DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (US 20220233054) in view of Boulais et al. (US 20050131279).
It is noted that all documents that are directly or indirectly incorporated by reference in its entirety in the Hansen (see paragraphs 0006-0011) including US 20210393113 (referred to as Hansen113) are treated as part of the specification of Hansen (see for example, MPEP 2163.07b).
Regarding claim 1, Hansen discloses an endoscope (endoscope 2 – figure 10, paragraph 0041) comprising:
a handle (4 – figure 10, paragraph 0041);
an insertion cord (5) extending from the handle and including a bending section (6) (see figure 10, paragraph 0041-0042), the bending section comprising a one-piece part including a distal end (9) and a proximal end (14) (see figure 1, paragraph 0042);
a first steering wire (a first full-wire 11) extending from the handle (4) to the distal end (9) of the bending section (6) (see figures 1-2, 10, paragraph 0041); and
a second steering wire (a second full-wire 11) extending from the handle (4) to the distal end (9) of the bending section (6) (see figures 1-2, 10, paragraph 0041),
the bending section (6) comprising:
segments (8,9,14) connected to each other by hinges (15) (see figures 1-2, paragraphs 0015, 0042), the segments and the hinges forming an outer surface of the bending section (segments 8, 9, 14 and the hinges 15 forming an outer surface of the bending section 6 – see figures 1-2),
a central passage (17 – see figure 4) extending from the distal end to the proximal end (figure 4, paragraph 0045), each segment (8, 1, 14) including a circumferential wall comprising an inner surface facing and encircling the central passage (see figure 4, paragraphs 0045-0047),
grooves (read on lobes 23) extending from the inner surface into the circumferential wall of each segment and in open connection with the central passage (see figures 4-5, paragraphs 0046-0047),
an indent (indent/gap/opening between segments 8, 9, 14– figures 4, 6, paragraph 0049) extending from the outer surface into a segment or a hinge, the indent positioned intermediate the proximal end and the distal end (see figures 4, 6, paragraph 0049),
wherein the first steering wire (first full-wire 11) passes through the grooves (read on lobe 23) of each segment (8, 9, 14) through the bending section (6) – see figures 1-2, 4, 6).
Hansen does not disclose an anchor comprising a holding part, and wherein the anchor is arranged in the indent with the holding part blocking displacement towards a center of the central passage of a portion of the first steering wire transversely adjacent the anchor.
Boulais discloses a bending section (e.g. articulation joint – paragraph 0067, figures 2, 13, 23A-23X) comprising:
an anchor (read on part either 1002b, 1018, 1020, 1022b,1104-hereinafter after referred to as anchor) comprising a holding part (part between the central passage and spring/wire – see include, but are not limited to, figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K), and
wherein the anchor (1002b, 1018, 1020, 1022b,1104) is arranged in the indent (gap or indent between the segments -see include, but are not limited to, – see figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K), with the holding part blocking displacement towards a center of the central passage of a portion of the first steering wire transversely adjacent the anchor (part between the central passage and wire/spring coil blocking displacement of wires towards a center of the central passage of the segments/rings of the articulation joint – see include, but are not limited to, figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K, paragraphs 0191-0193, 0201 and figures with annotation of holding part below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansen with the teaching including an anchor comprising a holding part, and wherein the anchor is arranged in the indent with the holding part blocking displacement towards a center of the central passage of a portion of the first steering wire transversely adjacent the anchor as taught by Boulais in order to yield predictable result of developing low cost endoscope (see paragraph 0006) or holding segments and/or wires from displacement towards center of the central passage.
Regarding claim 2, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the endoscope consists of an ureteroscope or a cystoscope (endoscope with outer diameter of bending section below 2.8mm allowing to be used as e.g., an ureteroscope – see Hansen: paragraph 0048 and Hansen113, paragraph 0018. See also Boulais: paragraph 0003), the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube in the central passage (working channel of the endoscope 2 passes through a central passage 17 – see Hansen: figure 4, paragraph 0042), and a distal tip including a camera (see Hansen: camera housing 10 – figure 1), an outer diameter of the bending section being between 2.0 and 3.0 mm (see Hansen: outer diameter of segments 8, 9, 14 of bending section 6 is 2.75 mm – see paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 3, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the endoscope consists of an ureteroscope or a cystoscope, the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube in the central passage (working channel of the endoscope 2 passes through a central passage 17 – see Hansen: figure 4, paragraph 0042), a distal tip including a camera (distal segment 9 comprises camera housing 10 – see Hansen: figure 1, paragraph 0041), and a bending sleeve over the bending section (outer sleeve covering the bending section – see Hansen: paragraph 0024), an outer diameter of the bending sleeve being between 2.0 and 3.0 mm (outer diameter of the segments 8, 9, 14 of bending section is 2.75 mm – see Hansen: paragraph 0048), wherein a cross-sectional area of the working channel tube is at least 40% of a cross-sectional area of the bending section (working channel of endoscope 2 pass through a central passage 17 provided in and by all of the segments 8, 9, 14 from the proximal end segment 14 to a distal end with camera housing 10 – see Hansen: figure 1, paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 4, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube in the central passage (working channel tube 16 in the central passage 17 – see Hansen: figure 4, paragraph 0042) and a first coil spring (19) surrounding the first steering wire (pull-wire 11) within the bending section (see Hansen: figures 4-7, paragraphs 0046, 0048), wherein the first coil spring (19) passes through the grooves (lobes 23) (see Hansen: figure 4, paragraph 0046), wherein the holding part extends into a space where the groove and the central passage meet (see Boulais figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K, with annotation above paragraphs 0191-0193, 0201), wherein the holding part (see annotated figures above) contacts and is adhered (secured) to a portion of the first coil spring (see Boulais figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K, with annotation above paragraphs 0190, 0192-0193), and wherein the anchor is arranged in the indent with the holding part blocking displacement towards the center of the central passage of the portion of the first coil spring contacting the holding part (see Boulais: include, but are not limited to, the annotated figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K above and paragraphs 0191, 0199).
Regarding claim 5, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 4, wherein the two indents (two indents/open gaps) are provided in two of the segments (8 or 8 and 14 – see for example Hansen: figures 1-2, 6 or see Boulais: figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K), and wherein the two of the segments are separated by at least another one of the segments (see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figures 1-2, 6; Boulais: figures 23A, 23C, 23D, 23K), the at least another one of the segments not being provided with an indent (for example, at least one segment 14 is not being provided in an indent – see Hansen: figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube (16) in the central passage (17) and a first coil spring (19) surrounding the first steering wire (11) within the bending section (see Hansen: figures 4-7), wherein the bending section comprises two anchors (two lobes 23) located at the same longitudinal position of the bending section on opposite sides of a bending plane, the two anchors including the anchor (see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figures 4-5, paragraph 0046), wherein the bending section comprises two additional anchors located at the same longitudinal position of the bending section on opposite sides of a bending plane (two additional lobes 23 in case of four wires 11 for bending to different planes – see Hansen: figures 4-5, paragraphs 0041, or see Boulais: figures 23A, 23c, 23d, 23K), the two additional anchors located distally of the two anchors with at least two segments between them (see include, but are not limited to, – see Hansen: figures 4-5, paragraphs 0041, or see Boulais: figures 23A, 23c, 23d, 23K), wherein the bending section comprises a proximal section (14) extending from the proximal end toward the distal end (9) and comprising 60% of a length of the bending section, wherein the two anchors and the two additional anchors comprise glue anchors (secured using adhesive, or any other securing mechanism) positioned in the proximal section of the bending section (see include, but are not limited to, Boulais: figures 23A, 23C-23D, 23K, paragraphs 0190, 0192, 0193).
Regarding claim 7, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the bending section comprises two anchors and two indents located at different longitudinal positions of the bending section (two anchors and two indent/gaps located at different longitudinal positions of the bending section or articulation joint – see Boulais: figures 23A, 23C-23D, 23K with annotation above, paragraphs 0190-0194), wherein the two anchors comprise the anchor and a second anchor and the two indents (indent of cuts/hole) comprise the indent and a second indent (see Boulais and annotated figures above) , wherein the bending section (6) comprises a proximal section (14) extending from the proximal end toward the distal end (10) and comprising 60% of a length of the bending section (see Hansen: figures 1-2, paragraph 0042) , and wherein the two indents are positioned in the proximal section of the bending section (see Hansen: paragraph 0049, figures 2, 6, and Boulais: annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 8, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the holding part extends into a space where the groove (slopped surface or groove) and the central passage meet (see Boulais and annotated figures above, and paragraph 0193).
Regarding claim 9, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the holding part overlaps, longitudinally, the groove between the first steering wire and the inner surface of the central passage (see for example, Boulais and the annotated figures above and paragraphs 0191-0194).
Regarding claim 10, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 9, further comprising a first coil (19 in Hansen or 1006, 1015 in Boulais) spring surrounding the first steering wire (11), within the bending section (see for example, Hansen: figures 2, 5, 6), wherein the first coil spring (19, 1006, 1015) passes through the grooves (lobe 23 or groove) (see for example, Hansen: figures 4-5 or see Boulais: annotated figures above), wherein the holding part contacts a portion of the first coil spring (1006, 1015), and wherein the anchor is arranged in the indent with the holding part blocking displacement of the portion of the first coil spring contacting the holding part towards the center of the central passage (see for example, Boulais: annotated figures above and paragraphs 0190-0193).
Regarding claim 11, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor comprises an exterior surface and an interior surface (outer surface and inner surface of segment/ring 1002b, 1018, 1020), the exterior surface being level with the outer surface of the bending section (articulation joint ) and the interior surface being level with the inner surface of at least one segment (see for example, Boulais and the annotated figures above, paragraphs 0191-0193).
Regarding claim 12, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is a glue anchor comprised of hardened glue (secured using an adhesive, welding, crimping, or with any other securing mechanism/mean – Boulais: paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193 and figures 23A, 23C-D, 23K), the segment comprising a ledge central portion (circular portion that forms inner surface of central passage 17) and ledges (portion with inner surface contact the lobes 23, 23’) extending from the ledge central portion (see for example, Hansen: figures 2, 4-5 or see Boulais: the annotated figures above), the ledges and the ledge central portion comprising an inner surface adjacent the central passage and each of the ledges comprising an opposite surface, the indent being located between the opposite surfaces of the ledges and the outer surface of the bending section (see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figures 2, 4-6; Boulais: annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 13, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is a glue anchor comprised of hardened glue (secured using an adhesive, welding, crimping, or with any other securing mechanism/mean – Boulais: paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193 and figures 23A, 23C-D, 23K), wherein the segment (two consecutive portion 8 as shown in Hansen: figure 2 or segment 1002a, 1012a, 1100a as shown in Boulais: figures 23a, 23c-d, 23k) comprises a cut-out (open part/gap) between a proximal surface and a distal surface of the segment, the indent (indent/gap) being formed by the cut-out with no surface of the indent being part of the proximal surface or the distal surface of the segment – see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figures 1-2; Boulais: figures 23a, 23c-23d, 23k).
Regarding claim 14, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is a glue anchor comprised of hardened glue (secured using an adhesive, welding, crimping, or with any other securing mechanism/mean – Boulais: paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193 and figures 23A, 23C-D, 23K), wherein the segment comprises a cut-out between a proximal surface and a distal surface of the segment, the indent being formed by the cut-out with a surface of the indent being part of the proximal surface or the distal surface of the segment (segment 8) – see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figures 1-2, 6 or Boulais: the annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 15, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is a glue anchor comprised of hardened glue (secured using an adhesive, welding, crimping, or with any other securing mechanism/mean – Boulais: paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193 and figures 23A, 23C-D, 23K).
Regarding claim 16, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is a glue anchor comprised of hardened glue (secured using an adhesive, welding, crimping, or with any other securing mechanism/mean – Boulais: paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193 and figures 23A, 23C-D, 23K), the bending section further comprising a ledge having an inner surface adjacent the central passage and an opposite surface (portion of segment having inner surface adjacent with the central passage 17 and an outer surface of segment 8 – see for example, Hansen: figures 2, 4-6, see also Boulais: the annotated figures above), the indent (indent/hole/opening) being located between the opposite surface of the ledge and the outer surface of the bending section (see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figures 2, 4-6; Boulais: the annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 17, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 16, the bending section further comprising a ledge (spring or portion 1018, 1020, 1104) between the indent and the central passage (see Boulais: figures 23c, 23D, 23K), wherein the ledge supports the glue anchor (secured using an adhesive, welding, crimping, or with any other securing mechanism/mean – Boulais: paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193 and figures 23A, 23C-D, 23K).
Regarding claim 18, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is an insert anchor inserted into the indent (the anchors as shown in the annotated figures above of Boulais is inserted/embedded or provided into the indent/gap/opening – see Boulais and annotated figures above), the bending section further comprising a ledge between the indent and the central passage, wherein the ledge (spring or portion 1018, 1020, 1104) supports the insert anchor (see for example, Boulais and the annotated figures above).
Regarding claim 19, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor consists of a metal disc (the anchor/ring consist a metal circle such as steal or other metal – see Boulais: the annotated figures above and paragraphs 0190, 0193, 0201).
Regarding claim 20, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, further comprising a metal cylinder positioned in one of the grooves (metal cylinder, wire spring coil position in the lobe 23 (in Hansen- figures 2, 4-6) or the groove (see Boulais: the annotated figures above and paragraphs 0190, 0193, 0201), wherein the first steering wire passes through the metal cylinder (see Hansen: figures 2, 4-6; Boulais: annotated figures above), wherein the anchor consists of a glue anchor (secured using adhesive, welding or any securing mechanism/means, and wherein the holding part is adhered to the metal cylinder (Boulais: annotated figures above and paragraphs 0190-0192, 0193).
Regarding claim 21, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the endoscope of claim 1, the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube in the central passage (working channel tube 16 in central passage 17 – Hansen: figures 4-5), wherein the anchor is one of a plurality of anchors positioned in 10% to 30% of the segments within a proximal section of the bending section (see Boulais: annotated figures above), the proximal section (14) comprising less than 60% of a length of the bending section (see include, but are not limited to, Hansen: figure 1, paragraph 0042; or see Boulais: figures 22, 23A, 23C-23D) wherein the anchors are spaced so that there is at least one anchorless segment (empty or gap portion that have no anchor) between segments with anchors of the plurality of anchors (see for example, Boulais and figures 23A, 23C-23D, 23K and annotation above).
Regarding claim 22, Hansen in view of Boulais discloses the system comprising the endoscope of claim 1 (see discussion in the rejection of claim 1), a monitor (1a, 1c) and a control unit (1) – see Hansen: figure 11 or see Boulais: with endoscope, monitor, and control unit as shown in figures 1C, 1D, 3B-3D.
Claims 1-3, 8, 11, 15, 22 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen et al. (US 20220233054) in view of McDermott et al. (US 20220176075).
It is noted that all documents that are directly or indirectly incorporated by reference in its entirety in the Hansen (see paragraphs 0006-0011) including US 20210393113 (referred to as Hansen113) are treated as part of the specification of Hansen (see for example, MPEP 2163.07b).
Regarding claim 1, Hansen discloses an endoscope (endoscope 2 – figure 10, paragraph 0041) comprising:
a handle (4 – figure 10, paragraph 0041);
an insertion cord (5) extending from the handle and including a bending section (6) (see figure 10, paragraph 0041-0042), the bending section comprising a one-piece part including a distal end (9) and a proximal end (14) (see figure 1, paragraph 0042);
a first steering wire (a first full-wire 11) extending from the handle (4) to the distal end (9) of the bending section (6) (see figures 1-2, 10, paragraph 0041); and
a second steering wire (a second full-wire 11) extending from the handle (4) to the distal end (9) of the bending section (6) (see figures 1-2, 10, paragraph 0041),
the bending section (6) comprising:
segments (8,9,14) connected to each other by hinges (15) (see figures 1-2, paragraphs 0015, 0042), the segments and the hinges forming an outer surface of the bending section (segments 8, 9, 14 and the hinges 15 forming an outer surface of the bending section 6 – see figures 1-2),
a central passage (17 – see figure 4) extending from the distal end to the proximal end (figure 4, paragraph 0045), each segment (8, 1, 14) including a circumferential wall comprising an inner surface facing and encircling the central passage (see figure 4, paragraphs 0045-0047),
grooves (read on lobes 23) extending from the inner surface into the circumferential wall of each segment and in open connection with the central passage (see figures 4-5, paragraphs 0046-0047),
an indent (gap/opening between segments 8, 9, 14– figures 4, 6, paragraph 0049) extending from the outer surface into a segment or a hinge, the indent positioned intermediate the proximal end and the distal end (see figures 4, 6, paragraph 0049),
wherein the first steering wire (first full-wire 11) passes through the grooves (read on lobe 23) of each segment (8, 9, 14) through the bending section (6) – see figures 1-2, 4, 6).
Hansen does not disclose an anchor comprising a holding part, and wherein the anchor is arranged in the indent with the holding part blocking displacement towards a center of the central passage of a portion of the first steering wire transversely adjacent the anchor.
McDermott discloses a bending section (100) comprising:
an anchor comprising a holding part (is read on spacer 740, 712 comprising a holding part at each end of the spacer – see figure 9), and
wherein the anchor (read on spacers 440, 740, cuts 712) is arranged in the indent (gap between segments 402 or 702 – paragraphs 0044-0045, 0050-0051, figures 6, 9), with the holding part blocking displacement towards a center of the central passage of a portion of the first steering wire transversely adjacent the anchor (portion at the ends of spacer 440,740 or cut 712 blocking displacement of wires 730, 729 towards a center of the central passage 604 of the segments – see figures 6, 8-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hansen with the teaching including an anchor comprising a holding part, and wherein the anchor is arranged in the indent with the holding part blocking displacement towards a center of the central passage of a portion of the first steering wire transversely adjacent the anchor as taught by McDermott in order to yield predictable result of providing clearance on the sides of the assembly to bend to different sides and holding segments and/or wires from displacement towards center of the central passage (see paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 2, Hansen in view of McDermott discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the endoscope consists of an ureteroscope or a cystoscope (endoscope with outer diameter of bending section below 2.8mm allowing to be used as e.g., an ureteroscope – see Hansen: paragraph 0048 and Hansen113, paragraph 0018), the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube in the central passage (working channel of the endoscope 2 passes through a central passage 17 – see Hansen: figure 4, paragraph 0042), and a distal tip including a camera (see Hansen: camera housing 10 – figure 1), an outer diameter of the bending section being between 2.0 and 3.0 mm (see Hansen: outer diameter of segments 8, 9, 14 of bending section 6 is 2.75 mm – see paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 3, Hansen in view of McDermott discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the endoscope consists of an ureteroscope or a cystoscope, the endoscope further comprising a working channel tube in the central passage (working channel of the endoscope 2 passes through a central passage 17 – see Hansen: figure 4, paragraph 0042), a distal tip including a camera (distal segment 9 comprises camera housing 10 – see Hansen: figure 1, paragraph 0041), and a bending sleeve over the bending section (outer sleeve covering the bending section – see Hansen: paragraph 0024), an outer diameter of the bending sleeve being between 2.0 and 3.0 mm (outer diameter of the segments 8, 9, 14 of bending section is 2.75 mm – see Hansen: paragraph 0048), wherein a cross-sectional area of the working channel tube is at least 40% of a cross-sectional area of the bending section (working channel of endoscope 2 pass through a central passage 17 provided in and by all of the segments 8, 9, 14 from the proximal end segment 14 to a distal end with camera housing 10 – see Hansen: figure 1, paragraph 0042).
Regarding claim 8, Hansen in view of McDermott discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the holding part (ends portion of the spacer 740) extends into a space where the groove (portion of spacer for the wire 730) and the central passage meet (see for example, McDermott: figures 9-10).
Regarding claim 11, Hansen in view of McDermott discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor (spacer 740, cut 712) comprises an exterior surface (external surface of 740/712) and an interior surface (internal surface of 740/712), the exterior surface being level with the outer surface of the bending section (outer surface of bending section with segment 702) and the interior surface being level with the inner surface of at least one segment (inner surface of at least one segment 702) – see McDermott figure 9.
Regarding claim 15, Hansen in view of McDermott discloses the endoscope of claim 1, wherein the anchor is a glue anchor comprised of hardened glue (spacer elements 740 may be glued or welded to an adjacent segment (McDermott: paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 22, Hansen in view of McDermott discloses the system comprising the endoscope of claim 1, a monitor (1c, 1a) ) and a control unit (1) – see Hansen: figure 11, paragraph 0040.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remiszewski et al. (US 20070282358) discloses steerable medical instrument with bending section 121 and groove 149 (see figures 3C, 4A).
Torii (US6482149) discloses curved part of endoscope with anchor 46 with holding part to block displacement to center of passage (figures 4-5).
Huang (US 20230284885) discloses controllable bending tube and endoscope device thereof (see also figures 3, 6).
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426
June 18, 2026