DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pointing system” in claim 11, 13, & 14.
Applicant teaches a kinematic mount 700 and how functions as a pointing system (0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, & 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by paper of Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022 hereafter Lewen.
With respect to claim 1, Zhang teaches a spectroscopy system, comprising:
an explosion proof enclosure (pg. 3, col 2, ¶ 1 lines 30-33);
a tunable laser (fig 2, laser) “tunable diode laser” (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1 lines 20-25) (pg. 7, col 1, ¶ 2, lines 1-3) in the explosion proof enclosure for generating an output beam for transmission through a sample cell (fig 2, pipeline).
With respect to claim 2 according to claim 1, Zhang teaches the spectroscopy system wherein the output beam is
transmitted through a window “optical window” (pg. 3, col 2, ¶ 1 line 7) of the explosion proof enclosure to the sample cell.
With respect to claim 4 according to claim 1, Zhang teaches the spectroscopy system wherein the tunable laser tunes a wavelength of the output beam over the band including 1600 to 1700 nanometers (fig 1, 4,292 cm-1) 2,329 nm.
With respect to claim 7, Zhang teaches a spectroscopy method, comprising:
providing a tunable laser (fig 2, laser) “tunable diode laser” (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1 lines 20-25) (pg. 7, col 1, ¶ 2, lines 1-3) for generating an output beam for transmission through a sample cell (fig 2, pipeline); and
installing the tunable laser in an explosion proof enclosure (pg. 3, col 2, ¶ 1 lines 30-33).
With respect to claim 8 according to claim 7, Zhang teaches the spectroscopy method wherein the output beam is transmitted through a window “optical window” (pg. 3, col 2, ¶ 1 line 7) of the explosion proof enclosure to the sample cell.
With respect to claim 10 according to claim 7, Zhang teaches the spectroscopy method wherein the tunable laser tunes a wavelength of the output beam over the band including 1600 to 1700 nanometers (fig 1, 4,292 cm-1) 2,329 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over paper of Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022 hereafter Lewen in view of Belinda Sandberg, “TDLAS principle NEO Monitors” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YiV-vUduoVA , Jun 18, 2015 hereafter Sandberg.
With respect to claim 3 according to claim 1, Zhang does not teach a coupler for coupling a window of the explosion proof enclosure to the sample cell.
Sanberg, in the same field of endeavor as Lewen of TDLAS monitoring of gas pipeline, implicitly teaches a coupler configured to couple a window to a sample cell. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a Sanberg’s coupler with Lewen’s window as a design choice for locking the window in place enabling gas monitoring within the gas pipe without releasing harmful gas.
With respect to claim 9 according to claim 7, Zhang does not teach a coupler for coupling a window of the explosion proof enclosure to the sample cell.
Sanberg, in the same field of endeavor as Lewen of TDLAS monitoring of gas pipeline, implicitly teaches a coupler configured to couple a window to a sample cell. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a Sanberg’s coupler with Lewen’s window as a design choice for locking the window in place enabling gas monitoring within the gas pipe without releasing harmful gas.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over paper of Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022 hereafter Lewen in view of paper of Gurneesh S. Jatana, “Absorption spectroscopy based high-speed oxygen concentration measurements at elevated gas temperatures”, 22 March 2019 hereafter Jatana in further view of Standa, “Motorized Kinematic Optical Mirror Mount”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4c7QpCB5_FY , Aug 20, 2014 hereafter Standa.
With respect to claim 11 according to claim 1, Zhang teaches the spectroscopy system further comprising a sample detector (fig 2, PD) for detecting the output beam after interaction with a sample.
Zhang does not teach a pointing system for directing the output beam and a controller system configured to operate the pointing system.
Jatana, in the same field of endeavor as Lewen of TDLAS monitoring of a gas pipe (abstract, lines 1-2 Jatana) (fig 3), teaches a kinematic mount i.e. pointing system used to pitch laser light into a sample cell at an desired orientation (pg. 176, col 2, ¶ 1, lines 15-17).
Jantana does not teach a controller system configured to operate the pointing system.
Standa, in the field of endeavor of kinematic mirrors, teaches a kinematic mount controlled by a controller system for controlling the axis of a mirror. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Standa’s kinematic mount and mirror with the combination’s tunable laser as a design choice for accurately aligning the laser beam with the sample detector.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022 hereafter Lewen in view of paper of Gurneesh S. Jatana, “Absorption spectroscopy based high-speed oxygen concentration measurements at elevated gas temperatures”, 22 March 2019 hereafter Jatana.
With respect to claim 13 according to claim 7, Zhang teaches detecting the output beam after interaction with a sample with a sample detector (fig 2, PD).
Zhang does not teach operating the pointing system to direct the output beam.
Jatana, in the same field of endeavor as Lewen of TDLAS monitoring of a gas pipe (abstract, lines 1-2 Jatana) (fig 3), teaches a kinematic mount i.e. pointing system used to pitch laser light into a sample cell at a desired orientation (pg. 176, col 2, ¶ 1, lines 15-17). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Janata’s kinematic mount and mirror with the combination’s tunable laser as a design choice for accurately aligning the laser beam with the sample detector.
Claim(s) 1, 5, & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TACHIBANA WO 2022270202 in view of Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022.
With respect to claim 1, Tachibana teaches a spectroscopy system, comprising:
an explosion proof enclosure (fig 1, 1) “explosion-proof container” (claim 2);
a light (fig 1, 51) in the explosion proof enclosure for generating an output beam for transmission through a sample cell (fig 1, 3).
Tachibana does not teach a tunable laser.
Lewen, in the same field of endeavor of Tachibana of absorption spectroscopy measurements of Carbon monoxide (abstract, lines 1-3 Tachibana) (pg. 2, ¶ 5, lines 1-3 Lewen) (pg. 2, ¶ 2, lines 5-6 Lewen), teaches a tunable laser configured to detect carbon monoxide (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1 lines 20-25) (pg. 7, col 1, ¶ 2, lines 1-3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lewen’s tunable laser with Tachibana’s detector since tunable diode laser absorption spectroscopy (TDLAS) is a widely used technique for contactless diagnostics of various gaseous media with high detection sensitivity (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1, lines 20-25).
With respect to claim 5 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the spectroscopy system operates in a transflection mode (fig 1, 3 Lewen).
With respect to claim 6 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the spectroscopy system further comprising a host computer (fig 1, 11 Lewen) (pg. 5, ¶ 5, lines 1-2 Lewen) in the explosion proof enclosure.
Claim(s) 1, 7 , 11, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over paper of V Ebert, “Sensitive in situ detection of CO and O2 in a rotary kiln-based hazardous waste incinerator using 760 nm and new 2.3µm diode lasers”, 2004 hereafter Ebert in view of paper of Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022 hereafter Lewen
With respect to claim 1, Ebert teaches a spectroscopy system, comprising:
an enclosure (fig 5);
a laser (fig 5, laser) in the enclosure for generating an output beam for transmission through a sample cell (fig 5, PCC).
Ebert does not teach a tunable laser.
Lewen, in the same field of endeavor of detecting Carbon monoxide using absorption spectroscopy at 2.3 µm (title Lewen) (title Ebert), teaches a tunable laser configured to help detect carbon monoxide (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1 lines 20-25) (pg. 7, col 1, ¶ 2, lines 1-3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lewen’s tunable laser with Ebert’s detector since tunable diode laser absorption spectroscopy measurements have a high detection sensitivity (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1, lines 20-25).
The combination does not teach an explosion proof enclosure.
Lewen, in the same field of endeavor as Ebert of detecting Carbon monoxide using absorption spectroscopy at 2.3 µm (title Lewen) (title Ebert), teaches a laser is protected by an explosion-proof enclosure (pg. 3, col 2, ¶ 1 lines 30-33). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine an explosion proof enclosure with the combination’s tunable laser as a design choice to protect the laser from possible explosions within the combination’s combustion chamber.
With respect to claim 7, Ebert teaches a spectroscopy method, comprising:
providing a laser (fig 5, laser) for generating an output beam for transmission through a sample cell (fig 5, PCC); and
installing the laser in an enclosure (fig 5).
Ebert does not teach a tunable laser.
Lewen, in the same field of endeavor of detecting Carbon monoxide using absorption spectroscopy at 2.3 µm (title Lewen) (title Ebert), teaches a tunable laser configured to help detect carbon monoxide (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1 lines 20-25) (pg. 7, col 1, ¶ 2, lines 1-3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lewen’s tunable laser with Ebert’s detector since tunable diode laser absorption spectroscopy measurements have a high detection sensitivity (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1, lines 20-25).
The combination does not teach an explosion proof enclosure.
Lewen, in the same field of endeavor of detecting Carbon monoxide using absorption spectroscopy at 2.3 µm (title Lewen) (title Ebert), teaches a tunable laser configured to help detect carbon monoxide (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1 lines 20-25) (pg. 7, col 1, ¶ 2, lines 1-3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Lewen’s tunable laser with Ebert’s detector since tunable diode laser absorption spectroscopy measurements have a high detection sensitivity (pg. 2, col 1, ¶ 1, lines 20-25).
With respect to claim 11 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the spectroscopy system further comprising
a pointing system “An automatic alignment system” (pg.1615, col 1, ¶ 3 Ebert) for directing the output beam;
a sample detector (fig 5, detector Ebert) for detecting the output beam after interaction with a sample; and
a controller system “An automatic alignment system” (pg.1615, col 1, ¶ 3 Ebert) configured to operate the pointing system to direct the output beam to the sample detector.
With respect to claim 13 according to claim 7, the combination teaches the spectroscopy method further comprising:
directing the output beam with a pointing system (fig 5, motor mirror) “An automatic alignment system” (pg.1615, col 1, ¶ 3);
detecting the output beam after interaction with a sample with a sample detector (fig 5, detector); and
operating the pointing system to direct the output beam “obtained perfect alignment” (pg. 1615, col 1, ¶ 3) to the sample detector (fig 5, detector).
Claim(s) 12 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang Lewen, “A sensitive carbon monoxide sensor for industrial process control based on laser absorption spectroscopy with a 2.3 𝜇m distributed feedback laser”, 12 January 2022 hereafter Lewen in further view of Abed Toufik, “Auto-alignment and positioning system using 2 motorized mirrors system OPTOSIGMA-EUROPE”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mylI5Yyscw, Sep 1, 2016 hereafer Toufik.
With respect to 12 according to claim 11, the combination does not teach the controller system is configured to automatically adjust “An automatic alignment system” (pg.1615, col 1, ¶ 3 Toufik) the pointing system to optimize alignment “obtained perfect alignment” (pg. 1615, col 1, ¶ 3 Toufik) of the output beam to the sample detector.
The combination does not teach automatically adjusting the pointing system to optimize alignment of the output beam on the sample detector based on the signal from the sample detector.
Toufik, in the same field of endeavor as Lewen of automatic motorized mirror adjustment of lasers via an algorithm, teaches an algorithm program i.e. controller system configured to operate a motorized mirror i.e. pointing system, based upon a signal acquired from a camera i.e. sample detector (fig 1, views). Toufik further teaches the controller system realigns the laser based upon outside disturbances. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Toufik’s controller system with the combination’s mirror as to realign the laser based on thermal distortion without tediously realigning by hand.
With respect to claim 14 according to claim 13, the combination teaches the method comprising automatically adjusting the pointing system “An automatic alignment system” (pg.1615, col 1, ¶ 3 Toufik) to optimize alignment “obtained perfect alignment” (pg. 1615, col 1, ¶ 3 Toufik) of the output beam on the sample detector.
The combination does not teach automatically adjusting the pointing system to optimize alignment of the output beam on the sample detector based on the signal from the sample detector.
Toufik, in the same field of endeavor as Lewen of automatic motorized mirror adjustment of lasers via an algorithm, teaches an algorithm program i.e. controller system configured to operate a motorized mirror i.e. pointing system, based upon a signal acquired from a camera i.e. sample detector (fig 1, views). Toufik further teaches the controller system realigns the laser based upon outside disturbances. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the Toufik’s controller system with the combination’s mirror as to realign the laser based on thermal distortion without tediously realigning by hand.
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877