DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BABAEI (2023/0328843 A1).
With respect to claim 1, BABAEI discloses a method (Abstract; Title) performed by a user equipment (UE) (UE in FIG. 16) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS) (gNB Node in FIG. 16), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]),
wherein the MBS multicast configuration is associated with reception of an MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]);
performing a cell selection of a cell (paragraphs [0087] and [0088]); and
in case that the UE (UE in FIG. 16) is not indicated to stop monitoring a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast session that the UE has joined for the cell, performing an RRC connection resume procedure (paragraphs [0113] and [0143]; RRC connection resumption in FIG. 16).
With respect to claim 2, BABAEI further discloses 2. The method of claim 1, wherein, in case that a point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration for the multicast session is not available in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed, and wherein the PTM configuration is included in the MBS configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]).
With respect to claim 3, BABAEI further discloses 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1) on the cell, wherein, in case that the SIB1 does not scheduled an SIB24, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed, and wherein the SIB24 is associated with an MBS reception in the RRC inactive state in the cell (paragraph [0096]).
With respect to claim 4, BABAEI further discloses 4. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, from the BS, a paging message including configuration information for the reception of the MBS multicast in the RRC inactive state for the multicast session (paragraph [0008]); and
monitoring the G-RNTI corresponding to a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) included in the paging message, wherein, in case that an MBS control channel (MCCH) for the multicast session indicated by the TMGI is not present in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed (paragraphs [0131], [0132], [0134]).
With respect to claim 5, BABAEI further discloses 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell is different from a cell on which the RRC release message is received (paragraph [0151], see the switching the BWP includes changing a cell).
With respect to claim 6, BABAEI discloses a method (Abstract; Title) performed by a base station (BS) (gNB Node in FIG. 16) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) (UE in FIG. 16), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]),
wherein the MBS multicast configuration is associated with reception of an MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]); and
receiving, from the UE, a message for an RRC connection resume procedure, wherein the RRC connection resume procedure is performed in case that stop monitoring group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast session that the UE has joined is not indicated in a cell (paragraphs [0113] and [0143]; RRC connection resumption in FIG. 16).
With respect to claim 7, BABAEI further discloses 7. The method of claim 6, wherein, in case that a point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration for the multicast session is not available in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed, and wherein the PTM configuration is included in the MBS configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]).
With respect to claim 8, BABAEI further discloses 8. The method of claim 6, further comprising:
transmitting, to the UE (UE in FIG. 16), a paging message including configuration information for the reception of the MBS multicast in the RRC inactive state for the multicast session (paragraph [0008]),
wherein the paging message includes a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI), wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the TMGI, and wherein, in case that an MBS control channel (MCCH) for the multicast session indicated by the TMGI is not present in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed (paragraphs [0131], [0132], [0134]).
With respect to claim 9, BABAEI further discloses 9. The method of claim 6, wherein the cell is different from a cell on which the RRC release message is transmitted (paragraph [0151], see the switching the BWP includes changing a cell).
With respect to claim 10, BABAEI discloses a user equipment (UE) (UE in FIG. 16) in a wireless communication system, the UE (UE in FIG. 16) comprising:
a transceiver (1520 in FIG. 15; 1540 in FIG. 15; paragraph [0101); and
a controller (1520 in FIG. 15; 1540 in FIG. 15; paragraph [0101) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS) (gNB Node in FIG. 16), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]),
wherein the MBS multicast configuration is associated with reception of an MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]),
perform a cell selection of a cell (paragraphs [0087] and [0088]), and
in case that the UE is not indicated to stop monitoring a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast session that the UE has joined for the cell, perform an RRC connection resume procedure (paragraphs [0113] and [0143]; RRC connection resumption in FIG. 16).
With respect to claim 11, BABAEI further discloses 11. The UE of claim 10, wherein, in case that a point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration for the multicast session is not available in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed, and wherein the PTM configuration is included in the MBS configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]).
With respect to claim 12, BABAEI further discloses 12. The UE of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive a system information block 1 (SIB1) on the cell, wherein, in case that the SIB1 does not scheduled an SIB24, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed, and wherein the SIB24 is associated with an MBS reception in the RRC inactive state in the cell (paragraph [0096]).
With respect to claim 13, BABAEI further discloses 13. The UE of claim 10, wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, from the BS (gNB Node in FIG. 16), a paging message including configuration information for the reception of the MBS multicast in the RRC inactive state for the multicast session (paragraph [0008]), and
monitor the G-RNTI corresponding to a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) included in the paging message, wherein, in case that an MBS control channel (MCCH) for the multicast session indicated by the TMGI is not present in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed (paragraphs [0131], [0132], [0134]).
With respect to claim 14, BABAEI further discloses 14. The UE of claim 10, wherein the cell is different from a cell on which the RRC release message is received (paragraph [0151], see the switching the BWP includes changing a cell).
With respect to claim 15, BABAEI discloses a base station (BS) (gNB Node in FIG. 16) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:
a transceiver (1520 in FIG. 15; 1540 in FIG. 15; paragraph [0101); and
a controller (1520 in FIG. 15; 1540 in FIG. 15; paragraph [0101) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (UE in FIG. 16), a radio resource control (RRC) release message including multicast broadcast service (MBS) configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]),
wherein the MBS multicast configuration is associated with reception of an MBS multicast in an RRC inactive state (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]), and
receive, from the UE, a message for an RRC connection resume procedure, wherein the RRC connection resume procedure is performed in case that stop monitoring group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) for a multicast session that the UE has joined is not indicated in a cell (paragraphs [0113] and [0143]; RRC connection resumption in FIG. 16).
With respect to claim 16, BABAEI further discloses 16. The BS of claim 15, wherein, in case that a point-to-multipoint (PTM) configuration for the multicast session is not available in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed, and wherein the PTM configuration is included in the MBS configuration information (RRC with Multicast and PTM configuration in FIG. 16; paragraphs [0166] and [0167]).
With respect to claim 17, BABAEI further discloses 17. The BS of claim 15, wherein the controller is further configured to:
transmit, to the UE (UE in FIG. 16), a paging message including configuration information for the reception of the MBS multicast in the RRC inactive state for the multicast session (paragraph [0008]),
wherein the paging message includes a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) (paragraphs [0131], [0132], [0134]),
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the TMGI, and wherein, in case that an MBS control channel (MCCH) for the multicast session indicated by the TMGI is not present in the cell, the RRC connection resume procedure is performed (paragraphs [0131], [0132], [0134]).
With respect to claim 18, BABAEI further discloses 18. The BS of claim 15, wherein the cell is different from a cell on which the RRC release message is transmitted (paragraph [0151], see the switching the BWP includes changing a cell).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 5, 2026