DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on . The disposition of claims is as follows:
Pending:
Rejected:
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is hereby made of receipt of the Information Disclosure Statement(s) filed by the Applicant listed below:
September 25, 2024
May 30, 2025
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
in claim
in claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contain(s) subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim ,
Claim limitation “.” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The specification fails to provide adequate written description of a corresponding structure used to accomplish the function performed by the “”. A mere restatement of function associated with a means-plus-function limitation in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function fails to provide adequate written description. One skilled in the art would not understand the specification itself to disclose a structure capable of accomplishing the function corresponding to the claimed means-plus-function limitation “” (See MPEP §§2163(II)(A)(3)(¶7), 2181(IV)(¶3)) (See Aristocrat Techs. Australia PTY Ltd. v. Int’l Game Tech., 521 F.3d 1328, 1336-37, 86 USPQ2d 1235, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2008) ("consideration of the understanding of one skilled in the art in no way relieves the patentee of adequately disclosing sufficient structure in the specification.' It is not enough for the patentee simply to state or later argue that persons of ordinary skill in the art would know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function."), quoting Atmel Corp. v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1380, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1229 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technologies Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 953, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007) ("The inquiry is whether one of skill in the art would understand the specification itself to disclose a structure, not simply whether that person would be capable of implementing a structure."). Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness. See, e.g., Noah, 675 F.3d at 1317, 102 USPQ2d at 1419; Blackboard, 574 F.3d at 1384; Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1334, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. It follows therefore, that such a mere restatement of function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function would also likely fail to provide adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). Claimed subject matter should be described in the specification in such a manner as to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention.
Regarding Claim ,
Claim limitation “.” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The specification fails to provide adequate written description of a corresponding structure used to accomplish the function performed by the “”. A mere restatement of function associated with a means-plus-function limitation in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function fails to provide adequate written description. One skilled in the art would not understand the specification itself to disclose a structure capable of accomplishing the function corresponding to the claimed means-plus-function limitation “” (See MPEP §§2163(II)(A)(3)(¶7), 2181(IV)(¶3)) (See Aristocrat Techs. Australia PTY Ltd. v. Int’l Game Tech., 521 F.3d 1328, 1336-37, 86 USPQ2d 1235, 1242 (Fed. Cir. 2008) ("consideration of the understanding of one skilled in the art in no way relieves the patentee of adequately disclosing sufficient structure in the specification.' It is not enough for the patentee simply to state or later argue that persons of ordinary skill in the art would know what structures to use to accomplish the claimed function."), quoting Atmel Corp. v. Information Storage Devices, Inc., 198 F.3d 1374, 1380, 53 USPQ2d 1225, 1229 (Fed. Cir. 1999); Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technologies Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 953, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007) ("The inquiry is whether one of skill in the art would understand the specification itself to disclose a structure, not simply whether that person would be capable of implementing a structure."). Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness. See, e.g., Noah, 675 F.3d at 1317, 102 USPQ2d at 1419; Blackboard, 574 F.3d at 1384; Aristocrat, 521 F.3d at 1334, 86 USPQ2d at 1239. It follows therefore, that such a mere restatement of function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function would also likely fail to provide adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a). Claimed subject matter should be described in the specification in such a manner as to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention.
Regarding Claim ,
The claims ultimately depend from a claim that fails to comply with the written description requirement and is/are rejected for depending therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(b)
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim ,
Claim limitation “.” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness. (See MPEP §§2163(II)(A)(3)(¶7), 2181(IV)(¶¶3-4)). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding Claim ,
Claim limitation “.” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness. (See MPEP §§2163(II)(A)(3)(¶7), 2181(IV)(¶¶3-4)). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of
Regarding Dependent Claims ,
The claims ultimately depend from a claim that includes indefinite subject matter and are rejected for depending therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being by (), hereinafter “”.
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
A vehicle control device comprising:
a recognizer configured to recognize a surrounding situation of a host vehicle; See at least ¶¶; Fig 2
a driving state detector configured to detect a driving state of an occupant of the host vehicle; See at least ¶¶ and
a controller () configured to execute steering control of moving the host vehicle to a center of a traveling lane when determination is made that an obstacle is present in front of the host vehicle, based on the surrounding situation, See at least ¶¶ (Examiner notes that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, white lane lines can fairly be interpreted as an obstacle) and
stop the steering control of moving the host vehicle to the center of the traveling lane when a steering amount of the occupant detected by the driving state detector is equal to or greater than a threshold, See at least ¶¶ (Examiner notes that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, white lane lines can fairly be interpreted as an obstacle)
wherein the controller changes the threshold according to whether a steering direction of the occupant is a forward direction or a backward direction with respect to steering by the steering control. See at least ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
wherein the threshold includes a first threshold set for the forward direction, and a second threshold set for the backward direction, and the second threshold is set to a value smaller than the first threshold. See at least ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
A vehicle control method comprising: by a computer,
recognizing a surrounding situation of a host vehicle; See at least ¶¶; Fig 2
detecting a driving state of an occupant of the host vehicle; See at least ¶¶
executing steering control of moving the host vehicle to a center of a traveling lane when determination is made that an obstacle is present in front of the host vehicle, based on the surrounding situation; See at least ¶¶ (Examiner notes that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, white lane lines can fairly be interpreted as an obstacle)
stopping the steering control of moving the host vehicle to the center of the traveling lane when a steering amount of the occupant is equal to or greater than a threshold; See at least ¶¶ and
changing the threshold according to whether a steering direction of the occupant is a forward direction or a backward direction with respect to steering by the steering control. See at least ¶¶
Regarding Claim ,
disclose:
BA computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to:
recognize a surrounding situation of a host vehicle; See at least ¶¶; Fig 2
detect a driving state of an occupant of the host vehicle; See at least ¶¶
execute steering control of moving the host vehicle to a center of a traveling lane when determination is made that an obstacle is present in front of the host vehicle, based on the surrounding situation; See at least ¶¶ (Examiner notes that under a broadest reasonable interpretation, white lane lines can fairly be interpreted as an obstacle)
stop the steering control of moving the host vehicle to the center of the traveling lane when a steering amount of the occupant is equal to or greater than a threshold; See at least ¶¶ and
change the threshold according to whether a steering direction of the occupant is a forward direction or a backward direction with respect to steering by the steering control. See at least ¶¶
Special Definitions for Claim Language - MPEP § 2111.01(III)-(IV)
No special definitions are seen as present in the specification regarding the language used in the claims. Consequently, the words and phrases of the claims are given the plain meaning to a person of ordinary skill in the art. (See MPEP §§ 2173.01, 2173.05(a), and 2111.01).
If special definitions are present, Applicant should bring them to the attention of the Examiner and the prosecution history in the next response.
To date, Applicant has provided no indication of special definitions.
Terminology
The Examiner notes that the following terms are utilized in Applicant’s specification as follows:
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶¶
:
See Instant PgPub: ¶¶
References Cited
R1: ()
Examiner Interviews
Regular Examiner Interview Requests:
Pursuant to USPTO Guidance, one Examiner interview per round of prosecution is available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant may call Examiner Reinbold directly at 313-446-6607 (preferred) or use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Logan Kraft, can be reached on 571-270-5065. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Additional Examiner Interview Requests:
If Applicant needs more than one Examiner interview during a single round of prosecution, applicant may request approval for additional examiner interview(s) from Examiner Reinbold’s Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE), Logan Kraft, who can be reached at 571-270-5065.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is provided on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
() discloses:
According to another advantageous feature of the present invention, the warning and the intervention itself may be carried out in a cascaded fashion, by … outputting in a third stage a steering torque that is directed back to the lane center See at least ¶¶
() disclose:
setting a left threshold when the steering wheel is rotated in the left direction and a right threshold when the steering wheel is rotated in the right direction as thresholds for canceling autonomous steering control of a vehicle, making the right threshold higher than the left threshold when the turning direction of steerable wheels of the vehicle is the left direction, and making the left threshold higher than the right threshold when the turning direction is the right direction. See at least ¶¶
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entirety of identified prior art references as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is noted that any citations to specific pages, paragraph numbers, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references presented and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2123. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SCOTT A REINBOLD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747