densely distributed in edge regions of the battery cell compared to a center region of the battery cell (Figure 2 shows current sensing elements are evenly distributed in a plane or wherein the current sensing elements of the plurality of current sensor elements, when arranged relatively to the battery cell, are more densely distributed in edge regions of the battery cell compared to a center region of the battery cell). The purpose of doing so is to analyze the sensed plurality of discharging localized magnetic fluxes includes executing the program instructions with the processor to identify local changes in magnetic flux using a matrix ( .rho.) of input values from the array of spin valve magnetic field sensors.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang and Shaoli in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to include a plurality of current sensing elements analyzes the sensed plurality of discharging localized magnetic fluxes includes executing the program instructions with the processor to identify local changes in magnetic flux using a matrix ( .rho.) of input values from the array of spin valve magnetic field sensors (paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hwang and Shaoli fails to teach a method, herein the determining the current flow within the battery cell is performed simultaneously for every current sensing element of the array of current sensing elements or performed sequentially for subgroups of one or more sensing elements of the array of current sensing elements.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein the determining the current flow within the battery cell is performed simultaneously for every current sensing element of the array of current sensing elements or performed sequentially for subgroups of one or more sensing elements of the array of current sensing elements (A flexible sensor assembly in the form of a 2D sensor foil 112 is located on the outer surface of the cathode current collector 108. The 2D sensor foil 112, also shown in FIG. 2, includes a flexible substrate 114 and an array of magnetic field sensing sensors or pixels 116; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang and Shaoli in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to include a plurality of current sensing elements enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hwang and Shaoli fails to teach a method, wherein determining a current flow within the battery cell comprises: moving the contactless current sensor and the battery cell relatively to each other; and determining the current flow by scanning the current flow during the relative motion of the contactless current sensor and the battery cell.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein determining a current flow within the battery cell comprises:
moving the contactless current sensor and the battery cell relatively to each other; and determining the current flow by scanning the current flow during the relative motion of the contactless current sensor and the battery cell. (A flexible sensor assembly in the form of a 2D sensor foil 112 is located on the outer surface of the cathode current collector 108. The 2D sensor foil 112, also shown in FIG. 2, includes a flexible substrate 114 and an array of magnetic field sensing sensors or pixels 116; Paragraph [0040] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8; Sensor is moved different side). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang and Shaoli in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to move current sensing elements enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hwang and Shaoli fails to teach a method, wherein identifying deviations in the measured current flow comprises at least one of: generating a current measurement map for one or more arceas of the battery cell based on the determined current flow; and comparing the determined current flow to one or more predetermined values.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein identifying deviations in the measured
current flow comprises at least one of: generating a current measurement map for one or more arcas of the battery cell based on the determined current flow; and comparing the determined current flow to one or more predetermined values. (For example, FIG. 6 depicts a simplified schematic of the cell 101 looking at the current collector 108 from the side adjacent to the cathode 106. The portion of the current collector 108 covered by the cathode 106 is uniformly shaded to identify a uniform current density 132 within the cathode 106. Because the current density is uniform, a uniform magnetic field will be created, thus the sensor 116 will provide a substantially uniform output. Some variation will occur since the outermost sensors 116 will not be influenced to the same extent as the innermost sensors 116. This variation, however, is mapped during initial calibration and stored in the memory; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8; Sensor is moved different side). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang and Shaoli in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to generate current enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hwang and Shaoli fails to teach a method, wherein identifying deviations in the measured current flow involves the application of an artificial intelligence.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein identifying deviations in the measured current flow involves the application of an artificial intelligence (For example, FIG. 6 depicts a simplified schematic of the cell 101 looking at the current collector 108 from the side adjacent to the cathode 106. The portion of the current collector 108 covered by the cathode 106 is uniformly shaded to identify a uniform current density 132 within the cathode 106. Because the current density is uniform, a uniform magnetic field will be created, thus the sensor 116 will provide a substantially uniform output. Some variation will occur since the outermost sensors 116 will not be influenced to the same extent as the innermost sensors 116. This variation, however, is mapped during initial calibration and stored in the memory; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8; Sensor is moved different side). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang and Shaoli in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to generate current enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim10, the combination of Hwang and Shaoli fails to teach a method, wherein the determining the current flow is performed during at least one of the charging or the discharging the battery cell, and wherein the method further comprises: applying pressure to the battery cell during the at least one of charging or discharging the battery cell.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein the determining the current flow is performed during at least one of the charging or the discharging the battery cell, and wherein
the method further comprises:
applying pressure to the battery cell during the at least one of charging or discharging the battery cell. (For example, FIG. 6 depicts a simplified schematic of the cell 101 looking at the current collector 108 from the side adjacent to the cathode 106. The portion of the current collector 108 covered by the cathode 106 is uniformly shaded to identify a uniform current density 132 within the cathode 106. Because the current density is uniform, a uniform magnetic field will be created, thus the sensor 116 will provide a substantially uniform output. Some variation will occur since the outermost sensors 116 will not be influenced to the same extent as the innermost sensors 116. This variation, however, is mapped during initial calibration and stored in the memory; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8; Sensor is moved different side). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of Hwang and Shaoli in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to generate current enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Claim(s) 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang in the US Patent application Publication Number US 20160313403 A1 in view of Lohmann et al. (Hereinafter, “Lohmann”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US-20150061602-A1.
Regarding claim 13, Hwang fails to teach a method, wherein the one or more
contactless current sensors are arranged on one or more support structures, wherein the one or more support structures are configured to apply pressure onto the one or more battery cells during manufacturing.
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein the one or more contactless current sensors are arranged on one or more support structures, wherein the one or more support structures are configured to apply pressure onto the one or more battery cells during manufacturing. (For example, FIG. 6 depicts a simplified schematic of the cell 101 looking at the current collector 108 from the side adjacent to the cathode 106. The portion of the current collector 108 covered by the cathode 106 is uniformly shaded to identify a uniform current density 132 within the cathode 106. Because the current density is uniform, a uniform magnetic field will be created, thus the sensor 116 will provide a substantially uniform output. Some variation will occur since the outermost sensors 116 will not be influenced to the same extent as the innermost sensors 116. This variation, however, is mapped during initial calibration and stored in the memory; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8; Sensor is moved different side). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to generate current enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang fails to teach a method, wherein a first current sensing elements of the at least one current sensing element is placed between two neighboring ones of the battery cells and is configured for determining current flows within two neighboring battery cells, wherein the first current sensing element is configured to determine the current flows within the two neighboring battery cells simultaneously or sequentially..
Lohmann teaches a battery system includes an electrochemical cell, a flexible sensor assembly attached to the cell, the flexible sensor assembly including an array of spin valve magnetic field sensors exhibiting an organic magneto resistance effect (Paragraph [0010] Line 1-5),
wherein a first current sensing elements of the at least one current sensing element is placed between two neighboring ones of the battery cells and is configured for determining current flows within two neighboring battery cells, wherein the first current sensing element is configured to determine the current flows within the two neighboring battery cells simultaneously or sequentially. (For example, FIG. 6 depicts a simplified schematic of the cell 101 looking at the current collector 108 from the side adjacent to the cathode 106. The portion of the current collector 108 covered by the cathode 106 is uniformly shaded to identify a uniform current density 132 within the cathode 106. Because the current density is uniform, a uniform magnetic field will be created, thus the sensor 116 will provide a substantially uniform output. Some variation will occur since the outermost sensors 116 will not be influenced to the same extent as the innermost sensors 116. This variation, however, is mapped during initial calibration and stored in the memory; Paragraph [0044] Line 1-5; The output of the sensors 116 is provided to a battery management system (BMS) 124 (see FIG. 1). The BMS 124 includes a memory (not shown) in which program instructions are stored, and a processor (not shown). The processor is operatively connected to each of the individual sensors 116 and executes the program instructions to map the current distribution of a given electrode or similar object within an electrochemical cell in situ. This provides invaluable information about the cell state and enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability; Paragraph [0043] Line 1-8; Sensor is moved different side). The purpose of doing so is to enable a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hwang in view of Lohmann, because Lohmann teaches to generate current enables a BMS of unprecedented accuracy and capability (paragraph [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Miller et al. (US 20030197512 A1) discloses, “Battery Analyzer-[0005] In an exemplary embodiment according to the present invention, a battery analyzer is provided, which includes a network interface arrangement configured to communicatively couple to a computer network, a battery interface arrangement configured to electrically connect to at least one battery arrangement. [0029] Referring now to FIG. 1, there is seen an exemplary battery analyzer system 100 according to the present invention. The battery analyzer system 100 includes a battery analyzer 105 having a user interface 135 and a battery arrangement 120 including at least one rechargeable battery 130. The battery arrangement 120 is electrically coupled to the battery analyzer 105. In the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the battery analyzer 105 is communicatively coupled to at least one remote device 115a, 115b, 115c, . . . , 115n through a computer network 110. [0031] The battery analyzer 105 is operable to evaluate the battery 130 and to determine, for example, usage and performance information concerning the battery 130. The battery analyzer 105 may then communicate the usage and performance information, such as information indicating that the battery is not performing correctly, to one or more of the remote devices 115a, 115b, 115c, . . . , 115n via the computer network 110. The battery analyzer 105 may also communicate data related to technical support, which may include charging and discharging parameters used in configuring the power management controller. Technical support data could also include, for example, software update information, information to allow the remote location to change parameters, or automated software update if an outdated software version is detected. [0034] Referring now to FIG. 2a, there is seen another exemplary battery analyzer system 200, in which one of the remote devices 115a, 115b, 115c, . . . , 115n includes a centralized computer system 205 for collecting and distributing information to a customer service site 210. The customer service site 210 may be owned and controlled by any entity, for example, an individual, a manufacturer of the battery analyzer 105, and/or a retailer or wholesaler of the battery analyzer 105-However Miller does not disclose during the manufacturing of the battery cell, performing at least one of: filling the battery cell with an electrolyte.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858