DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024 and 04/15/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 and 13 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. US 20220110054 A1 in view of Baldemair et al. US 20220240182 A1, Baldemair.
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches a method for receiving wake-up signals, applicable to a terminal, the method comprising: (Seo: Summary, Fig. 21 and para. [0262-0267] first wireless device 100one or more memories 104 and 204 may be connected to the one or more processors 102 and 202 and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands)
receiving a first wake-up signal, wherein the first wake-up signal is defined to indicate reception information of a downlink control channel; (Seo: para. [0162 & 0167 & 0221] a wake up signal (WUS) may be introduced to save power of the UE. The WUS may indicate, for example, whether to perform PDCCH monitoring (corresponds to claim limitation “reception information of a downlink control channel”) in a DRX on-duration in connection with a DRX operation (or DRX cycle))
wherein the downlink control channel is a first new radio (NR) channel (Seo: para. [0063] NR. Para. [0081 & 0090] UE may receive a PDCCH in the CORESET in NR. Para. [0162] NR, a wake up signal (WUS) may be introduced to save power of the UE. The WUS may indicate, for example, whether to perform PDCCH monitoring in a DRX on-duration in connection with a DRX operation (or DRX cycle)),
wherein the first wake-up signal and the first NR channel are both orthogonal frequency-division multicarrier signals, (Seo: para. [0211 & 0075 & 0205 & 0278 & 0062 & 0070] OFDM symbol including the WUS PDCCH candidate is completely indicated as downlink (DL))
and
a numerology of the first wake-up signal (Seo: para. [0213 & 0075] numerology of the (active) BWP including the WUS SS (or monitoring the WUS))
a numerology of the first NR channel (Seo: para. [0077] and Fig. 7 resource block (RB) may be defined as a plurality of consecutive subcarriers (e.g., 12 subcarriers) in the frequency domain. A bandwidth part (BWP) may be defined as a plurality of consecutive (physical) resource blocks ((P)RBs) in the frequency domain, and the BWP may correspond to one numerology (correspond to claim limitation “numerology”) (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on). Para. [0080] Monitoring implies decoding of each PDCCH candidate according to a downlink control information (DCI) format. The UE monitors a set of PDCCH (correspond to claim limitation “first NR channel”) candidates in one or more CORESETs (to be described below) on an active DL BWP (correspond to claim limitation “numerology of the first NR channel”) of each activated serving cell in which PDCCH monitoring is configured, according to a corresponding search space set)
It is noted that Seo does not explicitly disclose: a numerology of the first wake-up signal is different from a numerology of the first NR channel.
However, Baldemair from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a numerology of the first wake-up signal is different from a numerology of the first NR channel. (Baldemair: para. [0100] network can configure the UE with a particular numerology (e.g., carrier frequency, bandwidth, subcarrier spacing, etc.) that is optimized for reducing and/or minimizing WUS-DCI detection power consumption subject to the minimum wake-up delay. Nevertheless, in case this numerology (correspond to claim limitation “WUS numerology”) is different from the numerology used by the UE receiver for other PDCCH/PDSCH (correspond to claim limitation “first NR channel”) reception, and para. [0134 & 0137] Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM). Para. [0020 & 0074] network transmits DCI (e.g., on PDCCH) indicating, for the current DL subframe, to which the terminal(s) data will be transmitted (e.g., on PDSCH) and in which RBs the data will be transmitted. This control signaling is typically transmitted in the first n OFDM symbols) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Baldemair in the method of Seo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to reduce UE blind decoding attempts and resulting energy, the search space(s) where WUS-DCI can be transmitted are typically very limited so that UE only has to test for one, or a small number of, RE hypothesis(es) (Baldemair: para. [0084]).
Regarding claim 2, Seo and Baldemair teach the method according to claim 1, wherein there is one of: the numerology comprises a subcarrier spacing; (Seo: para. [0075-077 & 0316] NR system, OFDM(A) numerologies (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on) may be differently configured between a plurality of cells integrated to one UE) or the numerology comprises a guard interval length. (Seo: para. [0096 & 0106 & 0212-0213] some OFDM symbols at a time when DL switches to UL may be set to a guard period (GP) in the self-contained subframe structure)
Regarding claim 3, Seo and Baldemair teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving first configuration signaling from a network device, wherein the first configuration signaling is defined to configure (Seo: para. [0316 & 0075-0077] NR supports multiple numerologies (or subcarrier spacing (SCS)) for supporting diverse 5G services. For example, if the SCS is 15 kHz, a wide area of the conventional cellular bands may be supported. If the SCS is 30 kHz/60 kHz, a dense-urban, lower latency, and wider carrier bandwidth is supported. If the SCS is 60 kHz or higher, a bandwidth greater than 24.25 GHz is used in order to overcome phase noise) the numerology of the first wake-up signal; (Seo: para. [0213] numerology of the (active) BWP including the WUS SS (or monitoring the WUS))
wherein the first configuration signaling is radio resource control (RRC) signaling, (Seo: para. [0211] a valid occasion is a duration in which the OFDM symbol including the WUS PDCCH candidate is completely indicated as downlink (DL) (characteristically, it may be a duration indicated as DL by a semi-static configuration (configuration indicated by RRC signaling))
or physical layer signaling, or medium access control (MAC) layer signaling.
(Seo: para. [0211 & 0147-0148] Whether DRX is ON or OFF may be controlled by a DRX command of a MAC layer)
Regarding claim 5, Seo and Baldemair teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first wake-up signal and the first NR channel are transmitted in a time-division multiplexing mode. (Seo: para. [0096] In this data and control TDMed subframe structure, a time gap for a base station and a UE to switch from a transmission mode to a reception mode or from the reception mode to the transmission mode may be required)
Regarding claim 13, Seo teaches a network device, comprising: a transceiver; wherein (Seo: Summary, Abstract, Fig. 2 BS and Fig. 12 and para. [0267] second device 200 one or more processors 102 and 202 may be referred to as controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, or microcomputers. The one or more processors 102 and 202 may be implemented by hardware, firmware, software)
the transceiver is configured to transmit a first wake-up signal, wherein the first wake-up signal is defined to indicate reception information of a downlink control channel; (Seo: para. [0162 & 0167 & 0221] a wake up signal (WUS) may be introduced to save power of the UE. The WUS may indicate, for example, whether to perform PDCCH monitoring (corresponds to claim limitation “reception information of a downlink control channel”) in a DRX on-duration in connection with a DRX operation (or DRX cycle))
wherein the downlink control channel is a first new radio (NR) channel, (Seo: para. [0063] NR. Para. [0081 & 0090] UE may receive a PDCCH in the CORESET in NR. Para. [0162] NR, a wake up signal (WUS) may be introduced to save power of the UE. The WUS may indicate, for example, whether to perform PDCCH monitoring in a DRX on-duration in connection with a DRX operation (or DRX cycle))
wherein the first wake-up signal and the first NR channel are both orthogonal frequency-division multicarrier signals, (Seo: para. [0211 & 0075 & 0205 & 0278 & 0062 & 0070] OFDM symbol including the WUS PDCCH candidate is completely indicated as downlink (DL))
and a numerology of the first wake-up signal (Seo: para. [0213 & 0075] numerology of the (active) BWP including the WUS SS (or monitoring the WUS))
a numerology of the first NR channel. (Seo: para. [0077] and Fig. 7 resource block (RB) may be defined as a plurality of consecutive subcarriers (e.g., 12 subcarriers) in the frequency domain. A bandwidth part (BWP) may be defined as a plurality of consecutive (physical) resource blocks ((P)RBs) in the frequency domain, and the BWP may correspond to one numerology (correspond to claim limitation “numerology”) (e.g., SCS, CP length, and so on). Para. [0080] Monitoring implies decoding of each PDCCH candidate according to a downlink control information (DCI) format. The UE monitors a set of PDCCH (correspond to claim limitation “first NR channel”) candidates in one or more CORESETs (to be described below) on an active DL BWP (correspond to claim limitation “numerology of the first NR channel”) of each activated serving cell in which PDCCH monitoring is configured, according to a corresponding search space set)
It is noted that Seo does not explicitly disclose: a numerology of the first wake-up signal is different from a numerology of the first NR channel.
However, Baldemair from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a numerology of the first wake-up signal is different from a numerology of the first NR channel. (Baldemair: para. [0100] network can configure the UE with a particular numerology (e.g., carrier frequency, bandwidth, subcarrier spacing, etc.) that is optimized for reducing and/or minimizing WUS-DCI detection power consumption subject to the minimum wake-up delay. Nevertheless, in case this numerology (correspond to claim limitation “WUS numerology”) is different from the numerology used by the UE receiver for other PDCCH/PDSCH (correspond to claim limitation “first NR channel”) reception, and para. [0134 & 0137] Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM). Para. [0020 & 0074] network transmits DCI (e.g., on PDCCH) indicating, for the current DL subframe, to which the terminal(s) data will be transmitted (e.g., on PDSCH) and in which RBs the data will be transmitted. This control signaling is typically transmitted in the first n OFDM symbols) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Baldemair in the method of Seo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to reduce UE blind decoding attempts and resulting energy, the search space(s) where WUS-DCI can be transmitted are typically very limited so that UE only has to test for one, or a small number of, RE hypothesis(es) (Baldemair: para. [0084]).
Regarding claims 14-15, Seo and Baldemair teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 2-3, and therefore apparatus claims 14-15 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 4, 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo and Baldemair as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Priyanto et al. US20230189139A1 (US20230189139A1 is a Continuation of WO 2020/200840 A1, where WO 2020/200840 A1 is listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D3 in EPO report), hereinafter Priyanto.
Regarding claim 4, Seo and Baldemair teach the method according to claim 1, a modulation mode of the first NR channel is quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM). (Seo: para. [0282 & 0275] m-QAM (m-Quadrature Amplitude Modulation) may be used to modulate the coded data)
It is noted that Seo and Baldemair do not explicitly disclose: wherein a modulation mode of the first wake-up signal is on-off keying (OOK); a modulation mode of the first NR channel is quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM).
However, Priyanto from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein a modulation mode of the first wake-up signal is on-off keying (OOK); (Priyanto: para. [0106] reference WUS waveform b can be defined in accordance with a noncoherent modulation scheme, e.g., OOK, Frequency-shift keying (FSK)) a modulation mode of the first NR channel is quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM). (Priyanto: para. [0111] A plurality of data signal waveforms x0, x1—associated with subcarriers different from the WUS subcarriers—are obtained. The data signal waveforms x0, x1 are defined in accordance with a coherent modulation scheme, e.g., QPSK, BPSK, or QAM) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Priyanto in the method of Seo and Baldemair. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WURX or a MRX in a low-power state, simple non-coherent modulation schemes, such as OOK or Frequency Shift Keying (FSK), are often used for the signal transmission, since it allows low-power low-complex front-end architecture (Priyanto: para. [0076-0077]). In addition WUS 4003 can be both orthogonal to the rest of the OFDM symbol and can be received by a non-coherent WURX or MRX in the low-power state that does not require tight synchronization. No energy-costly synchronization signal is needed for the WUS detection (Priyanto: para. [0104-0109]).
Regarding claim 6, Seo and Baldemair teach the method according to claim 1, wherein there is one of:
a frequency domain resource occupied by the first wake-up signal and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first NR channel are located in a same bandwidth part (BWP); (Seo: and Fig. Fig. 15 and Fig. 16, para. [0234] when a search space set is provided so that the UE monitors the PDCCH (PDCCH detection within the same WUS window/BWP, correspond to claim limitation “first NR channel”) for detection of DCI format 2_6 (WUS signal) in the active DL BWP of PCell or SpCell. Para. [0090 & 0141-0143 & 0316] resources can include at least one of resources in the time domain, resources in the frequency domain)
It is noted that Seo and Baldemair do not explicitly disclose: or a frequency domain resource occupied by the first wake-up signal and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first NR channel are located in different bandwidth parts (BWPs).
However, Priyanto from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a frequency domain resource occupied by the first wake-up signal (Priyanto: Fig. 2 and para. [0064 & 0063 & 0083 & 0016-0018] A first channel 261 may carry WUSs. The WUSs enable the network 100—e.g., the AMF 131—to wake-up the UE 101, e.g., at or prior to a PO. para. [0174-0180 & 0201-0207] a new BWP (corresponds to claim limitation “first WUS BWP”) may be defined that is statically or dynamically reserved for transmission of the WUS 4003 to the UE 101) and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first NR channel (Priyanto: Fig. 2 and para. [0065-0067& 0063] A second channel 262 may carry control information related to the subsequent channel (e.g. paging indicators) which enable the network 100—e.g., the AMF 131—to page the UE 101 during a PO. Typically, the paging indicators are communicated on PDCCH) are located in different bandwidth parts (BWPs). (Priyanto: Fig. 2 and para. [0064 & 0063 & 0083] A first channel 261 may carry WUSs. The WUSs enable the network 100—e.g., the AMF 131—to wake-up the UE 101, e.g., at or prior to a PO. para. [0174-0180 & 0201-0207] a new BWP (corresponds to claim limitation “first WUS BWP” and “different BWP”) may be defined that is statically or dynamically reserved for transmission of the WUS 4003 to the UE 101) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Priyanto in the method of Seo and Baldemair. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WURX or a MRX in a low-power state, simple non-coherent modulation schemes, such as OOK or Frequency Shift Keying (FSK), are often used for the signal transmission, since it allows low-power low-complex front-end architecture (Priyanto: para. [0076-0077]). In addition WUS 4003 can be both orthogonal to the rest of the OFDM symbol and can be received by a non-coherent WURX or MRX in the low-power state that does not require tight synchronization. No energy-costly synchronization signal is needed for the WUS detection (Priyanto: para. [0104-0109]).
Regarding claim 16, Seo, Baldemair and Priyanto teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 4, and therefore apparatus claim 16 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 7 – 9, 11 and 17 – 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. US 20220110054 A1 in view of Ly et al. US 20190166556 A1, Ly.
Regarding claim 7, Seo teaches a method for configuring wake-up signals, applicable to a terminal, the method comprising: (Seo: Summary, Fig. 21 and para. [0262-0267] first wireless device 100one or more memories 104 and 204 may be connected to the one or more processors 102 and 202 and store various types of data, signals, messages, information, programs, code, instructions, and/or commands)
receiving configuration information of a first wake-up signal, (Seo: para. [0163-0165 & 0236] WUS may be provided in the form of DCI. A new DCI for WUS (which may also be referred to as WUS DCI) may be considered, and a WUS monitoring occasion (time point, hereinafter the same) for performing WUS monitoring needs to be defined. When the WUS is provided in DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_6), the DCI may be transmitted through a PDCCH, and the DCI may be referred to as a WUS DCI) wherein the configuration information is defined to configure at least one of a time domain position of the first wake-up signal (Seo: para. [0211] duration in the time domain) or a frequency domain position of the first wake-up signal;
wherein a configuration pattern (CORESET) of a time-frequency resource of the first wake-up signal (Seo: para. [0176 & 0216] CORESET for monitoring the WUS DCI may be all or a part (e.g., a CORESET having the lowest ID) of the CORESET configured at an active time)
a configuration pattern of a second new radio (NR) channel. (Seo: para. [0132- & 0131] PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH (correspond to claim limitation “second NR channel”) monitoring))
It is noted that Seo does not explicitly disclose: wherein a configuration pattern of a time-frequency resource of the first wake-up signal is the same as a configuration pattern of a second new radio (NR) channel.
However, Ly from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein a configuration pattern of a time-frequency resource (Ly: para. [0007-0008 & 0041] base station and the UE can agree on a numerology timing resource, and frequency resources to be used for the WUR signals) of the first wake-up signal is the same as a configuration pattern of a second new radio (NR) channel. (Ly: para. [0042 & 0050] determination of a WUR signaling configuration may be based on using the same configuration as the common control resource set (CORESET) wherein the common CORESET is used to transmit common PDCCH. Para. [0033] WUR signal may follow the same configuration as the common control resource set (CORESET) used to transmit common PDCCH) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ly in the method of Seo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for base station and a UE may agree on a numerology and resources to be used so that the base station can communicate WUR signals to the UE and so that the UE can determine the presence of the WUR signals. In an aspect, numerology and resources to be used for WUR signals for successful communication require agreements between the base station and the UE on aspects not present in previous wireless communication systems. The base station and the UE can agree on a numerology timing resource, and frequency resources to be used for the WUR signals. Such techniques enable communication of WUR signals from the base station to the UE and can lead to reduced UE power consumption (Ly: para. [0007-0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Seo and Ly teach the method according to claim 7, wherein the second NR channel comprises at least one of:
a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); (Seo: para. [0132- & 0131] PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH (correspond to claim limitation “second NR channel”) monitoring))
a channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS); (Seo: para. [0130] DM-RS port of a PDSCH (or PDDCH) or a CSI-RS port of a CSI-RS resource)
a tracking reference signal (TRS);
a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS);
a physical broadcast channel (PBCH); (Seo: para. [0133] In the NR, a CORESET# 0 may be configured by a PBCH (or a UE-dedicated signaling for handover or a PSCell configuration or a BWP configuration))
a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB); (Seo: para. [0114] synchronization signal block (SSB))
or
semi-persistent scheduling (SPS)-based physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
Regarding claim 9, Seo and Ly teach the method according to claim 8, wherein the second NR channel comprises the PDCCH, and the configuration information comprises at least one of:
configuration information of a control resource set of the first wake-up signal; (Seo: para. [0132- & 0131] PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH (correspond to claim limitation “second NR channel”) monitoring))
or
configuration information of a search space of the first wake-up signal. (Seo: para. [0192-0193 & 0208-0209 & 0216-0218] search space type may be interpreted as a method of instructing the UE)
Regarding claim 11, Seo and Ly teach the method according to claim 7, wherein the first wake-up signal and the second NR channel are transmitted in a time-division multiplexing mode. (Seo: para. [0096] In this data and control TDMed subframe structure, a time gap for a base station and a UE to switch from a transmission mode to a reception mode or from the reception mode to the transmission mode may be required)
Regarding claim 17, Seo teaches a network device, comprising: a transceiver; wherein (Seo: Summary, Abstract, Fig. 2 BS and Fig. 12 and para. [0267] second device 200 one or more processors 102 and 202 may be referred to as controllers, microcontrollers, microprocessors, or microcomputers. The one or more processors 102 and 202 may be implemented by hardware, firmware, software)
the transceiver is configured to transmit configuration information of a first wake-up signal, (Seo: para. [0163-0165 & 0236] WUS may be provided in the form of DCI. A new DCI for WUS (which may also be referred to as WUS DCI) may be considered, and a WUS monitoring occasion (time point, hereinafter the same) for performing WUS monitoring needs to be defined. When the WUS is provided in DCI (e.g., DCI format 2_6), the DCI may be transmitted through a PDCCH, and the DCI may be referred to as a WUS DCI) wherein the configuration information is defined to configure at least one of a time domain position of the first wake-up signal or a frequency domain position of the first wake-up signal (Seo: para. [0211] duration in the time domain);
wherein a configuration pattern (CORESET) of a time-frequency resource of the first wake-up signal (Seo: para. [0176 & 0216] CORESET for monitoring the WUS DCI may be all or a part (e.g., a CORESET having the lowest ID) of the CORESET configured at an active time)
a configuration pattern of a second new radio (NR) channel. (Seo: para. [0132- & 0131] PDCCH monitoring pattern within a slot (e.g., indicating a first symbol of a CORSET in a slot for PDCCH (correspond to claim limitation “second NR channel”) monitoring))
It is noted that Seo does not explicitly disclose: wherein a configuration pattern of a time-frequency resource of the first wake-up signal is the same as a configuration pattern of a second new radio (NR) channel.
However, Ly from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein a configuration pattern of a time-frequency resource (Ly: para. [0007-0008 & 0041] base station and the UE can agree on a numerology timing resource, and frequency resources to be used for the WUR signals) of the first wake-up signal is the same as a configuration pattern of a second new radio (NR) channel. (Ly: para. [0042 & 0050] determination of a WUR signaling configuration may be based on using the same configuration as the common control resource set (CORESET) wherein the common CORESET is used to transmit common PDCCH. Para. [0033] WUR signal may follow the same configuration as the common control resource set (CORESET) used to transmit common PDCCH) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ly in the method of Seo. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for base station and a UE may agree on a numerology and resources to be used so that the base station can communicate WUR signals to the UE and so that the UE can determine the presence of the WUR signals. In an aspect, numerology and resources to be used for WUR signals for successful communication require agreements between the base station and the UE on aspects not present in previous wireless communication systems. The base station and the UE can agree on a numerology timing resource, and frequency resources to be used for the WUR signals. Such techniques enable communication of WUR signals from the base station to the UE and can lead to reduced UE power consumption (Ly: para. [0007-0010]).
Regarding claims 18-19, Seo and Ly teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 8-9, and therefore apparatus claims 18-19 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 10, 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo and Ly as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Priyanto et al. US20230189139A1 (US20230189139A1 is a Continuation of WO 2020/200840 A1, where WO 2020/200840 A1 is listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D3 in EPO report), hereinafter Priyanto.
Regarding claim 10, Seo and Ly teach the method according to claim 7, a modulation mode of the second NR channel is quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM). (Seo: para. [0282 & 0275] m-QAM (m-Quadrature Amplitude Modulation) may be used to modulate the coded data)
It is noted that Seo and Ly do not explicitly disclose: wherein a modulation mode of the first wake-up signal is on-off keying (OOK); a modulation mode of the first NR channel is quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM).
However, Priyanto from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein a modulation mode of the first wake-up signal is on-off keying (OOK); (Priyanto: para. [0106] reference WUS waveform b can be defined in accordance with a noncoherent modulation scheme, e.g., OOK, Frequency-shift keying (FSK)) a modulation mode of the first NR channel is quadrature phase-shift keying (QPSK) or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM). (Priyanto: para. [0111] A plurality of data signal waveforms x0, x1—associated with subcarriers different from the WUS subcarriers—are obtained. The data signal waveforms x0, x1 are defined in accordance with a coherent modulation scheme, e.g., QPSK, BPSK, or QAM) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Priyanto in the method of Seo and Ly. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WURX or a MRX in a low-power state, simple non-coherent modulation schemes, such as OOK or Frequency Shift Keying (FSK), are often used for the signal transmission, since it allows low-power low-complex front-end architecture (Priyanto: para. [0076-0077]). In addition WUS 4003 can be both orthogonal to the rest of the OFDM symbol and can be received by a non-coherent WURX or MRX in the low-power state that does not require tight synchronization. No energy-costly synchronization signal is needed for the WUS detection (Priyanto: para. [0104-0109]).
Regarding claim 12, Seo and Ly teach the method according to claim 7, wherein there is one of:
a frequency domain resource occupied by the first wake-up signal and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first NR channel are located in a same bandwidth part (BWP); (Seo: and Fig. Fig. 15 and Fig. 16, para. [0234] when a search space set is provided so that the UE monitors the PDCCH (PDCCH detection within the same WUS window/BWP, correspond to claim limitation “first NR channel”) for detection of DCI format 2_6 (WUS signal) in the active DL BWP of PCell or SpCell. Para. [0090 & 0141-0143 & 0316] resources can include at least one of resources in the time domain, resources in the frequency domain)
It is noted that Seo and Ly do not explicitly disclose: or a frequency domain resource occupied by the first wake-up signal and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first NR channel are located in different bandwidth parts (BWPs).
However, Priyanto from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a frequency domain resource occupied by the first wake-up signal (Priyanto: Fig. 2 and para. [0064 & 0063 & 0083 & 0016-0018] A first channel 261 may carry WUSs. The WUSs enable the network 100—e.g., the AMF 131—to wake-up the UE 101, e.g., at or prior to a PO. para. [0174-0180 & 0201-0207] a new BWP (corresponds to claim limitation “first WUS BWP”) may be defined that is statically or dynamically reserved for transmission of the WUS 4003 to the UE 101) and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first NR channel (Priyanto: Fig. 2 and para. [0065-0067 & 0063] A second channel 262 may carry control information related to the subsequent channel (e.g. paging indicators) which enable the network 100—e.g., the AMF 131—to page the UE 101 during a PO. Typically, the paging indicators are communicated on PDCCH) are located in different bandwidth parts (BWPs). (Priyanto: Fig. 2 and para. [0064 & 0083 & 0063] A first channel 261 may carry WUSs. The WUSs enable the network 100—e.g., the AMF 131—to wake-up the UE 101, e.g., at or prior to a PO. para. [0174-0180 & 0201-0207] a new BWP (corresponds to claim limitation “first WUS BWP” and “different BWP”) may be defined that is statically or dynamically reserved for transmission of the WUS 4003 to the UE 101) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Priyanto in the method of Seo and Ly. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for WURX or a MRX in a low-power state, simple non-coherent modulation schemes, such as OOK or Frequency Shift Keying (FSK), are often used for the signal transmission, since it allows low-power low-complex front-end architecture (Priyanto: para. [0076-0077]). In addition WUS 4003 can be both orthogonal to the rest of the OFDM symbol and can be received by a non-coherent WURX or MRX in the low-power state that does not require tight synchronization. No energy-costly synchronization signal is needed for the WUS detection (Priyanto: para. [0104-0109]).
Regarding claim 20, Seo, Ly and Priyanto teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 10, and therefore apparatus claim 20 is rejected using the same rationales.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PTO-892.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418