DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20240080056, hereinafter “Kim”) and further in view of Ninan et al. (US 20080129421, hereinafter “Ninan”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses,
A parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatus (the total insertion loss and total noise figure may not be impacted due to the topology of the tunable filters (e.g., in embodiments where the tunable filters are notch filters, series inductor and capacitor parallel to the main path), Fig. 3 and [0035], [0044]-[0046]), comprising:
an inductor electrically connected in series with at least one of the plurality of capacitors, a diode electrically connected to the plurality of capacitors (FIG. 3 includes an example of a lumped element filter 300 that can be employed as a tunable notch filter. The lumped element filter 300 may include an inductor 302A-E and a capacitor 304A-E that are combined in series with a PIN diode. Specifically, the capacitor 304A-E may take the form of a varactor diode, Fig. 3 and [0044]), and wherein the diode is tuned to selectively targets a specific frequency band for attenuation or blanking (the number of variable reactance elements (and therefore, inductors and varactor diodes) can vary depending on the bandwidth of interest, as well as the amount of specificity that is desired. At a high level, if a larger bandwidth or a greater number of filtering options is desired, then more variable reactance elements should be implemented, Fig. 3 and [0045]-[0047]); and
a single direct current power source configured to supply a control signal (the capacitance of the corresponding varactor diode can be varied, so as to achieve the application of a control voltage. Typically, this can be provided under microprocessor control via a digital-to-analog converter (also called a “DAC”). The modem 214 may be able to tune the first and second filters 204A-B by provisioning control signals via separate control lines, Fig. 2 and [0028]-[0029]), wherein the single direct current power source may activate the diode for selective attenuation or blanking (system Power Management Interface (SPMI), or Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C), could be used by the controller to manage the switch that is interconnected between the controller and each lumped element filter. For example, the value “000” may correspond to a control voltage (e.g., V.sub.cc>0.7 V+V.sub.control) being applied to a first path, the value “001” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a second path, the value “010” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a third path, the value “011” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a fourth path, and so on, [0052]-[0057]).
However, Kim does not disclose, a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to a transmission line and to a circuit, wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of the circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Ninan discloses, a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to a transmission line and to a circuit (Notch filter 100 includes transmission line 102, input 106, output 108, bias circuit 110, and capacitors 114 and 116, Fig. 1 and [0015]), wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of the circuit (When PIN diode 104 is forward biased, node 120 of transmission line 102 is coupled to ground 112, which creates a short circuit at node 120. Since at the first frequency, the impedance at node 120 is 180 degrees out of phase, and has the same magnitude as the impedance at node 118, then the half wavelength transformation creates a short circuit to ground at node 118, thus preventing the first frequency from passing to output 108 of notch filter 100, Fig. 1 and [0017]-[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by specifically providing a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to a transmission line and to a circuit, wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of the circuit, as taught by Ninan for the purpose of effectively reducing signal interference in a satellite receiving system without the shortcomings of the conventional notch filters [0007].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), in addition Ninan discloses, wherein the plurality of capacitors is a quantity of two (Notch filter 100 includes transmission line 102, input 106, output 108, bias circuit 110, and capacitors 114 and 116, Fig. 1 and [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses,
A parallel radiofrequency blanking switch system (the total insertion loss and total noise figure may not be impacted due to the topology of the tunable filters (e.g., in embodiments where the tunable filters are notch filters, series inductor and capacitor parallel to the main path), Fig. 3 and [0035], [0044]-[0046]), comprising:
a transmission line having at least two ports (the modem 214 may be connected to the first tunable filter 204A via a first control line, along which the modem 214 can transmit a control signal to tune the first tunable filter 204A, and the modem 214 may be connected to the second tunable filter 204B via a second control line, along which the modem 214 can transmit another control signal to tune the second tunable filter 204B. Note that the components of the radio communication system 200 can be interconnected via conductive radio frequency traces that are rated for 50 ohms, for example. Variable voltage for the varactor diodes can be controlled through the modem 214, [0024]-[0029]; Fig. 2); and
a plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses configured to attenuate a plurality of frequencies bands ( FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a radio communication system 200 (or simply “communication system”) that is implementable in an electronic device that is designed to support multiple radio frequency bands. In order to mitigate the coexistence effect of those radio frequency bands, a separate software-tunable filter may be added for each radio frequency band, [0022]-[0024]), each further comprising
an inductor electrically connected in series with at least one of the plurality of capacitors, a diode electrically connected to the plurality of capacitors (FIG. 3 includes an example of a lumped element filter 300 that can be employed as a tunable notch filter. The lumped element filter 300 may include an inductor 302A-E and a capacitor 304A-E that are combined in series with a PIN diode. Specifically, the capacitor 304A-E may take the form of a varactor diode, Fig. 3 and [0044]), and wherein the diode is tuned to selectively targets a specific frequency band for attenuation or blanking (the number of variable reactance elements (and therefore, inductors and varactor diodes) can vary depending on the bandwidth of interest, as well as the amount of specificity that is desired. At a high level, if a larger bandwidth or a greater number of filtering options is desired, then more variable reactance elements should be implemented, Fig. 3 and [0045]-[0047]); and
a single direct current power source configured to supply a control signal (the capacitance of the corresponding varactor diode can be varied, so as to achieve the application of a control voltage. Typically, this can be provided under microprocessor control via a digital-to-analog converter (also called a “DAC”). The modem 214 may be able to tune the first and second filters 204A-B by provisioning control signals via separate control lines, Fig. 2 and [0028]-[0029]), wherein the single direct current power source may activate the diode for selective attenuation or blanking (system Power Management Interface (SPMI), or Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C), could be used by the controller to manage the switch that is interconnected between the controller and each lumped element filter. For example, the value “000” may correspond to a control voltage (e.g., V.sub.cc>0.7 V+V.sub.control) being applied to a first path, the value “001” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a second path, the value “010” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a third path, the value “011” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a fourth path, and so on, [0052]-[0057]).
However, Kim does not disclose, a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to the at least two ports, wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of each of the plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses.
In the same field of endeavor, Ninan discloses, a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to the at least two ports (Notch filter 100 includes transmission line 102, input 106, output 108, bias circuit 110, and capacitors 114 and 116, Fig. 1 and [0015]), wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of each of the plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses (When PIN diode 104 is forward biased, node 120 of transmission line 102 is coupled to ground 112, which creates a short circuit at node 120. Since at the first frequency, the impedance at node 120 is 180 degrees out of phase, and has the same magnitude as the impedance at node 118, then the half wavelength transformation creates a short circuit to ground at node 118, thus preventing the first frequency from passing to output 108 of notch filter 100, Fig. 1 and [0015]-[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by specifically providing a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to the at least two ports, wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of each of the plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses, as taught by Ninan for the purpose of effectively reducing signal interference in a satellite receiving system without the shortcomings of the conventional notch filters [0007].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), in addition Ninan discloses, wherein the plurality of capacitors is a quantity of two (Notch filter 100 includes transmission line 102, input 106, output 108, bias circuit 110, and capacitors 114 and 116, Fig. 1 and [0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses,
A method for blanking a signal with a parallel radiofrequency blanking switch system (the total insertion loss and total noise figure may not be impacted due to the topology of the tunable filters (e.g., in embodiments where the tunable filters are notch filters, series inductor and capacitor parallel to the main path), Fig. 3 and [0035], [0044]-[0046]), the steps comprising:
Providing a parallel radiofrequency blanking switch system (the total insertion loss and total noise figure may not be impacted due to the topology of the tunable filters (e.g., in embodiments where the tunable filters are notch filters, series inductor and capacitor parallel to the main path), Fig. 3 and [0035], [0044]-[0046]), comprising
a transmission line having at least two ports (the modem 214 may be connected to the first tunable filter 204A via a first control line, along which the modem 214 can transmit a control signal to tune the first tunable filter 204A, and the modem 214 may be connected to the second tunable filter 204B via a second control line, along which the modem 214 can transmit another control signal to tune the second tunable filter 204B. Note that the components of the radio communication system 200 can be interconnected via conductive radio frequency traces that are rated for 50 ohms, for example. Variable voltage for the varactor diodes can be controlled through the modem 214, [0024]-[0029]; Fig. 2); and
a plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses configured to attenuate a plurality of frequencies bands ( FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a radio communication system 200 (or simply “communication system”) that is implementable in an electronic device that is designed to support multiple radio frequency bands. In order to mitigate the coexistence effect of those radio frequency bands, a separate software-tunable filter may be added for each radio frequency band, [0022]-[0024]), each further comprising
an inductor electrically connected in series with at least one of the plurality of capacitors, a diode electrically connected to the plurality of capacitors (FIG. 3 includes an example of a lumped element filter 300 that can be employed as a tunable notch filter. The lumped element filter 300 may include an inductor 302A-E and a capacitor 304A-E that are combined in series with a PIN diode. Specifically, the capacitor 304A-E may take the form of a varactor diode, Fig. 3 and [0044]), and wherein the diode is tuned to selectively targets a specific frequency band for attenuation or blanking (the number of variable reactance elements (and therefore, inductors and varactor diodes) can vary depending on the bandwidth of interest, as well as the amount of specificity that is desired. At a high level, if a larger bandwidth or a greater number of filtering options is desired, then more variable reactance elements should be implemented, Fig. 3 and [0045]-[0047]); and
a single direct current power source configured to supply a control signal (the capacitance of the corresponding varactor diode can be varied, so as to achieve the application of a control voltage. Typically, this can be provided under microprocessor control via a digital-to-analog converter (also called a “DAC”). The modem 214 may be able to tune the first and second filters 204A-B by provisioning control signals via separate control lines, Fig. 2 and [0028]-[0029]), wherein the single direct current power source may activate the diode for selective attenuation or blanking (system Power Management Interface (SPMI), or Inter-Integrated Circuit (I.sup.2C), could be used by the controller to manage the switch that is interconnected between the controller and each lumped element filter. For example, the value “000” may correspond to a control voltage (e.g., V.sub.cc>0.7 V+V.sub.control) being applied to a first path, the value “001” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a second path, the value “010” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a third path, the value “011” may correspond to a control voltage being applied to a fourth path, and so on, [0052]-[0057]).
However, Kim does not disclose, a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to the at least two ports, wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of each of the plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses.
In the same field of endeavor, Ninan discloses, a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to the at least two ports (Notch filter 100 includes transmission line 102, input 106, output 108, bias circuit 110, and capacitors 114 and 116, Fig. 1 and [0015]), wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of each of the plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses (When PIN diode 104 is forward biased, node 120 of transmission line 102 is coupled to ground 112, which creates a short circuit at node 120. Since at the first frequency, the impedance at node 120 is 180 degrees out of phase, and has the same magnitude as the impedance at node 118, then the half wavelength transformation creates a short circuit to ground at node 118, thus preventing the first frequency from passing to output 108 of notch filter 100, Fig. 1 and [0015]-[0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim by specifically providing a plurality of capacitors electrically connected in parallel to the at least two ports, wherein the plurality of capacitors electrically isolate the transmission line from a natural electro-magnetic response of each of the plurality parallel radiofrequency blanking switch apparatuses, as taught by Ninan for the purpose of effectively reducing signal interference in a satellite receiving system without the shortcomings of the conventional notch filters [0007].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), in addition Ninan discloses, wherein the plurality of capacitors is a quantity of two (Notch filter 100 includes transmission line 102, input 106, output 108, bias circuit 110, and capacitors 114 and 116, Fig. 1 and [0015]).
Claims 3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Ninan and further in view Chen et al. (US 20030151550, hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses, wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems (the multiple signals passing through the divider on transmission lines 54 are fed to multiple sub-array elements. Such transmission lines can take many known forms such as waveguides or, as shown here, microstrip lines (co-planar lines or strip lines), [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems, as taught by Chen for the purpose of providing an array that can achieve electronic beam scanning by using low cost, low insertion loss phase shifters [0015].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses, wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems (the multiple signals passing through the divider on transmission lines 54 are fed to multiple sub-array elements. Such transmission lines can take many known forms such as waveguides or, as shown here, microstrip lines (co-planar lines or strip lines), [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems, as taught by Chen for the purpose of providing an array that can achieve electronic beam scanning by using low cost, low insertion loss phase shifters [0015].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses, wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems (the multiple signals passing through the divider on transmission lines 54 are fed to multiple sub-array elements. Such transmission lines can take many known forms such as waveguides or, as shown here, microstrip lines (co-planar lines or strip lines), [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the transmission line is electrically connected to support phased array antenna systems, as taught by Chen for the purpose of providing an array that can achieve electronic beam scanning by using low cost, low insertion loss phase shifters [0015].
Claims 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Ninan and further in view Peev et al. (US 20210328586, hereinafter “Peev”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the control signal is a differential signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Peev discloses, wherein the control signal is a differential signal (a modulator 130 configured for modulating a modulator signal from a modulator input 131 with a signal from a control input 132 to obtain a differential control signal on a differential modulator output [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the control signal is a differential signal, as taught by Peev for the purpose of providing a device with a good reliability and with an electrical isolation of the output [0005].
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the control signal is a differential signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Peev discloses, wherein the control signal is a differential signal (a modulator 130 configured for modulating a modulator signal from a modulator input 131 with a signal from a control input 132 to obtain a differential control signal on a differential modulator output [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the control signal is a differential signal, as taught by Peev for the purpose of providing a device with a good reliability and with an electrical isolation of the output [0005].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the control signal is a differential signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Peev discloses, wherein the control signal is a differential signal (a modulator 130 configured for modulating a modulator signal from a modulator input 131 with a signal from a control input 132 to obtain a differential control signal on a differential modulator output [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the control signal is a differential signal, as taught by Peev for the purpose of providing a device with a good reliability and with an electrical isolation of the output [0005].
Claims 5, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Ninan and further in view Russel et al. (US 20090197561, hereinafter “Russel”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the control signal is a digital signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Russell discloses, wherein the control signal is a digital signal (the control signal is a digital signal, the digital signal can be level shifted, and the tuning portion can further include a termination capacitor [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the control signal is a digital signal, as taught by Russel for the purpose of providing a device with a good reliability and with an electrical isolation of the output [0005].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the control signal is a digital signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Russell discloses, wherein the control signal is a digital signal (the control signal is a digital signal, the digital signal can be level shifted, and the tuning portion can further include a termination capacitor [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the control signal is a digital signal, as taught by Russel for the purpose of providing a device with a good reliability and with an electrical isolation of the output [0005].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim and Ninan discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 11), however the combination of Kim and Ninan does not disclose, wherein the control signal is a digital signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Russell discloses, wherein the control signal is a digital signal (the control signal is a digital signal, the digital signal can be level shifted, and the tuning portion can further include a termination capacitor [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Kim and Nina by specifically providing wherein the control signal is a digital signal, as taught by Russel for the purpose of providing a device with a good reliability and with an electrical isolation of the output [0005].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20230369753: A wireless device operates in at least one frequency region and/or frequency band and comprises a radiating system that includes a radiating structure comprising a ground plane layer having a clearance area at a corner of a ground plane rectangle that encompasses the ground plane layer, an antenna element located in the clearance area, and two connections of the antenna element to the ground plane layer.
US 10813212: The multiband filter includes a printed circuit board, a first filter, a second filter having an outer dimension different from that of the first filter and passband frequencies higher than those of the first filter, an input terminal, an output terminal, a first inductor, a first capacitor, which are connected except the first capacitor by signal line conductor patterns to form a first transmission line.
US 20200144700: An apparatus comprises an antenna element operable in multiple frequency bands and configured to be connected to a ground plane and to a radiofrequency system to provide impedance matching at the multiple frequency bands, where the radiofrequency system comprising at least a matching network. A maximum length of the antenna element is shorter than L/12 but longer than L/22.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641