DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-8 and 14-24 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention/Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ziegenfelder et al. (US 2016/010913) in view of Herlin et al. (US 2019/0177055).
In re claim 1: Ziegenfelder et al. discloses a container 10 for holding at least one article, the container 10 comprising: a body 12 extending at least partially around an interior of the container 10; a closed bottom 16 engaged with the body 12; and a reclosable lid 14 engaged with the body 12, the reclosable lid 14 including a base portion 30 connected to a lid portion 28, the base portion 30 comprising at least one wall 34 forming a body receiving space (space receiving 18) at least partially receiving the body 12 of the container 10 (see figures 1-2B of Ziegenfelder et al.).
Ziegenfelder et al. discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation that is taught by Herlin et al.:
a base portion 108 hingably 110 connected to a lid portion 109 (see figures 1 and 3 of Herlin et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the lid of Ziegenfelder et al. with a hinged opening portion as taught by Herlin et al. in order to allow a user to open and close the container as desired and prevent damage to the body when opening (see figures 1 and 3 of Herlin et al.).
Ziegenfelder et al. further discloses:
In re claim 2: an upper marginal portion 18 of the body 12 is at least partially received in the body receiving space (space receiving 18) such that the reclosable lid is coupled to the body without adhesive (see figure 2A of Ziegenfelder et al.).
In re claim 3: the body comprises a paperboard material and the reclosable lid comprises a polymeric material (see [0026]-[0027] of Ziegenfelder et al.).
In re claim 4: the reclosable lid 109 is reconfigurable between an open position (figure 3), in which the lid portion is at least partially raised away from the base portion 108, and a closed position (figure 1), in which the lid portion 109 is at least partially received in the base portion 108.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Ziegenfelder et al.in view of Herlin et al. for the same reason as discussed above in claim 1.
In re claim 5: a ledge 40 extends from the at least one wall into the body receiving space (space receiving 18), and the upper marginal portion 18 of the body 12 is at least partially curled in the body receiving space (space receiving 18) to contact the ledge 40 (see [0029] of Ziegenfelder et al.).
In re claim 9: A combination for forming a container 10 for holding at least one article, the combination comprising: body blank 12 for forming a body 12 extending at least partially around an interior of the container 10 formed from the combination; a bottom blank 16 for forming a closed bottom 16 engaged with the body 12 of the container 10 formed from the combination; and a reclosable lid 14 for being engaged with the body 12 of the container 10 formed from the combination, the reclosable lid 14 comprising a base portion 30 connected to a lid portion 28, the base portion 30 comprising at least one wall 34 forming a body receiving space (space receiving 18) for at least partially receiving the body 12 of the container 10 formed from the combination.
Ziegenfelder et al. discloses the claimed invention as discussed above with the exception of the following claimed limitation that is taught by Herlin et al.:
a base portion 108 hingably 110 connected to a lid portion 109 (see figures 1 and 3 of Herlin et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the lid of Ziegenfelder et al. with a hinged opening portion as taught by Herlin et al. in order to allow a user to open and close the container as desired and prevent damage to the body when opening (see figures 1 and 3 of Herlin et al.).
Ziegenfelder et al. further discloses:
In re claim 10: an upper marginal portion 18 of the body blank 12 is for being at least partially received in the body receiving space (space receiving 18) for of the reclosable lid 14 when the container 10 is formed from the combination such that the reclosable lid 14 is coupled to the body 12 without adhesive when the container 10 is formed from the combination (see figure 2A of Ziegenfelder et al.).
In re claim 11: the body blank 12 comprises a paperboard material and the reclosable lid 14 comprises a polymeric material (see [0026]-[0027] of Ziegenfelder et al.).
In re claim 12: the reclosable lid 109 is reconfigurable between an open position (figure 3), in which the lid portion is at least partially raised away from the base portion 108, and a closed position (figure 1), in which the lid portion 109 is at least partially received in the base portion 108.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Ziegenfelder et al.in view of Herlin et al. for the same reason as discussed above in claim 1.
In re claim 13: a ledge 40 extends from the at least one wall into the body receiving space (space receiving 18), and the upper marginal portion 18 of the body blanks12 is at least partially curled in the body receiving space (space receiving 18) to contact the ledge 40 when the container 10 is formed from the combination(see [0029] of Ziegenfelder et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 for prior art that teaches and discloses structural limitations of the claimed and disclosed invention.
/ERNESTO A GRANO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735