Examiner’s Note
For applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v.Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005) See MPEP 2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hammerschmidt et al. (US 2022/0137177 A1 “HAMMERSCHMIDT”).
Regarding claim 1, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses a method, comprising: sending, by a first device, ranging control information to a second device through a first channel, wherein the ranging control information is used to configure a ranging frame (a first device (e.g., an “initiator” device) and a second device (e.g., a “responder” device), respectively, include a hybrid wireless system (e.g., a hybrid wireless transceiver) [0058]); (the first device may schedule a start time (e.g., a discrete time) to transmit a packet to the second device via a narrowband (NB) signal that conveys synchronization data (e.g., including time and frequency synchronization information) [0060]); and receiving or sending, by the first device, the ranging frame through a second channel, wherein a bandwidth of the second channel is greater than a bandwidth of the first channel (turning to the transmission and reception of ultra-wideband (UWB) fragments by each device, the first device may schedule transmission of the plurality of fragments to the second device. The scheduling of transmission of the plurality of fragments may be in accordance with synchronization data that was conveyed to the second device by the first device via the NB signal [0064]); (the hybrid wireless system of the first device may include an ultra-wideband sub-system and a narrowband sub-system [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the ranging control information comprises at least one of the following: first information, wherein the first information indicates whether the ranging frame comprises a channel impulse response training sequence (CTS); second information, wherein the second information indicates a delay time period between a clock synchronization moment and a first slot in a ranging round; or third information, wherein the third information indicates to the second device to feed back a ranging measurement value, or feed back a ranging measurement value and a positioning result that is of the second device and that is obtained based on the ranging measurement value, and wherein the ranging measurement value comprises information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066]). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 3, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein: the ranging control information comprises the third information, and the information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame comprises a time difference between a receiving moment of the ranging frame and a sending moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame, or a time difference between a sending moment of the ranging frame and a receiving moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 4, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the ranging control information comprises the third information, and the information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame comprises an angle of arrival of the second device relative to the first device (a receiver device may take advantage of the energy that is “raked in” (e.g., aggregated) from various intervals (e.g., for each short burst), thus enabling a more accurate CIR estimation. Based in part on this CIR estimation, a time-of flight, range, position (localization), and/or angle-of arrival (AOA) estimation may be determined. Thus, by utilizing a hybrid wireless system that is capable of tightly coordinated NB and UWB signaling, embodiments enable at least improved operating range and operating efficiency for UWB-based signaling [0074]).
Regarding claim 5, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein: the ranging control information comprises the third information, the third information indicates the second device to feed back the ranging measurement value and the positioning result, the ranging control information further comprises fourth information, and the fourth information indicates that the positioning result is a location of the second device relative to the first device, or a positioning result in an absolute coordinate system (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 6, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving or sending, by the first device, a measurement result through the first channel, wherein the measurement result is determined based on the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066]).
Regarding claim 7, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of the following: fifth information, wherein the fifth information indicates whether the measurement result comprises an address of a basepoint device, and the basepoint device is in a communication system in which the first device is comprised; sixth information, wherein the sixth information indicates a quantity N of positioning results comprised in the measurement result, and N is a positive integer; seventh information, wherein the seventh information indicates the positioning result (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 6); eighth information, wherein the eighth information indicates whether the measurement result comprises a confidence of reply time, and the reply time is a time difference between a receiving moment of the ranging frame and a sending moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame; or ninth information, wherein the ninth information indicates whether the measurement result comprises a confidence of round-trip time, and the round-trip time is a time difference between a sending moment of the ranging frame and a receiving moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame. Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 8, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a second device, ranging control information through a first channel, wherein the ranging control information is used to configure a ranging frame (a first device (e.g., an “initiator” device) and a second device (e.g., a “responder” device), respectively, include a hybrid wireless system (e.g., a hybrid wireless transceiver) [0058]); (the first device may schedule a start time (e.g., a discrete time) to transmit a packet to the second device via an NB signal that conveys synchronization data (e.g., including time and frequency synchronization information) [0060]); and sending or receiving, by the second device, the ranging frame through a second channel, wherein a bandwidth of the second channel is greater than a bandwidth of the first channel (turning to the transmission and reception of UWB fragments by each device, the first device may schedule transmission of the plurality of fragments to the second device. The scheduling of transmission of the plurality of fragments may be in accordance with synchronization data that was conveyed to the second device by the first device via the NB signal [0064]); (the hybrid wireless system of the first device may include an ultra-wideband sub-system and a narrowband sub-system [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the ranging control information comprises at least one of the following: first information, wherein the first information indicates whether the ranging frame comprises a channel impulse response training sequence (CTS); second information, wherein the second information indicates a delay time period between a clock synchronization moment and a first slot in a ranging round; and third information, wherein the third information indicates the second device to feed back a ranging measurement value, or feed back a ranging measurement value and a positioning result that is of the second device and that is obtained based on the ranging measurement value, and the ranging measurement value comprises information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066]). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 10, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein: the ranging control information comprises the third information, and the information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame comprises a time difference between a receiving moment of the ranging frame and a sending moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame, or a time difference between a sending moment of the ranging frame and a receiving moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 9). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 11, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the ranging control information comprises the third information, and the information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame comprises an angle of arrival of the second device relative to a first device (a receiver device may take advantage of the energy that is “raked in” (e.g., aggregated) from various intervals (e.g., for each short burst), thus enabling a more accurate CIR estimation. Based in part on this CIR estimation, a time-of flight, range, position (localization), and/or angle-of arrival (AOA) estimation may be determined. Thus, by utilizing a hybrid wireless system that is capable of tightly coordinated NB and UWB signaling, embodiments enable at least improved operating range and operating efficiency for UWB-based signaling [0074]).
Regarding claim 12, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein: the ranging control information comprises the third information, the third information indicates the second device to feed back the ranging measurement value and the positioning result, the ranging control information further comprises fourth information, and the fourth information indicates that the positioning result is a location of the second device relative to the first device, or a positioning result in an absolute coordinate system (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 9). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 13, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the method further comprises: sending or receiving, by the second device, a measurement result through the first channel, wherein the measurement result is determined based on the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [HAMMERSCHMIDT 0066]).
Regarding claim 14, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the method according to claim 13, wherein the measurement result comprises at least one of the following: fifth information, wherein the fifth information indicates whether the measurement result comprises an address of a basepoint device, and the basepoint device is in a communication system in which the first device is comprised; sixth information, wherein the sixth information indicates a quantity N of positioning results comprised in the measurement result, and N is a positive integer; seventh information, wherein the seventh information indicates the positioning result (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 13); eighth information, wherein the eighth information indicates whether the measurement result comprises a confidence of reply time, and the reply time is a time difference between a receiving moment of the ranging frame and a sending moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame; or ninth information, wherein the ninth information indicates whether the measurement result comprises a confidence of round-trip time, and the round-trip time is a time difference between a sending moment of the ranging frame and a receiving moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame. Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 15, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses an apparatus, comprising: a first transceiver, configured to send ranging control information to a second device through a first channel, wherein the ranging control information is used to configure a ranging frame (a first device (e.g., an “initiator” device) and a second device (e.g., a “responder” device), respectively, include a hybrid wireless system (e.g., a hybrid wireless transceiver) [0058]); (the first device may schedule a start time (e.g., a discrete time) to transmit a packet to the second device via an NB signal that conveys synchronization data (e.g., including time and frequency synchronization information) [0060]); and a second transceiver, configured to receive or send the ranging frame through a second channel, wherein a bandwidth of the second channel is greater than a bandwidth of the first channel (turning to the transmission and reception of UWB fragments by each device, the first device may schedule transmission of the plurality of fragments to the second device. The scheduling of transmission of the plurality of fragments may be in accordance with synchronization data that was conveyed to the second device by the first device via the NB signal [0064]); (the hybrid wireless system of the first device may include an ultra-wideband sub-system and a narrowband sub-system [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the first transceiver is further configured to receive or send a measurement result through the first channel, and the measurement result is determined based on the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066]).
Regarding claim 17, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the ranging control information comprises at least one of the following: first information, wherein the first information indicates whether the ranging frame comprises a channel impulse response training sequence (CTS); second information, wherein the second information indicates a delay time period between a clock synchronization moment and a first slot in a ranging round; or third information, wherein the third information indicates the second device to feed back a ranging measurement value, or feed back a ranging measurement value and a positioning result that is of the second device and that is obtained based on the ranging measurement value, and wherein the ranging measurement value comprises information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066]). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 18, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein: the ranging control information comprises the third information, and the information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame comprises a time difference between a receiving moment of the ranging frame and a sending moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame, or a time difference between a sending moment of the ranging frame and a receiving moment of acknowledgment of the ranging frame (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 17). Examiner’s note: It is further noted that the limitation is in alternative form; therefore, only one alternative was given patentable weight.
Regarding claim 19, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the ranging control information comprises the third information, and the information obtained based on exchange of the ranging frame comprises an angle of arrival of the second device relative to the first device (a receiver device may take advantage of the energy that is “raked in” (e.g., aggregated) from various intervals (e.g., for each short burst), thus enabling a more accurate CIR estimation. Based in part on this CIR estimation, a time-of flight, range, position (localization), and/or angle-of arrival (AOA) estimation may be determined. Thus, by utilizing a hybrid wireless system that is capable of tightly coordinated NB and UWB signaling, embodiments enable at least improved operating range and operating efficiency for UWB-based signaling [0074]).
Regarding claim 20, HAMMERSCHMIDT discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein: the ranging control information comprises the third information, the third information indicates to the second device to feed back the ranging measurement value and the positioning result (the second device may similarly receive information from the first device via an NB signal that enables it to compute or utilize a turnaround time interval at the first device, and subsequently compute a TOF/range information between the two devices. In some embodiments, the second device may also obtain the TOF result computed by the first device as a payload data NB transmission if and when the second device requires knowledge of the TOF [0066], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee at al. (US 2022/0416989 A1) is considered pertinent art for the disclosure of a method for operating an ultra-wide band (UWB) channel and a narrow band (NB) channel together. The method of a second UWB device includes receiving an advertisement message providing information on a UWB channel used by the first UWB device through an NB channel, and performing at least one operation for performing UWB ranging by using the UWB channel based on the advertisement message. The UWB channel may be one of candidate UWB channels allocated for UWB communication, and the NB channel may be a sub-channel of one of the candidate UWB channels.
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 May 29, 2026