DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the first paragraph of the specification should include that SN 17/652,303 is now US Patent Number 12,150,058.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claims 11 and 20 recite “a third parameter” without disclosure of a second parameter in the instant claims or the corresponding base claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-9, 13, 14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Applicant’s submission of prior art, Koskela et al., US Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0351786 (hereinafter Koskela).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, and 17, Koskela discloses a method for signal monitoring, comprising: monitoring, by a terminal device, a Power Saving (PS) signal Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in one or more than one monitoring time period prior to a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) ON time period and after a monitoring starting time point [paragraph 0116], wherein the one or more than one monitoring time period is determined by at least one configuration parameter of each PS signal search space of K PS signal search spaces, K being an integer more than or equal to 1 [paragraph 0119], wherein each of the one or more than one monitoring time period comprises M durations in a PS signal search space corresponding to the monitoring time period, M being an integer more than or equal to 1 [paragraph 0115] wherein all the M durations comprised in each of the one or more than one monitoring time period are complete durations [paragraph 0115].
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 18, Koskela discloses determining, by the terminal device, the monitoring starting time point based on a PS-offset and a starting time point of the DRX ON time period [paragraph 0116].
Regarding claim 5, Koskela discloses wherein each of the one or more than one monitoring time period does not comprise an incomplete duration [paragraph 0115].
Regarding claim 6, Koskela discloses wherein M=1 [paragraphs 0115 wherein it is inherent to include at least one duration].
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 19, Koskela discloses wherein each duration in the M durations comprises at least one monitoring time [paragraph 0115].
Regarding claim 9, Koskela discloses wherein each of the one or more than one monitoring time period comprises N monitoring times in a PS signal search space corresponding to the monitoring time period, N being an integer more than or equal to 1 [paragraphs 0115, 0119].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,150,058. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are generic to all that is recited in the patented claims and are therefore an obvious variant thereof. Specifically, instant independent claim 1 is taught in patented claims 1, 5, and 7. Instant independent claim 7 is taught in patented claims 10 and 11. Instant independent claim 13 is taught in patented claims 18 and 22. Instant independent claim 17 is taught in patented claims 24 and 16. The instant independent claims are slightly broader than the patented claims as they omit the limitations regarding the configuration parameters. Instant dependent claims 2, 14, and 18 are taught in patented dependent claims 2, 19, and 25, respectively. Instant dependent claim 3 is taught in patented claims 1, 3, and 4. Instant dependent claim 4 is taught in patented claim 6. Instant dependent claim 5 is taught in patented claim 8. Instant dependent claim 6 is taught in patented claim 9. Instant dependent claims 8, 16, and 19 are taught in patented claims 12, 23, and 27, respectively. Instant dependent claim 9 is taught in patented claim 13. Instant dependent claim 10 is taught in patented claims 14 and 15. Instant dependent claims 11 and 20 are taught in patented claims 16, and 28, respectively. Instant dependent claim 12 is taught in patented claim 17. Instant dependent claim 15 is taught in patented claims 18, 20 and 21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 4, 10, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11, 12, and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al., US Patent Number 12,035,242, disclose a PDCCH monitoring method and terminal.
Kuang et al., US Patent Number 12,309,703, disclose a signal monitoring skipping method and apparatus.
/EAW/
July 6, 2026
/ERIKA A WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644