DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed March 12, 2026, the rejections of claims 11 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previously presented in the Office Action sent January 12, 2026 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed March 12, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-6 and 8-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously presented in the Office Action sent January 12, 2026 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20160010198 A included in Applicant submitted IDS filed September 25, 2024) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0165855 A1) and Murao et al. (WO 2013/100085 A1).
With regard to claims 1, 4, 10, 11, and 13, Kim et al. discloses a solar cell and method of manufacturing, comprising:
forming a semiconductor substrate (such as 20/110, Fig. 5);
forming a first conductivity-type region formed on a first surface of the semiconductor substrate and composed of a polycrystalline silicon layer having an n-type conductivity (first conductivity-type region 32 depicted in Fig. 5 as on a first bottom/rear surface of the cited semiconductor substrate 20/110; see [0026] teaching polycrystalline silicon; see [0027] teaching cited first conductivity type region can be “n-type”);
forming a first passivation layer (such as first passivation layer 40 depicted in Fig. 5 as on the cited first conductivity-type region 32) including:
forming a first aluminum oxide layer positioned on the first conductivity-type region and having hydrogen (such depicted in Fig. 5, a first aluminum oxide layer 40 positioned on the cited first conductivity-type region 32; see [0005] teaching “aluminum oxide containing hydrogen”), and
forming a second conductivity-type region formed at or on a second surface of the semiconductor substrate and having a p-type conductivity (a second conductivity-type region, such as the top half of 110 which constitutes a doped region apart of the semiconductor substrate, depicted in Fig. 5 as at a second top surface of the cited semiconductor substrate; see [0017] teaching 110 can be p-type);
forming a second passivation layer (24/26, Fig. 5) including
forming a second aluminum oxide layer positioned on the second conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig. 5, a second aluminum oxide layer 24 positioned on the cited second conductivity-type region, top half of 110; see [0005] teaching “aluminum oxide”; see [0037] teaching first and second aluminum oxide layers have same material and structure/thickness), and
forming a second dielectric layer positioned on the second aluminum oxide layer and including a material different from the second aluminum oxide layer (such as depicted in Fig. 5, a second dielectric layer 26 positioned on the cited second aluminum oxide layer 24; see [0072] teaching the cited dielectric layer 26 can be a silicon nitride film which is a material different from the cited second aluminum oxide layer), where
the first aluminum oxide layer serves as a hydrogen implantation layer and second aluminum oxide layer serves as a hydrogen implantation layer (the cited first and second aluminum oxide layers 40/24 are cited to read on the structural requirements of the claimed “serves as a hydrogen implantation layer” because the cited first and second aluminum oxide layers are disclosed to contain aluminum oxide and hydrogen, see [0005], and because the hydrogen in the cited first and second aluminum oxide layers are implanted into the surface of the semiconductor substrate, see [0096-0097]);
forming a first electrode passing through the first passivation layer and electrically connected to the first conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig. 5, a first electrode 42 passing through the cited first passivation layer 40 and electrically connected to the cited first conductivity-type region 32); and
forming a second electrode passing through the second passivation layer and electrically connected to the second conductivity-type region (such as depicted in Fig . 5, a second electrode 44 passing through the cited second passivation layer 24/26 and electrically connected to the cited second conductivity-type region, top half of 110).
Kim et al. does not disclose wherein the first passivation layer includes a first dielectric layer positioned on the first aluminum oxide layer and including a material different from the first aluminum oxide layer, wherein the material different from the first aluminum oxide layer includes silicon nitride, silicon oxide, or silicon oxynitride.
However, Sun et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches a first dielectric layer (108b, Fig. 2) positioned on a first aluminum oxide layer (106b and see [0026]) and including a material different from the first aluminum oxide layer 106b, wherein the first dielectric layer includes silicon nitride (see [0028]).
Sun et al. teaches the first dielectric layer 108b provides for anti-reflection (see [0028]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first passivation layer in the method of Kim et al. to include a first dielectric layer, as suggested by Sun et al., because it would have provided for anti-reflection.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the first aluminum oxide layer an the second aluminum oxide layer are further formed on a side surface of the semiconductor substrate and the first aluminum oxide layer and the second aluminum oxide layer have a shape continuously connected to each other.
However, Murao et al. discloses a solar cell and method (see Title and Abstract) and teaches not only can the semiconductor substrate 1 have a first aluminum oxide layer 8 on the front surface 10a and a second aluminum oxide layer 9on the back surface 10b, but the aluminum oxide layer 11 can extend to a side surface 10c of the semiconductor substrate 1 having a shape continuously connected in order to reduce generation of leakage current (see [0030-0031] and Fig. 3).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the aluminum oxide layer in the solar cell and method of Kim et al., as modified above, to include forming the aluminum oxide layer on a side surface of the semiconductor substrate to have a shape continuously connected, as suggested by Murao et al., because it would have provided reduced generation of leakage current.
With regard to claim 2, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein
the second aluminum oxide layer serves as a fixed charge passivation layer (the cited second aluminum oxide layer 24/26 is cited to read on the claimed “serves as a fixed charge passivation layer” because it is a passivating layer providing a fixed negative charge, see [0018]).
With regard to claim 3, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein
the second aluminum oxide layer implements fixed charge passivation by a negative fixed charge (the cited second aluminum oxide layer 24/26 is cited to read on the claimed “implements fixed charge passivation by a negative fixed charge” because it is a passivating layer providing a fixed negative charge, see [0018]).
With regard to claims 5 and 12, independent claims 1 and 10 are obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein the thickness of the first/second aluminum oxide layer is less than a thickness of the first/second dielectric layer.
However, the thickness of the first/second aluminum oxide layer and thickness of the first/second dielectric layer are result effective variables directly affecting the material cost and optical properties of the layers.
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the thickness of the first/second aluminum oxide layer and thickness of the first/second dielectric layer in the solar cell of Kim et al., as modified above, and arrive at the claimed range through routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05); especially since it would have led to optimizing the material cost and optical properties of the layers.
With regard to claim 6, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
a hydrogen content per unit volume in the first aluminum oxide layer is greater than a hydrogen content per unit volume in the first dielectric layer (the cited first aluminum oxide layer 40 of Kim et al. includes hydrogen which is cited to provide for a greater content per unit volume than the cited first dielectric layer of silicon nitride).
With regard to claim 8, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the first surface of the semiconductor substrate is a rear surface of the semiconductor substrate (as depicted in Fig. 5, the cited first bottom/rear surface of the cited semiconductor substrate is a rear surface of the cited semiconductor substrate);
the first electrode includes a plurality of finger electrodes extending in one direction (as depicted in Fig. 5 and Fig. 6, the cited first electrode 44 includes a plurality of finger electrodes extending in one direction); and
the first dielectric layer functions as an anti-reflection film (recall the cited first dielectric layer including silicon nitride material).
With regard to claims 9 and 17, dependent claim 8 and independent claim 13 are obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
the second conductivity-type region is composed of a doped region constituting a part of the semiconductor substrate (as depicted in Fig. 5, the cited second conductivity-type region, top half of 110, is composed of a doped region constituting a part of the cited semiconductor substrate), and
forming the first aluminum oxide layer and the second aluminum oxide layer having the same material, composition, and thickness together by a same process (see [0037] teaching first and second aluminum oxide layers have same material and structure/thickness).
With regard to claim 14, independent claim 13 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein
the first aluminum oxide layer is formed by an atomic layer deposition method or a plasma-induced chemical vapor deposition method (see [0006]).
With regard to claim 15, independent claim 13 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al., as modified above, discloses wherein
hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate, by performing an annealing process in at least one of the forming the passivation layer and the forming the electrode (see [0096-0097] teaching “heat treatment” during formation of cited first and second passivation layers, cited to read on the claimed “annealing process”, and teaching hydrogen (H), etc. diffuses into the inside of the semiconductor substrate).
With regard to claim 18, independent claim 13 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Kim et al. discloses wherein
the process of the forming the second dielectric layer includes a first annealing process in which hydrogen included in the first aluminum oxide layer is implanted into at least one of the first conductivity-type region and the semiconductor substrate (see [0096-0097] teaching “heat treatment” cited to read on the claimed “first annealing process” which hydrogen (H), etc. diffuses into the inside of the semiconductor substrate).
Kim et al. does not teach wherein in the forming the passivation layer, the process of the forming the first dielectric layer is performed after the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed.
However, the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C); especially since the claimed order is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being the process of the forming the first dielectric layer after, before, and/or at the same time as the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed (note MPEP 2143 E).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried performing the process of the forming the first dielectric layer after the process of forming the second dielectric layer is performed because the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C).
With regard to claim 19, dependent claim 18 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al. does not teach wherein after performing the first annealing process, a deposition process of the first dielectric layer is performed.
However, the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C); especially since the claimed order is one in a finite number of immediately recognizable options, finite options being after, before, and/or at the same time of performing the first annealing process, the deposition process of the first dielectric layer is performed (note MPEP 2143 E).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have tried a deposition process of the first dielectric layer after performing the first annealing process because the selection of any order of performing process steps provides a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C).
With regard to claim 20, independent claim 1 is obvious over Kim et al. in view of Sun et al. and Murao et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not disclose wherein a silicon oxide layer is positioned between the first conductivity-type region and the first passivation layer and having an uneven surface.
However, Sun et al. discloses a solar cell (see Title and Abstract) and teaches further comprising a silicon oxide layer (104b, Fig. 2) positioned between a first conductivity-type region of semiconductor substrate 102 and a first passivation layer 106b.
Sun et al. teaches the silicon oxide layer provides enhanced surface passivation effect and carrier lifetime (see Abstract).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the solar cell of Kim et al., as modified above, to include a silicon oxide layer, as suggested by Sun et al., because it would have provided for enhanced surface passivation effect and carrier lifetime.
Kim et al., as modified above, does not teach wherein the silicon oxide layer has an uneven surface.
However, Kim et al. teaches a textured/uneven surface reduces reflectivity of light (see [0020] and see Fig. 5 depicting textured/uneven top surface of 110 and each subsequent layer 24/26 including the textured/uneven surface). Kim et al. teaches the cited first bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate can also be textured (see [0021]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have textured the cited first bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate and each subsequent layer, including the cited silicon oxide layer, in the method of Kim et al., as modified above, because it would have provided for reduced reflectivity of light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant notes the newly added claimed limitations are not found within the previously cited prior art references. However, this argument is addressed in the rejections of the claims above.
Conclusion
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 March 17, 2026