DETAILED ACTION
.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application U.S. Provisional App# 63541812 (filed 09/30/2023) under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/14/2026 and 12/29/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement filed 10/15/2025 and 11/26/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. A concise explanation of relevance has not been provided for foreign patent documents that have been lined through in the attached marked up copies of the IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Graham (US20200379730A1)
Regarding claim 1,
Graham teaches, A computer system, comprising: (¶0254 teaches, electronic device 600)
one or more processors; and (¶0254 teaches device 600 includes one or more features of device 100, 300, or 500. ¶0226 teaches device 500 includes processors 516)
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: ((¶0254 teaches device 600 includes one or more features of device 100, 300, or 500. ¶0228 teaches device 500 includes memory 518 which comprises one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions)
detecting that a set of one or more proximity conditions is satisfied, wherein the set of one or more proximity conditions includes a distance condition that is satisfied when a distance between the computer system and an area is determined to satisfy a threshold distance; (¶0289 teaches, electronic device detects (702), while connected to an external device (e.g., 650), an indication that a physical proximity between the electronic device and the external device satisfies a proximity condition (e.g., represented by 652) and also teaches, the proximity condition is satisfied if the distance between the electronic device and the external device is less than a threshold distance (e.g., 6 inches, 12 inches, 18 inches, 24 inches).)
in response to detecting that the set of one or more proximity conditions is satisfied, displaying a prompt to open an area control application that is configured to perform one or more functions associated with the area; (¶0290 teaches, In response to detecting the indication that the physical proximity satisfies the proximity condition, the electronic device displays (704), via the display device, a first media information affordance (e.g., 606, 616, 620) representing a first media item)
while displaying the prompt to open the area control application, detecting an input that includes selection of the prompt; (¶0291 teaches, The electronic device receives (706) a first input (e.g., 610 a, 610 d, 610 e) representing selection of the first media information affordance.)
in response to detecting the input that includes selection of the prompt, displaying a user interface of the area control application, including displaying, in the user interface of the area control application, one or more selectable elements including an area control element; (¶0293 teaches, In response to (708) receiving the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first input is a second type of input (e.g., a directional swipe gesture on the first media information affordance) different from the first type of input, the electronic device displays (712), via the display device, a second media information affordance (e.g., 608) representing the first media item)
detecting an input that includes selection of the area control element; and (¶0262 teaches, detecting an input corresponding to selection of the media item while media information affordance 608 is displayed (e.g., a tap on media item graphic 608-5 or a tap on media information affordance 608 while media item graphic 608-5 is entered on media information affordance 608))
in response to detecting the input that includes selection of the area control element, requesting that the area perform an operation corresponding to the area control element. (¶0262 teaches, In response to an input corresponding to selection of the media item while media information affordance 608 is displayed (e.g., a tap on media item graphic 608-5 or a tap on media information affordance 608 while media item graphic 608-5 is entered on media information affordance 608), playback of the media item “Summertime by DJ AP” on device 650 is initiated.)
Regarding claim 3,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein displaying the prompt includes: in accordance with a determination that the computer system is inside the area, displaying the prompt in a dynamic area of a display of the computer system. (¶0258 teaches, In response to detecting the indication that the physical proximity satisfies the proximity condition, device 600 displays media information affordance 606)
Regarding claim 4,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for:
ceasing display of the user interface of the area control application; (¶0365 teaches, FIGS. 11A-11D illustrates techniques for ceasing display of graphical elements, such as, e.g., media information affordances 606, 608, 616, 620, 622, and 902.)
while the user interface of the area control application is not displayed, displaying an interactive area control user interface element that includes one or more selectable control elements; (¶0376 teaches, FIG. 13A illustrates device 600 displaying user interface 1320. User interface 1320 includes dynamic control portion 1324, which is visually located between static control portion 1322 (which is located near the top of user interface 1320) and static control portion 1326 (which is located near the bottom of user interface 1320). Each of the control portions (e.g., 1324, 1322, and 1326) are depicted in FIG. 13A as including multiple controls.)
detecting a user input that includes selection of a first control element of the one or more selectable control elements; and (¶0379 teaches, device 600 detects a tap gesture on arrive home scene control 1334 a)
in response to detecting selection of the first control element, cause the computer system to request the area to perform an operation corresponding to the first control element. (¶0379 teaches, in response to detecting the tap gesture on arrive home scene control 1334 a, transmits an instruction that causes thermostat 1218 to turn on and be set to a desired temperature, living room lamp 1242 to turn on, and living room speaker 1248 to play Jazz music. In comparison, porch light control 1334 b only controls one device (e.g., porch light 1262) and performs one function (e.g., toggles porch light 1262 on/off))
Regarding claim 5,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 4, wherein displaying the interactive area control user interface element includes displaying the interactive area control user interface element having content that is based on a context. (¶0379 teaches, dynamic control portion 1324 includes dynamic accessory device controls that are displayed based on the use context in which device 600 is operating,)
Regarding claim 6
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 5, wherein displaying the interactive area control user interface element includes: in accordance with a determination that the computer system is inside the area, displaying the interactive area control user interface element having a first set of one or more selectable control elements. (¶0385-¶0386 teaches, dynamic control portion 1324 to display a different set of dynamic accessory device controls that corresponds to the device being located inside home)
Regarding claim 7,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 5, wherein displaying the interactive area control user interface element includes: in accordance with a determination that the computer system is not inside the area, displaying the interactive area control user interface element having a second set of one or more selectable control elements. (¶0380 teaches, arrive home scene control 1334 a and porch light control 1334 b are displayed in dynamic control portion 1324 because device 600 is operating in a use context that corresponds to device 600 being at a location (e.g., as shown by 1302 a) that is outside of home 1202.)
Regarding claim 8,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more proximity conditions does not require the computer system to have an account associated with the area. (¶0258 teaches, In response to detecting the indication that the physical proximity satisfies the proximity condition, device 600 displays media information affordance 606, which represents a media item recently played on device 600. ¶0265 teaches, proximity condition range indicator 652 represents a physical proximity that satisfies the proximity condition. Therefore, the proximity condition only requires a physical proximity and doesn’t require an account associated with the area.)
Regarding claim 9,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the set of one or more proximity conditions does not require the computer system to have previously performed a configuration associated with the area. (¶0258 teaches, In response to detecting the indication that the physical proximity satisfies the proximity condition, device 600 displays media information affordance 606, which represents a media item recently played on device 600. ¶0265 teaches, proximity condition range indicator 652 represents a physical proximity that satisfies the proximity condition. Therefore, the proximity condition only requires a physical proximity and doesn’t require the computer system to have previously performed a configuration associated with the area.)
Regarding claim 10,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation corresponding to the area control element includes controlling an environment control parameter of the area. (¶0379 teaches, area control element includes home scene control 1334 which transmits an instruction that causes thermostat 1218 to turn on and be set to a desired temperature, living room lamp 1242 to turn on, and living room speaker 1248 to play Jazz music.)
Regarding claim 11,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation corresponding to the area control element includes controlling a media parameter for the area. (¶0262 teaches, controlling playback of media item)
Regarding claim 12,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation corresponding to the area control element includes controlling a destination parameter for the area. (¶0379 teaches, area control element includes home scene control 1334 which transmits an instruction that causes thermostat 1218 to turn on and be set to a desired temperature, living room lamp 1242 to turn on, and living room speaker 1248 to play Jazz music.)
Regarding claim 13,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the operation corresponding to the area control element includes editing a queue associated with the area. (¶0263 teaches, In addition, media information affordance 608 includes a queue of media items (e.g., media item graphic 608-5, 608-6 in FIG. 6C) that can be selected for playback on device)
Regarding claim 14,
Graham teaches, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: detecting an input that includes selection of a user interface setting for the user interface of the area, (¶0406 teaches, in some embodiments, at FIG. 13N, device 600 detects swipe gesture on user interface 1380.)
wherein displaying the user interface of the area control application includes displaying the user interface of the area control application according to the user interface setting. (¶0406 teaches, in response to detecting the swipe gesture on user interface 1380, device 600 displays user interface 1320 without any dynamic device controls and home control 1333 (e.g., removes dynamic control portion 1324) because dynamic controls setting 1382 is in the inactive state.)
Regarding claim 15,
Graham teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a computer system, the one or more programs including instructions for: ((¶0254 teaches device 600 includes one or more features of device 100, 300, or 500. ¶0228 teaches device 500 includes memory 518 which comprises one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums, for storing computer-executable instructions)
detecting that a set of one or more proximity conditions is satisfied, wherein the set of one or more proximity conditions includes a distance condition that is satisfied when a distance between the computer system and an area is determined to satisfy a threshold distance; (¶0289 teaches, electronic device detects (702), while connected to an external device (e.g., 650), an indication that a physical proximity between the electronic device and the external device satisfies a proximity condition (e.g., represented by 652) and also teaches, the proximity condition is satisfied if the distance between the electronic device and the external device is less than a threshold distance (e.g., 6 inches, 12 inches, 18 inches, 24 inches).)
in response to detecting that the set of one or more proximity conditions is satisfied, displaying a prompt to open an area control application that is configured to perform one or more functions associated with the area; (¶0290 teaches, In response to detecting the indication that the physical proximity satisfies the proximity condition, the electronic device displays (704), via the display device, a first media information affordance (e.g., 606, 616, 620) representing a first media item)
while displaying the prompt to open the area control application, detecting an input that includes selection of the prompt; (¶0291 teaches, The electronic device receives (706) a first input (e.g., 610 a, 610 d, 610 e) representing selection of the first media information affordance.)
in response to detecting the input that includes selection of the prompt, displaying a user interface of the area control application, including displaying, in the user interface of the area control application, one or more selectable elements including an area control element; (¶0293 teaches, In response to (708) receiving the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first input is a second type of input (e.g., a directional swipe gesture on the first media information affordance) different from the first type of input, the electronic device displays (712), via the display device, a second media information affordance (e.g., 608) representing the first media item)
detecting an input that includes selection of the area control element; and (¶0262 teaches, detecting an input corresponding to selection of the media item while media information affordance 608 is displayed (e.g., a tap on media item graphic 608-5 or a tap on media information affordance 608 while media item graphic 608-5 is entered on media information affordance 608))
in response to detecting the input that includes selection of the area control element, requesting that the area perform an operation corresponding to the area control element. (¶0262 teaches, In response to an input corresponding to selection of the media item while media information affordance 608 is displayed (e.g., a tap on media item graphic 608-5 or a tap on media information affordance 608 while media item graphic 608-5 is entered on media information affordance 608), playback of the media item “Summertime by DJ AP” on device 650 is initiated.)
Regarding claim 16,
Graham teaches, A method, comprising: detecting that a set of one or more proximity conditions is satisfied, wherein the set of one or more proximity conditions includes a distance condition that is satisfied when a distance between a computer system and an area is determined to satisfy a threshold distance; (¶0289 teaches, electronic device detects (702), while connected to an external device (e.g., 650), an indication that a physical proximity between the electronic device and the external device satisfies a proximity condition (e.g., represented by 652) and also teaches, the proximity condition is satisfied if the distance between the electronic device and the external device is less than a threshold distance (e.g., 6 inches, 12 inches, 18 inches, 24 inches).)
in response to detecting that the set of one or more proximity conditions is satisfied, displaying a prompt to open an area control application that is configured to perform one or more functions associated with the area; (¶0290 teaches, In response to detecting the indication that the physical proximity satisfies the proximity condition, the electronic device displays (704), via the display device, a first media information affordance (e.g., 606, 616, 620) representing a first media item)
while displaying the prompt to open the area control application, detecting an input that includes selection of the prompt; (¶0291 teaches, The electronic device receives (706) a first input (e.g., 610 a, 610 d, 610 e) representing selection of the first media information affordance.)
in response to detecting the input that includes selection of the prompt, displaying a user interface of the area control application, including displaying, in the user interface of the area control application, one or more selectable elements including an area control element; (¶0293 teaches, In response to (708) receiving the first input, in accordance with a determination that the first input is a second type of input (e.g., a directional swipe gesture on the first media information affordance) different from the first type of input, the electronic device displays (712), via the display device, a second media information affordance (e.g., 608) representing the first media item)
detecting an input that includes selection of the area control element; (¶0262 teaches, detecting an input corresponding to selection of the media item while media information affordance 608 is displayed (e.g., a tap on media item graphic 608-5 or a tap on media information affordance 608 while media item graphic 608-5 is entered on media information affordance 608))
and in response to detecting the input that includes selection of the area control element, requesting that the area perform an operation corresponding to the area control element. (¶0262 teaches, In response to an input corresponding to selection of the media item while media information affordance 608 is displayed (e.g., a tap on media item graphic 608-5 or a tap on media information affordance 608 while media item graphic 608-5 is entered on media information affordance 608), playback of the media item “Summertime by DJ AP” on device 650 is initiated.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham (US20200379730A1) in view of Taylor (US20200111274A1)
Regarding claim 2,
Graham doesn’t teach, The computer system of claim 1, wherein the one or more programs further include instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the computer system is within the area, executing the area control application as a background process on the computer system. (Taylor in ¶0034 teaches, the access notification may be generated by a background process executing at a particular one of the one or more communication devices 122.sub.1, 122.sub.2,-122.sub.N, automatically. For example, a communication device may generate an access notification automatically to trigger the “unlock” notification based on user's proximity to building 102, where the proximity may be detected using, for example bluetooth beacon technology, geofencing technology, global positioning system (GPS), or the like. In either scenario, the one or more communication devices 122.sub.1, 122.sub.2,-122.sub.N transmits the unlock notification to the server computing device 120.)
Taylor is an art in the area of interest as it relates to granting access to a building (area control). A combination of Taylor with Graham would allow the system to execute the area control application as a background process. Executing an area control application in the background based on proximity determination is known in the art as evident by Taylor, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, executing the area control as background process would allow the system to perform the function without user intervention and this make the system to more user friendly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dellinger (US20200358897A1) in ¶0077 teaches, automatically opening a garage door based on location with regards to a predetermined distance from the house.
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116