DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a first action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 71-99 are pending in this application.
Priority
This application is a 35 USC 111(a) filing that claims benefit under 35 USC 120 as a continuation of US application No. 17/051,037 filed on 27 Oct. 2020 (now US 12,128,115 B1) which is a 35 USC 371 National Stage filing of international application No. PCT/US2019/029102 filed on 25 Apr. 2019 and claims benefit under 35 USC 119(e) to US provisional application No. 62/663,671 filed on 27 Apr. 2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 Nov. 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 71-99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 71, the recitation of “corresponding to formula Ib” is indefinite because corresponding generally means analogous or equivalent to form or comparable and so it is not clear if the compounds are limited to those of formula Ib or must merely be comparable to formula I. In addition, the recitation of R5 to R12 is indefinite because it is not clear if the recitation refers to a range that includes R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, and R11 or not and in the case of the latter R6, R7, R8, R9, R10, and R11 are undefined. Claims 72-99 depend to claim 71 and fall therewith. Dependent claims 73-74, 76, 78-79, 81, 85, 87, 89, 91, 93, 95, and 97-98 recite the R5 to R12.
In claims 94 and 95, the recitation of “(ALP)” is indefinite because it is not clear if it is a required limitation or merely an example. In addition, the meaning of ALP is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 71-89, 92-93, and 96-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(2) as being anticipated by Johnson et al. (WO 2017/223565 A1; published 28 Dec. 2017; see IDS filed on 22 Nov. 2024).
Regarding claims 71-89, 92-93, and 96-99, Johnson et al. disclose the compound
(Fig. 16A) and compounds PSC-C-MCR1
(Figs 17, 22B, 22C). These compounds read on compounds of instant formula Ib
wherein R5=R6=R7=R8=R9=R10=R11=R12=H; and Ra=L-X or H, X=MCR1 peptide, L=a hydrophobic and hydrophilic linking group comprising heteroatom substitutions in the aliphatic chain and comprises a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities and comprises a PEGn wherein n=2 and the divalent metal is 203Pb or 212Pb.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 71-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. (WO 2017/223565 A1; published 28 Dec. 2017).
Johnson et al. teach as discussed above. Johnson et al. teach compositions and methods of treating melanoma (title). Johnson et al. melanoma targeting conjugate comprising formula I T-L-X wherein T=MCR1 ligand, L=linker, and X=anti-cancer composition wherein a suitable radionuclide is Pb-203 or Pb-212 and wherein L is a hydrophobic linker or a hydrophilic linker including heteroatom substitution optionally comprising a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities or L is PEGn where n=2 or 4 or ALP linker of 2 to 4 carbons (see pgs. 2-3). Johnson et al. teach the following linkers
(see Fig. 9). Johnson et al. teach that the PSC chelator improves radiolabeling of peptides and does not interfere with binding of peptides to receptors. Radiolabeling was nearly 90% in 10 min and 37oC (pg. 18). Johnson et al. teach an significant improvement in cellular internalization when the DOTA-VMT-MCR1 is modified to include PEG4 (pg. 44). This introduces Pb specific chelator combined with a click cyclized peptide (PSC-C-MCR1) to improve tumor:kidney ratio of radionuclide uptake 7-fold (pg. 46). The new Pb specific chelator improves radiolabeling efficiency for 203Pb/212Pb theranostics. The development of the PSC is based on the chemical principle that minimizing charge contributes significantly to stability and that charge neutral complex does not increase the risk of kidney retention (pgs. 50-51).
Johnson et al. do not exemplify a compound of instant formula 1b wherein L is a PEG4 and n is 4 or wherein L is aliphatic linking group of 2-4 carbons.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the conjugate compounds of Johnson et al. ([203/212Pb]PSC-C-MCR1) so the linker is a PEG4 linker or a aliphatic (ALP) linking group of 2-4 carbons as taught by Johnson et al. because those linkers would have been expected to provide equivalent linkers suitable for linking the PSC chelator and suitable use in treating cancer and optionally because the PEG linker would have been expected to advantageously enhance tumor to kidney ratios.
Claim(s) 71-99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruper, Jr. et al. (US 5,310,535; issued 10 May 1994; see IDS filed on 22 Nov. 2024), in view of Tworowska et al. (US 2019/0336623 A1; published 7 Nov. 2019; see IDS filed on 22 Nov. 2024) and Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014; see attached 892).
Kruper, Jr. et al. teach carboxamide modified polyamine chelators and radioactive complexes thereof for conjugation to antibodies (see title). The complexes can be used for therapeutic and/or diagnostic purposes (see abstract). Kruper Jr., et al. teach cancer (col. 1). The biological molecule refers to any protein, antibody, antibody fragment, etc (col. 3). Kruper, Jr et al. teach a linker spacer moiety covalently bonded to the chelator moiety (col. 3) and synthetic routes to add linker (col. 7). Metals include 212Pb and 67Cu (col. 4). Kruper, Jr. et al. compound 10a
(col. 10). Kruper, Jr et al. teach radioactive neutral complexes (col. 3). The invention provides for tetraazomacrocycles wherein one or two of the carboxylates are replaced with carboxamides. These chelating agents form complexes that are kinetically inert. These chelates exhibit rapid whole-body clearance and in certain cases have lower propensity for uptake in the bode (col. 2). Kruper, Jr et al. teach the preparation of PA-DODADA-177Lu labeled Fa(ab’)2CC49 (examples 9-11).
Kruper Jr. et al. do not teach or exemplify a compound of instant formula Ib where Ra or one of R5-R12 is -L-X and L is absent or a linker is a PEG2-4 or C1-4 alkyl such that linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic comprising a mixture of hydrophobic and hydrophilic entities and there is a heteroatom substitution in the aliphatic chain. Kruper Jr. et al. do not further exemplify a 203Pb, 212Pb, 64Cu, or 67Cu complex.
Tworowska et al. teach the treatment of cancer cells overexpressing somatostatin receptors using octreotide derivatives chelated to radioisotopes (see title). Tworowska et al. teach PEG
(Fig. 4a) and alkyl
(Fig. 4b) linkers. Tworowska et al. teach TCMC monoacid
([0012]) and the compound
(Fig. 6A). The linker may comprises a straight- or branched chain C1-C6 alkyl or a polyethylene glycol ([0023]). The cancer treating composition may be used in combination with radioisotopes such as 212Pb, 203Pb, and 64Cu and have high linear energy transfer and short path lengths ([0198], [0201], [0204]-[0206]). Tworowska et al. teach 203Pb labeling high radiochemical yields ([0240]) and stable chelation of 203Pb and 64Cu ([0247]). Kidney retention can be reduced by co-administration of positively charged amino acids ([0258]).
Jamous et al. teach PEG spacers of different length influence the biologic profile of bombesin-based radiolabeled antagonists (see title). Jamous et al. teach that the introduction of low molecular weight PET spacers leads to improved pharmacokinetics in particular to lower kidney uptake and short retention in the kidneys without causing loss of affinity (pg. 465]). Jamous et al. teach DOTA-PEG2-JMV594, DOTA-PEG4-JMC594, DOTA-PEG6-JMV594 and DOTA-PEG12-JMV594 (see Fig. 1). The presence of the PEG4 spacer in 177Lu-DOTA-PESIN led to an improved pharmacokinetic profiled accelerating washout from excretory organs such as the kidney (pg. 468). Important parameters such as hydrophilicity and length of the spacer may play an important role in pharmacokinetics of small molecules (pg. 469).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify compounds of Kruper et al. (10a, and PA-DODADA-177Lu labeled Fa(ab’)2CC49 and derivatives thereof for imaging and treating cancer) by replacing the NH2-Ph-Et attached to the acetate arm with a PEG2, PEG4, or C1-4 alkyl (hydrophilic or hydrophobic linkers having heteroatom substitutions in the aliphatic chain and comprising hydrophobic and hydrophilic entities) attached to the acetamide N or to the macrocycle C as taught by Kruper Jr., et al., Tworowska et al., or Jamous et al. because those linkers would have been expected to advantageously enable conjugates having an enhanced pharmacokinetic profile and/or optimize the distance between the peptide targeting agent and the chelator. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Kruper Jr. et al. so that the compound 10a further complexes 203Pb, 212Pb, 64Cu, or 67Cu as taught by Kruper Jr. et al., and Tworowska et al. because those radiometal complexes would have been expected to advantageously enable charge neutral complexes exhibiting low non-specific uptake and fast clearance while providing radiotherapy and diagnostic (theranostic) pairs.
Double Patenting
Claims 71-99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,115 B2, in view of Tworowska et al. (US 2019/0336623 A1; published 7 Nov. 2019; see IDS filed on 22 Nov. 2024) and Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014; see attached 892).
Claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,115 B2 claim methods of performing a chelation reaction and diagnosing and treating a disease such as cancer using a compound of formula Ia
that gets chelated with a divalent metal wherein R5-R12 is H or L-X and Ra is H or -L-X wherein each L is a polyethylene glycol, an aliphatic chain or a peptide chain and wherein X is a peptide.
Claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,115 B2 do not claim a divalent metal that is 203Pb, 212Pb, 64Cu, or 67Cu or claim PEG2, PEG4, or a C1-4 aliphatic linker such that the linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic and comprising heteroatoms substitution in the aliphatic chain and a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities.
Tworowska et al. teach as discussed above.
Jamous et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to modify the compounds of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,115 B2 so that the divalent metal is one of 203Pb, 212Pb, 64Cu, or 67Cu as taught by Tworowska et al. because those radiometal complexes would have been expected to advantageously charge neutral complexes exhibit low non-specific uptake and fast clearance while providing radiotherapy and diagnostic (theranostic) pairs.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to further modify the compounds of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,115 B2 so that the linker is a PEG2, PEG4, or a C1-4 aliphatic linker such that the linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic and comprising heteroatoms substitution in the aliphatic chain and a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities as taught by Tworowska et al. and Jamous et al. because those linkers would have been expected to advantageously enable conjugates having an enhanced pharmacokinetic profile and/or optimize the distance between the peptide targeting agent and the chelator.
Claims 71-99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,179,484 B2, in view of Tworowska et al. (US 2019/0336623 A1; published 7 Nov. 2019; see IDS filed on 22 Nov. 2024) and Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014; see attached 892).
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,179,484 B2 claim 1 melanoma targeting conjugate of formula I
wherein the radiolabel is Pb-212 or Pb-203.
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,179,484 B2 claim PEG2, PEG4, or a C1-4 aliphatic linker such that the linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic and comprising heteroatoms substitution in the aliphatic chain and a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities.
Tworowska et al. teach as discussed above.
Jamous et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to further modify the compounds of claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,179,484 B2 so that the linker is a PEG2, PEG4, or a C1-4 aliphatic linker such that the linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic and comprising heteroatoms substitution in the aliphatic chain and a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities as taught by Tworowska et al. and Jamous et al. because those linkers would have been expected to advantageously enable conjugates having an enhanced pharmacokinetic profile and/or optimize the distance between the peptide targeting agent and the chelator.
Claims 71-99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,987 B2, in view of Tworowska et al. (US 2019/0336623 A1; published 7 Nov. 2019; see IDS filed on 22 Nov. 2024) and Jamous et al. (Nucl. Med. Biol.; published 2014; see attached 892).
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,987 B2 claim a conjugate comprising a MCR1 ligand, a PEG2 linker and Pb-chelator PSC wherein the conjugate has the formula
and
.
Claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,987 B2 do not claim a divalent metal that is 203Pb, 212Pb, 64Cu, or 67Cu or claim PEG2, PEG4, or a C1-4 aliphatic linker such that the linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic and comprising heteroatoms substitution in the aliphatic chain and a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities.
Tworowska et al. teach as discussed above.
Jamous et al. teach as discussed above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to modify the compounds of claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,987 B2 so that the divalent metal is one of 203Pb, 212Pb, 64Cu, or 67Cu as taught by Tworowska et al. because those radiometal complexes would have been expected to advantageously enable charge neutral complexes exhibiting low non-specific uptake and fast clearance while providing radiotherapy and diagnostic (theranostic) pairs.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective to further modify the compounds of claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,576,987 B2 so that the linker is a PEG2, PEG4, or a C1-4 aliphatic linker such that the linker is hydrophilic or hydrophobic and comprises heteroatoms substitution in the aliphatic chain and/or a mixture of hydrophilic and hydrophobic entities as taught by Tworowska et al. and Jamous et al. because those linkers would have been expected to advantageously enable conjugates having an enhanced pharmacokinetic profile and/or optimize the distance between the peptide targeting agent and the chelator.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618