DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 9/25/2024 and 1/23/2025 have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 9/25/2024 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 13, each states “determine whether there exists a current need to decide at least one target beam”. It is unclear to the Examiner what is meant by “decide at least one target beam”. This seems to be a borderline abstract idea, like “thinking about a decision” but not actually performing the step of the decision, but this could simply be due to the confusion in “decide at least one target beam”. Accordingly, it is not clear to the Examiner what step is actually occurring.
Additionally, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “determine whether there exists a current need to decide at least one target beam” could simply be there is no need. Continuing, “determining whether a current satellite trajectory information is expired to decide whether to generate a current satellite trajectory information estimate” could be yes or no because it is not clear to the Examiner which answer leads to the generation of “a current satellite trajectory information estimate”.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 are rejected for being dependent upon, inheriting and failing to correct the deficiencies of claims 1 and 13.
With specific note to claims 3 and 15, it is additionally unclear what is meant by “when there does not exist a current need to decide the at least one target beam” as similarly discussed above in regards to claims 1 and 13.
With specific note to claims 9 and 21, it is additionally unclear what is meant by “when there exists a current need to decide the at least one target beam” as similarly discussed in regard to claims 1 and 13. Claims 10-12 and 22-24 are additionally rejected for being dependent upon, inheriting and failing to correct the deficiencies of claims 9 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 13, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haley et al. (US-10,601,497 hereinafter, Haley).
Regarding claim 1, Haley teaches a communication method used in a user terminal (Abstract), the communication method comprising:
determining whether there exists a current need to decide at least one target beam to determine whether to receive a satellite payload communication signal from a satellite payload by the at least one target beam; (Col. 19 lines 35-50) and
determining whether a current satellite trajectory information is expired to decide whether to generate a current satellite trajectory information estimate, (Col. 19 lines 45-47)
wherein, the user terminal controls an antenna of the user terminal to communicate with the satellite payload. (Col. 15 lines 44-52)
Regarding claim 2, Haley teaches when the current satellite trajectory information is expired (Col. 9 lines 60-66), generating a current satellite trajectory information estimate and a confidence of the current satellite trajectory information estimate. (Col. 10 lines 22-31 and Col. 19 lines 51-64)
Regarding claim 4, Haley teaches wherein determining whether the current satellite trajectory information is expired comprises:
determining whether a signal-to-noise ratio of the current satellite trajectory information is less than a signal-to-noise ratio threshold; or
determining that the current satellite trajectory information cannot be smoothly interpreted; (Col. 9 lines 60-64) or
in case that the current satellite trajectory information is smoothly interpreted by the user terminal, a difference between the current satellite trajectory information and a historical satellite trajectory information previously obtained is greater than a threshold.
Regarding claim 6, Haley teaches determining whether there exists a current need to receive the satellite payload communication signal. (Col. 19 lines 35-42)
Regarding claim 8, Haley teaches wherein the user terminal determines whether there exists a current need to decide the at least one target beam within a specified period. (Fig. 2A [220, 222 and 225 or No] and Col. 19 lines 35-39)
Regarding claim 13, the limitations of claim 13 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 1. Additional structure can be seen in Fig. 4 – communication device [10], antenna Fig. 4 and Col. 15 line 34, radio frequency module coupled to the antenna to control the antenna (Fig. 4 [410] and Col. 15 lines 44-52), baseband module (Col. 15 lines 44-52 and Fig. 4 [410/412/414/416]).
Regarding claims 14, 16, 18 and 20, the limitations of claims 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claims 2, 4, 6 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haley in view of Rothaar et al. (US-2019/0379446 hereinafter, Rothaar).
Regarding claim 5, Haley teaches the limitations of claim 1 above including GPS information by the user terminal (Col. 5 lines 37-51) through a downlink signal or a terrestrial network (Col. 5 lines 37-51), but differs from the claimed invention by not explicitly reciting obtaining a two-line element set (TLE) information from the satellite payload through a downlink signal or a terrestrial network.
In an analogous art, Rothaar teaches a beam splitting handoff system for tracking satellites (Abstract) that includes receiving GPS location information (Page 7 [0088]) and TLE data for predicting satellite position (Page 3 [0039] and Page 5 [0064]) and obtained from the satellite. (Page 5 [0069])
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to implement the invention of Haley after modifying it to incorporate the ability to receive TLE and GPS data from a satellite of Rothaar since it enables recognizing where an antenna beam should point in order to receive the incoming satellite signal with minimal interruption. (Rothaar Page 5 [0069])
Regarding claim 17, the limitations of claim 17 are rejected as being the same reasons set forth above in claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-10,483,629 to Silva which discloses an antenna beam pointing system for communicating with satellites.
/Matthew C Sams/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646