DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 112
To create definiteness to the claims, the Examiner construes the term “about” within the claims to mean that “each numerical parameter should at least be construed in light of the number of reported significant digits and by applying ordinary rounding techniques” as specifically disclosed in applicant’s spec, par. [0204].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lin (US Pub. No. 2013/0072323 A1; as cited in applicant’s IDS) in view of Richards (US Pat. No. 808,683).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a method of making a golf ball (Fig. 1) comprising the steps of: forming an assembly of dual core components (Fig. 5) by: providing a solid spherical inner core component (Fig. 5, item 220 and par. [0036]) and two outer core components including a first half-shell (Fig. 5, item 360), a second half-shell (Fig. 5, item 355); depositing the solid spherical inner core component into a first hemispherically-shaped inner surface of the first half-shell such that a first outer surface portion of the solid spherical inner core component is encased within the first half-shell (Fig. 5 and par. [0041]); and placing a second hemispherically-shaped inner surface of the second half-shell about a second outer surface portion of the solid spherical inner core component (Fig. 5 and par. [0041]), and such that the second outer surface portion of the solid spherical inner core component is encased within the second half-shell (Fig. 5 and pars. [0041]); molding the two outer core components about the solid spherical inner core component (par. [0041]), thereby forming an outer core layer thereabout such that the solid spherical inner core is immovably centered within the outer core layer (par. [0041]); and forming at least one surrounding layer around the outer core layer (Fig. 7, items 205/210; noting this is obvious and par. [0070]). It is noted that Lin does not specifically disclose three outer core components including a ring-shaped securing plate, positioning an inner ring surface of the ring-shaped securing plate about the solid spherical inner core component such that a bottom side of the ring-shaped securing plate is adjacent a first mating surface of the first hemispherical shell, placing a second hemispherically-shaped shell such that a second mating surface of the second hemispherically-shaped shell is adjacent a top side of the ring-shaped securing plate. However, Richards discloses a golf ball with three outer cover components (Fig. 2, noting two half shells and ring, item 4/5) including a ring-shaped securing plate (Figs. 1 and 2, items/4/5), positioning an inner ring surface of the ring-shaped securing plate about the solid spherical inner core component such that a bottom side of the ring-shaped securing plate is adjacent a first mating surface of the first hemispherical shell, placing a second hemispherically-shaped shell such that a second mating surface of the second hemispherically-shaped shell is adjacent a top side of the ring-shaped securing plate (Fig. 2 making this obvious). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Lin to use three outer core components including a ring-shaped securing plate, positioning an inner ring surface of the ring-shaped securing plate about the solid spherical inner core component such that a bottom side of the ring-shaped securing plate is adjacent a first mating surface of the first hemispherical shell, placing a second hemispherically-shaped shell such that a second mating surface of the second hemispherically-shaped shell is adjacent a top side of the ring-shaped securing plate as taught and suggested by Richards because doing so would be use of a known technique (using a separate ring around an inner core, the ring used to attach a first and second hemispherical shell to an inner core and each other) to improve a similar product (a dual core golf ball with an inner core and two half shells attached around it) in the same way (using a separate ring around an inner core, the ring used to attach a first and second hemispherical shell to an inner core, the ring and hemisphere assemble used in order to provide “great strength to the joint” – see Richards: page 1, lines 96-100).
Regarding claim 2, the combined Lin and Richards disclose each of the first half-shell, the ring-shaped securing plate, and the second half-shell is comprised of the same rubber composition (Richards: page 1, lines 31-36 and lines 57-67; clearly stating that the outer covers and the annular strip/ring shaped securing plate can be made of “celluloid”, i.e. the same material, and Lin: par. [0054]: disclosing “rubber” for the outer core half-shells, so it would be obvious to make the ring-shape plate from rubber in the application of a dual core to create the “great strength to the joint” as taught by Richards).
Regarding claim 3, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the solid spherical inner core component is comprised of a rubber composition (Richards: page 1, lines 31-36; noting “rubber”).
Regarding claim 4, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the at least one surrounding layer comprises a cover (Lin: Fig. 7, items 205 or 210 or par. [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the at least one surrounding layer further comprises an intermediate layer surrounding the outer core(Lin: Fig. 7, item 210 or par. [0070]).
Regarding claim 6, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the ring-shaped securing plate is located adjacent to and proximate an equator of the solid spherical inner core component (Richard: Figs. 1 and 2; noting this is obvious; see Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 7, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the inner ring surface of the ring-shaped securing plate contacts the solid spherical inner core component (Richard: Figs. 1 and 2; noting this is obvious).
Regarding claim 8, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the ring-shaped securing plate has: (i) a body defined by the top side, the bottom side, the inner ring surface and an outer ring surface (Richard: Fig. 1 above; noting this is inherent); and (ii) a thickness T defined by the distance between the top side and bottom side (Richard: Fig. 1 above); and (iii) a constant width W defined by the distance from a given point along the inner ring surface to a point on the outer ring surface measured radially outward from the given point (Richard: Fig. 1 above; noting essentially all of these limitations are inherent).
Regarding claim 9, it is noted that the combined Lin and Richards do not specifically disclose that the thickness T is from about 0.050 inches to about 0.10 inches. However, Richard: Fig. 1 above, clearly discloses that there is some inherent thickness T. In addition, regarding the exact thickness measurement, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, pars. [0016] and [0038]; neither paragraph giving criticality to the exact dimensions). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact thickness T would not make the claimed invention perform differently: that is, the ring-secure plate would create a strong joint between the two hemispheres regardless of its exact thickness T.
Regarding claim 10, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the width W of the ring-shaped securing plate is the same as a thickness TMS of each mating surface (Richards: Fig. 1 above). It is noted that the combined Lin and Richards do not specifically disclose that the ring is less than the TMS by up to about 10%. However, regarding the exact W value as compared to the TMS, it has been held that if a change in the relative dimensions over the prior does not make the claimed invention perform differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984)(see applicant’s spec, par. [0019]/[0041] and [0020]/[0042]; the latter paragraphs stating that “width W of the ring-shape securing plate is the same as a thickness TMS” which negates any criticality to having less than about 10%). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the exact W of the ring as compared to the TMS would not make the claimed invention perform differently: that is, the ring-secure plate would create a strong joint between the two hemispheres regardless of its exact W value as compared to the cover TMS thickness.
Regarding claim 11, the combined Lin and Richards discloses that the ring-shaped securing plate is cured sufficiently to crosslink with each of the first mating surface of the first half-shell and the second mating surface of the second half-shell while the three outer core components are compression molded about the solid spherical inner core component (Richards: page 1, lines 80-106; clearly disclosing uniting of the ring and half-shells by heat and compression, and Lin: par. [0051]; clearly disclosing “cross-linking” of rubber for the outer core, as such, the limitation would be obvious when applying the technique in Richards to an outer core of Lin that is made of rubber).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
7/14/26