DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on 1-20.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 25, 2024 and October 0, 2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kojima (U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0042781 A1).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a server (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the server 5), comprising:
a communication component configured to communicate with a printer (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the Communication I/F 53);
a storage component configured to store a first value which is the number of executed print jobs per day associated with a user, and a second value which is a battery voltage consumption per print job associated with the user (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the storage 52 with DB; and further in para. 108, disclose that “[0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate…”; also see para. 110-115 and etc.); and
a controller configured to receive a battery voltage of the printer via the communication component when the user logs in to the printer, predict a printable state of the printer based on the first value, the second value, and the battery voltage, and transmit a result of the prediction to the printer via the communication component (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the Control Unit 51, and further in para. 107-109 and etc., disclose that “[0107] The control unit 51 is comprised of a microcomputer and memories (namely, a RAM and a ROM) to control operations of the server 5. The microcomputer loads from the ROM and executes a program when the server 5 is powered on. [0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate. [0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate. [0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user. ..”; finally, see para. 106-110, discloses that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user. [0110] The communication interface 53 has a communication circuit for communicating with the printer 1A.”).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the server according to claim 1, wherein the controller receives a usage status via the communication component when the user logs out from the printer, and updates the first value and the second value (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 108-109, fig. 12 and etc., disclose that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the server according to claim 2, wherein the controller updates, as the first value, a maximum number of executed print jobs per day for a certain period for the user (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 100, 109 and etc., disclose that “[0100] In an embodiment, during a non-printing period, the control unit 11 may control display unit 17 to display a number-of-labels-issuable, when a decrease ratio of remaining battery capacity of the battery BT is greater than a predetermined value (an example of a second value). For example, in a state in which a voltage of the battery BT has relatively largely decreased in a short period of time due to help videos played consecutively, etc., a number-of-labels-issuable is displayed, which allows a user to remind the number-of-labels-issuable…”, and “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user.”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the server according to claim 1, wherein the controller receives the number of battery charge/discharge counts from the printer via the communication component when the result of the prediction indicates that printing is not possible, and transmits a message based on comparison between the number of battery charge/discharge counts and a threshold value to the printer via the communication component (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 8, steps S28, S30-S36 and etc.; further in fig. 9-10, para. 96-98 and etc., disclose that “[0096] If the decrease in the remaining battery capacity is greater than the predetermined value (Step S30: YES), the control unit 11 computes a number-of-labels-issuable (Step S32) and controls the display unit 17 to display the computed number-of-labels-issuable (Step S34). In an example shown in FIG. 9, the decrease in the remaining battery capacity reaches a predetermined value TH at a time “tx” and the display unit 17 then displays the number-of-labels-issuable. [0097] FIG. 10 represents an example of images displayed at Step S34. [0098] FIG. 10 shows an example of a screen image G10 on which a help video is played by a user. If the decrease in the remaining battery capacity is greater than the predetermined value while the help video is played, a screen image G11 is displayed that includes a window W1 indicating a number-of-labels-issuable. A displaying period (that is, a duration time during which the number-of-labels-issuable is displayed) may be, but not limited to, a period that is recognizable by a user.”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the server according to claim 1, wherein the storage component is further configured to store a usage history list for each user (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 109 and etc., disclose that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to a method of operating a printer, the method comprising:
storing a first value of a number of executed print jobs per day associated with a user, and a second value of a battery voltage consumption per print job associated with the user (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the storage 52 with DB; and further in para. 108, disclose that “[0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate…”; also see para. 110-115 and etc.); and
receiving a battery voltage of the printer when the user logs in to the printer, predicting a printable state of the printer based on the first value, the second value, and the battery voltage, and transmitting a result of the prediction to the printer (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the Control Unit 51, and further in para. 107-109 and etc., disclose that “[0107] The control unit 51 is comprised of a microcomputer and memories (namely, a RAM and a ROM) to control operations of the server 5. The microcomputer loads from the ROM and executes a program when the server 5 is powered on. [0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate. [0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate. [0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user. ..”; finally, see para. 106-110, discloses that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user. [0110] The communication interface 53 has a communication circuit for communicating with the printer 1A.”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to the method according to claim 7, further comprising: receiving a usage status via the communication component when the user logs out from the printer, and updating the first value and the second value (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 108-109, fig. 12 and etc., disclose that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the method according to claim 8, further comprising: updating, as the first value, a maximum number of executed print jobs per day for a certain period for the user (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 100, 109 and etc., disclose that “[0100] In an embodiment, during a non-printing period, the control unit 11 may control display unit 17 to display a number-of-labels-issuable, when a decrease ratio of remaining battery capacity of the battery BT is greater than a predetermined value (an example of a second value). For example, in a state in which a voltage of the battery BT has relatively largely decreased in a short period of time due to help videos played consecutively, etc., a number-of-labels-issuable is displayed, which allows a user to remind the number-of-labels-issuable…”, and “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user.”).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the method according to claim 7, further comprising: receiving the number of battery charge/discharge counts from the printer when the result of the prediction indicates that printing is not possible, and transmitting a message based on comparison between the number of battery charge/discharge counts and a threshold value to the printer (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 8, steps S28, S30-S36 and etc.; further in fig. 9-10, para. 96-98 and etc., disclose that “[0096] If the decrease in the remaining battery capacity is greater than the predetermined value (Step S30: YES), the control unit 11 computes a number-of-labels-issuable (Step S32) and controls the display unit 17 to display the computed number-of-labels-issuable (Step S34). In an example shown in FIG. 9, the decrease in the remaining battery capacity reaches a predetermined value TH at a time “tx” and the display unit 17 then displays the number-of-labels-issuable. [0097] FIG. 10 represents an example of images displayed at Step S34. [0098] FIG. 10 shows an example of a screen image G10 on which a help video is played by a user. If the decrease in the remaining battery capacity is greater than the predetermined value while the help video is played, a screen image G11 is displayed that includes a window W1 indicating a number-of-labels-issuable. A displaying period (that is, a duration time during which the number-of-labels-issuable is displayed) may be, but not limited to, a period that is recognizable by a user.”).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to the method according to claim 7, further comprising: storing a usage history list for each user (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 109 and etc., disclose that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”).
With regard to claim 13, the claim is drawn to a printing system comprising a plurality of printers, a plurality of user terminals, and at least one server, the server comprises:
a communication component configured to communicate with the plurality of printers;
a storage component configured to store a first value which is the number of executed print jobs per day associated with a user, and a second value which is a battery voltage consumption per print job associated with the user (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the storage 52 with DB; and further in para. 108, disclose that “[0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate…”; also see para. 110-115 and etc.); and
a controller configured to receive a battery voltage of a designated printer via the communication component when the user logs in to the designated printer, predict a printable state of the designated printer based on the first value, the second value, and the battery voltage, and transmit a result of the prediction to the designated printer via the communication component (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 11, disclose the Control Unit 51, and further in para. 107-109 and etc., disclose that “[0107] The control unit 51 is comprised of a microcomputer and memories (namely, a RAM and a ROM) to control operations of the server 5. The microcomputer loads from the ROM and executes a program when the server 5 is powered on. [0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate. [0108] The storage 52 (an example of a storage), which may be a device such as a hard disk drive (HDD), stores a label database exemplified in FIG. 12. As shown in FIG. 12, the label database includes, for example, a value for each of fields “Tag ID”, “Label type”, and “Voltage consumed per single label” in each record. Note that a record may be added to the label database as appropriate. [0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user. ..”; finally, see para. 106-110, discloses that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user. [0110] The communication interface 53 has a communication circuit for communicating with the printer 1A.”).
With regard to claim 14, the claim is drawn to the printing system according to claim 13, wherein the controller receives a usage status via the communication component when the user logs out from the designated printer, and updates the first value and the second value (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 108-109, fig. 12 and etc., disclose that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”).
With regard to claim 15, the claim is drawn to the printing system according to claim 14, wherein the controller updates, as the first value, a maximum number of executed print jobs per day for a certain period for the user (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 100, 109 and etc., disclose that “[0100] In an embodiment, during a non-printing period, the control unit 11 may control display unit 17 to display a number-of-labels-issuable, when a decrease ratio of remaining battery capacity of the battery BT is greater than a predetermined value (an example of a second value). For example, in a state in which a voltage of the battery BT has relatively largely decreased in a short period of time due to help videos played consecutively, etc., a number-of-labels-issuable is displayed, which allows a user to remind the number-of-labels-issuable…”, and “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user.”).
With regard to claim 16, the claim is drawn to the printing system according to claim 13, wherein the controller receives the number of battery charge/discharge counts from the designated printer via the communication component when the result of the prediction indicates that printing is not possible, and transmits a message based on comparison between the number of battery charge/discharge counts and a threshold value to the designated printer via the communication component (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 8, steps S28, S30-S36 and etc.; further in fig. 9-10, para. 96-98 and etc., disclose that “[0096] If the decrease in the remaining battery capacity is greater than the predetermined value (Step S30: YES), the control unit 11 computes a number-of-labels-issuable (Step S32) and controls the display unit 17 to display the computed number-of-labels-issuable (Step S34). In an example shown in FIG. 9, the decrease in the remaining battery capacity reaches a predetermined value TH at a time “tx” and the display unit 17 then displays the number-of-labels-issuable. [0097] FIG. 10 represents an example of images displayed at Step S34. [0098] FIG. 10 shows an example of a screen image G10 on which a help video is played by a user. If the decrease in the remaining battery capacity is greater than the predetermined value while the help video is played, a screen image G11 is displayed that includes a window W1 indicating a number-of-labels-issuable. A displaying period (that is, a duration time during which the number-of-labels-issuable is displayed) may be, but not limited to, a period that is recognizable by a user.”).
With regard to claim 17, the claim is drawn to the printing system according to claim 13, wherein the storage component is further configured to store a usage history list for each user (see Kojima, i.e. in para. 109 and etc., disclose that “[0109] Considering that a layout of a printed content may be different and a voltage consumed per single label may therefore vary for each user, the label database may be preferably provided for each user. The server 5 may obtain, from the printer 1A, the past result of a voltage consumed per single label for a user, to update the database for each user…”).
With regard to claim 19, the claim is drawn to the printing system according to claim 13, wherein at least one printer is a portable device with a built-in battery (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 1A, 1B, para. 20 and etc., disclose that “[0020] A printer having a rechargeable battery will be described below. The printer is configured to display a number of print media issuable, with remaining battery capacity of the battery…”).
With regard to claim 20, the claim is drawn to the printing system according to claim 13, wherein each of the plurality of printers is a portable device with a built-in battery (see Kojima, i.e. in fig. 1A, 1B, para. 20 and etc., disclose that “[0020] A printer having a rechargeable battery will be described below. The printer is configured to display a number of print media issuable, with remaining battery capacity of the battery…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claim 6, 12 and 18, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 6, the closest prior arts of record, Kojima, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “… the server according to claim 5, wherein the usage history list comprises an average start voltage, an average end voltage, an average voltage difference, a number of executed print jobs, and an average voltage consumption per job ”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Kojima.
With regard to claim 12, the closest prior arts of record, Kojima, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “… the method according to claim 11, wherein the usage history list comprises an average start voltage, an average end voltage, an average voltage difference, a number of executed print jobs, and an average voltage consumption per job. ”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Kojima.
With regard to claim 18, the closest prior arts of record, Kojima, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “… the printing system according to claim 17, wherein the usage history list comprises an average start voltage, an average end voltage, an average voltage difference, a number of executed print jobs, and an average voltage consumption per job”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by Kojima.
Therefore, claims 6, 12 and 18 are objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Douthat et al. (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2018/0316815 A1) disclose an invention relates to a point-of-sale (POS) device includes a processor, a battery, a transaction object reader, a printer with a printer controller, and optionally a temperature sensor (see para. 14, 19, claim 1 and etc.).
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681