DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No. 18/896,090 filed on September 25, 2024, with a preliminary amendment filed on the same days, presents claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-19, 21, 24, and 29-30 for examination.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 10-13, 15-19, 21, 24, and 29-30 are objected to because of the following informalities: the status of each of these claims is immediately followed by a colon, which should be deleted. Additionally, the claim status of each of these claims should be capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
With respect to claim 7, lines 1-3 recite “a plurality of pieces of normal data … the plurality of pieces of normal data … plurality of pieces of normal data” (emphasis added). The term “normal data” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “normal data” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For purposes of compact prosecution only, Examiner has interpreted “normal data” as meaning “executable code”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ujiie et al. (US 20240053977 A1, hereinafter Ujiie) in view of Child “Targeting Automotive, Infineon Spins Industry’s First LPDDR Flash Memory” (hereinafter Child) and Troia et al. (US 20200310776 A1, hereinafter Troia).
With respect to claim 1, Ujiie discloses A storage device (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0049] an in-vehicle network system according to an aspect of the present disclosure is an in-vehicle network system provided with a plurality of electronic controllers that communicate over one or more buses, and a gateway device connected to the one or more buses.) comprising:
a memory device comprising a memory ; and
a memory controller configured to (e.g., Fig. 3 and associated text, e.g., [0073], FIG. 3 is a configuration diagram of the gateway 300. The gateway 300 executes functions such as forwarding frames between buses, and communicating with the external server 500 (such as receiving FW update information for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d or the like) ... These respective structural elements are realized by components in the gateway 300, such as a communication circuit, a processor that executes a control program.):
receive a plurality of pieces of firmware data from a plurality of control units ;
classify plurality of pieces of firmware data into a plurality of data groups based on tags indicating whether the plurality of pieces of firmware data are executable firmware-related codes (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0061], FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the data frame format prescribed by the CAN protocol; [0063] The ID field [tag] is an 11-bit field storing an ID (message ID), which is a value indicating the type of data; [0108], if the FW update processing unit 165 is notified by the frame processing unit 150 that a request for the data inside the boot ROM (firmware) has been received from the gateway 300, the FW update processing unit 165 notifies the frame generating unit 180 to generate and transmit a frame including the existing firmware inside the boot ROM as data … The boot ROM is non-volatile memory set as a storage destination for firmware to be executed; see also [0076] and [0090].); and
store the plurality of data groups in the memory Id.; [0081] The FW cache storing unit 371 is realized by a storage area such as non-volatile memory in the gateway 300, for example, and is used for actions during a firmware update such as storing (saving) existing firmware received from the ECUs 100b and 100d, which are ECUs to be updated, but which do not include the FW cache function; [0166] The gateway 300 receives the boot ROM data from the ECU (step S1402b), stores a copy in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step 31403)).
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Child: zonal … (ZCUs) (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child, because there has been a “shift to zonal architectures in cars”, as suggested by Child (see p. 1, last para.).
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Troia: cell array … cell array (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0029], Memory array 101 can be, for example, a flash memory array; [0030] As shown in FIG. 1, memory array 101 has a number of physical blocks 107-0 (BLOCK 0), 107-1 (BLOCK 1), . . . , 107-B (BLOCK B) of memory cells; see also [0004-5].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Troia because “Flash memory devices typically use a one-transistor memory cell that allows for high memory densities,” as suggested by Troia (see [0004]).
With respect to claim 2, Ujiie also discloses wherein one of the plurality of data groups comprises at least two pieces of firmware data corresponding to different among the plurality of (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 and associated text, e.g., [0124] The FW update information includes a FW count F1 indicating the number of pieces of FW data, one or more pieces of FW data (in the example of FIG. 13, two pieces of individual FW data F10 and F20) … ECU-IDs F11 and F21 that identify the target ECU.) and Child teaches ZCUs … ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 3, Troia further teaches wherein each of the plurality of data groups has a same data size (e.g., Figs. 1, 5-6, and 11 along with associated text, e.g., [0106], Subsets 1111, 1113, and 1115 can each include, for instance, 4 kilobytes of data. However, embodiments of the present disclosure are not limited to a particular number or arrangement of memory arrays or secure arrays.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Troia for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 4, Troia further teaches wherein at least two of the plurality of data groups have different data sizes (e.g., Figs. 1, 5-6, and 11 along with associated text, e.g., [0086] As shown in FIG. 5A, register 514-1 can define addresses of the secure array (e.g., the addresses of different portions of the secure array), and register 514-2 can define sizes of the secure array (e.g., the sizes of the different portions of the secure array); [0106], Subsets 1111, 1113, and 1115 can each include, for instance, 4 kilobytes of data; [0087], size value size.sub.0 (e.g., Pair.sub.0=[addr.sub.0, size.sub.0] … size value size.sub.1 (e.g., Pair.sub.1=[addr.sub.1, size.sub.1]); [0106], embodiments of the present disclosure are not limited to a particular number or arrangement of memory arrays or secure arrays.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Troia for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 5, Ujiie also discloses wherein one of the plurality of data groups comprises at least two pieces of firmware data corresponding to one of the plurality of (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0122], a FW version which is a version number or the like of the firmware installed in the ECU, and a latest FW version which is a version number or the like of the latest firmware; [0126], The sequence may be started at the timing at which new firmware is uploaded and registered in the server 500 [update process is performed as new versions are released so that previously updated firmware is updated again, i.e., the plurality of data groups comprises at least two pieces of firmware data corresponding to one ECU].) and Child teaches ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 6, Ujiie also teaches wherein one of the plurality of data groups comprises signature information used for integrity verification (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0202], To ensure the integrity of data (such as FW data and FW update information), a configuration in which a signature is attached to the data is used; [0124], FW data signatures F14 and F24 which are respective signatures.).
With respect to claim 7, Ujiie also teaches the memory controller is further configured to identify a plurality of pieces of normal data received from the plurality of , based on tags respectively included in the plurality of pieces of normal data, and store the plurality of pieces of normal data in the memory (Please note the 35 USC 112(b) rejection and interpretation above; e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0063] The ID field [tag] is an 11-bit field storing an ID (message ID), which is a value indicating the type of data; [0081] The FW cache storing unit 371 is realized by a storage area such as non-volatile memory in the gateway 300, for example, and is used for actions during a firmware update such as storing (saving) existing firmware received from the ECUs 100b and 100d [CUs], which are ECUs to be updated; see also [0108].) and Child teaches ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”) and Troia teaches cell array (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0029], Memory array 101 can be, for example, a flash memory array; [0030] As shown in FIG. 1, memory array 101 has a number of physical blocks 107-0 (BLOCK 0), 107-1 (BLOCK 1), . . . , 107-B (BLOCK B) of memory cells; see also [0004-5].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the technique of Child and the invention of Troia for the same reasons set forth above.
With respect to claim 10, Ujiie also teaches the memory , and one of the plurality of data groups is stored in a memory (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0081], The FW cache storing unit 371 is realized by a storage area such as non-volatile memory in the gateway 300.) and Troia further teaches cell array comprises a plurality of memory blocks … region comprising pages of the plurality of memory blocks (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0034] As shown in FIG. 1, a page of memory cells can comprise a number of physical sectors 105-0, 105-1, . . . , 105-S (e.g., subsets of memory cells).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Troia for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 11, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is further configured to identify a plurality of pieces of firmware update data received from an over-the-air (OTA) management circuit, by tags respectively indicating whether the plurality of pieces of firmware update data are executable firmware-related codes respectively included in the plurality of pieces of firmware update data (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0058], The server 500 that acts as an external device located externally to the vehicle is a computer that includes a function of delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d. For communication on the network 400, any … wireless [OTA] communication protocol may be applied; [0124], The FW update information includes a FW count F1 indicating the number of pieces of FW data, one or more pieces of FW data (in the example of FIG. 13, two pieces of individual FW data F10 and F20), and a FW update information signature F30, which is a signature for the FW update information (delivery data) as a whole. The FW data F10 and F20 respectively includes updated firmware (FW) F13 and F23, ECU-IDs F11 and F21 that identify the target ECU, FW versions F12 and F22 that indicate the version number or the like of the firmware, and FW data signatures F14 and F24 which are respective signatures for these data. The firmware F13 and F23 is the firmware itself, or in other words, binary data; see also [0073].), generate a plurality of additional data groups based on the plurality of data groups and the plurality of pieces of firmware update data, and store the plurality of generated additional data groups in the memory (Id; [0058] The server 500 that acts as an external device located externally to the vehicle is a computer that includes a function of delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d; [0166], gateway 300 receives the boot ROM data from the ECU (step S1402b), stores a copy in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1403), and creates update ROM data (for example, updated data obtained by applying the firmware of the FW data used for updating to the pre-update firmware) (step S1404); [0167], Next, the gateway 300 transmits the created update ROM data (step S1405a), and the ECU whose firmware is to be updated receives the update ROM data (step S1405b); [0168] The ECU receiving the update ROM data updates the data inside the boot ROM with the update ROM data (step S1406), and reboots by resetting the processor of the ECU (step S1407).) and Troia further teaches cell array (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0029], Memory array 101 can be, for example, a flash memory array; [0030] As shown in FIG. 1, memory array 101 has a number of physical blocks 107-0 (BLOCK 0), 107-1 (BLOCK 1), . . . , 107-B (BLOCK B) of memory cells; see also [0004-5].).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Troia for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 12, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is further configured to manage the plurality of data groups and the plurality of additional data groups based on a management table including a data group ID field indicating a certain data group or a certain additional data group (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20, particularly the table depicted in Fig. 12, along with associated text, e.g., [0122], The vehicle ECU management information in this example is configured to include vehicle information about each vehicle managed by the server 500, and ECU information about each ECU installed on-board a vehicle. The vehicle information is an identifier for identifying the vehicle (vehicle ID). In the vehicle ECU management information, the ECU information associated with the vehicle information is configured to include an ECU-ID … a FW version which is a version number or the like of the firmware installed in the ECU, and a latest FW version which is a version number or the like of the latest firmware corresponding to that ECU… Each piece of ECU information for a certain vehicle in the vehicle ECU management information is set based on information received from the gateway 300 of that vehicle (such as a firmware update result), and the FW versions of firmware uploaded to the server 500 from the manufacturing companies of various ECUs and stored in the FW storing unit 571, for example.).
With respect to claim 15, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is configured to perform a rollback operation based on data groups and additional data groups corresponding to a first , among the plurality of data groups and the plurality of additional data groups, and the management table, in response to a rollback command received from the first among the plurality of (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0168], if the reboot in step S1407 is unsuccessful (step 31408), requests retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409a). Correspondingly, when the gateway 300 receives the request for retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409b), the gateway 300 transmits the boot ROM data stored in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1410a). Consequently, the ECU receives the boot ROM data (step S1410b), updates the data inside the boot ROM with the boot ROM data (step S1406), reverts back to the original firmware, and reboots (step S1407).) and Child teaches ZCU … ZCU … ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 16, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is further configured to modify enable states of at least two of the data groups and additional data groups corresponding to the first in the management table, through the rollback operation (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20, particularly the table depicted in Fig. 12, along with associated text, e.g., [0122], The vehicle ECU management information in this example is configured to include vehicle information about each vehicle managed by the server 500, and ECU information about each ECU installed on-board a vehicle … a FW version which is a version number or the like of the firmware installed in the ECU, and a latest FW version which is a version number or the like of the latest firmware corresponding to that ECU… Each piece of ECU information for a certain vehicle in the vehicle ECU management information is set based on information received from the gateway 300 of that vehicle (such as a firmware update result), and the FW versions of firmware uploaded to the server 500 from the manufacturing companies of various ECUs and stored in the FW storing unit 571, for example; [0168], if the reboot in step S1407 is unsuccessful (step 31408), requests retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409a). Correspondingly, when the gateway 300 receives the request for retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409b), the gateway 300 transmits the boot ROM data stored in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1410a). Consequently, the ECU receives the boot ROM data (step S1410b), updates the data inside the boot ROM with the boot ROM data (step S1406), reverts back to the original firmware, and reboots (step S1407).) and Child teaches ZCU (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 17, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is further configured to modify the management table to indicate that a new additional data group generated based on at least two of the data groups and additional data groups corresponding to the first is currently used or available to be used by the first , through the rollback operation (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20, particularly the table depicted in Fig. 12, along with associated text, e.g., [0122], The vehicle ECU management information in this example is configured to include vehicle information about each vehicle managed by the server 500, and ECU information about each ECU installed on-board a vehicle … a latest FW version which is a version number or the like of the latest firmware corresponding to that ECU… Each piece of ECU information for a certain vehicle in the vehicle ECU management information is set based on information received from the gateway 300 of that vehicle (such as a firmware update result), and the FW versions of firmware uploaded to the server 500 from the manufacturing companies of various ECUs and stored in the FW storing unit 571, for example; [0168], if the reboot in step S1407 is unsuccessful (step 31408), requests retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409a). Correspondingly, when the gateway 300 receives the request for retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409b), the gateway 300 transmits the boot ROM data stored in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1410a)and Child teaches ZCU … ZCU (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
With respect to claim 18, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is further configured to mark an additional data group comprising target firmware data of the rollback command, among the plurality of additional data groups, to be invalid and delete or migrate the additional data group marked to be invalid (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0168], if the reboot in step S1407 is unsuccessful (step 31408), requests retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409a). Correspondingly, when the gateway 300 receives the request for retransmission of the boot ROM data (step S1409b), the gateway 300 transmits the boot ROM data stored in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1410a). Consequently, the ECU receives the boot ROM data (step S1410b), updates the data inside the boot ROM with the boot ROM data (step S1406), reverts back to the original firmware, and reboots (step S1407).).
With respect to claim 19, Ujiie also discloses wherein the memory controller is further configured to perform a migration operation on a data group or an additional data group whose validity has expired, among the plurality of data groups and the plurality of additional data groups (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0126] FIG. 14 is a sequence diagram illustrating example operations in which the server 500 delivers delivery data (FW update information) to the gateway 300, and a firmware update is conducted under the control of the gateway 300 … The sequence may be started at the timing at which new firmware is uploaded and registered in the server 500.).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ujiie in view of Child and Troia, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Rossi (US 6009500 A, hereinafter Rossi) and Gerhart et al. (US 20160210132 A1, hereinafter Gerhart).
With respect to claim 13, Ujiie also discloses wherein the management table further comprises an information field comprising: an enable state indicating whether the certain data group or the certain additional data group is currently used or available to be used by at least one of the plurality of (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20, particularly the table depicted in Fig. 12, along with associated text, e.g., [0122], The vehicle ECU management information in this example is configured to include vehicle information about each vehicle managed by the server 500, and ECU information about each ECU installed on-board a vehicle … a FW version which is a version number or the like of the firmware installed in the ECU [certain data group is currently used] … Each piece of ECU information for a certain vehicle in the vehicle ECU management information is set based on information received from the gateway 300 of that vehicle.); the certain data group or the certain additional data group is stored (Id., particularly, a FW version which is a version number or the like of the firmware installed in the ECU.) and Child teaches ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Rossi: a linked list (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., col. 4:54-62, A record comprising a data table (DT) 36 is kept by the system 16 of the addresses in the primary data storage device 26 where the erroneous firmware 30 is located. The data table 36 further records the addresses in the secondary non-volatile data storage device 32 where the corresponding replacement firmware 34 is located. This information may be stored in the data table 36 in any one of a number of known ways and formats, including the use of linked lists.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Rossi because it would allow for replacement of erroneous firmware and linked lists are a “known” way storing data (see Rossi at col. 4:59-62; see also col. 2:57-col. 3:23).
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Gerhart: and a timestamp indicating a time point at which (e.g., [0047], firmware management module 30 may maintain a table including firmware version information for each version of firmware … table may include any number of rows or columns and may be configured to store … a firmware download timestamp.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Gerhart because a download timestamp could resolve ambiguity as to the latest firmware if multiple pieces of firmware have the same version number.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ujiie in view of Child and Troia, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Griffin et al. (US 20250036489 A1, hereinafter Griffin).
With respect to claim 21, Ujiie also discloses wherein the tag comprises information regarding and wherein the memory controller is further configured to classify the plurality of pieces of firmware data into the plurality of data groups codes (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0061], FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the data frame format prescribed by the CAN protocol; [0063] The ID field [tag] is an 11-bit field storing an ID (message ID), which is a value indicating the type of data; [0108], if the FW update processing unit 165 is notified by the frame processing unit 150 that a request for the data inside the boot ROM (firmware) has been received from the gateway 300, the FW update processing unit 165 notifies the frame generating unit 180 to generate and transmit a frame including the existing firmware inside the boot ROM as data … The boot ROM is non-volatile memory set as a storage destination for firmware to be executed; see also [0076] and [0090].).
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Griffin: an automotive safety integrity level (ASIL) grade … based on the ASIL grade (e.g., Fig. 1 and associated text, e.g., [0020], the computing environment 100 can tag each API of the APIs 102 with an identifier indicating a classification with respect to the safety threshold 110 … the computing environment 100 may define the identifier in metadata (e.g., using annotations, comments, etc.) within the code base 114 [0021], the APIs 102 can be classified using an integrity level 116 selected from one or more integrity levels 116a-b that have varying rigor associated with safety assurance of the software package 108 … a first set 118a of APIs 102 can be classified using a first integrity level 116a of ASIL D. A second set 118b of APIs 102 can be classified using a second integrity level 116b of ASIL B.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Griffin because it would allow for prioritization of critical updates.
Claims 24, 29, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ujiie in view of Child.
With respect to claim 24, Ujiie discloses A storage device (e.g., Figs. 1 and 3 and associated text, e.g., [0049] an in-vehicle network system according to an aspect of the present disclosure is an in-vehicle network system provided with a plurality of electronic controllers that communicate over one or more buses, and a gateway device connected to the one or more buses.) comprising:
a memory device configured to store a data group comprising a plurality of pieces of firmware data corresponding to a plurality of control units (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 8-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0081] The FW cache storing unit 371 is realized by a storage area such as non-volatile memory in the gateway 300, for example, and is used for actions during a firmware update such as storing (saving) existing firmware received from the ECUs 100b and 100d [control units], which are ECUs to be updated, but which do not include the FW cache function.) and a plurality of additional data groups generated by applying a plurality of pieces of firmware update data corresponding to the plurality of to the data group (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0166] The gateway 300 receives the boot ROM data from the ECU (step S1402b), stores a copy in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1403), and creates update ROM data (for example, updated data obtained by applying the firmware of the FW data used for updating to the pre-update firmware) (step S1404); Abstract, merges the patch data and existing firmware to create updated boot ROM data with updated firmware.); and
a memory controller configured to manage the data group and the plurality of additional data groups (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, and 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0073], FIG. 3 is a configuration diagram of the gateway 300. The gateway 300 executes functions such as forwarding frames between buses, and communicating with the external server 500 (such as receiving FW update information for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d or the like) ... These respective structural elements are realized by components in the gateway 300, such as a communication circuit, a processor that executes a control program.), and perform a rollback operation based on the data group and the plurality of additional data groups in response to a rollback command for target firmware data received from at least one of the plurality of (step S1410b), updates the data inside the boot ROM with the boot ROM data (step S1406), reverts back to the original firmware, and reboots (step S1407).).
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Child: zonal … (ZCUs) … ZCUs … ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child, because there has been a “shift to zonal architectures in cars”, as suggested by Child (see p. 1, last para.).
With respect to claim 29, Ujiie discloses An operating method of a storage device (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 8-20), the operating method comprising:
identifying a plurality of pieces of firmware data received from a plurality of control units , based on tags respectively included in the plurality of pieces of firmware data (e.g., Figs. 1-3 and 8-20 and associated text, e.g., [0055], as illustrated in FIG. 1, the in-vehicle network system 10 is configured to include ECUs 100a to 100d [plurality of control units]; [0061], FIG. 2 is a diagram illustrating the data frame format prescribed by the CAN protocol; [0063] The ID field [tag] is an 11-bit field storing an ID (message ID), which is a value indicating the type of data; [0108], if the FW update processing unit 165 is notified by the frame processing unit 150 that a request for the data inside the boot ROM (firmware) has been received from the gateway 300, the FW update processing unit 165 notifies the frame generating unit 180 to generate and transmit a frame including the existing firmware inside the boot ROM as data … The boot ROM is non-volatile memory set as a storage destination for firmware to be executed; see also [0076] and [0090].);
storing a data group comprising the plurality of pieces of firmware data (Id.; [0081] The FW cache storing unit 371 is realized by a storage area such as non-volatile memory in the gateway 300, for example, and is used for actions during a firmware update such as storing (saving) existing firmware received from the ECUs 100b and 100d, which are ECUs to be updated, but which do not include the FW cache function; [0166] The gateway 300 receives the boot ROM data from the ECU (step S1402b), stores a copy in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step 31403));
identifying, based on a tag included in first firmware update data received from an over-the-air (OTA) management circuit and corresponding to a first among the plurality of , the first firmware update data (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0058], The server 500 that acts as an external device located externally to the vehicle is a computer that includes a function of delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d. For communication on the network 400, any … wireless [OTA] communication protocol may be applied; [0124], The FW update information includes a FW count F1 indicating the number of pieces of FW data, one or more pieces of FW data (in the example of FIG. 13, two pieces of individual FW data F10 and F20), and a FW update information signature F30, which is a signature for the FW update information (delivery data) as a whole. The FW data F10 and F20 respectively includes updated firmware (FW) F13 and F23, ECU-IDs F11 and F21 that identify the target ECU, FW versions F12 and F22 that indicate the version number or the like of the firmware, and FW data signatures F14 and F24 which are respective signatures for these data. The firmware F13 and F23 is the firmware itself, or in other words, binary data; see also [0073].); and storing a first additional data group that is generated based on the data group and the firmware update data, and that is executed by the plurality of Id; [0058] The server 500 that acts as an external device located externally to the vehicle is a computer that includes a function of delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d; [0166], gateway 300 receives the boot ROM data from the ECU (step S1402b), stores a copy in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1403), and creates update ROM data (for example, updated data obtained by applying the firmware of the FW data used for updating to the pre-update firmware) (step S1404); [0167], Next, the gateway 300 transmits the created update ROM data (step S1405a), and the ECU whose firmware is to be updated receives the update ROM data (step S1405b); [0168] The ECU receiving the update ROM data updates the data inside the boot ROM with the update ROM data (step S1406), and reboots by resetting the processor of the ECU (step S1407).).
Ujiie does not appear to disclose the following, which is taught in analogous art, Child: zonal … (ZCUs) … ZCU … ZCUs … ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child, because there has been a “shift to zonal architectures in cars”, as suggested by Child (see p. 1, last para.).
With respect to claim 30, Ujiie also discloses identifying, based on a tag included in second firmware update data received from the OTA management circuit and corresponding to a second among the plurality of , the second firmware update data (e.g., Figs. 1-3, 8, 12-20 along with associated text, e.g., [0058], For communication on the network 400, any … wireless [OTA] communication protocol may be applied; [0124], The FW update information includes a FW count F1 indicating the number of pieces of FW data, one or more pieces of FW data (in the example of FIG. 13, two pieces of individual FW data F10 and F20), and a FW update information signature F30, which is a signature for the FW update information (delivery data) as a whole. The FW data F10 and F20 respectively includes updated firmware (FW) F13 and F23, ECU-IDs F11 and F21 [second ECU] that identify the target ECU, FW versions F12 and F22 that indicate the version number or the like of the firmware, and FW data signatures F14 and F24 which are respective signatures for these data. The firmware F13 and F23 is the firmware itself, or in other words, binary data; [0126] FIG. 14 is a sequence diagram illustrating example operations in which the server 500 delivers delivery data (FW update information) to the gateway 300, and a firmware update is conducted under the control of the gateway 300 … The sequence may be started at the timing at which new firmware is uploaded and registered in the server 500; see also [0073], [0116], and [0122].); and
storing a second additional data group that is generated based on the first additional data group and the second firmware update data, and that is executed by the plurality of , instead of the first additional data group (Id; [0058] The server 500 that acts as an external device located externally to the vehicle is a computer that includes a function of delivering via the network 400 FW update information, which is data for updating the firmware of the ECUs 100a to 100d; [0166], gateway 300 receives the boot ROM data from the ECU (step S1402b), stores a copy in the FW cache storing unit 371 (step S1403), and creates update ROM data (for example, updated data obtained by applying the firmware of the FW data used for updating to the pre-update firmware) (step S1404); [0167], Next, the gateway 300 transmits the created update ROM data (step S1405a), and the ECU whose firmware is to be updated receives the update ROM data (step S1405b); [0168] The ECU receiving the update ROM data updates the data inside the boot ROM with the update ROM data (step S1406), and reboots by resetting the processor of the ECU (step S1407); [0122], a FW version which is a version number or the like of the firmware installed in the ECU, and a latest FW version which is a version number or the like of the latest firmware; [0126], The sequence may be started at the timing at which new firmware is uploaded and registered in the server 500 [update process is performed as new versions are released so that previously updated firmware is updated again, i.e., storing a second additional data group that is generated based on the first additional data group and the second firmware update data].) and Child discloses ZCU … ZCUs … ZCUs (e.g., p. 2, 1st para., As the diagram above shows, these new car designs have zone controllers (in green) throughout the vehicle. “These zone controllers have a lot of real-time computing needs” … These zone controllers need to handle safety critical functions like the braking, the steering, and the powertrain.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ujiie with the invention of Child for the same reason set forth above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Specifically, Sharma et al. 20230094805 teaches a means of over-the-air updating that checks whether a vehicle is in condition to receive an update.
/STEPHEN D BERMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2192