DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP (3173467) in view of Lant et al (WO 91/17234).
Lant teaches an pouch made from a water- soluble polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) film; [1.20: 50-55, [[.28], comprising water in amount of 0.5-20 % ; [9], detergent composition of anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate; [4, 11], cationic surfactants such as fatty quaternary ammonium compound, COCO dimethylamine oxide; [50, 81-82, 130], and betaine; [49, 51], and nonionic surfactants (instant claims 9, 17) such as fatty alcohol alkoxylate and alkyl phenol ethoxylate; [43, 45], wherein the composition is disposed inside the pouch; [162-163].
Lant does not teach the amino acid but does teach polyamino acid as a water soluble pouch or encapsulating material. However the analogous art of Siklosi teaches a laundry detergent composition (abstract) comprising amino-acid such as lysine; At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the lysine of Siklosi to Lant's composition with the motivation of disinfection adding its disinfecting properties (damaging bacterial wall cells; please see any chemistry text-book reference) and also its chlorine scavenging properties, as taught Siklosi above.
Lant teaches the pH of composition in the range of 6- 9 with an overlapping range thus rendering the claim obvious; [129]. Furthermore, the composition comprises bases such as potassium and sodium hydroxide and carbonate; [106]. Composition comprises non-aqueous solvents such as ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol and propylene glycol; [64]. Lant teaches additives such as chelating agent; [68, 105], enzymes; [2-3, 7], water in the amount of 0.5-20%; [9], anionic surfactants such as alkylbenzene sulfonate and nonionic surfactant such as fatty alcohol alkoxylate (C8-18 and ETO=1-7) in amount of 5-60%; [abstract, 3, 4, 11, 43], non-aqueous ethylene, diethylene glycols; [64], and a chelant; [68, 105], sodium hydroxide; [106]. Please note that the amino acid it taught by Siklosi as stated above.
Lant does not teach the chlorine scavenging property of composition in a given amount of time and volume of a liter of water. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties (chlorine scavenging rate, ppm/seconds, are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, in the claimed ranges, was prepared under similar conditions, and that the original specification specifies that the properties arise from a combination of specific ingredients or process step and that it is rendered obvious by the applied art. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. measured chlorine scavenging rate would expectedly be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients.
[W]hen a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious. [KSR Int'l Co. v.Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. at 418 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976).]
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/617,223 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in subject matter and proportions; the Markush of ingredients within the copending applications, amounts to a prima facie case of obviousness.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/NECHOLUS OGDEN JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761