DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on September 25, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-15 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the rotor". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites a "fan" comprising a motor of claim 1, but does not recite any additional limitations of said motor. Thus, the claim does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated EUNJI (KR 20210075937 A).
Regarding claim 1, EUNJI teaches:
A motor (Fig 3; 20) comprising:
a shaft(Fig 3; 23);
a bearing(Fig 3; 24); and
a holding member (Fig 3; 112/174) configured to hold the bearing(Fig 3; 24)[abstract], wherein the holding member(Fig 3; 112/174) includes a protruding part (Fig 3; 112a/174a)protruding toward the shaft(Fig 3; 23),
the bearing (Fig 3; 24)and the protruding part (Fig 3; 112a/174a)are away from each other in an axial direction(axial gap shown in detail of Fig 3, also in Fig 4/5 of EUNJI), and
the protruding part (Fig 3; 112a/174a)and the shaft(Fig 3; 23) are away from each other in a radial direction(radial gap shown in detail of Fig 3, also in Fig 4/5 of EUNJI).
Regarding claim 2, EUNJI teaches the motor according to claim 1:
wherein a gap part(Fig 4; G1) is disposed between the bearing (Fig 4; 24)and the protruding part (Fig 4; 112a)in the axial direction, and
the gap part (Fig 4; G1)communicates with an outside of the motor through a space between an end part of the protruding part (Fig 4; 112a)at an inner side in the radial direction and the shaft(Fig 4; 23)(outside gap shown in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, EUNJI teaches the motor according to claim 1:
comprising a rotor, wherein in the axial direction, the rotor(Fig 3; 31)(the present application used the terms rotor, weight, and impeller to mean substantially the same structure even though the terms are known in the art to be separate elements; thus, for ease of understanding impeller 31 of EUNJI is referred to as the “rotor”) is fixed at one side of the shaft(Fig 3; 23)[0087], and the protruding part (Fig 3; 112a)is disposed at the other side of the shaft(Fig 3; 23).
Regarding claim 4, EUNJI teaches the motor according to claim 3:
wherein a distance between the protruding part (Fig 3; 112a)and the bearing(Fig 3; 24) is shorter than a distance between the holding member (Fig 3; 112)and the rotor in the axial direction(The distance in Fig 3 is significant shorter).
Regarding claim 5, EUNJI teaches the motor according to claim 1:
wherein the bearing (Fig 4; 24) includes an outer ring (Fig 4; 241)held by the holding member(Fig 4; 112), and
the end part of the protruding part (Fig 4; 112a)at the inner side in the radial direction is disposed at an inner side with respect to the outer ring(Fig 4; 241) in the radial direction.
Regarding claim 6, EUNJI teaches:
A fan (Fig 1; 30)comprising:
the motor (Fig 1; 20)according to claim 1; and
an impeller (Fig 1; 31) disposed at one side of the shaft(Fig 1; 23) [0038-0040].
Regarding claim 7, EUNJI teaches:
A bearing device comprising:
a bearing(Fig 3; 24); and
a holding member (Fig 3; 112/174)configured to hold the bearing(Fig 3; 24)[abstract], wherein the holding member (Fig 3; 112/174) includes a protruding part (Fig 3; 112a/174a)protruding toward an inner side in a radial direction,
the bearing (Fig 3; 24) and the protruding part (Fig 3; 112a/174a)are away from each other in an axial direction(Fig 4; G1), and
an end part of the protruding part (Fig 3; 112a/174a)at the inner side in the radial direction is a free end(radial gap shown in detail of Fig 3, also in Fig 4/5 of EUNJI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EUNJI (KR 20210075937 A) in view of MAKOTO (JP H0217957 U).
In regards to claim 8, EUNJI teaches:
A motor(Fig 3; 20) comprising:
a shaft(Fig 3; 23);
a weight (Fig 3; 30) (the present application used the terms rotor, weight, and impeller to mean substantially the same structure even though the terms are known in the art to be separate elements; thus, for ease of understanding impeller 31 of EUNJI is referred to as the “weight”) disposed at one side of the shaft(Fig 3; 23);
a first bearing (Fig 3; 24)disposed at the one side of the shaft(Fig 3; 23);
a second bearing (Fig 3; 24)disposed at the other side of the shaft(Fig 3; 23); and
an elastic member (Fig 3; 25)
wherein the first bearing (Fig 4; 24)includes an inner ring (Fig 4; 243)supported by the shaft(Fig 4; 23), and
the weight (Fig 3; 30) includes a part at an outer side with respect to the inner ring(Fig 3; 243) of the first bearing (Fig 3; 24)in a radial direction.
EUNJI does not teach:
an elastic member disposed between the second bearing and the shaft.
MAKOTO teaches:
an elastic member (Fig 1; 5) disposed between the second bearing (Fig 1; 3)and the shaft(Fig 1; 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify EUNJI by using the elastic member location taught by MAKOTO, in order to prevent the rotating shaft from wobbling the inner ring of the non-load baring side [MAKOTO pg 2; paragraph 1].
Additionally, the Applicant should note that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regards to claim 9, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein the weight (Fig 1; 30)includes an arm part (Fig 1; 313) extending to an outer side in the radial direction, and the arm part (Fig 1; 34)extends to the outer side in the radial direction with respect to the inner ring(Fig 4; 243) of the first bearing.
In regards to claim 10, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein the first bearing (Fig 3; 24)is a ball bearing[abstract].
In regards to claim 11, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein the second bearing (Fig 3; 24) includes an inner ring (Fig 4; 243)supported by the shaft(Fig 4; 23).
EUNJI does not teach:
the elastic member is disposed between the inner ring and the shaft.
MAKOTO teaches:
the elastic member (Fig 1; 5)is disposed between the inner ring (Fig 1; 3)and the shaft(Fig 1; 1).
In regards to claim 12, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein in an axial direction, an end part at the other side of the weight(Fig 3; 30) is disposed at the other side with respect to the first bearing(Fig 3; 24).
In regards to claim 13, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein the first bearing (Fig 3; 24)is in direct contact with the shaft (Fig 3; 23)in the radial direction.
In regards to claim 14, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein the weight (Fig 3; 30)is a rotor(the present application used the terms rotor, weight, and impeller to mean substantially the same structure even though the terms are known in the art to be separate elements; thus, for ease of understanding impeller 31 of EUNJI is referred to as the “weight”).
In regards to claim 15, EUNJI in view of MAKOTO, teaches the motor according to claim 8:
wherein: the motor(Fig 3; 20) is a fan motor including an impeller[abstract], and
the weight (Fig 3; 30)is the impeller(the present application used the terms rotor, weight, and impeller to mean substantially the same structure even though the terms are known in the art to be separate elements; thus, for ease of understanding impeller 31 of EUNJI is referred to as the “weight”).
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834