DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lan et al. (US 20190356349 A1 and Lan hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Lan discloses a method of a user equipment (UE) (i.e. a method for controlling a specific absorption rate of a wireless communications device and a wireless communications device) Para [0007], comprising: performing first data transmission using a first antenna cluster of the UE (i.e. transmitting, by the wireless communications device, a radio frequency signal by using the first antenna) Para [0009] during a first portion of a first radio frequency (RF) exposure duration (i.e. a start moment of the first time period is a moment when the transmit power of the first antenna is greater than the first preset power, and a length of the first time period is less than test duration that is of an SAR test and that is specified in the SAR standard, so that the wireless communications device meets the SAR standard.) Para [0012], the first data transmission using up to a maximum RF exposure limit per RF exposure duration (i.e. the first preset power is equal to or less than transmit power that is of the first antenna and that is corresponding to an SAR upper limit value specified in an SAR standard) Para [0011]; and performing second data transmission using a second antenna cluster of the UE during a second portion of the first RF exposure duration (i.e. stopping transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the second antenna and starting transmitting the radio frequency signal by using another antenna when a second time period elapses, where a start moment of the second time period is a moment of starting transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the second antenna) Para [0015-0016] that is independent from the first portion of the first RF exposure duration ( see whole Figure 4 below; i.e. a start moment of the second time period is a moment of starting transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the second antenna) Para [0016], the second data transmission using up to the maximum RF exposure limit per RF exposure duration (i.e. the second antenna may be prevented from causing an SAR value of the wireless communications device to exceed a limit) Para [0019]; wherein a separation distance between the first antenna cluster and the second antenna cluster meets a minimum threshold (i.e. where the wireless communications device includes a first antenna and a second antenna, a distance between positions of the first antenna and the second antenna in the wireless communications device is greater than a preset spacing) Para [0008 & 0047] for a use of the maximum RF exposure limit per RF exposure duration at each of the first antenna cluster and the second antenna cluster during the first RF exposure duration (i.e. transmitting, by the wireless communications device, a radio frequency signal by using the first antenna and stopping using the first antenna and starting transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the second antenna when transmit power of the first antenna is greater than first preset power and a first time period elapses, where the first preset power is equal to or less than transmit power that is of the first antenna and that is corresponding to an SAR upper limit value specified in an SAR standard; and a start moment of the first time period is a moment when the transmit power of the first antenna is greater than the first preset power, and a length of the first time period needs to meet: when the radio frequency signal is transmitted in the first time period at maximum transmit power of the first antenna, an SAR value at the first antenna is equal to or less than the SAR upper limit value specified in the SAR standard, so that the wireless communications device meets the SAR standard.) Para [0047] and (i.e. When a radio frequency signal is transmitted by using the two antennas, a distance between hotspot areas of generated radio-frequency radiation energy is greater than the measured length of the unit measurement cube on the absorber during an SAR test, so as to prevent antenna radiation energy from being accumulated in a same SAR measurement area.) Para [0151].
Regarding Claim 9, Lan suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in device form rather than method form. Lan also discloses a device (see Figure 2a, elements below; i.e. A wireless communications device 100 includes components such as a radio frequency (Radio Frequency, RF) circuit 1110, a memory 1120, an input unit 1130, a display unit 1140, a sensor 1150, an audio frequency circuit 1160, an antenna 1170, a processor 1180, and a power supply 1190.) Para [0148]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding Claim 17, Lan suggests all the limitations of claim 1 in CRM form rather than method form. Lan also discloses computer readable medium (i.e. the functions may be stored in a computer-readable storage medium) Para [0319]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 10 and Claim 18, Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses identifying the separation distance (i.e. When a radio frequency signal is transmitted by using the two antennas, a distance between hotspot areas of generated radio-frequency radiation energy is greater than the measured length of the unit measurement cube on the absorber during an SAR test, so as to prevent antenna radiation energy from being accumulated in a same SAR measurement area.) Para [0151]; and identifying that the separation distance between the first antenna cluster and the second antenna cluster meets the minimum threshold (i.e. where the wireless communications device includes a first antenna and a second antenna, a distance between positions of the first antenna and the second antenna in the wireless communications device is greater than a preset spacing) Para [0008].
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 11 and Claim 19 Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses wherein the first portion of the first RF exposure duration is of a different duration than the second portion of the first RF exposure duration (See Figures 5A, 5a, 5b, and whole Figure 5b below; i.e. Determine whether the duration of transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the first antenna reaches a length of a first time period, and if the duration of transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the first antenna reaches the length of the first time period, perform step S113, or if the duration of transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the first antenna does not reach the length of the first time period, continue transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the first antenna until the duration of the transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the first antenna reaches the length of the first time period. The length of the first time period may be preset in the wireless communications device.) Para [0211].
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 12, Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses wherein the first data transmission is of a different power level than the second data transmission (see Figure 5b above; i.e. T1 and T2 have various different power levels, where the T1 is the transmit power of the first antenna and T2 is the transmit power of the second antenna).
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 13, Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses determining a duration of the first portion of the first RF exposure duration based on a channel quality of the first antenna cluster (see whole Figure 8 below; i.e. as shown in FIG. 5a, FIG. 6a, and FIG. 7a), it is considered by default that communication performance of a first antenna is better than communication performance of the second antenna. Therefore, even if the second antenna is a safety antenna, it is expected that duration of transmitting a radio frequency signal by using the second antenna should be as short as possible, and the radio frequency signal is transmitted by using the first antenna whenever possible. However, the communication performance of the second antenna may be better than the communication performance of the first antenna in many cases… When the second antenna is a safety antenna, and the communication performance of the second antenna is better, a data transmission time of the second antenna may be prolonged.) Para [0276-0277].
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 14, Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses determining, based on a channel condition for the first antenna cluster (i.e. However, the communication performance of the second antenna may be better than the communication performance of the first antenna in many cases) Para [0276], not to use the first antenna cluster during a second RF exposure duration (see Figure 8a above, where t1 (i.e. the first antenna) is not used); and performing, in response to determining not to use the first antenna cluster during the second RF exposure duration, third data transmission with the second antenna cluster during an entirety of the second RF exposure duration (i.e. FIG. 8a is a schematic diagram of adjusting duration of transmitting a radio frequency signal by using a second antenna according to transmit power of the second antenna when the second antenna is a safety antenna.) Para [0283], wherein the third transmission uses up to the maximum RF exposure limit per RF exposure duration (i.e. As shown in FIG. 8a, when the transmit power of the second antenna is low, a receiving status of a base station is good, and in this case, communication performance of the second antenna is relatively good. Therefore, the duration of transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the second antenna is prolonged… In this way, when a wireless communications device meets a requirement for an SAR value, antenna switching is reduced, and communication quality of the wireless communications device is further optimized.) Para [0283].
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 15 and Claim 20 Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1, 9, and 17, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses wherein the first portion of the first RF exposure duration and the second portion of the first RF exposure duration are interleaved within the first RF exposure duration (See Figures 5a, 5b, 6a, 6b, 7a, 7b; i.e. After the first antenna is switched back to, it is detected again whether the transmit power of the first antenna is greater than the first preset power. It may be learned from FIG. 5a that after the transmit power of the first antenna is greater than the first preset power, each transmission time of the first antenna is equal to the length T1 of the first time period, that is, t1=t1′=t1″=T1. After antenna switching is performed, each duration of transmitting the radio frequency signal by using the second antenna is equal to the length T2 of the second time period, that is, t2=t2′=t2″=T2. If the transmit power of the first antenna is not greater than the first preset power, the transmission time of the first antenna does not need to be counted and antenna switching does not need to be performed. In FIG. 5a, transmit power of an antenna 1 and transmit power of an antenna 2 may be constant or may be not constant, and this depends on a chip that controls antenna transmit power.) Para [0227].
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 16, Lan discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively, as discussed above. Further Lan discloses wherein the maximum RF exposure limit per RF exposure duration comprises a maximum specific absorption rate (SAR) average value i.e. a start moment of the first time period is a moment when the transmit power of the first antenna is greater than the first preset power, and a length of the first time period is less than test duration that is of an SAR test and that is specified in the SAR standard, so that the wireless communications device meets the SAR standard.) Para [0012].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lan et al. (US 20190356349 A1) “Method For Controlling Specific Absorption Rate Of Wireless Communications Device And Wireless Communications Device” (November 21, 2019) discloses a method for controlling a specific absorption rate (SAR) of a wireless communications device and a wireless communications device, and the wireless communications device includes a first antenna and a second antenna. The method includes transmitting, by the wireless communications device, a radio frequency signal using the first antenna, and stopping using the first antenna and starting transmitting the radio frequency signal using the second antenna when transmit power of the first antenna is greater than first preset power and a first time period elapses to enable the wireless communications device to meet an SAR standard. There is no backoff of antenna transmit power in a process of controlling the SAR of the wireless communications device. Therefore, communication quality of the wireless communications device is ensured while the SAR standard is met.
Lu (US 20230396279 A1) “TIME-AVERAGED RADIO FREQUENCY (RF) EXPOSURE ACROSS TISSUES AND/OR BODY LOCATIONS” (December 7, 2023) discloses operating a wireless communication device pursuant to radio frequency (RF) exposure across tissues and/or body locations. An example method of wireless communication by a wireless device generally includes tracking a plurality of RF exposures across a plurality of locations associated with a human body over time. The method further includes transmitting a signal at a transmit power determined based at least in part on a time-averaged RF exposure limit and the tracked RF exposures.
Dou (US 20220407573 A1) “TRANSMISSION POWER MANAGEMENT FOR CONCURRENT OPERATING RADIOS” (December 22, 2022) discloses a method includes receiving an indication to transmit a first set of signals using a first standard (e.g., Long Term Evolution) via a first set of antennas of a radio frequency device and a second set of signals using a second standard (e.g., New Radio) via a second set of antennas. The method also includes transmitting the first set of signals via the first set of antennas using a first power based on positions of the first set and second set of antennas, exposure conditions of the first set and the second set of signals on a user, and/or priorities of the first and the second set of signals. Moreover, the method includes transmitting the second set of signals via the second set of antennas using a second power based on the positions of the antennas, the exposure conditions of the signals on the user, and/or priorities of the signals.
Nadakuduti et al. (US 20220070796 A1) “TIME-AVERAGED RADIO FREQUENCY (RF) EXPOSURE PER ANTENNA GROUP” (March 3, 2022) operating a wireless communication device pursuant to radio frequency (RF) exposure with antenna grouping. An example method of wireless communication by a user equipment generally includes accessing a stored backoff factor associated with an antenna group among a plurality of antenna groups. The method also includes transmitting, from at least one transmit antenna in the antenna group, a signal at a transmission power level based on the backoff factor in compliance with an RF exposure requirement.
Nadakuduti et al. (US 20220070795 A1) “TIME-AVERAGED RADIO FREQUENCY (RF) EXPOSURE PER ANTENNA GROUP” (March 3, 2022) discloses radio frequency (RF) exposure with antenna grouping. An example method for grouping antennas for RF exposure compliance by a processing system generally includes determining RF exposure distributions per transmit antenna configuration for a plurality of transmit antennas and assigning the plurality of transmit antennas to a plurality of antenna groups based on the RF exposure distributions.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647