Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s submission filed on July 17, 2026. Claims 1-18 are pending and rejected.
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment filed on July 17, 2026. The Examiner has acknowledged the amended claims. Claims 1-18 are pending and rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments (Remarks) filed July 17, 2026 have been fully considered, but are moot. Note that this action is made FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes that the amendments to the claims has overcome the claim objections.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a simulation module”, “a distribution module”, “an input module”, and “a data generation module” in claims 1-5.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: [0015] to [0017] and [0032].
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0309193 A1 to Joseph et al. (hereinafter, “Joseph”).
Regarding claim 1, Joseph discloses: A system for conducting enhanced Red Teaming exercises across a network, comprising:
a computer platform configured to provide (“computer-mediated environment” [0002]):
a simulation module that iteratively simulates a specified scenario using predetermined variations in experimental conditions or predefined data (“If a Decision-Maker is required to analyze problems with unknowable outcomes, the Impute component 150 directs a Decision-Maker through an Impute B sub-section, where the Impute component 150 provides a collaborative environment including one or more graphical user interface(s) in which a Decision-Maker works and interacts directly with the Impute Crowd, as opposed to Impute A where Decision-Maker and Impute crowds do not interact directly. The collaborative environment provided by the Impute component 150 allows a Decision-Maker and the Impute Crowd to first gather further evidence (e.g., data/information) as a team in a Base Rate and Image Check, and then to process information-gathering through a taxonomy of Political, Economic, Security, and Socio-Cultural forces. The objective of the Base Rate section is to determine a prior rate of occurrence of the analytical problem being analyzed. Impute B Crowd participants led by Impute Crowd Moderator then generate via the Impute component 150 a curated wiki template in the graphical user interface(s) that guides them through discussion to determine the best response as a group, along with reasoning, possible biases and confidence ratings before recording the final response that concludes Impute B workflow process. If scenarios are required to conclude the workflow process, Impute B participants as an integrated crowd led by Impute Crowd Moderator generate scenarios in the graphical user interface(s) with drivers, matrix and scenario canvas templates, the latter of which is associated with confidence ratings that serve as a final response in the Impute phase if scenarios or similar narrative and graphic responses are required” [0071] [Examiner notes that the system (impute component 150) executes the scenario workflow, so it is simulating the scenario. The workflow is happening in steps (templates, discussion, etc.) which is iterative. It uses predefined templates (pre-set variations) and the output are sent to participants via the GUI]),
an iterative simulation being sent as a predefined dataset to participants across the network (“After using Base Rate and Image Check, the users in Impute A will receive a prompt via the graphical user interface(s) to extend analysis through Impute B (if applicable), which contains curated news-gathering databases and taxonomies (The Five Ws and The Four Forces), moderated wikis, as well as an option to generate deliverable outputs like scenarios. A key difference between Impute A and Impute B is that when Decision-Makers enter Impute B, they no longer remain in an individual setting: Decision-Makers are first guided to gather information following the rules of The Five Ws (which consists of a database of curated links from which users may gather more granular information) and The Four Forces (which contextualizes information according to a basic taxonomy consisting of Political, Security/Defense, Economic and Socio-Cultural categories), then they join members of an Impute Crowd within the moderated wiki of the graphical user interface(s). Within the wiki, the Decision-Makers and crowd members can follow the wiki template to arrive at a more thorough analysis of the unconstrained problem. The wiki template can allow users to share the additional information they have gathered in the collaborative data space and which can be subsequently committed to a database associated with the problem to being analyzed and made available to the Refute Crowd after the Impute phase is complete. At its conclusion, the wiki can prompt the Impute Crowd and Decision Makers to deliver a hypothesis, along with individual and group estimate and confidence ratings” [0073] [Examiner notes that the participants (Decision-Makers and Crowds) interact with templates, curated databases, and guided tasks to produce hypotheses, confidence scores, and analysis. This workflow simulates the testing of decisions and scenarios, because the participants are effectively running the scenario step by step]);
a distribution module for providing distributed, generated initial conditions, scenario parameters, background scenario information, debiasing tools and data artifacts to one or more participants across a network (“After using Base Rate and Image Check, the users in Impute A will receive a prompt via the graphical user interface(s) to extend analysis through Impute B (if applicable), which contains curated news-gathering databases and taxonomies (The Five Ws and The Four Forces), moderated wikis, as well as an option to generate deliverable outputs like scenarios. A key difference between Impute A and Impute B is that when Decision-Makers enter Impute B, they no longer remain in an individual setting: Decision-Makers are first guided to gather information following the rules of The Five Ws (which consists of a database of curated links from which users may gather more granular information) and The Four Forces (which contextualizes information according to a basic taxonomy consisting of Political, Security/Defense, Economic and Socio-Cultural categories), then they join members of an Impute Crowd within the moderated wiki of the graphical user interface(s). Within the wiki, the Decision-Makers and crowd members can follow the wiki template to arrive at a more thorough analysis of the unconstrained problem. The wiki template can allow users to share the additional information they have gathered in the collaborative data space and which can be subsequently committed to a database associated with the problem to being analyzed and made available to the Refute Crowd after the Impute phase is complete. At its conclusion, the wiki can prompt the Impute Crowd and Decision Makers to deliver a hypothesis, along with individual and group estimate and confidence ratings... Before the Decision-Makers are sent back into Impute phase, the Decision-Makers can be prompted by the system 10 to select and review De-Biasing Training individual modules in the De-Biasing Training component 130 if they wish” [0073-0074]; “It is still further an object of the present invention to provide a computerized process for a bias-sensitive crowd-sourced structured analytical technique that is quicker and more efficient to use asynchronously and over application environments including but not limited to those of smartphones. Embodiments of the computerized process can utilize one or more databases as a basis for forming a collaborative data space in which Decision-Makers, Impute blue-team members, and Refute red-team members can interact and utilize the computerized process. The computerized process can control access to and modification of the collaborative data space, and in turn, the one or more databases to ensure data integrity and consistency across simultaneous users of the computerized process as well as for the asynchronous use of the data space. The data space can provide create, read, update, and delete functions that can be utilized for data integrity and consistency and can use timed parameters to drive the simultaneous and asynchronous use of the collaborative data space for committing data in the collaborative data space to one or more databases” [0038] [Examiner notes that the predefined structured inputs provided to the participants at the start of the Impute phase shows the distribution of initial conditions and scenario parameters. The background scenario information includes the moderated wikis/templates showing that participants received contextual information to guide their analysis (shared scenario information). Participants can also access debiasing training modules during iterative cycles as multiple participants access the same data in a shared, distributed environments (Refute Crowd) Since the users can interact via client-side applications over a communication network, this proves that the system can provide items to those participants across a network. Examiner also notes that these items are provided because the system makes the data space available to users by granting controlled access. The scenario parameters are seen in “state”, “data”, and “parameters” that end up defining how the scenario begins and operates. The initial condition here are from when the databases used as the basis of the collaborative space are pre-existing starting materials. The base rate (prior probability information that the participants initially need and the image check both define the starting state for the scenario and are delivered via GUI to the participants. The work generated in the wiki is stored and passed to other phases (data artifacts)]);
an input module that provides a user interface for structured data gathering from participant input, the input module provided to one or more participants through the distribution module, the input module further selectively receiving participant data from the network (“If a Decision-Maker is required to analyze problems with unknowable outcomes, the Impute component 150 directs a Decision-Maker through an Impute B sub-section, where the Impute component 150 provides a collaborative environment including one or more graphical user interface(s) in which a Decision-Maker works and interacts directly with the Impute Crowd, as opposed to Impute A where Decision-Maker and Impute crowds do not interact directly. The collaborative environment provided by the Impute component 150 allows a Decision-Maker and the Impute Crowd to first gather further evidence (e.g., data/information) as a team in a Base Rate and Image Check, and then to process information-gathering through a taxonomy of Political, Economic, Security, and Socio-Cultural forces. The objective of the Base Rate section is to determine a prior rate of occurrence of the analytical problem being analyzed. Impute B Crowd participants led by Impute Crowd Moderator then generate via the Impute component 150 a curated wiki template in the graphical user interface(s) that guides them through discussion to determine the best response as a group, along with reasoning, possible biases and confidence ratings before recording the final response that concludes Impute B workflow process. If scenarios are required to conclude the workflow process, Impute B participants as an integrated crowd led by Impute Crowd Moderator generate scenarios in the graphical user interface(s) with drivers, matrix and scenario canvas templates, the latter of which is associated with confidence ratings that serve as a final response in the Impute phase if scenarios or similar narrative and graphic responses are required” [0071] [Examiner notes that the input module is the Impute component 150 that provides a user interface in which participants submit structured inputs (hypotheses, confidence ratings, etc.). The text describes Decision-Makers and Impute Crows interacting via the GUI, which is functionally distributed across networked participants. The wiki collects all participant inputs (individual and group responses) to record the final response, which is later available to the Refute crowd]); and
a data generation module for generating empirical results data from the participant data gathered from the input module (“The generated results of both Impute A and Impute B are sent onwards to Refute phase, in which a different dedicated crowd acts as a red-team devil's advocate on the results generated from the Impute sections. The Refute team assesses the quality of thinking and analysis done by both Decision-Makers and Crowds in Impute by establishing: 1. Information Gaps & Vulnerable Assumptions; 2. Unobserved Norms And Protocols That Will Affect The Answer; 3. Wishful Thinking In Analysis; and 4. Biases And Poor Metacognitive Practice. The Refute team records its own hypothesis and confidence percentages, both at the individual and group levels, which is sent to Decision-Maker prior to recording of the final response and the conclusion of the workflow process. If the Refute team's hypothesis and confidence ratings are within a threshold of agreement with the Impute analysis, the Decision-Makers are prompted to record a final answer to the problem, with final confidence ratings. If the Refute team's hypothesis and confidence scoring is outside a threshold of agreement with the Impute analysis, the Decision-Makers are prevented from recording a final response and are directed to start the Impute process one more time to review information and thinking and revise their scores if required. Before the Decision Makers are sent back into Impute phase, the Decision-Makers can be prompted to select and review De-Biasing Training individual modules if they wish. Their Metacognition Scores will be updated if they choose to review any modules. Once they pass through De-Biasing Training, the Decision-Makers make a second and final pass through the Impute phase, this time without the Impute Crowd, before recording a final answer. The second pass does not go through Refute a second time” [0020]; “All users can receive scoring feedback comprised of a combination of three measures: accuracy; impact; and rigor (collectively referred to by the acronym AIR)” [0022] [Examiner notes that these texts show inputs being processed to calculate AIR which are quantitative outputs based on participant input. The scoring uses the structured input data collected from participants and the final scores quantifies performance for future decision making and iterative improvements]),
the generated empirical results data further based on a comparison of outputs of the iterative simulation with outputs of adaptive adversary models (“The generated results of both Impute A and Impute B are sent onwards to Refute phase, in which a different dedicated crowd acts as a red-team devil's advocate on the results generated from the Impute sections” [0020] [Examiner notes that this text shows the generated results being provided to the adversarial side]; “The Refute team records its own hypothesis and confidence percentages, both at the individual and group levels, which is sent to Decision-Maker prior to recording of the final response and the conclusion of the workflow process” [0020] [Examiner notes that this is the outputs produced by the adversarial/refute side]; “If the Refute Crowd's hypothesis and confidence ratings are within a threshold of agreement with the analysis and results from the Impute phase, the Refute component 160 can prompt the Decision-Maker via the graphical user interface(s) to record a final answer to the analytical problem, with final confidence rating in the collaborative data space. If the Refute Crowd's hypothesis and confidence rating is outside a threshold of agreement with the Impute analysis, the Refute component 160 prevents the Decision-Maker from recording a final response in the collaborative data space and directs Decision-Makers back to the Impute component 160 to start the Impute process one more time to review information and thinking and revise their scores” [0074] [Examiner notes that the Refute team’s hypothesis and confidence assessment are compare with the Impute analysis, and a sufficient difference causes the iterative Impute/Refute process to repeat, corresponding to the comparison of iterative simulation outputs with adversarial outputs]).
Claim 6 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, in the form of a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable program code for implementing the corresponding system, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 13 recites substantially the same limitation as claim 1, in the form of a computer-implemented method for implementing the corresponding system, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 2, 7, and 14, Joseph discloses: wherein the distribution module is further configured to provide the simulation dataset for Red Team testing to one or more participants asynchronously (“It is still further an object of the present invention to provide a computerized process for a bias-sensitive crowd-sourced structured analytical technique that is quicker and more efficient to use asynchronously and over application environments including but not limited to those of smartphones. Embodiments of the computerized process can utilize one or more databases as a basis for forming a collaborative data space in which Decision-Makers, Impute blue-team members, and Refute red-team members can interact and utilize the computerized process. The computerized process can control access to and modification of the collaborative data space, and in turn, the one or more databases to ensure data integrity and consistency across simultaneous users of the computerized process as well as for the asynchronous use of the data space. The data space can provide create, read, update, and delete functions that can be utilized for data integrity and consistency and can use timed parameters to drive the simultaneous and asynchronous use of the collaborative data space for committing data in the collaborative data space to one or more databases” [0038] [Examiner notes that the data space is the simulation dataset provided to participants as Red Team participants use their dataset to perform their analysis/testing]).
Regarding claims 3, 8, and 15, Joseph discloses: wherein the input module further provides at least one standardized input in the user interface (“If a Decision-Maker is required to analyze problems with unknowable outcomes, the Impute component 150 directs a Decision-Maker through an Impute B sub-section, where the Impute component 150 provides a collaborative environment including one or more graphical user interface(s) in which a Decision-Maker works and interacts directly with the Impute Crowd, as opposed to Impute A where Decision-Maker and Impute crowds do not interact directly. The collaborative environment provided by the Impute component 150 allows a Decision-Maker and the Impute Crowd to first gather further evidence (e.g., data/information) as a team in a Base Rate and Image Check, and then to process information-gathering through a taxonomy of Political, Economic, Security, and Socio-Cultural forces. The objective of the Base Rate section is to determine a prior rate of occurrence of the analytical problem being analyzed. Impute B Crowd participants led by Impute Crowd Moderator then generate via the Impute component 150 a curated wiki template in the graphical user interface(s) that guides them through discussion to determine the best response as a group, along with reasoning, possible biases and confidence ratings before recording the final response that concludes Impute B workflow process. If scenarios are required to conclude the workflow process, Impute B participants as an integrated crowd led by Impute Crowd Moderator generate scenarios in the graphical user interface(s) with drivers, matrix and scenario canvas templates, the latter of which is associated with confidence ratings that serve as a final response in the Impute phase if scenarios or similar narrative and graphic responses are required” [0071] [Examiner notes that the wiki template collects structured participant inputs, like group responses, reasoning, etc.. The curated wiki template provides a pre-defined structure for participants to enter their data which have standardized fields ensuring that all participants submit their data. Participants interact with these standardized input fields via a GUI]).
Regarding claims 4, 9, and 16, Joseph discloses: wherein the input module further selectively requests further input from the one or more participants (“The Refute Crowd records its own hypothesis and confidence ratings in the collaborative data space via the graphical user interface(s) in the Refute component 160, both at the individual and team level, and the Refute component 160 sends the hypothesis and confidence ratings to the Decision-Maker prior to recording the Decision-Maker's final response in the collaborative data space and concluding the workflow process. If the Refute Crowd's hypothesis and confidence ratings are within a threshold of agreement with the analysis and results from the Impute phase, the Refute component 160 can prompt the Decision-Maker via the graphical user interface(s) to record a final answer to the analytical problem, with final confidence rating in the collaborative data space. If the Refute Crowd's hypothesis and confidence rating is outside a threshold of agreement with the Impute analysis, the Refute component 160 prevents the Decision-Maker from recording a final response in the collaborative data space and directs Decision-Makers back to the Impute component 160 to start the Impute process one more time to review information and thinking and revise their scores” [0074] [Examiner notes that participants enter their initial inputs, and if the Refute Crowd disagrees beyond a threshold, the Decision-Makers are prompted to revise and/or provide additional input. The system does not ask everyone for more input automatically, it selectively requests it based on disagreement or analysis gaps]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Joseph discloses: wherein the simulation module further selectively alters a number of the one or more participants for the simulation dataset for Red Team testing (“FIG. 18 is a flowchart illustrating an example process 1800 for controlling access provisions in a multi-user, collaborative computer environment. In operation 1802, a collaborative data space that is simultaneously accessible by users over a communication network is established by one or more servers. In operation 1804, at least a subset of the users is dynamically clustered into groups. In operation 1806, access provisions to content in the collaborative data space are controlled in a first access phase to grant a first group of the users access to the content and to deny a second group of the users access to the content. In operation 1808, input in the collaborative data space is received from the first group of the users to collaboratively modify the content of the data space in the first access phase. In operation 1810, requests to access the content of the collaborative data space from the second group of the users is denied in the first access phase. In operation 1812, the access provisions to the content in the collaborative data space is dynamically modified in a second access phase to deny the first group of the users access to the content and to grant a second group of the users access to the content in response to a configurable amount of time that has elapsed since the first group of users was provided access to the content of the collaborative data space, or in response to an action of at least one of the users in the first group and after collaborative modification to the content of the collaborative data space is committed to a database” [0143] [Examiner notes that dynamic grouping and phased access control selectively changes which users can interact with the simulation dataset]).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Joseph discloses: compare one or more external datasets with the gathered participant data (“All users can receive scoring feedback comprised of a combination of three measures: accuracy; impact; and rigor (collectively referred to by the acronym AIR). First, accuracy measures (AIR 1) are based on the frequency of reporting correct answers and the confidence ratings reported for correct versus incorrect answers. Accuracy measures are based on the Brier score (Brier, G. W. (1950). Verification of forecasts expressed in terms of probability. Monthly weather review, 78(1), 1-3.), a proper scoring rule, adapted to accommodate problems without pre-specified answer options (i.e. open-ended problems). Second, Impute and Refute teams receive feedback on the impact of their analyses upon the accuracy of the Decision-Makers (AIR 2). Because the Decision-Makers are asked to provide hypotheses and confidence ratings independently at first, then update them after having reviewed input from Impute and Refute teams, the exemplary embodiments can assess incremental accuracy improvements before versus after reviewing the work of each team. This allows the system to measure impact, which is based on the change in Decision-Maker accuracy. Third, the Decision-Makers can assess the rigor of the hypotheses and rationales produced by independent (pre-deliberation) users from Impute and Refute teams (one rating per individual), as well as the team-based hypotheses and rationales (one rating per team) (AIR 3). The Decision-Maker rigor ratings are expressed on a 5-point scale, based on the following criteria: 1. Prior Experience/Expertise, 2. Insight, 3. Independence, 4. Cogency of Reasoning, and 5. Persuasiveness. The responder can choose to respond to the five items separately, provide a single holistic evaluation, or both. All scores are made available after participants have completed their work and the analytical problems are closed. The first and second measures (AIR 1 and AIR 2) are available for problems with knowable correct answers, after the answers become known. Only the third measure (rigor) is used for open-ended problems with unknowable answers. For such problems, a user can be asked to define up to four answer options. The system administrator validates the answer options and can request edits from participants” [0022] [Examiner notes that correct answers act as external reference data, participant input is compared against it, producing quantitative results. This is being interpreted as comparing to external databases]).
Claim 11 recites substantially the same limitation as claims 9 and 10, in the form of a computer readable medium, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
be directed to SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU whose telephone number is (703)756-1761. The
examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:30am - 6:30pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA)
or 571-272-1000.
/SARON MATTHEWOS WORKU/Examiner, Art Unit 2408
/LINGLAN EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2408