DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/17/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for informalities, lack of antecedent support, or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 6, line 2, replace “configured to” with “configured to, in following order”
Claim 7, line 2, replace “configured to” with “configured to, in following order”
Claim 14, line 2, replace “configured to” with “configured to, in following order”
Claim 15, line 2, replace “configured to” with “configured to, in following order”
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application 18/897,564, in view of KIM et al. (US 2016/0255748 A1) (“Kim”) (Kim is a reference cited in the information disclosure statement submitted on 03/17/2026). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection. Following table provides example analyses of the independent claims of the instant application.
18/895,988 (instant)
18/897,564
Analysis
Claim 1
A headset computing device comprising:
a fan controller for controlling a fan of the headset computing device, wherein the fan controller is configured to:
stop the fan while the headset computing device is detached;
run the fan while the headset computing device is attached and a temperature of the headset computing device is above a first temperature threshold; and
stop the fan while the headset computing device is attached and the temperature of the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold.
Claim 1
A method of operating a headset computing device, the method comprising:
determining that the headset computing device is detached, and in response turning off a fan in the headset computing device;
determining that the headset computing device is attached and determining that a temperature of the headset computing device is above a first threshold temperature, and in response turning on the fan; and
determining that the headset computing device is attached and determining that the temperature of the headset computing device is below the first threshold temperature, and in response turning off the fan.
similar
see * below
“determining that the headset … is detached” (18/897,564) means that “the headset … is detached”
“stop” (18/895,988) “turning off” (18/897,564) reads on “stop” (18/895,988)
“determining that the headset … is attached” (18/897,564) means that “the headset … is attached”
“turning on” (18/897,564) reads on “run” (18/895,988)
see above.
Claim 9
A headset computing device comprising:
a system context module to receive inputs from components of the headset computing device to determine whether the headset computing device is attached or detached; a power management system daemon to receive the determination of whether the headset computing device is attached or detached;
a temperature sensor to provide temperature information; a fan;
a system management controller comprising a fan controller to control the fan,
wherein: when a determination is made that the headset computing device is detached, the power management system daemon instructs the fan controller to turn off the fan;
when a determination is made that the headset computing device is attached and the temperature information is that the headset computing device is above a first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns on the fan; and
when a determination is made that the headset computing device is attached and the temperature information is that the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns off the fan.
Claim 1
A method of operating a headset computing device, the method comprising:
Claim 3
wherein the determination that the headset computing device is attached is based on one or more inputs from a component of the headset computing device including a camera, an audio circuit, or a display.
Claim 2
wherein the temperature is determined by a temperature sensor in the headset computing device.
Claim 1
determining that the headset computing device is detached, and in response turning off a fan in the headset computing device;
determining that the headset computing device is attached and determining that a temperature of the headset computing device is above a first threshold temperature, and in response turning on the fan; and
determining that the headset computing device is attached and determining that the temperature of the headset computing device is below the first threshold temperature, and in response turning off the fan.
similar
similar
(See the interpretation of the “system context module” and the “power management system daemon” in CLAIM INTERPRETATION section below.)
similar
see * below
similar
similar
similar
Claim 13
A headset computing device comprising:
a processor;
a display; a camera; an audio circuit;
a temperature sensor;
a system management controller comprising a fan controller; and a fan controlled by the fan controller;
wherein the fan controller determines that the headset computing device is attached or detached based on inputs from one or more of the display, camera, or audio circuit, and:
when the headset computing device is detached, the fan controller enters a state where the fan is off;
when the headset computing device is attached, the fan controller enters a state where the fan can turn on; when the headset computing device is attached and temperature sensor detects a temperature above a first temperature threshold, the fan controller runs the fan; and
when the headset computing device is attached and the temperature sensor detects a temperature below a second temperature threshold, the fan controller turns the fan off,
wherein the second temperature threshold is equal to or less than the first temperature threshold.
Claim 15
A method of operating a headset computing device comprising:
Claim 3
wherein the determination that the headset computing device is attached is based on one or more inputs from a component of the headset computing device including a camera, an audio circuit, or a display.
Claim 2
wherein the temperature is determined by a temperature sensor in the headset computing device.
Claim 3
wherein the determination that the headset computing device is attached is based on one or more inputs from a component of the headset computing device including a camera, an audio circuit, or a display.
Claim 1
determining that the headset computing device is detached, and in response turning off a fan in the headset computing device;
Claim 15
detecting that the headset computing device is attached; determining that a temperature of the headset computing device is above a first threshold temperature, and in response running a fan on the headset computing device; and
determining that the temperature of the headset computing device is below a second threshold temperature, and in response stopping the fan on the headset computing device.
Claim 16
wherein the first threshold temperature and the second threshold temperature are the same.
similar
see * below
similar
similar
see * below
similar
“turning off a fan” (18/897,564) reads on “a state where the fan is off” (18/895,988)
“running a fan” (18/897,564) reads on “a state where the fan can turn on” and “runs the fan” (18/895,988)
“stopping the fan” (18/897,564) reads on “turns the fan off” (18/895,988)
similar
* Kim describes a head-mounted device with a heat radiator or a fan. (Kim: [0089] “Referring to FIG. 5, the device 500 may include a micro controller unit (MCU) 510, a communication module 520, a sensor module 530, an input module 540, an eye tracking module 550, a vibrating module 552, an adjustable optics module 554, a power management module 560, and a battery 562.”) (Kim: [0090] “The MCU 510 may be a controller of the device 500, which controls other components (for example, the communication module 520, the sensor module 530, the input module 540, the eye tracking module 550, the vibrating module 552, the adjustable optics module 554, the power management module 560, and the battery 562) by executing an operating system (OS) or an embedded software program. The MCU 510 may include a processor and a memory.”) (Kim: [0135] “Referring to FIG. 21, the device 200 may include a first sensing unit 265, the second sensing unit 270, and a controller 250. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided on the device 200, for example, on the surface of the face contact 202a. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided to sense that the device 200 with the portable electronic device 300 mounted thereon is worn on the face of the user.”) (Kim : [0139] “The controller 250 may be provided to control operation of the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value sensed in at least one of the first sensing unit 265 and the second sensing unit 270. Also, the controller 250 may be provided to control an operating mode of the heat radiator 400 according to an input mode that has been set.”)
The MCU 250 or the controller 250 reads on “a system management controller”, and the feature of the MCU 250 or the controller 250 that controls the heat radiator or the fan 400 reads on “a fan controller”. The processor of the MCU 250 or the controller 250 reads on “a processor”.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Referring to independent claim 9, this claim recites the claim limitations a “system context module” and a “power management system daemon”. No structure is described in the specification as performing the claimed functions of the “system context module” and the “power management system daemon.” For purposes of examination, as described in paragraphs [0036]-[0049] of the published specification, each of the “system context module” and the “power management system daemon” will be construed as software.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(b) The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein when the headset computing device is attached, the fan controller enters a second state where the fan can be on if needed.” It is unclear what Applicant means by a “state where the fan can be on if needed.” Appropriate clarification through claim amendment is respectfully requested. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret that the headset computing device being attached is the second state.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for similar reasons as the claim 3 as discussed above.
Claims 4-8 are dependent claims of claim 3. The claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 14-20 are dependent claims of claim 13. The claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and therefore, claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Each of the claim limitations the “system context module” and the “power management system daemon” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification describes in paragraphs[0036]-[0049] describe functions of the “system context module” and the “power management system daemon.” There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the functions. The use of the term “system context module” or “power management system daemon” is not adequate structure for performing the function because it does not describe a particular structure for performing the function. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed functions of the “system context module” and the “power management system daemon”. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US 2016/0255748 A1) (“Kim”), in view of Di Censo et al. (US 2017/0099539 A1) (“Di Censo”). Kim is a reference cited in the information disclosure statement submitted on 03/17/2026.
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim teaches:
A headset computing device comprising: (Kim: Abstract “An electronic device having a heat radiator and a method for controlling the electronic device are provided. The electronic device includes a frame including at least one optical assembly and a structure configured to receive a portable electronic device including a display, wherein an image is on the display can be seen through the at least one optical assembly when the portable electronic device is in the structure, a wearing member connected to the frame and configured to be worn together with the frame on the head of a user, and a heat radiator configured to remove heat from a space between the display and the optical assembly to outside the electronic device when the portable electronic device is received in the structure and is turned on.”) (Kim: [0054] “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device may be, for example, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone, an e-book reader, a desktop PC, a laptop PC, a netbook computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), an MP3 player, a mobile medical equipment, a camera, and a wearable device (for example, a head-mounted device (HMD) such as electronic glasses, electronic clothes, an electronic bracelet, an electronic necklace, an electronic appcessory, an electronic tattoo, or a smart watch).”) [The head-mounted device (HMD) reads on a “headset”.]
a fan controller for controlling a fan of the headset computing device, wherein the fan controller is configured to: (Kim: [0089] “Referring to FIG. 5, the device 500 may include a micro controller unit (MCU) 510, a communication module 520, a sensor module 530, an input module 540, an eye tracking module 550, a vibrating module 552, an adjustable optics module 554, a power management module 560, and a battery 562.”) (Kim: [0135] “Referring to FIG. 21, the device 200 may include a first sensing unit 265, the second sensing unit 270, and a controller 250. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided on the device 200, for example, on the surface of the face contact 202a. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided to sense that the device 200 with the portable electronic device 300 mounted thereon is worn on the face of the user.”) (Kim : [0139] “The controller 250 may be provided to control operation of the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value sensed in at least one of the first sensing unit 265 and the second sensing unit 270. Also, the controller 250 may be provided to control an operating mode of the heat radiator 400 according to an input mode that has been set.”) [The heat radiator 400 or the fan reads on “a fan”. The micro controller unit 510 or the controller 250 feature controlling the heat radiator 400 or the fan operation reads on “a fan controller”.]
stop the fan while the headset computing device is detached; (Kim: FIG. 26) (Kim: [0156] “That is, the device 200 determines whether the user is wearing the device 200 through the first sensing unit 265 (S110). Then, the device 200 operates the heat radiator 400 by turning on the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value of the first sensing unit 265 (S210) or turns off the heat radiator 400 according to the detection value of the first sensing unit 265 (S220).”) [The controller 250 turning off the heat radiator 400 or the fan when the device 200 is not being worn reads on “stop the fan while … is detached”.]
run the fan while the headset computing device is attached and a temperature of the headset computing device is above a first temperature threshold. (Kim: FIG. 26 and [0156] as discussed above) (Kim: [0157] “When the heat radiator 400 is operating (S210), the second sensing unit 270 may detect the temperature of the device 200 (S120). As described before with reference to FIG. 22, if a detection value sensed by the second sensing unit 270 is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold temperature T(ref) (S130), the heat radiator 400 may operate in the first fan operating mode DM1 (S230). If the detection value sensed by the second sensing unit 270 is larger than the predetermined threshold temperature T(ref), the heat radiator 400 may operate in the second fan operating mode DM2 (S240), which is faster than in the first fan operating mode DM1.”) [The controller 250 turning on the heat radiator 400 or the fan at the 2nd fan operating mode S240 when the temperature is larger than the predetermined threshold after determining that the device 200 is being worn reads on “run the fan while … is attached and … above a first temperature threshold”.]
Kim does not expressly teach: top the fan while the headset computing device is attached and the temperature of the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold.
Di Censo teaches:
stop the fan while the headset computing device is attached and the temperature of the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold. (Di Censo: FIG. 7) (Di Censo: [0002] “The various embodiments relate generally to headphone technology and, more specifically, to headphones with thermal control.”) (Di Censo: [0049] “In step 703, temperature controller 202 determines whether the monitored sensor input is within a deadband value around the target sensor input associated with the thermal control indicated in step 701. When the monitored sensor input is within the deadband value, method 700 proceeds back to step 702; when the monitored sensor input is lower than the deadband value, method 700 proceeds to step 704 (i.e., heating); when the monitored sensor input is higher than the deadband value, method 700 proceeds to step 705 (i.e., cooling).”) (Di Censo: [0050] “In step 704, performed in response to a target sensor input being lower than a deadband value, temperature controller 202 directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to heat earcups 101 or to increase heating of earcups 101. For example, one or more dampers 532 may be closed, fan 531 may be stopped or decreased in speed, heating output by heating elements 204 may be initiated or increased, etc. In some embodiments, temperature controller 202 may direct the thermal control apparatus to heat earcups 101 proportionate to how far below the deadband value the monitored sensor input is determined to be in step 703. Method 700 then proceeds back to step 702.”) [Stopping the fan when the temperature is lower than the lower temperature value of the deadband reads on “stop the fan while … is attached and the temperature … is below the first temperature threshold”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim and Di Censo before them, to modify the control scheme of the cooling fan of the head-mounted device, to incorporate stopping the fan when the temperature is lower than a lower limit of the comfortable thermal range or deadband while the user is wearing the head-mounted device.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the user to wear headphones operating in a comfortable temperature range or deadband. (Di Censo: [0008] “At least one advantage of the various embodiments is that the designs allow headphone users to more comfortably wear headphones in many different environmental conditions and tier longer periods of time without experiencing the thermal discomfort oftentimes associated with conventional headphone designs.”) (Di Censo: [0038] “In response to receiving such input, temperature controller 202 activates, deactivates, and otherwise directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to maintain a target temperature, or “setpoint,” within a specified range, or “deadband.” Such thermal control apparatus may include heating elements 204 and cooling elements 205 (shown in FIG. 2), and/or fan 531, damper 532, and/or a heat exchanger 533 (shown in FIG. 5). The value of the target temperature (setpoint) may be determined based on one or more factors, including, without limitation, a user input received via user interface 203, any of the above sensor inputs, and the current thermal control mode of headphone system 100, e.g., external condition mode, thermal transparency (internal condition) mode, target setpoint mode, user body condition mode, and temporal mode, among others. Furthermore, in some embodiments, the specific target temperature being monitored depends on the current thermal control mode of headphone system 100, as described below.”)
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Di Censo teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Kim further teaches:
wherein when the headset computing device is detached, the fan controller enters a first state where the fan is off. (Kim: FIG. 26 and [0156] as discussed in claim 1)
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Di Censo teach all the claimed features of claims 1-2. Kim further teaches:
wherein when the headset computing device is attached, the fan controller enters a second state where the fan can be on if needed. (Kim: FIG. 26 and [0156] as discussed in claim 1)
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Di Censo teach all the claimed features of claims 1-3. Kim further teaches:
wherein when the headset computing device is attached when worn and the headset computing device is detached when not worn. (Kim: [0148] “That is, the device 200 determines whether the user is wearing the device 200 through the first sensing unit 265 in operation S110. Then, the device 200 operates the heat radiator 400 by turning on the heat radiator 400 in operation S210 if the first sensing unit 265 indicates the device 200 is being worn by the user, or turns off the heat radiator 400 in operation S220 if the first sensing unit 265 indicates the device 200 is not being worn by the user.”)
Regarding independent claim 9, Kim teaches:
A headset computing device comprising: (Kim: Abstract “An electronic device having a heat radiator and a method for controlling the electronic device are provided. The electronic device includes a frame including at least one optical assembly and a structure configured to receive a portable electronic device including a display, wherein an image is on the display can be seen through the at least one optical assembly when the portable electronic device is in the structure, a wearing member connected to the frame and configured to be worn together with the frame on the head of a user, and a heat radiator configured to remove heat from a space between the display and the optical assembly to outside the electronic device when the portable electronic device is received in the structure and is turned on.”) (Kim: [0054] “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device may be, for example, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone, an e-book reader, a desktop PC, a laptop PC, a netbook computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), an MP3 player, a mobile medical equipment, a camera, and a wearable device (for example, a head-mounted device (HMD) such as electronic glasses, electronic clothes, an electronic bracelet, an electronic necklace, an electronic appcessory, an electronic tattoo, or a smart watch).”) [The head-mounted device (HMD) reads on a “headset”.]
a system context module to receive inputs from components of the headset computing device to determine whether the headset computing device is attached or detached; (Kim: [0089] “Referring to FIG. 5, the device 500 may include a micro controller unit (MCU) 510, a communication module 520, a sensor module 530, an input module 540, an eye tracking module 550, a vibrating module 552, an adjustable optics module 554, a power management module 560, and a battery 562.”) (Kim: [0092] “The sensor module 530 may measure physical quantities or detect operational states of the device 500, and convert the measured or detected information into electric signals. The sensor module 530 may include at least one of, for example, an accelerometer 531, a gyro sensor 532, a geomagnetic sensor 533, a magnetic sensor 534, a proximity sensor 535, a gesture sensor 536, a grip sensor 537, a biometric sensor 538, and an approach sensor 539. The device 500 may sense movement of the head of the wearer wearing the device 500 using at least one of, for example, the accelerometer 531, the gyro sensor 532, and the geomagnetic sensor 533. The device 500 may sense whether the device 500 is worn using, for example, the proximity sensor 535 or the grip sensor 537. According to an embodiment, the device 500 may sense whether the user wears the device 500 by at least one of, for example, infrared (IR) recognition, pressure recognition, and sensing of a variation in capacitance (or a dielectric constant).”) (Kim: [0148] “That is, the device 200 determines whether the user is wearing the device 200 through the first sensing unit 265 in operation S110. Then, the device 200 operates the heat radiator 400 by turning on the heat radiator 400 in operation S210 if the first sensing unit 265 indicates the device 200 is being worn by the user, or turns off the heat radiator 400 in operation S220 if the first sensing unit 265 indicates the device 200 is not being worn by the user.”) [The sensor module 530 or the first sensing unit 265 reads on “a system context module”. Sensing whether the device is being worn or not worn reads on “attached or detached”.]
a power management system daemon to receive the determination of whether the headset computing device is attached or detached; (Kim: [0148] as discussed above) [The operational steps S210 and S220 of the controller, as illustrated in FIG. 25, reads on “a power management system daemon”.]
a temperature sensor to provide temperature information; (Kim: [0138] “The second sensing unit 270 may be provided in the device 200 or the portable electronic device 300. The second sensing unit 270 may be provided to sense heat generated by the portable electronic device 300. The second sensing unit 270 may be, for example, a temperature sensor. While the second sensing unit 270 is described as being provided in the device 200 in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the second sensing unit 270 may be provided in the portable electronic device 300 in order to sense the temperature of the portable electronic device 300 more accurately.”)
a fan; (Kim: [0104] “Referring to FIGS. 6 and 7, a HMD may be provided with the heat radiator 400. Specifically, the heat radiator 400 may be disposed in the device 200, specifically on a side surface of the frame 202. The heat radiator 400 may help dissipate heat generated by the portable electronic device 300 by introducing external air in to the frame 202. The heat radiator 400 may be a fan type with a blade, or a piezo cooler. When the heat radiator 400 is operating, the heat radiator 400 may dissipate the heat discharged from the portable electronic device 300 by bringing external air in to the frame 202.”) [The heat radiator 400 or the fan reads on “a fan”.]
a system management controller comprising a fan controller to control the fan, wherein: (Kim: [0089] as discussed above) (Kim: [0135] “Referring to FIG. 21, the device 200 may include a first sensing unit 265, the second sensing unit 270, and a controller 250. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided on the device 200, for example, on the surface of the face contact 202a. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided to sense that the device 200 with the portable electronic device 300 mounted thereon is worn on the face of the user.”) (Kim : [0139] “The controller 250 may be provided to control operation of the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value sensed in at least one of the first sensing unit 265 and the second sensing unit 270. Also, the controller 250 may be provided to control an operating mode of the heat radiator 400 according to an input mode that has been set.”) [The micro controller unit 510 or the controller 250 reads on “a system management controller”. The micro controller unit 510 or the controller 250 feature controlling the heat radiator 400 or the fan operation reads on “a fan controller”.]
when a determination is made that the headset computing device is detached, the power management system daemon instructs the fan controller to turn off the fan; (Kim: FIG. 26) (Kim: [0156] “That is, the device 200 determines whether the user is wearing the device 200 through the first sensing unit 265 (S110). Then, the device 200 operates the heat radiator 400 by turning on the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value of the first sensing unit 265 (S210) or turns off the heat radiator 400 according to the detection value of the first sensing unit 265 (S220).”) [The controller 250 turning off the heat radiator 400 or the fan when the device 200 is not being worn reads on “when a determination is made … is detached … instructs the fan controller turn off the fan”.]
when a determination is made that the headset computing device is attached and the temperature information is that the headset computing device is above a first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns on the fan. (Kim: FIG. 26 and [0156] as discussed above) (Kim: [0157] “When the heat radiator 400 is operating (S210), the second sensing unit 270 may detect the temperature of the device 200 (S120). As described before with reference to FIG. 22, if a detection value sensed by the second sensing unit 270 is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold temperature T(ref) (S130), the heat radiator 400 may operate in the first fan operating mode DM1 (S230). If the detection value sensed by the second sensing unit 270 is larger than the predetermined threshold temperature T(ref), the heat radiator 400 may operate in the second fan operating mode DM2 (S240), which is faster than in the first fan operating mode DM1.”) [The controller 250 turning on the heat radiator 400 or the fan at the 2nd fan operating mode S240 when the temperature is larger than the predetermined threshold after determining that the device 200 is being worn reads on “run the fan while … is attached and … above a first temperature threshold”.] [The controller 250 turning on the heat radiator 400 or the fan at the 2nd fan operating mode S240 when the temperature is larger than the predetermined threshold after determining that the device 200 is being worn reads on “when a determination is made … is attached … above a first temperature threshold … instructs the fan controller turn on the fan”.]
Kim does not expressly teach: when a determination is made that the headset computing device is attached and the temperature information is that the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns off the fan.
Di Censo teaches:
when a determination is made that the headset computing device is attached and the temperature information is that the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns off the fan. (Di Censo: FIG. 7) (Di Censo: [0002] “The various embodiments relate generally to headphone technology and, more specifically, to headphones with thermal control.”) (Di Censo: [0049] “In step 703, temperature controller 202 determines whether the monitored sensor input is within a deadband value around the target sensor input associated with the thermal control indicated in step 701. When the monitored sensor input is within the deadband value, method 700 proceeds back to step 702; when the monitored sensor input is lower than the deadband value, method 700 proceeds to step 704 (i.e., heating); when the monitored sensor input is higher than the deadband value, method 700 proceeds to step 705 (i.e., cooling).”) (Di Censo: [0050] “In step 704, performed in response to a target sensor input being lower than a deadband value, temperature controller 202 directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to heat earcups 101 or to increase heating of earcups 101. For example, one or more dampers 532 may be closed, fan 531 may be stopped or decreased in speed, heating output by heating elements 204 may be initiated or increased, etc. In some embodiments, temperature controller 202 may direct the thermal control apparatus to heat earcups 101 proportionate to how far below the deadband value the monitored sensor input is determined to be in step 703. Method 700 then proceeds back to step 702.”) [Stopping the fan when the temperature is lower than the lower temperature value of the deadband reads on “when … is attached and the temperature … is below the first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns off the fan”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim and Di Censo before them, to modify the control scheme of the cooling fan of the head-mounted device, to incorporate stopping the fan when the temperature is lower than a lower limit of the comfortable thermal range or deadband while the user is wearing the head-mounted device.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the user to wear headphones operating in a comfortable temperature range or deadband. (Di Censo: [0008] “At least one advantage of the various embodiments is that the designs allow headphone users to more comfortably wear headphones in many different environmental conditions and tier longer periods of time without experiencing the thermal discomfort oftentimes associated with conventional headphone designs.”) (Di Censo: [0038] “In response to receiving such input, temperature controller 202 activates, deactivates, and otherwise directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to maintain a target temperature, or “setpoint,” within a specified range, or “deadband.” Such thermal control apparatus may include heating elements 204 and cooling elements 205 (shown in FIG. 2), and/or fan 531, damper 532, and/or a heat exchanger 533 (shown in FIG. 5). The value of the target temperature (setpoint) may be determined based on one or more factors, including, without limitation, a user input received via user interface 203, any of the above sensor inputs, and the current thermal control mode of headphone system 100, e.g., external condition mode, thermal transparency (internal condition) mode, target setpoint mode, user body condition mode, and temporal mode, among others. Furthermore, in some embodiments, the specific target temperature being monitored depends on the current thermal control mode of headphone system 100, as described below.”)
Claims 5, 8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Di Censo, further in view of Hviid et al. (US 2018/0227658 A1) (“Hviid”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Di Censo teach all the claimed features of claims 1-3. Kim and Di Censo do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 5.
Hviid teaches:
wherein the fan controller determines whether the headset computing device is attached or detached based on inputs from one or more of one or more components of the headset computing device including a display, an audio circuit, or a camera. (Hviid: [0043] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating one embodiment of an intelligent wireless headset. A plurality of sensors 38 are shown. This may include one or more air microphones 70, bone microphones 70, one or more contact sensors 72 which may be used to assist in determining if a user is wearing the intelligent headset. …”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim, Di Censo and Hviid before them, to modify determining whether the user is wearing the device using a sensor, to incorporate using a microphone or other sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for using the sensor that is a part of the features of the head-mounted device. (Hviid: [0041] “Microphones 18 & 20 are operably coupled to the housing 11 and the processor 40 and are positioned to receive ambient sounds. The ambient sounds may originate from an object worn or carried by a user, a third party, or the environment. Environmental sounds may include natural sounds such as thunder, rain, or wind or artificial sounds such as sounds made by machinery at a construction site. The type of microphones 18 & 20 employed may be a directional, bidirectional, omnidirectional, cardioid, shotgun, or one or more combinations of microphone types, and more than one microphone may be present in the headset 10. If more than one microphone is employed, each microphone 18 & 20 may be arranged in any configuration conducive to receiving an ambient sound. In addition, each microphone 18 & 20 may comprise an amplifier and/or an attenuator configured to modify sounds by either a fixed factor or in accordance with one or more user settings of an algorithm stored within a memory or the processor 40 of the headset 10. For example, a user may issue a voice command to the headset 10 via the microphones 18 & 20 to instruct the headset 10 to amplify sounds having sound profiles substantially like a human voice and attenuate sounds exceeding a certain sound intensity. The user may also modify the user settings of the headset 10 using a voice command received by one of the microphones 18 & 20, a control panel or gestural interface on the headset 10, or a software application stored on an external electronic device such as a mobile phone or a tablet capable of interfacing with the headset 10. Sounds may also be amplified or attenuated by an amplifier or an attenuator operably coupled to the headset 10 and separate from the microphones 18 & 20 before being communicated to the processor 40 for sound processing.”)
Regarding claim 8, Kim, Di Censo and Hviid teach all the claimed features of claims 1-3 and 5. Kim further teaches:
wherein the fan controller is further configured to: determine that the headset computing device is attached; (Kim: [0148] as discussed in claim 3)
determine that the temperature of the headset computing device is above a first temperature threshold and in response, to run the fan; and determine that the temperature of the headset computing device is below the first temperature threshold and in response, turn off the fan. (Kim: [0145] “… Or the heat radiator 400 may be turned on/off according to a detection value of the second sensing unit 270 as described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 25. …”)
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Di Censo teach all the claimed features of claim 9. Kim and Di Censo do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 10.
Hviid teaches:
wherein the inputs from the headset computing device comprise inputs from one or more components of the headset computing device including a display, an audio circuit, or a camera. (Hviid: [0043] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating one embodiment of an intelligent wireless headset. A plurality of sensors 38 are shown. This may include one or more air microphones 70, bone microphones 70, one or more contact sensors 72 which may be used to assist in determining if a user is wearing the intelligent headset. …”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim, Di Censo and Hviid before them, to modify determining whether the user is wearing the device using a sensor, to incorporate using a microphone or other sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for using the sensor that is a part of the features of the head-mounted device. (Hviid: [0041] “Microphones 18 & 20 are operably coupled to the housing 11 and the processor 40 and are positioned to receive ambient sounds. The ambient sounds may originate from an object worn or carried by a user, a third party, or the environment. Environmental sounds may include natural sounds such as thunder, rain, or wind or artificial sounds such as sounds made by machinery at a construction site. The type of microphones 18 & 20 employed may be a directional, bidirectional, omnidirectional, cardioid, shotgun, or one or more combinations of microphone types, and more than one microphone may be present in the headset 10. If more than one microphone is employed, each microphone 18 & 20 may be arranged in any configuration conducive to receiving an ambient sound. In addition, each microphone 18 & 20 may comprise an amplifier and/or an attenuator configured to modify sounds by either a fixed factor or in accordance with one or more user settings of an algorithm stored within a memory or the processor 40 of the headset 10. For example, a user may issue a voice command to the headset 10 via the microphones 18 & 20 to instruct the headset 10 to amplify sounds having sound profiles substantially like a human voice and attenuate sounds exceeding a certain sound intensity. The user may also modify the user settings of the headset 10 using a voice command received by one of the microphones 18 & 20, a control panel or gestural interface on the headset 10, or a software application stored on an external electronic device such as a mobile phone or a tablet capable of interfacing with the headset 10. Sounds may also be amplified or attenuated by an amplifier or an attenuator operably coupled to the headset 10 and separate from the microphones 18 & 20 before being communicated to the processor 40 for sound processing.”)
Regarding claim 11, Kim, Di Censo and Hviid teach all the claimed features of claims 9-10. Kim further teaches:
wherein when a determination is made that the headset computing device is detached, the power management system daemon instructs the fan controller to enter a state where the fan does not run. (Kim: [0156] as discussed in claim 9)
Regarding claim 12, Kim, Di Censo and Hviid teach all the claimed features of claims 9-10. Kim further teaches:
wherein when a determination is made that the headset computing device is attached, the power management system daemon instructs the fan controller to enter a state where the fan can run when needed. (Kim: [0156]-[0157] as discussed in claim 9)
Claims 13, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Hviid, further in view of Di Censo.
Regarding independent claim 13, Kim teaches:
A headset computing device comprising: (Kim: Abstract “An electronic device having a heat radiator and a method for controlling the electronic device are provided. The electronic device includes a frame including at least one optical assembly and a structure configured to receive a portable electronic device including a display, wherein an image is on the display can be seen through the at least one optical assembly when the portable electronic device is in the structure, a wearing member connected to the frame and configured to be worn together with the frame on the head of a user, and a heat radiator configured to remove heat from a space between the display and the optical assembly to outside the electronic device when the portable electronic device is received in the structure and is turned on.”) (Kim: [0054] “According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, an electronic device may be, for example, a smartphone, a tablet personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, a video phone, an e-book reader, a desktop PC, a laptop PC, a netbook computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), an MP3 player, a mobile medical equipment, a camera, and a wearable device (for example, a head-mounted device (HMD) such as electronic glasses, electronic clothes, an electronic bracelet, an electronic necklace, an electronic appcessory, an electronic tattoo, or a smart watch).”) [The head-mounted device (HMD) reads on a “headset”.]
a processor; (Kim: [0090] “The MCU 510 may be a controller of the device 500, which controls other components (for example, the communication module 520, the sensor module 530, the input module 540, the eye tracking module 550, the vibrating module 552, the adjustable optics module 554, the power management module 560, and the battery 562) by executing an operating system (OS) or an embedded software program. The MCU 510 may include a processor and a memory.”)
a display; a camera; (Kim: [0086] “The portable electronic device 300 may be, for example, a smart phone with a camera installed on its rear surface. The user may mount the portable electronic device 300 on the mounting surface 212 of the device 200 so that the front of the portable electronic device 300 where the display is may face the lenses 28 and 210. The user may fix the portable electronic device 300 to the device 200 by covering the portable electronic device 300 with the cover 204. The user may wear the device 200 with the portable electronic device 300 on his head, as illustrated in FIG. 2. The user may view a screen on the display of the portable electronic device 300 through the lenses 208 and 210 of the worn device 200.”)
an audio circuit; (Kim: [0084] “As described before, when the portable electronic device 300 is mounted on the device 200, the connection terminal 302 of the portable electronic device 300 may be connected to the connector 216 of the device 200 and thus a touch input received by the touch panel may be transmitted to the portable electronic device 300. The portable electronic device 300 may control a function corresponding to the touch input received from the touch panel in response to the touch input. For example, the portable electronic device 300 may control a sound volume or video play in response to the received touch input.”)
a temperature sensor; (Kim: [0138] “The second sensing unit 270 may be provided in the device 200 or the portable electronic device 300. The second sensing unit 270 may be provided to sense heat generated by the portable electronic device 300. The second sensing unit 270 may be, for example, a temperature sensor. While the second sensing unit 270 is described as being provided in the device 200 in an embodiment of the present disclosure, the second sensing unit 270 may be provided in the portable electronic device 300 in order to sense the temperature of the portable electronic device 300 more accurately.”)
a system management controller comprising a fan controller; and (Kim: [0089] “Referring to FIG. 5, the device 500 may include a micro controller unit (MCU) 510, a communication module 520, a sensor module 530, an input module 540, an eye tracking module 550, a vibrating module 552, an adjustable optics module 554, a power management module 560, and a battery 562.”) (Kim: [0135] “Referring to FIG. 21, the device 200 may include a first sensing unit 265, the second sensing unit 270, and a controller 250. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided on the device 200, for example, on the surface of the face contact 202a. The first sensing unit 265 may be provided to sense that the device 200 with the portable electronic device 300 mounted thereon is worn on the face of the user.”) (Kim : [0139] “The controller 250 may be provided to control operation of the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value sensed in at least one of the first sensing unit 265 and the second sensing unit 270. Also, the controller 250 may be provided to control an operating mode of the heat radiator 400 according to an input mode that has been set.”) [The micro controller unit 510 or the controller 250 reads on “a system management controller”. The micro controller unit 510 or the controller 250 feature controlling the heat radiator 400 or the fan operation reads on “a fan controller”.]
a fan controlled by the fan controller; (Kim: [0104] “Referring to FIGS. 6 and 7, a HMD may be provided with the heat radiator 400. Specifically, the heat radiator 400 may be disposed in the device 200, specifically on a side surface of the frame 202. The heat radiator 400 may help dissipate heat generated by the portable electronic device 300 by introducing external air in to the frame 202. The heat radiator 400 may be a fan type with a blade, or a piezo cooler. When the heat radiator 400 is operating, the heat radiator 400 may dissipate the heat discharged from the portable electronic device 300 by bringing external air in to the frame 202.”) [The heat radiator 400 or the fan reads on “a fan”.]
wherein the fan controller determines that the headset computing device is attached or detached … : (Kim: [0148] “That is, the device 200 determines whether the user is wearing the device 200 through the first sensing unit 265 in operation S110. Then, the device 200 operates the heat radiator 400 by turning on the heat radiator 400 in operation S210 if the first sensing unit 265 indicates the device 200 is being worn by the user, or turns off the heat radiator 400 in operation S220 if the first sensing unit 265 indicates the device 200 is not being worn by the user.”)
when the headset computing device is detached, the fan controller enters a state where the fan is off; (Kim: FIG. 26) (Kim: [0156] “That is, the device 200 determines whether the user is wearing the device 200 through the first sensing unit 265 (S110). Then, the device 200 operates the heat radiator 400 by turning on the heat radiator 400 according to a detection value of the first sensing unit 265 (S210) or turns off the heat radiator 400 according to the detection value of the first sensing unit 265 (S220).”) [The controller 250 turning off the heat radiator 400 or the fan when the device 200 is not being worn reads on “when a determination is made … is detached … instructs the fan controller turn off the fan”.]
when the headset computing device is attached, the fan controller enters a state where the fan can turn on;
when the headset computing device is attached and temperature sensor detects a temperature above a first temperature threshold, the fan controller runs the fan. (Kim: FIG. 26 and [0156] as discussed above) (Kim: [0157] “When the heat radiator 400 is operating (S210), the second sensing unit 270 may detect the temperature of the device 200 (S120). As described before with reference to FIG. 22, if a detection value sensed by the second sensing unit 270 is equal to or smaller than a predetermined threshold temperature T(ref) (S130), the heat radiator 400 may operate in the first fan operating mode DM1 (S230). If the detection value sensed by the second sensing unit 270 is larger than the predetermined threshold temperature T(ref), the heat radiator 400 may operate in the second fan operating mode DM2 (S240), which is faster than in the first fan operating mode DM1.”) [The controller 250 turning on the heat radiator 400 or the fan at the 2nd fan operating mode S240 when the temperature is larger than the predetermined threshold after determining that the device 200 is being worn reads on “run the fan while … is attached and … above a first temperature threshold”.] [The controller 250 turning on the heat radiator 400 or the fan at the 2nd fan operating mode S240 when the temperature is larger than the predetermined threshold after determining that the device 200 is being worn reads on “when … is attached … above a first temperature threshold, the fan controller runs the fan”.]
Kim does not expressly teach: wherein the fan controller determines that the headset computing device is attached or detached based on inputs from one or more of the display, camera, or audio circuit, … ; and when the headset computing device is attached and the temperature sensor detects a temperature below a second temperature threshold, the fan controller turns the fan off, wherein the second temperature threshold is equal to or less than the first temperature threshold.
Hviid teaches:
wherein the fan controller determines that the headset computing device is attached or detached based on inputs from one or more of the display, camera, or audio circuit. (Hviid: [0043] “FIG. 3 is a block diagram illustrating one embodiment of an intelligent wireless headset. A plurality of sensors 38 are shown. This may include one or more air microphones 70, bone microphones 70, one or more contact sensors 72 which may be used to assist in determining if a user is wearing the intelligent headset. …”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim and Hviid before them, to modify determining whether the user is wearing the device using a sensor, to incorporate using a microphone or other sensors.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for using the sensor that is a part of the features of the head-mounted device. (Hviid: [0041] “Microphones 18 & 20 are operably coupled to the housing 11 and the processor 40 and are positioned to receive ambient sounds. The ambient sounds may originate from an object worn or carried by a user, a third party, or the environment. Environmental sounds may include natural sounds such as thunder, rain, or wind or artificial sounds such as sounds made by machinery at a construction site. The type of microphones 18 & 20 employed may be a directional, bidirectional, omnidirectional, cardioid, shotgun, or one or more combinations of microphone types, and more than one microphone may be present in the headset 10. If more than one microphone is employed, each microphone 18 & 20 may be arranged in any configuration conducive to receiving an ambient sound. In addition, each microphone 18 & 20 may comprise an amplifier and/or an attenuator configured to modify sounds by either a fixed factor or in accordance with one or more user settings of an algorithm stored within a memory or the processor 40 of the headset 10. For example, a user may issue a voice command to the headset 10 via the microphones 18 & 20 to instruct the headset 10 to amplify sounds having sound profiles substantially like a human voice and attenuate sounds exceeding a certain sound intensity. The user may also modify the user settings of the headset 10 using a voice command received by one of the microphones 18 & 20, a control panel or gestural interface on the headset 10, or a software application stored on an external electronic device such as a mobile phone or a tablet capable of interfacing with the headset 10. Sounds may also be amplified or attenuated by an amplifier or an attenuator operably coupled to the headset 10 and separate from the microphones 18 & 20 before being communicated to the processor 40 for sound processing.”)
Kim and Hviid do not expressly teach: when the headset computing device is attached and the temperature sensor detects a temperature below a second temperature threshold, the fan controller turns the fan off, wherein the second temperature threshold is equal to or less than the first temperature threshold.
Di Censo teaches:
when the headset computing device is attached and the temperature sensor detects a temperature below a second temperature threshold, the fan controller turns the fan off, wherein the second temperature threshold is equal to or less than the first temperature threshold. (Di Censo: FIG. 7) (Di Censo: [0002] “The various embodiments relate generally to headphone technology and, more specifically, to headphones with thermal control.”) (Di Censo: [0049] “In step 703, temperature controller 202 determines whether the monitored sensor input is within a deadband value around the target sensor input associated with the thermal control indicated in step 701. When the monitored sensor input is within the deadband value, method 700 proceeds back to step 702; when the monitored sensor input is lower than the deadband value, method 700 proceeds to step 704 (i.e., heating); when the monitored sensor input is higher than the deadband value, method 700 proceeds to step 705 (i.e., cooling).”) (Di Censo: [0050] “In step 704, performed in response to a target sensor input being lower than a deadband value, temperature controller 202 directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to heat earcups 101 or to increase heating of earcups 101. For example, one or more dampers 532 may be closed, fan 531 may be stopped or decreased in speed, heating output by heating elements 204 may be initiated or increased, etc. In some embodiments, temperature controller 202 may direct the thermal control apparatus to heat earcups 101 proportionate to how far below the deadband value the monitored sensor input is determined to be in step 703. Method 700 then proceeds back to step 702.”) [The higher temperature value of the deadband or the range reads on “the first temperature threshold”, and the lower temperature value of the deadband or the range reads on “a second temperature threshold”. Stopping the fan when the temperature is lower than the lower temperature value of the deadband reads on “when … is attached and the temperature … is below the first temperature threshold, the fan controller turns off the fan”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim, Hviid and Di Censo before them, to modify the control scheme of the cooling fan of the head-mounted device, to incorporate stopping the fan when the temperature is lower than a lower limit of the comfortable thermal range or deadband while the user is wearing the head-mounted device.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the user to wear headphones operating in a comfortable temperature range or deadband. (Di Censo: [0008] “At least one advantage of the various embodiments is that the designs allow headphone users to more comfortably wear headphones in many different environmental conditions and tier longer periods of time without experiencing the thermal discomfort oftentimes associated with conventional headphone designs.”) (Di Censo: [0038] “In response to receiving such input, temperature controller 202 activates, deactivates, and otherwise directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to maintain a target temperature, or “setpoint,” within a specified range, or “deadband.” Such thermal control apparatus may include heating elements 204 and cooling elements 205 (shown in FIG. 2), and/or fan 531, damper 532, and/or a heat exchanger 533 (shown in FIG. 5). The value of the target temperature (setpoint) may be determined based on one or more factors, including, without limitation, a user input received via user interface 203, any of the above sensor inputs, and the current thermal control mode of headphone system 100, e.g., external condition mode, thermal transparency (internal condition) mode, target setpoint mode, user body condition mode, and temporal mode, among others. Furthermore, in some embodiments, the specific target temperature being monitored depends on the current thermal control mode of headphone system 100, as described below.”)
Regarding claim 16, Kim, Hviid and Di Censo teach all the claimed features of claim 13. Di Censo further teaches:
wherein the second temperature threshold is less than the first temperature threshold, and (Di Censo: [0049] as discussed in claim 13) [The higher temperature value of the deadband or the range reads on “the first temperature threshold”, and the lower temperature value of the deadband or the range reads on “a second temperature threshold”.]
the fan controller is further configured to: determine that the headset computing device is attached; (Di Censo: [0043] “In temporal mode, temperature controller 202 directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to heat or cool earcups 101 in response to temporal inputs, such as time of day and/or duration of time a user has been wearing headphone system 100. For example, in some embodiments, temperature controller 202 may include a software or firmware module configured to learn the temperature setpoint habits of a particular user with respect to time of day and/or duration of time that headphone system 100 has been worn. In such embodiments, one or both of earcups 101 may include some sort of contact sensor to determine when the user begins wearing the headphones. In some embodiments, the contact sensor may be incorporated into user head temperature sensor 222, galvanic skin response sensor 223, and/or pulse/respiration sensor 225. Furthermore, in temporal mode, temperature controller 202 may be configured to direct thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to heat or cool earcups 101 in response in any suitable temperature profile that varies with time.”) [Wearing reads on “attached”.]
determine that the temperature of the headset computing device is above the first temperature threshold and in response, to run the fan; and (Di Censo: FIG. 7) (Di Censo: [0051] “In step 705, performed in response to a target sensor input being higher than a deadband value, temperature controller 202 directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to cool earcups 101 or to increase cooling of earcups 101. For example, one or more dampers 532 may be opened, fan 531 may be started or increased in speed, cooling output by cooling elements 205 may be initiated or increased, etc. In some embodiments, temperature controller 202 may direct the thermal control apparatus to cool earcups 101 proportionate to how far above the deadband value the monitored sensor input is determined to be in step 703. Method 700 then proceeds back to step 702.”)
determine that the temperature of the headset computing device is below the second temperature threshold and in response, turn off the fan. (Di Censo: [0002] and [0049]-[0050] as discussed in claim 13)
The motivation to combine Kim, Hviid and Di Censo as described in claim 13 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 19, teach all the claimed features of claim 13. Di Censo further teaches:
wherein the second temperature threshold is less than the first temperature threshold, and (Di Censo: [0049] as discussed in claim 13) [The higher temperature value of the deadband or the range reads on “the first temperature threshold”, and the lower temperature value of the deadband or the range reads on “a second temperature threshold”.]
when the temperature sensor detects a temperature above the first temperature threshold, the fan controller runs the fan at a high speed, and wherein when the temperature sensor detects a temperature below the first temperature threshold and above the second temperature threshold, the fan controller runs the fan at a low speed. (Di Censo: [0051] “In step 705, performed in response to a target sensor input being higher than a deadband value, temperature controller 202 directs thermal control apparatus associated with headphone system 100 to cool earcups 101 or to increase cooling of earcups 101. For example, one or more dampers 532 may be opened, fan 531 may be started or increased in speed, cooling output by cooling elements 205 may be initiated or increased, etc. In some embodiments, temperature controller 202 may direct the thermal control apparatus to cool earcups 101 proportionate to how far above the deadband value the monitored sensor input is determined to be in step 703. Method 700 then proceeds back to step 702.”) (Di Censo: [0052] In some embodiments, when temperature controller 202 determines that the monitored sensor input is within the deadband value in step 702, temperature controller 202 may also perform some sort of temperature correction, rather than remaining idle until the monitored sensor input is outside a particular deadband value. Thus, in some embodiments, even when the monitored input is within the deadband value, method 700 may proceed to step 704 or 705 to adjust the monitored sensor input. For example, temperature controller 202 may employ a proportional-integral-derivative (PID), proportional-integral, proportional, or other similar control algorithm to determine how much to direct the thermal control apparatus of headphone system 100 to heat or cool earcups 101 when the monitored sensor input is determined in step 702 to be within the deadband value.”) [Within the deadband or the range reads on “a temperature below the first temperature threshold and above the second temperature threshold”. The cooling or the fan speed proportionate to the temperature with respect to the deadband values read on “runs the fan at a low speed”.]
The motivation to combine Kim, Hviid and Di Censo as described in claim 13 is incorporated herein.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116